Baba 's Reviews > The Lingerie Shop

The Lingerie Shop by Joey W. Hill
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
4669232
4 stars. Review posted April 14, 2014

 photo oie_IWSpg1VplmNU_zps11482773.gif

From Boston to the small town Matthews on the outskirts of Charlotte . From selling stocks and bonds and managing the investments of powerful millionaires and corporate businessmen to inheriting her late sister's business and selling sexy lingerie and BDSM accessories. That's quite a change for our heroine Madison and requires some adjustments. Add in the fact that Madison fed a few kinky fantasies over the course of time and being in the presence of her new neighbor, Logan Scott, a hardware store owner and training Master at the local dungeon, revved up her imaginative mind quite a bit.

 photo oie_89QwUsWiSPKz_zpsa13959a5.gif

OMG, there goes my feels…*sigh*
This is what I want and expect from Joey.

Emotion.
Sensuality.
Thoughtfulness.
A deep connection. To the story. And its characters.

The very best offered within 110 pages. I loved it. Imagine, no kiss and no sex between these two in this first novella and yet there were moments where I could feel the air vibrate with sexual tension. Gah…I was glued to the pages and I'm so excited to see more of Logan and Madison in Naughty Bits Part II: The Training Session. There's room for a higher rating. *hint* *hint*

I'll be honest, I was afraid to read this novella because of my latest disaster. Joey W. Hill's Divine Solace was so not what I was hoping for. However, Naughty Bits Part I put me back in my little happy place. This novella reads like a sensual appetizer and I cannot wait to get to the mouth-watering main course where Joey will blend in the sensuality with blatant sexuality. Hopefully.

 photo oie_49vKiqIBDldj_zpsbefc81a3.gif

The beginning did not quite convince me but when I first laid my eyes on Logan I was a goner. What came out of that man's mouth reminded me a bit of Tyler. Logan is one thoughtful and sexy package pushing forty, very masculine with warm brown eyes and brown, long-ish hair peppered with gray. He's got a mesmerizing voice and exudes a worldly wisdom I will always fall for in a heartbeat. He's got a firm presence that practically screams authority and yet he exudes a gentleness that softens his rougher edges. He's got something else in spades that will always make me end up in a puddle of goo at a hero's feet: charisma. Fact is, I wasn't particularly fond of Madison to whom I did not fully connect, but I definitely swooned over Logan. Without doubt, he made that short story for me and held me in his irresistible spell.

Madison is standing at a crossroads in her life. This first novella deals with her fantasies. It's about figuring out what she really wants for herself and exploring her hidden feelings. It's also about making a choice. Logan doesn't push, he only gives her an inspiration, an idea what she can expect. He offers to be her teacher among other 'things', but he made it clear it will be up to Madison to decide what she wants from him.

 photo 4090d2d8-23cd-41b1-a23a-e6f7a5667a89_zps03a01590.png

A great and satisfying intro, well written and sprinkled with a little bit of Joey magic. I'm so glad I read it and cannot wait to get my hands on the sequel. Is it May yet?

Thank you, Joey.

Recommended read.


All quotes are taken from the pre-published copy and may be altered or omitted in the final copy.

**ARC courtesy of Penguin Group via NetGalley**



http://baba.booklikes.com
48 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Lingerie Shop.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

April 8, 2014 – Started Reading
April 8, 2014 – Shelved
April 8, 2014 – Shelved as: to-read
April 8, 2014 – Shelved as: joey-w-hill
April 8, 2014 – Shelved as: novellas-or-short-stories
April 8, 2014 – Shelved as: erotica-or-erotic-romance
April 8, 2014 –
0.0% " photo tumblr_mnpxj0kjBS1rr4szko1_500_zpsca686ba8.gif\n Let's be naughty. Oh, and let this be good… :)"
April 9, 2014 –
30.0% " photo eb350ffc-6f4a-426a-b563-75e65a17f6ad_zps4906602d.png\n Really good beginning and Logan is yummy!"
April 10, 2014 –
100.0% " photo oie_D17PUlb3LYwk_zpsa2f09003.gif\n I loved it and I'm so glad I read it! *happy dance* :)"
April 10, 2014 – Finished Reading
April 20, 2014 – Shelved as: books-kelly-and-baba-liked-or-loved
April 20, 2014 – Shelved as: favorite-novellas

Comments (showing 1-50 of 51) (51 new)


message 1: by Lisa (new)

Lisa I Love this PIC!


