Baba 's Reviews > Into the Storm

Into the Storm by Susan Fanetti
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
4669232
's review
Mar 23, 2014

liked it
bookshelves: being-mature-is-sexy

Overall rating 3.5 stars. Rating clarification: please scroll down. Review completed April 8, 2014

 photo oie_EsW9MASgL2FN_zps0a66d4f2.gif

 photo oie_Qv13w63YpNGX_zpsa874c6a4.gif

 photo oie_LvZasxkMKNJc_zpsf7150291.gif

 photo 3f646c03-2090-4352-b288-8d9c07cc77cc_zpsa0f294e5.png

 photo oie_flDRvRIukek5_zps2791929b.gif

Unfortunately Into the Storm wasn't up to par with the two previous books.

Showdown: 4.5 stars
Shannon: 2 stars
Storyline: 3.5 stars
Sex scenes: 3.75 stars
Overall rating: 3.5 stars

I could have given Show five stars in order to honor the author's "originality" and courage for having written a sexy and hot hero in his late 40s (Show is almost fifty-years-old). As many of you know I'm a sucker for older MCs. By the way, it would have pleased me immensely when Show had been paired with a strong woman in her late 40s.

For the sake of all those readers who haven’t started this series yet, I won’t be going into real details as to what happened to Show in the previous book Behold the Stars. Suffice it to say that his loss was huge. He’d been drowning his grief in too many bottles of hard liquor and didn’t socialize much. Even before he lost everything, his family life wasn’t at its best. Show was still trying to weather that storm of grief, pain and loss when Shannon entered his life. The manager of Signal Bend's new Keller Acres Bed & Breakfast brought a fresh breeze into his life before he was even ready to acknowledge it. In the process he had to reacquaint himself how to court a prospect love interest. Lemme tell you it started off a little bit bumpy but in the course of time good ole Showdown was back in the swing of things. Mmm…it might be of interest to you when I say it was pretty hot. Not too shabby for an almost fifty-year-old biker dude, for sure.

I didn't understand why Shannon acted self-righteous and bitchy because she was pretty much aware of Show's tragic fate when she hit on him. Thus I really expected her to be more sympathetic and understanding towards Show's position and his state of mind. Show is a level-headed man, taciturn and a thinker. He's the opposite of hothead Isaac, hero of Move the Sun and Behold the Stars. First, Show acted indifferent, like he wasn't interested and he simply ignored Shannon. However, as time passed, he had to admit that he wanted to share his life with someone even though he was afraid to bind himself to a woman again. Being intimate with Shannon made him realize how lonely and hollow his life had been (view spoiler)

What saved this book for me was Show. He's the s@it! I have a little crush on that HUGE hunk of a man, and I would have loved to give this book a higher rating, but I honestly didn't like Shannon. In fact, I would have preferred to seeing Show with a woman who could have kicked some serious ass. Someone…different. Shannon was too insensitive and her secretiveness got on my last nerve. Oh, and that effin' freak-out of hers…WTF? It was very OTT. Despite there being a couple incredibly intense and heart-breaking moments depicting Show and his gut-wrenching grief, I'm very sorry to say that I couldn't get past my dislike for Shannon. I didn't mind the quieter tone of the story which accommodated the calm hero nicely, and romance readers will be pleased to hear that Into the Storm is much less violent than its predecessors.

Into the Storm is a story about laying old demons to rest and finding a sense of purpose again. It's also about rediscovering your needs, wants and desires and acting upon them without feeling guilty. Show has found his road again.

If you are a fan of the Signal Bend series then I recommend you to read Into the Storm.


http://baba.booklikes.com
59 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Into the Storm.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

March 23, 2014 – Shelved
March 23, 2014 – Shelved as: to-read
April 2, 2014 – Started Reading
April 2, 2014 –
0.0% " photo tumblr_m8m9qbHj7g1qhxhvbo1_500_zpsdda99d00.gif\n I'm back to the Signal Bend series and Showdown's story! Show, you can grab my ass anytime… :)"
April 3, 2014 –
41.0% " photo oie_aHCrcmydTmzc_zps5f7b55bd.gif\n I love Show! I haven't warmed up to Shannon. Yet. Compared to the two previous books this feels kinda different. Definitely less violent..."
April 3, 2014 –
65.0% " photo 595766f0-04b4-4583-b1f8-5451acb9af1c_zps26d9f568.png\n True that. Show is hot and considerate and quiet and serious and….<333\n Shannon…well, she's getting on my nerves with her secretiveness."
April 4, 2014 –
100.0% " "Blue. Blue is my favorite color."\n "Like sky blue, or navy blue, or--"\n "Like your eyes." \n Show wasn't a sweet talker or a romantic. He was just…true. Real. Direct. And it made the times he said amazingly sweet, romantic things like that a billion times more amazing, because he simply meant what he said. "
April 4, 2014 – Finished Reading
April 6, 2014 – Shelved as: being-mature-is-sexy

Comments (showing 1-50 of 64) (64 new)


message 1: by Vallsykes (last edited Apr 03, 2014 04:40PM) (new) - rated it 4 stars

Vallsykes Soraya Naomi wrote: "Hmmm I think it's time I start this ;-). Book 1 and 2 have been all over my feed, it must be a sign."

description


Baba  Soraya Naomi wrote: "Hmmm I think it's time I start this ;-). Book 1 and 2 have been all over my feed, it must be a sign.

Hope you enjoy!"


