Baba 's Reviews > Amor En Retrogrado

Amor En Retrogrado by A.M. Riley
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
4669232
's review
Apr 06, 2014

liked it
bookshelves: m-m, sap-or-cheeseville, rolls-eyes

2.5 stars. Review posted April 10, 2014

 photo oie_OkJPIx1bYdep_zpsf28524ed.gif

When I started to read Amor En Retrogrado I was very excited. However, my excitement retrograded steadily and by the end of the book I felt totally drained and incredibly annoyed which led me to my decision to not read the next installment immediately. Although I'm tempted to give it a try eventually. It's a great pity because Amor En Retrogrado could have been a fabulous read. Fact is, I enjoyed the riveting plot and writing, but Robert and JD's characterizations and actions spoilt this book for me. I think I can cope with one major asshole in a story but it's beyond bad when I've got to struggle along with two über asshole-ish drama queens. If it hadn’t been for the engaging plot that kept me reading, I would have given up somewhere into the second half of the story because, honestly, the MCs' behavior drove me effin' mad! The plot alternated between past and present which was fine by me and spanned over fifteen years of Robert and JD’s crazy and dysfunctional relationshitship. I lost count how many times they upset me to the point where I wanted to throw my Kindle against a wall.

That was hot…
 photo oie_PBK0cCqBuppk_zps749d0b2b.gif

JD was drunk off his ass all the time and that imbecile of an attorney (Robert) filled the fridge with beer and whatnot. Is this a bad joke? Robert should have persuaded JD to attend AA meetings ASAP and he should have banned beer and hard liquor from his house permanently.

 photo tumblr_n1f7z3gwfM1reyd4yo1_500_zps4a4294cc.gif

(view spoiler) "Hate to be a prick," he said. "But could we lose the Guinness?"
"Sure," said Robert, surprised. "I only stock it for you."
*serious headdesk moment*

(view spoiler)

Aha! Frankly, I don't know what I should believe. (view spoiler) These two deserve each other.

(view spoiler)

I could have dealt with (view spoiler) (which, by the way, happened off page) but I could not forgive them for their basically pathetic, inexplicable and juvenile behavior. JD is a lecherous, whiny, choleric and obnoxious drunk who drowned in self-pity. And Robert did give him a run for his money in the obnoxious department. Geez, that man is sickeningly jealous and possessive, a highly volatile hothead. Robert has HUGE anger management issues and I'd recommend him to start counseling stat. Holy moly, that man is a *"?!£à+")?`^!!;ç*&! cabron! As a matter of fact, both of them are swift to take offence and fly off the handle. All. The. Time. I’ve had more issues, i.e. all the weeping and too many saccharine endearments. Also, I wasn’t too happy how the recriminations and admission of guilt had been handled. Plus, all the growling…why do I always get the impression that I’ve been catapulted among a pack of feral cats when I read a romance book? Just. Dial. It. Down. A. Notch. Thank you.

Towards the end the cheese dripped off the nooks of my Kindle when Robert and JD were oh-so sorry for everything that went wrong and made amends. Sapsville, much? It was way too convenient for my liking. Anyway, let’s wrap everything up with a lovely metaphorical bow, shall we?


http://baba.booklikes.com


42 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Amor En Retrogrado.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

April 6, 2014 – Started Reading
April 6, 2014 – Shelved
April 6, 2014 – Shelved as: to-read
April 6, 2014 – Shelved as: m-m
April 6, 2014 –
0.0% " photo 4b25ad79-fc87-41c6-8acc-fb732f6b8d67_zps047e27ae.png"
April 6, 2014 –
18.0% " photo oie_LwSIif8rH1dZ_zps769e12de.gif\n Holy f@ck. This is good!"
April 7, 2014 –
50.0% " photo tumblr_mjo2xycvJz1s5m1r5o1_500_zpsd98c4a6c.gif\n Before his retrograde amnesia, JD must have been a real asshole. Then again, Roberto is terribly jealous and possessive; it doesn't make him all that appealing either. The story is really good and engaging and I'm enjoying it!"
April 8, 2014 –
95.0% " photo Jennifer-Lawrence-Outburst-Reaction-Gif_zps17bf5baa.gif\n Really good plot but the MCs are effin' awful!!! Total assholes…urggggghhhhh."
April 9, 2014 –
100.0% "Save me from two drama queens..."
April 9, 2014 – Finished Reading
April 10, 2014 – Shelved as: sap-or-cheeseville
April 10, 2014 – Shelved as: rolls-eyes

