*J* Too Many Books Too Little Time's Reviews > The Resurrection of Aubrey Miller

The Resurrection of Aubrey Miller by L.B. Simmons
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
9072385
4.5--Sunshine--Stars!

I was originally only going to fill 4 stars on this one.....but I loved the ending. So....five stars it is!

This was a really good read. A bit on the heavy and sad side....reminded me of a cross between I Love You to Death and Left Drowning.

Aubrey Miller is gone. She disappeared at 8 years old when she was forced to say goodbye to her best friend Kaelab and go live with her guardian Linda. Aubrey's 8 year old life was full of pain and sorrow.



Aubrey grew up fearing death.

"The simplicity of living astounds me.
But it's the terror of death that devours me."

Never getting close to others, never building friendships and never allowing herself to love. It was out of this fear that Raven was born.

Raven is starting her freshman year of college. She's got her mask on to keep everyone away. She walks in to her dorm the first day and meets her roommate Quinn and her life will never be the same again.



Quinn is everything Raven is not. She's full of life, she's bubbly, she's happy. But as these two friends soon discover...what appears on the outside is not always a true representation of a what's on the inside.

On that same day that Raven meets Quinn, she's reunited with her best friend Kaelab. But Raven is no longer Aubrey, the 8 year old girl that said goodbye to Kaelab all those years ago.



Over the years Raven, Quinn and Kaelab will form an undeniable bond. A bond that will be tested. A bond that will grow stronger and stronger. A bond that will help carry each other though the obstacles life will bring them.

Both Quinn and Kaelab will slowly bring Aubrey back to life. But the journey won't be an easy one. Death will once again come knocking on Aubrey's door. Will Quinn and Kaelab be enough to carry Aubrey through?

"I wanted to be enough for you. Strong enough. Man enough. Enough for you to find a reason to live again. To give you that courage and strength. But now I know you're the only one who can do that, Sunshine."

My heart broke for Aubrey and all that she went through in her young life. She experienced more pain and suffering than anyone should ever have to.

Kaelab was a fantastic hero. He was by Aubrey's side every step of the way. He was her rock. Her knight in shining armor. Her greatest love.



This was a really beautiful story, a story of a girl, whose life was shrouded in loss. Who thought she'd never live again, much less love again. It's the story of the power of friendship and love and how both brought Raven out of the darkness and Aubrey in to the light.

"As long as you continue to travel through life in this darkness, you will never know how beautiful you light truly shines when you let yourself love and be loved."


45 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Resurrection of Aubrey Miller.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

April 7, 2014 – Shelved
April 7, 2014 – Shelved as: to-read
April 25, 2014 – Started Reading
April 25, 2014 –
52.0%
April 26, 2014 – Shelved as: heart-breaking-gut-wrenching
April 26, 2014 – Shelved as: liked-a-lot
April 26, 2014 – Shelved as: sugary-sweet
April 26, 2014 – Finished Reading
April 27, 2014 – Shelved as: sniff-sniff

Comments Showing 1-50 of 50 (50 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

*J* Too Many Books Too Little Time Bookhooking (Tanya Childress) wrote: "LIVE :) http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00J..."

Thanks so much!!!


Bookhooking (Tanya Childress) J *I did it all for the nookie.The book nookie* wrote: "Bookhooking (Tanya Childress) wrote: "LIVE :) http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00J......"

your welcome! :0)


message 4: by Kristi (new) - added it

Kristi This book looks so good. I wonder if there is sexy times in it? You know my and my book whore ways!! ;)


*J* Too Many Books Too Little Time Kristi~Lit Slave Blog wrote: "This book looks so good. I wonder if there is sexy times in it? You know my and my book whore ways!! ;)"

Well seeing as I was wondering the same thing....LMAO! I am going to guess that this is more an emotional read so the sexy times may not be front and center. I'll have to be in the right mood for this one.


message 6: by April (new)

April sounds great, can`t wait to read.


Jennifer Kyle Looking forward to your full review J! Told you ending was good and bumps it lol. Glad you liked it xx


*J* Too Many Books Too Little Time Jennifer wrote: "Looking forward to your full review J! Told you ending was good and bumps it lol. Glad you liked it xx"

You were right indeed....great ending!


Zakirrah BookBlogger Great review! :D


message 10: by Mysza (last edited Apr 27, 2014 07:42AM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Mysza Wonderful review J, yeah that ending, *sigh*.


message 11: by Sara (new) - rated it 5 stars

Sara Love this hooker ;)


message 12: by • Lisa • (new)

• Lisa • GREAT review !!! Looooove it x


Mandy Fantastic review! I agree, this book did remind me of Left Drowning as well. :)


Shannie's ⭐️Lookin' 4 My Next BBF⭐️ Fantabulous review girl!! xx


*J* Too Many Books Too Little Time Zakirrah BookBlogger wrote: "Great review! :D"

Thanks so much!


*J* Too Many Books Too Little Time Mysza ❤️Mrs Gavin Blake❤️ wrote: "Wonderful review J, yeah that ending, *sigh*."

Thanks friend.....yes, that ending was really something! Glad you loved it too!


