Baba 's Reviews > All the Sky

All the Sky by Susan Fanetti
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
4669232
's review
Apr 06, 2014

liked it

3 stars. Review posted April 17, 2014

 photo oie_gRDSuE6KXdCG_zpsd843aa08.gif
 photo oie_o7ssAcVvQonK_zpsbd9cb7ed.gif
 photo oie_VJZMai1prndy_zps5ba9bc3e.gif

Havoc is sporting a shaved head, a beard and a very ripped and tattooed body. Right from the beginning he manifested what a real sexist and jerk he is. He did change somewhat over the course of time, but I didn’t quite buy the “I can be sweet.” What I liked best about him was his hotness factor which was pretty high and, of course, I really loved the interaction between him and Nolan. These two really hit it off and I was happy for Nolan that he found a father figure. I could practically see how he thrived and bloomed when he got Havoc’s attention. Havoc, however, was very uptight when it came to love, relationships and commitment. In fact, intimacy scared the heck out of him. Due to his upbringing it didn’t come as a surprise, though. It goes without saying (view spoiler) And I can’t help feeling a grudge against (view spoiler)

A three-star rating means that I liked the book but didn't love it. I think that Havoc and Cory can’t hold a candle to Isaac and Lilli. In my opinion All the Sky lacked depth, gripping and real emotion. By the way, drama doesn’t necessarily equal emotion, at least not to me. Another issue of mine was the plot itself as well as the writing which felt very disjointed. Nothing really flowed smoothly and the plot was all over the place at times. Plus, I wasn’t particularly fond of Cory either. Aside from love, kids need stability in their lives. Being a parent means that we should be a good role model and I think Cory could have tried harder to hold a job longer than a couple months. When she went mental I was like “Daf@ck? What was that?" As always it would have been very nice to think first and act later. I honestly don’t know what’s so difficult about having a reasonable conversation instead of going apeshit in no time flat. Also, her parenting skills are lacking. What parent lets their kid unattended wander around in the dark for hours?? It’s very careless as well as dangerous and (view spoiler)

All the Sky is by no means a bad read because it did entertain me, yet it’s not up to par with the previous books in the Signal Bend series. I hope that Len's story will appeal more to me.

My ranking
In Dark Woods 4.5 stars
Move the Sun 4 stars
Behold the Stars 3.75 stars
Into the Storm 3.5 stars
All the Sky 3 stars


Warning
All the Sky contains explicit sex and violence. One particular scene was pretty gruesome. (view spoiler)
38 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read All the Sky.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

Started Reading
January 13, 2014 – Finished Reading
April 6, 2014 – Shelved as: to-read
April 6, 2014 – Shelved
April 11, 2014 –
0.0% " photo Bildschirmfoto2014-04-03um100048_zps6069b521.png\n Tomorrow is release day of Havoc's story!"
April 12, 2014 –
20.0% ""(…)You don't usually strike up a conversation, and you certainly don't ask for a drinking buddy." Again, he felt defensive. "That a problem?" She sipped her drink. "No. I just got the impression that you don't like women much." "Bullshit. I love women." "No, I don't think you do. I think you love pussy. You're not so interested in the person it's attached to." Yeah, Hav's quite the charmer. Not. But he's hot. :)"
April 12, 2014 –
40.0% " photo oie_6bhXvIujOv4s_zps25b1d9b1.gif\n I'm enjoying it so far! Although Havoc is kinda confusing me. What's he hiding? One thing's for sure, intimacy scares the shit out of him. "
April 13, 2014 –
100.0% " photo rsd6LC7qhZnX_zps4f1b026f.gif\n Despite the mess I liked it. Then again, Isaac and Lilli are my favorite couple of the series. Nothing's changed about that fact after I read All the Sky."

Comments (showing 1-35 of 35) (35 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Baba  Soraya Naomi wrote: "B, is every book about another couple?"

Yes, Soraya.
There's an exception, though. The novella In Dark Woods is about Isaac and Lilli, as is Behold the Stars. BtS is the sequel to Move the Sun. :)


message 2: by Geri Reads (new)

Geri Reads Enjoy, Baba!!


Baba  ♥~♥Geri♥~♥HatesLoveTriangles ♥~♥ wrote: "Enjoy, Baba!!"

Thanks, Geri. :))


Vallsykes Oooh! I want to start this one now. Intimacy issues? Hmmm.


Baba  Vallsykes wrote: "Oooh! I want to start this one now. Intimacy issues? Hmmm."

I saw that you are reading it, Vall. Looking forward to your review. :)


message 6: by ♥Rachel♥ (new)

♥Rachel♥ Wonderful prelim, Baba! :)


message 7: by Paula (new)

Paula Looking forward to your review, Baba! :)


Baba  ♥Rachel♥ wrote: "Wonderful prelim, Baba! :)"

Thanks, Rachel. :)


Baba  Paula - Romantic Book Affairs wrote: "Looking forward to your review, Baba! :)"

Thanks, Paula. :)


message 10: by Kristen (new)

Kristen I look forward to your review, hon. ♥


message 11: by [deleted user] (new)

I was at 3-4 stars but I round up. I wonder if we'll have similar thoughts. I'll check back to see when you've completed the review.