Comments (showing 1-50 of 68) (68 new)


message 1: by Eva (new) - added it

Eva Wow, Baba... Looks delish ❤️


message 2: by [deleted user] (new)

finally a good read for baba :D


Shannie's ⭐️Lookin' 4 My Next BBF⭐️ So glad you're enjoying this one Baba!! Looks quite HAWT!! =D


Baba  Shannon wrote: "So glad you're enjoying this one Baba!! Looks quite HAWT!! =D"

Thank you, Shannon. Yup, it's good! :)


Baba  Gresa wrote: "finally a good read for baba :D"

I needed a good one. Thanks, Gresa. :)


Baba  Eva wrote: "Wow, Baba... Looks delish ❤️"

Thanks, Eva. Not much sex in this one but what's there is…yum. :))


message 7: by Eva (new) - added it

Eva Baba ♥♥♥ Tyler, Marcus, Dean, Tate, Dan, Ty & Hunter wrote: "Eva wrote: "Wow, Baba... Looks delish ❤️"

Thanks, Eva. Not much sex in this one but what's there is…yum. :))"


So happy you're enjoying, Baba ❤️


Baba  Eva wrote: "Baba ♥♥♥ Tyler, Marcus, Dean, Tate, Dan, Ty & Hunter wrote: "Eva wrote: "Wow, Baba... Looks delish ❤️"

Thanks, Eva. Not much sex in this one but what's there is…yum. :))"

So happy you're enjoyin..."


I'm 95 % done now. The plot is really good but the MCs…they are such assholes. Incredible. :((


message 9: by Lisa Jayne (new)

Lisa Jayne YUM !!!


message 10: by Claire (new) - added it

Claire (_Book Huntress) mmmm  photo t2819_zpsce6e6e74.gif


Baba  Lisa Jayne wrote: "YUM !!!"

That quote is pretty yummy! :)


Baba  Claire wrote: "mmmm

"


If you don't mind drama queens then give it a try, Claire. I really liked the plot but the MCs ruined this book for me. :(


message 13: by Claire (new) - added it

Claire (_Book Huntress) Baba ♥♥♥ Tyler, Marcus, Dean, Tate, Dan, Ty & Hunter wrote: "Claire wrote: "mmmm

"

If you don't mind drama queens then give it a try, Claire. I really liked the plot but the MCs ruined this book for me. :("


was it over the top drama or angst? x


Baba  Claire wrote: "Baba ♥♥♥ Tyler, Marcus, Dean, Tate, Dan, Ty & Hunter wrote: "Claire wrote: "mmmm

"

If you don't mind drama queens then give it a try, Claire. I really liked the plot but the MCs ruined this b..."


JD is drunk off his ass all the fucking time and Roberto has huge anger management issues. Jealous and possessive to the nth. Freaking awful. :(


message 15: by Claire (new) - added it

Claire (_Book Huntress) Baba ♥♥♥ Tyler, Marcus, Dean, Tate, Dan, Ty & Hunter wrote: "Claire wrote: "Baba ♥♥♥ Tyler, Marcus, Dean, Tate, Dan, Ty & Hunter wrote: "Claire wrote: "mmmm

"

If you don't mind drama queens then give it a try, Claire. I really liked the plot but the MC..."


O jeez so between the booze and the anger I bet it causes a lot of unwanted scenes  photo t15163_zpsc785a501.gif


Baba  Claire wrote: "Baba ♥♥♥ Tyler, Marcus, Dean, Tate, Dan, Ty & Hunter wrote: "Claire wrote: "Baba ♥♥♥ Tyler, Marcus, Dean, Tate, Dan, Ty & Hunter wrote: "Claire wrote: "mmmm

"

If you don't mind drama queens ..."


Um…well, yes. :)
I felt totally exhausted in the end. :(


Baba  BTW, there are lots of switches between past and present. :)


message 18: by Claire (new) - added it

Claire (_Book Huntress) Baba ♥♥♥ Tyler, Marcus, Dean, Tate, Dan, Ty & Hunter wrote: "Claire wrote: "Baba ♥♥♥ Tyler, Marcus, Dean, Tate, Dan, Ty & Hunter wrote: "Claire wrote: "Baba ♥♥♥ Tyler, Marcus, Dean, Tate, Dan, Ty & Hunter wrote: "Claire wrote: "mmmm

"

If you don't min..."