*J* Too Many Books Too Little Time Sara wrote: "Love this hooker ;)"

Thanks hooker....enjoyed the BR! :P


*J* Too Many Books Too Little Time Lisa Jayne wrote: "GREAT review !!! Looooove it x"

Thanks friend!


*J* Too Many Books Too Little Time Lisa wrote: "Wonderful review, J! I definitely have to give this book a go."

Definitely Lisa....I think you'll love this one! Thanks friend!


*J* Too Many Books Too Little Time Mandy wrote: "Fantastic review! I agree, this book did remind me of Left Drowning as well. :)"

Thanks Mandy!


*J* Too Many Books Too Little Time Mandy wrote: "Fantastic review! I agree, this book did remind me of Left Drowning as well. :)"

Thanks Mandy!


*J* Too Many Books Too Little Time Shannon ❤️Mrs Jake Spears❤️ wrote: "Fantabulous review girl!! xx"

Thanks Shannon!


message 23: by Geri Reads (new)

Geri Reads Fantastic review, J!! I can't wait to read this. :)


*J* Too Many Books Too Little Time ♥~♥Geri♥~♥HatesLoveTriangles ♥~♥ wrote: "Fantastic review, J!! I can't wait to read this. :)"

Thanks Geri....hope you like it!


message 25: by ♥Sharon♥ (new) - added it

♥Sharon♥ Such a great review, J! Love it!! xo


*J* Too Many Books Too Little Time ♥Sharon♥ wrote: "Such a great review, J! Love it!! xo"

Thanks so much Sharon!


message 27: by Jessi (new) - added it

Jessi Beautiful review! :)


*J* Too Many Books Too Little Time Jessi wrote: "Beautiful review! :)"

Thanks Jessi! :)


Nikki Wonderful review hun!! Definitely going to check this out. ;)


Nikki Oh goodness, the author is a texas gal and an Aggie! Sold!! Just one clicked it lol.


*J* Too Many Books Too Little Time Nikki wrote: "Wonderful review hun!! Definitely going to check this out. ;)"

Thanks Nikki!


*J* Too Many Books Too Little Time Nikki wrote: "Oh goodness, the author is a texas gal and an Aggie! Sold!! Just one clicked it lol."

I didn't know that! I'm not an Aggie fan but...I'll let it slide! :)


[~Ami~]♥Sexy Dexy♥ Great review friend. This sounds depressing. I need ur honest opinion. U think i will like this? Ive not read love you to death or left drowning..but i loved sea of tranquility


message 34: by *J* Too Many Books Too Little Time (last edited Apr 28, 2014 09:25AM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

*J* Too Many Books Too Little Time [~Ami~]♥Sexy Dexy♥ wrote: "Great review friend. This sounds depressing. I need ur honest opinion. U think i will like this? Ive not read love you to death or left drowning..but i loved sea of tranquility"

Thanks friend! I have read a lot more depressing then this one. For most of the book it was 4/4.5 stars for me but the ending was really great. I am trying to remember Sea of Tranquility...which I did love....and how they could be similar. It was really well written, low steam, had some funny moments. Kaelab was really great. I think you would like it, when you are in the mood for this type of read. More emotionally driven. Great character and story development.


[~Ami~]♥Sexy Dexy♥ thanks friend. im still on the fence. mayb not ready for an emotional one yet. but i will keep an eye on it for now. u have any good recommendation for something with good banter??


message 36: by Pam (new) - added it

Pam Wonderful review, J :)


*J* Too Many Books Too Little Time [~Ami~]♥Sexy Dexy♥ wrote: "thanks friend. im still on the fence. mayb not ready for an emotional one yet. but i will keep an eye on it for now. u have any good recommendation for something with good banter??"

Have you read Love Show? Or Price of a Kiss? The second one in that series just came out...To Professor, With Love. That's up next for me. I am reading The Resistance and it has good banter as well...really liking it a lot!


*J* Too Many Books Too Little Time Pam wrote: "Wonderful review, J :)"

Thanks Pam!


[~Ami~]♥Sexy Dexy♥ ive read both love show n price of a kiss. enjoyed them both. thanks for the suggestions J x


*J* Too Many Books Too Little Time [~Ami~]♥Sexy Dexy♥ wrote: "ive read both love show n price of a kiss. enjoyed them both. thanks for the suggestions J x"

Well damn! LMAO!


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Great review, hooker <3


*J* Too Many Books Too Little Time Lkay ❇✾The one-click buy button addict❇✾ wrote: "Great review, hooker <3"

Thanks slut!


*J* Too Many Books Too Little Time Jess-i-ca ~The Gif Witch~ wrote: "nice review bitch!"

Thanks hooker!


♥ Jx PinkLady Reviews ♥ Beautiful review, lovely. xxx


*J* Too Many Books Too Little Time Jxxx ♥ Pink Lady ♥ wrote: "Beautiful review, lovely. xxx"

Thanks friend! :)


Brandi Love your review, J!


*J* Too Many Books Too Little Time Brandi wrote: "Love your review, J!"

Thanks Brandi!


*Marsha,Marsha,Marsha* It's always Marsha I'm going to start it today!!


*J* Too Many Books Too Little Time *Marsha,Marsha,Marsha* It's always Marsha wrote: "I'm going to start it today!!"

Hope you love it Marsha!


back to top