Kat Kennedy's Reviews > Mockingjay

Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
3270188
's review
Feb 17, 2010

it was amazing
bookshelves: kat-s-book-reviews, oppressive-dystopian-regime, to-ya-or-not-to-ya

This review has spoilers!

Bitches...

What were you doing when you were 16? Checking your boobs each morning to see if the Boob Fairy had paid you a visit? Sneaking out of the house to the park down the street where you and your six friends would share a single can of beer and pretend you're drunk? Making out? Homework? Fighting with your parents? Watching scary movies?

Katniss is sixteen years old and she's been in two Hunger Games, fighting against twenty-odd opponents to the death. Then she becomes the symbol of the rebel leadership and helps overthrow an evil empire before she can legally drink.

So I suppose it's really ridiculous of anyone to expect her capable of then going on to be president of this new world after everything she's been through. Nobody would be evil enough to force that on her considering her fragile mental state...




















Except me.

[image error]

Maleficent and I go way back...

But this is fantasy, right, it's not like children or teenagers are really capable of this much! It would be totally unrealistic of me to expect much more of Katniss considering all she's done...

Well, except for the cute little nine-year-old Htoo twins who lived in the Karen National Rebel camp when the enemy came and all the soldiers ran away leaving their AK-47's. These two nine-year-olds thought it'd be a hoot to pick up a few guns and hold off the entire invading Burmese army... successfully.

And that would be a really cute story except for the fact that they went on to create their own army who were convinced that these two little chain-smokin' tykes had magical powers and were invincible.

But I mean, they're a fluke! It's not like any other kids did great things. Well, unless you're counting Iqbal Masih who was made a slave at the age of five and chained to his loom for twelve hours a day. Still, the little tyke managed to escape when he was ten so he only had to endure the first half of his life with unspeakable cruelty and torturous living conditions that left him unable to grow.

Luckily, when he got out he ran off into the sunset and lived happily ever after. *Kat is interrupted by whispering* Wait - what? He didn't? *More whispering* He joined the Bonded Labor Liberation Front of Pakistan as their spokesperson, going RIGHT back into the slave trade that had abused and tormented him for five years so that he could rescue another three THOUSAND children from slavery?

Shit.

Get OFF the computer you lazy little cow and go rescue some child slaves!
Get off the computer you lazy little cow and go rescue some child slaves!

Oh and by the way, he only stopped after two years because he'd affected carpet manufacturing so much that carpet export in those years dropped by $200,000,000 and he was assasinated in 1995 for being too damn awesome.

At 12 years old my greatest achievement was not killing myself while I shaved my legs!

I wasn't going to mention St Joan of Arc because that comparison would be a little too easy but since I have time I'll just quietly mutter that she helped lead France to a number of tactical defeats in the Hundred Year's War, crowned a King and was Burned as a witch before she was nineteen years old.

But, no, it's too much to ask that Katniss step up into a role like that! After all, she had PTSD and she was traumatized. It would be evil for any adult to keep her on retainer as a figurehead to inspire the people. Which, by the way, if I were an adult in power in this particular world - I would totally do.

But Katniss isn't the only one I'd keep to do my bidding. I'd keep Peeta around too. Occasionally, I'd pull them out of their little therapy/rejuvination bubble to do short propos on how the new unified nation was moving forward in positive steps and how everything was improving.

And since I am only moderately evil and am actually very fond of Katniss and Peeta, I find the fact that they were allowed to go home and live out their quiet little lives peacefully to be very unrealistic. In fact, it was the only really unrealistic thing in this novel and let's remember that I'm including genetically altered mutts and beams that can melt your skin off on that list!

So she did a little thing like shooting President Coin. Let's be realistic. Until a few days earlier, the Capitol didn't even know who President Coin was and every single district apart from 13 probably had never seen her. She has the personality of a dead fish left on hot concrete for three days that had been shat on - and the charisma to match! I doubt many of the residents of district 13 even held any great love for her! Most of the population of Panem was probably going to immediately assume that President Coin somehow had it coming. After all, if Katniss shoots you - you probably did something bad. Something very, very bad!

The election of Paynor was just ridiculous and unrealistic. You have a nation so fractured that it's fourteen different districts have never cooperated or worked or even really MET each other. Plus the fact that they're in economic collapse and dealing with the fallout of a costly war.

I just can't bring myself to believe that they wouldn't drug Katniss up, put her smiling face on stage and have some kind of deciding power working behind closed doors while Katniss waved happily to the smiling faces and kissed babies.