Think I will save it for when I fancy a lot of drama then :-)


Baba  Claire wrote: "Baba ♥♥♥ Tyler, Marcus, Dean, Tate, Dan, Ty & Hunter wrote: "Claire wrote: "Baba ♥♥♥ Tyler, Marcus, Dean, Tate, Dan, Ty & Hunter wrote: "Claire wrote: "Baba ♥♥♥ Tyler, Marcus, Dean, Tate, Dan, T..."

Fair enough. :P


Pavlina Read more sleep less blog❤❤  Amazing review as always hon <333 muah :D


Baba  Pavlina loves Dex ❤❤ wrote: "Amazing review as always hon <333 muah :D"

Thank you, hon. :)) *double mwah*


message 22: by Eva (new) - added it

Eva Beauty beauty beauty, dear Baba ❤️


message 23: by Lena♥Ribka (new) - added it

Lena♥Ribka And I put it on my TBR,! :(
I can't very good handle the MCs that drive me nuts with their acrions!


Christine Wallflower & Dark Romance Junkie Great review Baba, sorry it was a disappointment!


message 25: by Jessi (new)

Jessi Great review Baba!! :)


Christina Sorry it didn't work for you Baba. I still have this one to read. I didn't read your spoilers but the Sap is always a big concern!


message 27: by [deleted user] (new)

Great review, sorry it didn't work for you. Hope your next read is awesome!


message 28: by Debra (new)

Debra Great review, Baba! Better luck with the next one! :)


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ So sorry B! Your review explained it real well. (view spoiler)


Mercedes What a pity you didn't like it! The codependency is one of the cruxes in the story that and their general assholeness! Haha!


message 31: by LauraZu (new) - added it

LauraZu So sad it didn't end well, I was so excited for this book.
Great review as always!


message 32: by Paula (new)

Paula Sorry this didn't work for you, Baba. Glad you loved your last read. :)


message 33: by Mysza (new)

Mysza Beautiful review Baba!


Lady Vigilante (Feifei) Great review!! Bummer, though, it didn't work out Baba! Glad the Joey Hill was a winner for you :D


Baba  Eva wrote: "Beauty beauty beauty, dear Baba ❤️"

Thank you dear Eva. :))


Baba  Lena♥Ribka wrote: "And I put it on my TBR,! :(
I can't very good handle the MCs that drive me nuts with their acrions!"


Give it a try, Lena, but I *think* the MCs will drive you nuts. Good luck! :))


Baba  Christine née The Dark Romance Junkie wrote: "Great review Baba, sorry it was a disappointment!"

Thanks, Christine. :)


Baba  Christina wrote: "Sorry it didn't work for you Baba. I still have this one to read. I didn't read your spoilers but the Sap is always a big concern!"

Thanks, Christina. The sap should not concern you too much; what was extremely irritating were the two MCs and their actions. Urghhhh.


Baba  Aisha wrote: "Great review, sorry it didn't work for you. Hope your next read is awesome!"

Thanks, Aisha. Yep, the next one was such a winner! :))


Baba  Debra wrote: "Great review, Baba! Better luck with the next one! :)"

Thanks, Debra. :))


Baba  SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ wrote: "So sorry B! Your review explained it real well. [spoilers removed]"

Lol Well, yes, they did love each other in their own strange way. :))


Baba  Mercedes wrote: "What a pity you didn't like it! The codependency is one of the cruxes in the story that and their general assholeness! Haha!"

You summed it up nicely, Mercedes! LOL


Baba  LauraZu wrote: "So sad it didn't end well, I was so excited for this book.
Great review as always!"


Thanks, Laura. Just give it a try. Hope you'll like it! :))


Baba  Paula - Romantic Book Affairs wrote: "Sorry this didn't work for you, Baba. Glad you loved your last read. :)"

Thanks, Paula. I sure did! :))


Baba  Mysza wrote: "Beautiful review Baba!"

Thanks, Mysza. :))


Baba  Lady Vigilante (Feifei) wrote: "Great review!! Bummer, though, it didn't work out Baba! Glad the Joey Hill was a winner for you :D"

Thanks, Feifei. Yep, Naughty Bits Part I made up for that messed up read! :))


message 47: by SheReadsALot (new) - added it

SheReadsALot Great review as always, Lady B. I must admit your review makes me curious. I'll probably regret it but I'm adding. LOL


message 48: by Glamdring (new)

Glamdring Great review, Baba! :)xxx


message 49: by Kristen (new)

Kristen Nicely said, Baba. Sorry this one didn't work for you. Hugs and kisses xoxo


message 50: by Lisa (new)

Lisa Fab review, Baba! Nicely stated! :D


« previous 1
back to top