Kat ☠'s Reviews > Slam!

Slam! by J.L. Merrow
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
18457521

PSA: This is a terrible review (even by my standards) and you shouldn't read it. I advise you to go and read this review by Mr Incompetent Esq instead.

First things first. Rating clarification:
+ 10 stars for the buddy read and my buddy reader.
+ 5 stars for Bubbles.
- 7 stars for me not liking the MCs or any character that wasn't a dog.
+ 1/2 a star for the karate class.
- 3 stars for the stereotypical bitchy female Best Friend Forever.
+ 1/2 a star for the ginja line.
+ 1/2 a star for Slam! being British but not "Too British".
- 4 stars for my irritation every time Jude said "ew."
- 5 stars for my disappointment that this didn't come anywhere close to being on a par with Muscling Through or It's All Geek to Me.

If I just do the maths... that makes... *counts*



That makes... 2 and a 1/2 stars!

Okay. Now second things second. (Shuddup. That is totally what comes after first things first.) My "review" *cough* which is inspired by the limericks featured throughout the book.

The Buddy Read by Ginja Easy-Girl AKA Kat is a Glitter Pirate

A first buddy read with my fave
He was brave because I'm quite depraved
The book was quite blah
And made us go argh!
I'm bored now so back to my crime wave



Um, yeah. I'll just show myself out.
16 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Slam!.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

April 26, 2014 – Shelved
May 9, 2014 – Shelved as: to-read
June 6, 2015 – Shelved as: land-of-hope-and-glory
June 6, 2015 – Shelved as: mr-incompetent-esq
June 8, 2015 – Started Reading
June 10, 2015 – Shelved as: disappointing
June 10, 2015 – Shelved as: laugh-cry-emoji
June 10, 2015 – Finished Reading
June 11, 2015 – Shelved as: was-not-annoyed-by-the-britishness
January 6, 2016 – Shelved as: br-with-ajh

Comments (showing 1-5 of 5) (5 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Liz (new)

Liz This is interesting, because so far, I've read two J.L. Merrow things - or, actually, one and a half because I failed out of the first one I tried, but enjoyed another. Really goes back and forth, doesn't it? I have yet to read Muscling Through and It's All Geek To Me, but I'm hopeful I will like them. Note to self: Skip Slam! because ugh, to the stereotypical bitchy female friend. Blah.


message 2: by Alexis (new) - added it

Alexis Hall I love Muscling Through dearly and All Geek to Me is super charming (it's very much a gay romcom type affair with a patina of geek). I don't know if Merrow is just the mistress of the novella or something.

Love the review and the limerick, Kat :)


Kat ☠ Liz - I think Slam! is very much a hit or miss book. I certainly wouldn't discourage anyone from reading it because I really feel that it just wasn't for me.

Alexis - Thank you. But the limerick is my worst one yet and I need to stop doing them. I gave myself a headache trying to come up with it!


R * A Reader Obsessed * Very ingenious point system :)


Kat ☠ I impressed myself with it!


back to top