Baba  Lisa wrote: "I Love this PIC!"

Thanks, Lisa. :)


message 3: by Tara♥ (new) - added it

Tara♥ I'm sold, jeez I think I might even be a little in lust with him just from your review! *sigh* I'm so easy!


Baba  Tara wrote: "I'm sold, jeez I think I might even be a little in lust with him just from your review! *sigh* I'm so easy!"

Lol I love Logan and cannot wait to see more of him in the sequel! Then we're both easy, Tara. :))))


message 5: by ♥Rachel♥ (new)

♥Rachel♥ Great prelim, Baba! :)


message 6: by Duchess Nicole (new)

Duchess Nicole Sounds interesting. Can you just give me a poke if you think it's a JWH that I might like? I'll hold out for your review at least.


message 7: by Lisa Jayne (new)

Lisa Jayne WOW fab reviewing so far, baba lovely !!


Baba  ♥Rachel♥ wrote: "Great prelim, Baba! :)"

Thanks, Rachel. :)


Baba  Duchess Nicole wrote: "Sounds interesting. Can you just give me a poke if you think it's a JWH that I might like? I'll hold out for your review at least."

You were on my mind while reading this novella, Nicole. Yes, I think you would like it. I didn't fall for the heroine but Logan…man oh man, he's something else. :)
Joey told me I can look forward to the other novellas. He might knock me on my ass. I hope so, at least. :P
Listen, I can keep you posted regarding the next installment. I really, really hope it won't be a let down. *fingers crossed*


Baba  Lisa Jayne wrote: "WOW fab reviewing so far, baba lovely !!"

Thank you, Lisa babes. :) *mwah*


message 11: by Louise (new)

Louise Great prereview Baba:))


Baba  Louise wrote: "Great prereview Baba:))"

Thank you, Louise. :))


message 13: by Jessi (new)

Jessi Wonderful review Baba!!


Pavlina Read more sleep less blog❤❤  Amazing review hon <33


message 15: by Chandra (new)

Chandra Fantastic review, Baba!


message 16: by Debra (new)

Debra Fabulous review, Baba! :)


littleKitten Great review, so glad this one worked for you! That first gif is amazing!


Baba  Jessi wrote: "Wonderful review Baba!!"

Thank you, Jessi. :))


Baba  Pavlina loves Dex ❤❤ wrote: "Amazing review hon <33"

Thank you, hon. :)) xxx


Baba  Chandra wrote: "Fantastic review, Baba!"

Thank you, Chandra. :))


Baba  Debra wrote: "Fabulous review, Baba! :)"

Thank you, Debra. :))


Baba  littleKitten wrote: "Great review, so glad this one worked for you! That first gif is amazing!"

I couldn't be more happy! I'm really, really relieved! Lol
Thank you, L. :))


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ Both awwesome and naughty revioew B! I need to meet LOgan. How many parts to their sotry? Thanks. xoxo


Lady Vigilante (Feifei) STUNNING review Baba!! Glad this one was a goodie! :) ♥


message 25: by Christy (new)

Christy Awesome review, Baba! :D


message 26: by Lisa (new)

Lisa Wonderful review, Baba! ;)


message 27: by Kristen (new)

Kristen Fabulous review, hon! xoxo


message 28: by KatLynne (new)

KatLynne I'll be following your reviews on this series, Babs. It sounds very good and I'm glad for the great beginning. Wonderful review lovely Babs:)!


message 29: by Patrycja (new)

Patrycja Great review, Baba.