Baba  Kristen (Peddler of Smut) wrote: "I look forward to your review, hon. ♥"

Thanks, hon. :) xoxox


Baba  Mistik INK wrote: "I was at 3-4 stars but I round up. I wonder if we'll have similar thoughts. I'll check back to see when you've completed the review."

It should be up sometime this week. :)


Sunny I'm looking forward to reading this story, but I feel the same as you. Isaac and Lilli stories are incomparable.


Vallsykes Baba ♥♥♥ Tyler, Marcus, Dean, Tate, Dan, Ty & Hunter wrote: "Vallsykes wrote: "Oooh! I want to start this one now. Intimacy issues? Hmmm."

I saw that you are reading it, Vall. Looking forward to your review. :)"


I look forward to your review as well, Baba. This one felt very different for me. It made me want to go back and read Alone of Earth, although I know I don't need to. I just want to get Havoc's characterization more, especially his friendship with Bart.

Nevertheless, I rounded my rating up to 4 stars because on the layers and complexities of character involved in the story.


Baba  Sunny wrote: "I'm looking forward to reading this story, but I feel the same as you. Isaac and Lilli stories are incomparable."

Hope you'll enjoy it more than I did, Sunny. :)


Baba  Vallsykes wrote: "Baba ♥♥♥ Tyler, Marcus, Dean, Tate, Dan, Ty & Hunter wrote: "Vallsykes wrote: "Oooh! I want to start this one now. Intimacy issues? Hmmm."

I saw that you are reading it, Vall. Looking forward to ..."


I haven't read Alone on Earth because I've never been particularly interested in Bart.
On second thought, I might downgrade All the Sky to three stars. It didn't quite cut it for me…
Compared to my latest reads it didn't have the same quality. Not by a long shot.


Shannie's ⭐️Lookin' 4 My Next BBF⭐️ Beautiful review Baba!! ❤️❤️


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ Glad you enjoyed B. Sorry you didn't love love. = /


message 20: by Baba (last edited Apr 17, 2014 09:34AM) (new) - rated it 3 stars

Baba  Shannon ❤️Mrs Jake Spears❤️ wrote: "Beautiful review Baba!! ❤️❤️"

Thanks, Shannon. :))

P.S. Lovely red hearts!


message 21: by Baba (last edited Apr 17, 2014 09:35AM) (new) - rated it 3 stars

Baba  SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ wrote: "Glad you enjoyed B. Sorry you didn't love love. = /"

Thanks, Sue. We can't love them all. :))


message 22: by Barbara (new)

Barbara Glad you enjoyed Baba! Awesome review! xx


message 23: by [deleted user] (new)

Nice review! I see what you mean. I had other issues but nevertheless, this book was not as tight as some of her other ones.


Baba  Barbara wrote: "Glad you enjoyed Baba! Awesome review! xx"

Thanks, Barbara. :) xxx


Baba  Mistik INK wrote: "Nice review! I see what you mean. I had other issues but nevertheless, this book was not as tight as some of her other ones."

Thanks, Mistik. :)


message 26: by KatLynne (new)

KatLynne Great review lovely Babs! Sorry this was just an OK read. ♥hugs♥


Baba  KatLynne wrote: "Great review lovely Babs! Sorry this was just an OK read. ♥hugs♥"

Thanks my lovely friend. We can't win them all. :) *hugs*


message 28: by Dee (new)

Dee Great review sweetie, Shame it wasn't that great for you.....Hopefully your next book was better! xx


Baba  Dee wrote: "Great review sweetie, Shame it wasn't that great for you.....Hopefully your next book was better! xx"

Thank you, sweetie. It's a really good series but not every book can be a winner. :) xxx


message 30: by Dee (new)

Dee Baba ♥♥♥ Tyler, Marcus, Dean, Tate, Dan, Ty & Hunter wrote: "Thank you, sweetie. It's a really good series but not every book can be a winner. ..."

Yeah, you got that right!...I have read my share of disappointments/duds too - but when it is an author that usually liked then suppose we can forgive them and move on to the next ;)


message 31: by Baba (last edited Apr 26, 2014 05:32AM) (new) - rated it 3 stars

Baba  Dee wrote: "Baba ♥♥♥ Tyler, Marcus, Dean, Tate, Dan, Ty & Hunter wrote: "Thank you, sweetie. It's a really good series but not every book can be a winner. ..."

Yeah, you got that right!...I have read my shar..."


Absolutely! Here's hoping the next one will be better! :)) xxx


♥Sharon♥ Great review, Baba. So nicely put. :)


Baba  ♥Sharon♥ wrote: "Great review, Baba. So nicely put. :)"

Thanks, Sharon. :))


Mtak91 Fantastic review!


Baba  Mtak91 wrote: "Fantastic review!"

Thanks, Mtak. :))


back to top