It reminds me of that scene in Ender's Game when Ender is reminiscing about how he's just won the war as one of the greatest generals of recent history and suddenly, in the clean up effort, he's become useless because the adults don't think that the same leadership and skills it requires to lead an army, could also be useful to rebuild a world.

But Katniss and Peeta have the perfect matching set of skills to help put the world back together and they already have the love and trust of most of the population! I'm not saying they'd want to do it. I'm saying I doubt, realistically, that they'd have a choice in the matter.

Now, apart from the ending - which I didn't mind, just was baffled by - I loved and adored this book.

Peeta's hijacking was devestating, Katniss' mental breakdown was harrowing. Finnick! *cries* and I'd really held out that maybe somehow Cinna had survived and been kept as a prisoner like Peeta - but alas, no! And everytime he was mentioned in the costuming etc I wanted to cry.

The battles, the politics, it was all such an amazing novel and the end to an amazing series. I'm honestly in love with Suzanne Collins because she's such a brave writer. She's not scared to go to dark places and she's not scared to scar her characters up a bit. She's happy to take the audience out of their comfort zone and I LOVE that about her.

Catching Fire and Mockingjay could never match the perfect pacing and brilliant plot of The Hunger Games but they're still amazing books full of suspense, action, great characterization and thoughtful dialogue. They reflect circumspectly on our society as Collin's asks us to see ourselves through the eyes of Katniss.

I've heard a little bit of mumbling about the relationship between Peeta and Katniss. It's interesting to bring up because I've heard the concept that Katniss doesn't deserve Peeta a lot. Why? Is she as patient, devoted and understanding of Peeta and he is of her? Absolutely not. Katniss regularly fails at patient and kind. I'd also highly doubt that this would come of any shock to Peeta. He didn't fall in love with her not knowing who she was. He's watched her for years and he has ALWAYS been the one to feel more deeply, act unselfishly in her favor and to give more of himself. That's who they are as a couple. Katniss on the other hand, I'm relieved to say, is a female character who isn't hung up on emotions and the postures of love. She loves Peeta enough to make herself sick and crazy at the thought of what's happening to him - but she's also a functional, strong person who has a job to do. She's not like Bella who falls to pieces when Edward leaves. She can't afford to and she's never been one to sit around and obsess over how perfect Peeta's hair is or comment on his body like it's a marble statue.

I guess what I'm saying is that if Peeta feels like he deserves Katniss and vice versa, then who am I to argue?

So whilst I didn't satisfactorily buy the ending, I really loved this book and highly recommend this series - even if I had to out myeslf as an evil, plotting witch with political aspirations of taking over the world to do it!

*Can I also just add that Katniss' mother is the saddest excuse for a human being - in reality, she's a sack of shit who should never have had children. I can't think of more horrible things to call her right now because I'm so angry at her! Gah!
282 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Mockingjay.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

February 17, 2010 – Shelved
May 7, 2010 – Started Reading
August 29, 2010 –
page 1
0.26% "Yes! Yes! I'm reading it!!!!!!!!! SQWHAAAAAAHOOOOO!!!!"
August 30, 2010 – Finished Reading
October 7, 2010 – Shelved as: kat-s-book-reviews
January 8, 2012 – Shelved as: oppressive-dystopian-regime
January 8, 2012 – Shelved as: to-ya-or-not-to-ya

Comments (showing 1-50 of 76) (76 new)


Tatiana Mon amie, are you ever going to read it?


Kat Kennedy It's not through lack of trying - I promise you that!


Tatiana Do you need to sleep on it, before your final judgment I mean?


message 4: by AH (new) - rated it 5 stars

AH Are there lots of kleenex littering the floor around you? Are your eyes red and puffy?


message 5: by [deleted user] (new)

Owkey... what?


Penny That doesn't sound good. I demand you explain yourself!


Amanda Excited to see what you think!


Penny Seriously Kat, I insist you explain yourself. Did you finish reading the book? Quit half-way through? What? You can't just be all "Who... What!? Gah!!!!!! I'm finished." that's not allowed.


Wicked Incognito Now We all anxiously await your profoundly spoken words of opinion ;-)


Ashley Brooke ha ha. Love the quick 'review'. The book take a while to absorb so I totally get it!


Kat Kennedy Okay, okay- I'm done! Penny you can totally stop glaring at me and tapping your foot now!


Eh?Eh! Very nice. You know your child heroes.