Baba  SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ wrote: "Both awwesome and naughty revioew B! I need to meet LOgan. How many parts to their sotry? Thanks. xoxo"

Thanks, Sue. There will be four novellas. :)) xxx


Baba  Lady Vigilante (Feifei) wrote: "STUNNING review Baba!! Glad this one was a goodie! :) ♥"

Thanks, Feifei. I'm really happy! :)) xxx


Baba  Christy wrote: "Awesome review, Baba! :D"

Thanks, Christy. :))


Baba  Lisa wrote: "Wonderful review, Baba! ;)"

Thanks, Lisa. :))


Baba  Kristen (Peddler of Smut) wrote: "Fabulous review, hon! xoxo"

Thank you, hon. :)) xoxox


Baba  KatLynne wrote: "I'll be following your reviews on this series, Babs. It sounds very good and I'm glad for the great beginning. Wonderful review lovely Babs:)!"

Thanks my sweet friend. I've heard it's going to be expensive… :((
Anyway, if it's good then I don't mind paying a certain price. And I was lucky to get this one for free. *hugs* :))


Baba  Patrycja wrote: "Great review, Baba."

Thanks, Patrycja. :))


Baba  Soraya Naomi wrote: "Awesome review, Baba"

Thanks, Soraya. :))


message 38: by SheReadsALot (new)

SheReadsALot Great review Lady B! I do love a great and believable connection between main characters. And a hero that is charismatic always is tops in my book. ;D


Maida»-(¯`v´¯)-» Love the quotes and pics, Baba! I'm holding out on reading Joey's books until the summer, and this one is definitely going on my list. Logan sounds like a complete dream! I can't wait to meet him and devour him! Hehe! ;p Glad you enjoyed this, and hopefully Madison warms up to you in the sequel. Fabulous review, girl! :D


Alex is The Romance Fox Amazing review. Love your pics and quotes.
I'm reading Divine Solace right now...first couple of chapters...not sure about it right now. will let u know when I finish it.
:))))))) xxxxx


Baba  SheReadsALot wrote: "Great review Lady B! I do love a great and believable connection between main characters. And a hero that is charismatic always is tops in my book. ;D"

Thank you, Lady S. Glad we're on the same page. Can't wait to meet Logan again! :P


Baba  MåїÐ»-(¯`v´¯)-» wrote: "Love the quotes and pics, Baba! I'm holding out on reading Joey's books until the summer, and this one is definitely going on my list. Logan sounds like a complete dream! I can't wait to meet him a..."

Thank you, Maida. I do remember that we've been discussing Joey's books a while ago. Can't wait for you to meet Tyler!!! Well, and Logan, too! Lol
Please let me know when you're going to start one of her books. Thanks! xxx

P.S. I'll be stalking your updates!


Baba  Alex E wrote: "Amazing review. Love your pics and quotes.
I'm reading Divine Solace right now...first couple of chapters...not sure about it right now. will let u know when I finish it.
:))))))) xxxxx"


Thank you, Alex. Oh my…I'm really curious to see if you're going to enjoy it. *cringes* xxx


message 44: by Glamdring (new)

Glamdring Beautiful review, Baba! <3
I'm glad it was a win :)xxx


message 45: by Nina (new)

Nina I try to find a link but I can't!where did you get it from?:) xx


Baba  I got it via NetGalley but you can find it here:

http://www.amazon.de/Naughty-Bits-Par...


Baba  Glamdring wrote: "Beautiful review, Baba! <3
I'm glad it was a win :)xxx"


Thank you, Glam. :)) xxx


message 48: by Jamie (new)

Jamie Beautiful review Baba! adding!!


message 49: by Baba (last edited Apr 23, 2014 09:17AM) (new) - rated it 4 stars

Baba  Jamie~Book Boyfriend Ho♥ wrote: "Beautiful review Baba! adding!!"

Thanks, Jamie. Hope you'll enjoy! Logan is super duper yummy and so incredibly
charismatic! :))


message 50: by Carisa (new)

Carisa Great review Baba, I'm adding this :)


« previous 1
back to top