Baba 's Reviews > The Open Arms of the Sea

The Open Arms of the Sea by Jasper Dorgan
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
4669232
's review

it was ok
bookshelves: m-m, military-and-former-mil-cia-navy, historicals, dnf, bored-out-of-my-mind

DNF at 50 %. 2 stars. Review posted April 6, 2014

The first paragraph...beautiful:
 photo oie_SbTVp5BzQCm1_zps108ea73d.gif

The writing was good but my low rating reflects my BOREDOM.

I loved the cover and the title and saw the list Best Gay Military and I was like "Hell yes, count me in!" In fact, it was unavoidable to take a trip down memory lane because Special Forces: Soldiers Part I -Director's Cut is on the same list. Friendly heads up, lovers of the SF epic should go into it with realistic expectations. The Open Arms of the Sea is nothing, and I mean nothing, like Special Forces.

I will not go into details, though. I mean what can I review anyway? Proper words elude me because I was simply bored out of my ever lovin' mind. Like I mentioned in one of my updates, Deacon ogling a couple sweaty soldiers and feeling guilty won't hold my interest. There wasn't much going on and while I'm perfectly fine with a clean read I really, really need some kind of relationship development but there wasn't anything remotely close to that going on either.

This was a total bust. Well, onwards…


P.S. I wonder over and over again why authors don't hire professional editors who really command a foreign language. The French translations were not correct. A little example: a l'eglise = à l'église.
30 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Open Arms of the Sea.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

March 31, 2014 – Shelved
March 31, 2014 – Shelved as: to-read
March 31, 2014 – Shelved as: m-m
March 31, 2014 – Shelved as: military-and-former-mil-cia-navy
March 31, 2014 – Shelved as: historicals
April 4, 2014 – Started Reading
April 4, 2014 –
0.0% " photo 99fd335d-ddf9-468a-b01f-fc559b793185_zps84911541.png\n Back to M/M and the desert..."
April 4, 2014 –
16.0% " "If either of the prisoners steps out of the shadow of the truck you have my permission to shoot them."\n "Oh thank you very much, sir," said Lockett. "I haven't shot an officer before. At least not from the front. Head or the heart, sir?"\n "It's been such a wonderful morning so far, corporal, that I am feeling particularly bounteous. You can have one of each." \n Yep, I feel good! :)"
April 5, 2014 –
39.0% " photo tumblr_mefrxlhyvL1ry8wlx_zpsdd510692.gif\n WTH is this supposed to be? Certainly not M/M. Peeking at a couple sweaty men and feeling guilty isn't going to hold my interest. I don't need any bedroom action but this??? I'm bored out of my ever lovin' mind. :(("
April 5, 2014 –
50.0% "DNF."
April 5, 2014 – Finished Reading
April 6, 2014 – Shelved as: dnf
April 6, 2014 – Shelved as: bored-out-of-my-mind

Comments Showing 1-31 of 31 (31 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Christine Wallflower & Dark Romance Junkie Sorry that it was a bust Baba!!! On to the next great read!!!


Lisa *-* GiViNg It To YoU * LoCk StOcK & TwO SmOkiNg BaRrELs Same it didn't live up to the cover, I love the cover.
Onwards and upwards to your next gem of a read xoxo


Baba  Christine née The Dark Romance Junkie wrote: "Sorry that it was a bust Baba!!! On to the next great read!!!"

Thanks, Christine. :)


Baba  Lisa *-* WaNtS tO dO wrote: "Same it didn't live up to the cover, I love the cover.
Onwards and upwards to your next gem of a read xoxo"


Yes, exactly. Gosh, I love that cover! Anyway, my current read seems to be a real winner! Thanks, Lisa lovely. :) xxx


message 5: by Jasper (new)

Jasper Dorgan Thank you for your review of my book. I'm sorry that it bored you out of your mind. I wish you better fortune with your next read.
Jasper


message 6: by Lisa Jayne (new)

Lisa Jayne Sorry it wasn't for you baba !!


message 7: by Glamdring (new)

Glamdring Sorry it was a disappointment but nicely said, Baba :)xxx


message 8: by Kristen (new)

Kristen Sorry this one didn't work for you, Baba! ((hugs)) and kisses.


Shannie's ⭐️Lookin' 4 My Next BBF⭐️ Aw sorry this one sucked Baba!! XO


Katy Loves Romance ❤️ Oh sorry Baba, but fabulous review I hope you find a much better read next time :)))


message 11: by Mysza (new)

Mysza Sorry Baba it didn't work out for you:(


Lady Vigilante (Feifei) Nicely said Baba! I sure hope your next one is better! So many busts :/ ((hugs))


Pavlina Read more sleep less blog❤❤  I hope your next book is better hon <33


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ Sorry B! Your review explained it well. = /


Baba  Jasper wrote: "Thank you for your review of my book. I'm sorry that it bored you out of your mind. I wish you better fortune with your next read.
Jasper"


Thanks, Jasper. I'm sorry I didn't enjoy it.


Baba  Lisa Jayne wrote: "Sorry it wasn't for you baba !!"

Thanks, Lisa babes. :) xxx


Baba  Glamdring wrote: "Sorry it was a disappointment but nicely said, Baba :)xxx"

Thanks, Glam. :) xxx


Baba  Kristen (Peddler of Smut) wrote: "Sorry this one didn't work for you, Baba! ((hugs)) and kisses."

Thanks my sweet friend. :) xoxox


Baba  Shannon wrote: "Aw sorry this one sucked Baba!! XO"

Thank you, Shannon. :) xxx


Baba  Katy wrote: "Oh sorry Baba, but fabulous review I hope you find a much better read next time :)))"

Thank you, Katy. My current read is more to my liking. :) xxx


Baba  Mysza wrote: "Sorry Baba it didn't work out for you:("

Thanks, Mysza. :)


Baba  Lady Vigilante (Feifei) wrote: "Nicely said Baba! I sure hope your next one is better! So many busts :/ ((hugs))"

Yup, my current read is better. Thank you, Feifei. :) xxx


Baba  Pavlina loves Dex ❤❤ wrote: "I hope your next book is better hon <33"

It is. Thank you, hon. :) xxx


Baba  Lisa wrote: "Sorry this one a bust, Baba! Great review!"

Thanks, Lisa. :)


Baba  SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ wrote: "Sorry B! Your review explained it well. = /"

Thank you, Sue. :)


message 26: by Paula (new)

Paula Eep! Sorry this didn't work for you.


Baba  Paula - Romantic Book Affairs wrote: "Eep! Sorry this didn't work for you."

Thanks, Paula. :)


message 28: by ♥Rachel♥ (new)

♥Rachel♥ Boredom makes reading feel like a chore instead of a fun hobby to sweep us away. Sorry this didn't work out for you, Baba. Great honest review. :)


Baba  ♥Rachel♥ wrote: "Boredom makes reading feel like a chore instead of a fun hobby to sweep us away. Sorry this didn't work out for you, Baba. Great honest review. :)"

Thanks, Rachel. I couldn't agree more! :)


message 30: by Sammy (new)

Sammy Loves Books Love the honesty Baba!! Bad editing can ruin an otherwise good book.


Baba  Sammy wrote: "Love the honesty Baba!! Bad editing can ruin an otherwise good book."

Thanks, Sammy. :))


back to top