It reminds me of that scene in Ender's Game when Ender is reminiscing about how he's just won the war as one of the greatest generals of recent history and suddenly, in the clean up effort, he's become useless because the adults don't think that the same leadership and skills it requires to lead an army, could also be useful to rebuild a world.

Wasn't he sent away because he would've become a pawn between nations vying for his war talents, tearing apart a fragile world that just emerged from decades of living under the threat of alien annihilation? The interstellar war was over, but civil war was looming.


message 13: by Kat Kennedy (last edited Aug 31, 2010 04:38PM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Kat Kennedy That is why his sister decided to send him away, yes. However, originally during the rebuilding for the asteroid he was on, he was excluded from the rebuilding process until he could successfully show the adults that his skill set was just as useful for peace time as it was for wartime.

In any case I highly doubt Paynor was militarily and politically powerful enough to keep Panem from disolving into civil war. *I* would have taken her on!

-Jeesh aren't I just coming off as several shades of evil in this review!

Also, yeah I know my child heroes because I was researching who to kidnap in order to run my quasi-evil world government.


message 14: by AH (new) - rated it 5 stars

AH Awesome review, Kat! Wow!
I wish you would have left the Gah! in your review.


Miss Clark Excellent review! I found the stories of other young adults/children who endured horrific experiences very interesting and so relevant to everyone yelling about how the books are too much or that these people could not recover. Thanks!


Annalisa I love the comparison to Ender's Game because Ender was just as emotionally scared, well maybe not as much but similar. I had kind of hoped Catching Fire and Mockingjay would be as amazing as Hunger Games, but maybe it was too awesome to achieve again.


Wicked Incognito Now Kat--I agree. The mother is a sack of shit!! You know, of course, it is required in any hero journey for the parents to either be dead or useless. Otherwise, the hero would not have such a harrowing and difficult road ahead to form them into heroes to begin with.

I wonder WHY Katniss would be left entirely ALONE following the shooting of Coin and being returned to District 12. It makes no sense. I also agree that the whole unification of the districts would be much more messy than it seemed at the end.

Great review as always Kat.


Kat Kennedy AH - I'll put GAH back in for you! Just because I adores you so much!

Miss Clark - I haven't read many other reviews yet but my bestfriend works for docs (Australian version of social services for children) and I can absolutely say that you'd be suprised the things kids and young adults can bounce back from. They're rather amazing creatures!

Annalisa - I don't think Collins really could have succeeded The Hunger Games - it was just amazing and it's almost impossible to keep up that kind of momentum in a series!

Zosia - You crack me up! Meyer does rec a lot of shit but I promise you that this series is WAAAAAAAAAYYY out of Meyer's league!

April - I know! The thing about this series though was that the mother didn't necessarily NEED to be a sack of shit. She was pretty much hopelessly unable to help her daughter even if she had cared to even try. She wasn't a sack of shit for plot development or to make Katniss into a stronger character - she was a sack of shit because she just could be. It makes me so sad that she abandoned her daughter in the end. She never deserved Katniss.

I agree about the being left alone thing. I suppose it was a sort of punishment - solitary confinement thing but it didn't really make sense to me. All I know is that if I'd been in any kind of political power right then, then I wouldn't have just left her alone. She may be crazy but she'd still be useful!


Jasmin oh my, i want to read the rest of your review but dang, I havent read the book yetttt!!! :o


message 20: by AH (new) - rated it 5 stars

AH Yah! You added the Gah! back. Even a more excellent review....


Megan Great review, Kat! Love clicking on "more" to see the evil lady ~ interactive reviews with picture, what an innovation! =)


Kat Kennedy yes, I try to do new things!


Deanna I don't know you personally, but I wonder if I could add you to my "friend" list. What a great review!! I've not heard of the others, except Ender. Thanks for the excellent read!


Kat Kennedy Deanna, go for it and add me! Glad you liked the review!


message 25: by Vi (new) - rated it 1 star

Vi Just wanted to let you know: When your writing your review there's a check box you can select to indicate that there are spoilers in your review.


Amazon80 Great review, as always. This book was not what I expected but I agree they should have stayed in the Capitol and played a role in the rebuilding of the nation. Peeta is smart and clearly would have been an efficient leader. Maybe not President at first but eventually.


message 27: by Kate (new) - rated it 4 stars

Kate Copeseeley FINALLY, someone who likes the book as much as I did. Wasn't super keen on the second book (I hate reruns) but I thought the last book kicked butt!!! I have yet to find a single person besides you who liked it.
Now I want to know which of the Harry Potter books was your favorite, because if you say Order of the Phoenix, I will know we are soul mates. Unless you've never read Harry Potter, in which case... well... I will go off and die in the corner now. hahaha


Kat Kennedy Uhmmm.....

