Amal's Reviews > The Map of Love

The Map of Love by Ahdaf Soueif
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
3215713
's review

it was amazing

I just can't explain exactly how I feel twards this novel? from time to time I fell in love with a novel with it's characters and with what it is telling us. these kind of novels are very rare and The Map of love is very much one of them. It is a fresh psalm that takes your heart away...very far and deep in time where you beleive that you like to belong during this time with these marvelous people, to be part of this love story between Ann an Sharif basha Al Baroudi, or at least to be one of its witnesses.
it's a great novel deserves to last during time and for ever. I realy didn't want to finish reading it, wanted to go reading it over and over untill the last moment of my life. It's a perfect novel or should I say: it's a real perfect life.
3 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Map of Love.
Sign In »

Quotes Amal Liked

Ahdaf Soueif
“Egypt.mother of civilization, dreaming herself through the centuries. Dreaming us all, her children: those who stay and work for her and complain of her, and those who leave and yearn for her and blame her with bitterness for driving them away.”
Ahdaf Soueif, The Map of Love


Reading Progress

February 24, 2010 – Shelved
March 12, 2010 – Started Reading
March 13, 2010 –
page 20
3.78%
March 16, 2010 –
page 27
5.1%
March 20, 2010 –
page 40
7.56%
March 24, 2010 –
page 43
8.13%
March 26, 2010 –
page 60
11.34%
March 29, 2010 –
page 72
13.61%
March 29, 2010 –
page 72
13.61%
March 30, 2010 –
page 90
17.01%
April 3, 2010 –
page 105
19.85%
April 4, 2010 –
page 135
25.52%
April 5, 2010 –
page 140
26.47%
April 5, 2010 –
page 160
30.25%
April 9, 2010 –
page 200
37.81%
April 11, 2010 –
page 220
41.59%
April 12, 2010 –
page 231
43.67%
April 14, 2010 –
page 255
48.2%
April 21, 2010 –
page 370
69.94%
April 24, 2010 –
page 400
75.61%
April 28, 2010 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-6 of 6 (6 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Amal i'm realy enjoying this novel


message 2: by Hala (new)

Hala شوقتيني اني أجيبها و اقرأها


Amal لازم يا هالة تشتريها وتقريها وأنا سمعت ان الترجمة بتاعتها العربي حلوة جداً


message 4: by Hala (new)

Hala ماشي الكلام هادور عليها و اجيبها


Amal موجودة في الشروق


message 6: by Mounir (last edited May 14, 2010 09:05AM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Mounir قرأت هذه الرواية فى ترجمتها العربية للدكتورة فاطمة موسى- وهى بالمناسبة والدة المؤلفة - وكانت قد صدرت عن مكتبة الأسرة من عدة سنوات. الترجمة العربية بالفعل جيدة جدا وقراءتها ممتعة للغاية.
بصرف النظر عن البراعة فى تصوير جو مصر فى زمان الرواية, فإن هناك شعور دافىء وحميم شعرت به أثناء القراءة. بالفعل كما قال مرة إبراهيم أصلان ما معناه إن المهم فى الأدب أن ينجح الأديب فى نقل شعوره إلى القارىء لأن الأدب ليس مجرد مصدر للمعلومات عن الأبطال أو شخصيات الرواية وإنما الغرض منه التواصل الوجدانى بين الكاتب والقارىء وهو الشىء الذى نجحت فيه أهداف سويف بمنتهى البراعة
وبالمناسبة كانت هذه الرواية قد وصلت للقائمة القصيرة لجائزة البوكر البريطانية للرواية أظن عام 1999 أو 2000 وحسب موسوعة الويكيبيديا فقد ترجمت إلى 21 لغة وبيع منها أكثر من مليون نسخة
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ahdaf_So...
http://www.ahdafsoueif.com/


back to top