Actually, I didn't mind OoTP but it's not my favourite! Sorry!


message 29: by Kate (new) - rated it 4 stars

Kate Copeseeley Oh well, I'm just odd, I guess. :) I liked the second Twilight book, as well, everyone always tells me how weird that is. hehehe


Alyssa J. Have you, kind sir, ever thought about writing for Cracked.com?


Kat Kennedy Haha! Is it that obvious that I read Cracked? *Rereads review* actually, yes, yes it is!


Alyssa J. Kat wrote: "Haha! Is it that obvious that I read Cracked? *Rereads review* actually, yes, yes it is!"

I'm not quite sure what you just said, but I love you. And not in a creepy, stalkerish way.


Kat Kennedy You've just brightened my day!


Alyssa J. Kat wrote: "You've just brightened my day!"

Aw, thanks. I love doing that. :)


Spider the Doof Warrior i thought i was alone in being mad at Katniss's mother because she just LEFT her. Now I know she lost her daughter, but what about Traumatized for Life Katniss? At least she had Peeta.
I love Peeta.
He was so sweet. I would like a man like him.


Taneika Ohhh! I completely agree with EVERYTHING you just said in this review!


Mindy Love this review! I personally think the book was the best book of 2010 so yeah! I've noticed that a lot of the people who hated it had odd obsessions with Gale. I don't understand because Gale always seemed like a jerk to me... and it's ok to be an evil reviewer, it's more fun!
And Kate, New Moon was so much better than the last two books! I had to reread it to see it, but once I did, it became clear.


Aly (Fantasy4eva) I had the exact opposite reaction to it. Not going to get into details because then I'll be ranting forever, but good to know you liked it :)


message 39: by Kate (last edited Nov 01, 2011 05:51AM) (new) - rated it 4 stars

Kate Copeseeley Mindy wrote: "Love this review! I personally think the book was the best book of 2010 so yeah! I've noticed that a lot of the people who hated it had odd obsessions with Gale. I don't understand because Gale alw..."

Maybe I just liked New Moon because there was less Edward. Man that guy was a jerk sometimes. Oh, crap, I probably shouldn't say that. Hordes of Twi-moms will swoop down from the skies and scoop me up.

BTW, Mindy, I too thought Gale was kind of a jerk. Peeta was far superior in every way, which is demonstrated by Gale's actions in the third book.


Mindy Exactly. Like he wasn't an awful person, but he was very selfish and self-centered I think.


Katherine I didn't really think about Paynor's election it until I read this review. I assumed that the electing wasn't done by the whole country but by the leaders of the rebellion. They needed to get a leader in fast, Katniss and Peeta are still unstable and Katniss is hard to work with, putting them out of the question (for the time being) so they need to find someone else.


Tracey What an excellent review on all points! I liked the points on Katniss mother, good enough for Peeta, teenage capabilties, but all your points were great. Minor dissention on the Paynor election. I agree with Katherine's note plus the fact that (if I recall correctly) Paynor was a former Tribute. She'd be well known and have some inherent trust level built in as a survivor (among the districts) and a celebrity (among Capitol citizens). Excellent review!!!


message 43: by [deleted user] (new)

Are you calling my mom a bitch!
I like the Boob Fairy!


Wayne brown lol


message 45: by Mark (new) - rated it 4 stars

Mark Maraj Your opening was too funny! Great review!


message 46: by Siobhan (new)

Siobhan O'Laoghaire-Sannes Awesome post! And I agree with you about Katniss' mother. Why she ends up being painted as a beautiful and heroic Florence Nightingale is beyond me.


message 47: by Lexi (new) - rated it 4 stars

Lexi Foor Kat, I have just finished reading, "The MockingJay." Although, I believe I understood the book fairly, I still have a few questions I would like to hear your opinion on.
1.) Do you think Katniss should of agreed to become the MockingJay? Why or why not? If you were in her place, would you decline or accept the offer?
2.) If someone you liked shot someone you loved, would you still be able to have those same feelings towards them? Would you be able to look at them the same? Explain.
3.)Why do you think making propos was so important to District 13? If you were to come up with an idea for a propo, how would you want it to be?
Your opinions would be greatly appreciated. :)


Anña  Karenina I freaking love your review


Bennett That was too funny!!!!


Bennett But, technically, katniss was seventeen in books 2 and 3


« previous 1
back to top