Book 1 and 2 are better than the third one. Still, it was worth reading for the sake of Show! Boy, he's hot!! :))
Hope you'll enjoy the books!


message 3: by Lisa (new)

Lisa Looking forward to your review, Baba! ;)


message 4: by Kristen (new)

Kristen looking forward to your full review, Baba! xoxo


Maida»-(¯`v´¯)-» Aww too bad Shannon didn't do it for you, Baba! I'm looking forward to reading whatever else you have to say about her and especially Show! Fab pre-review! :)


message 6: by ♥Rachel♥ (new)

♥Rachel♥ I do like the originality of making the MC in his late 40s I'm all about a sexy, wiser, more experienced man. ;) Love your prelim here, Baba! :)


message 7: by Vallsykes (last edited Apr 04, 2014 10:15PM) (new) - rated it 4 stars

Vallsykes Baba ♥♥♥ Tyler, Marcus, Dean, Tate, Dan, Ty & Hunter wrote: "Showdown: 4.5 stars
Shannon: 2 stars
Storyline: 3.5 stars
Sex scenes: 3.75 stars
Overall rating: 3.5 stars"


That pretty much sums it up. When I saw this list, I was like, "Yep!"
I wasn't too hot about Shannon, either. She had some realist tendencies that I could appreciate, but the rest of her story and characterization left much to be desired.

Baba ♥♥♥ Tyler, Marcus, Dean, Tate, Dan, Ty & Hunter wrote: "it would have pleased me immensely when Show had been paired with a strong woman in her late 40s."

This would have intrigued me more, too. I love Show as a character as much as I love Isaac, in some ways, more.


Baba  Lisa wrote: "Looking forward to your review, Baba! ;)"

Thanks, Lisa. :)


Baba  Kristen (Peddler of Smut) wrote: "looking forward to your full review, Baba! xoxo"

Thanks, Kristen. :) xoxox


Baba  MåїÐ»-(¯`v´¯)-» wrote: "Aww too bad Shannon didn't do it for you, Baba! I'm looking forward to reading whatever else you have to say about her and especially Show! Fab pre-review! :)"

Thanks, Maida. I don't know yet what else I should write. Lol
Need to think about it for a while. :)) xxx


Baba  ♥Rachel♥ wrote: "I do like the originality of making the MC in his late 40s I'm all about a sexy, wiser, more experienced man. ;) Love your prelim here, Baba! :)"

Thanks, Rachel. Yup, I'm all for an experienced man, too!!! :))


Baba  Vallsykes wrote: "Baba ♥♥♥ Tyler, Marcus, Dean, Tate, Dan, Ty & Hunter wrote: "Showdown: 4.5 stars
Shannon: 2 stars
Storyline: 3.5 stars
Sex scenes: 3.75 stars
Overall rating: 3.5 stars"

That pretty much sums it ..."


Thanks, Vall. I'm glad we're on the same page. I know I'm a tiny bit picky but I would really appreciate it when more authors would write LIKABLE and realistic female characters. I want…I dunno…I want to be able to somehow relate to all those heroines.


Baba  Vilda wrote: "That sucks when you don't like the woman... But I'm glad Show was so awesome ;) Great review!"

Thanks, Vilda. Well, I was happy that Show was soooo good! He made up for the heroine, for sure! :))


message 14: by Lisa Jayne (new)

Lisa Jayne Stunning so far, baba !!! (Babes ;-) )


Baba  Lisa Jayne wrote: "Stunning so far, baba !!! (Babes ;-) )"

Lol Thanks, Lisa babes. :) *mwah*


Iryna Incredible review, Baba. Two first series were my favorite too... I am stuck at the 4th book...


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ Beautiful review and art B! I am sorry this part missed the mark a bit. But I gather the series overall has still been a hit. = ) xo


Baba  Iryna wrote: "Incredible review, Baba. Two first series were my favorite too... I am stuck at the 4th book..."

Thanks, Iryna. I think I will skip the next book and jump right onto Havoc's story! :)) xxx


Baba  SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ wrote: "Beautiful review and art B! I am sorry this part missed the mark a bit. But I gather the series overall has still been a hit. = ) xo"

Thanks, Sue. Well, it wasn't as good as the previous books. Still, it was worth reading and I really loved Show! :) xxx


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ I understand. = )) Will you continuing on?


Iryna Baba ♥♥♥ Tyler, Marcus, Dean, Tate, Dan, Ty & Hunter wrote: "Iryna wrote: "Incredible review, Baba. Two first series were my favorite too... I am stuck at the 4th book..."

Thanks, Iryna. I think I will skip the next book and jump right onto Havoc's story! :..."


I think that's a good idea. Probably will follow your strategy lol. xoxo


message 22: by Cathy M. (new)

Cathy M. Great review Baba!


Christine Wallflower & Dark Romance Junkie Awesome review Baba!!!


Debra Fabulous review, Baba!! :)


message 25: by * Meli Mel * (new) - added it

* Meli Mel * Wonderful review, Baba!!


message 26: by Lady Vigilante (Feifei) (last edited Apr 08, 2014 03:13PM) (new)

Lady Vigilante (Feifei) Amazing review Baba! I completely appreciate the way you worded it too for those who haven't read books 1 and 2 <3


message 27: by Rica (new) - rated it 5 stars

Rica Great review Baba! I just wanted to hug Show throughout this book...hell throughout all three books!


Emma ~ The Indecisive Reader ~ Awesome review Baba :-))


Kristin (KC) - Traveling Sister A great review, Baba! :)


message 30: by Mysza (new)

Mysza Fab review Baba babe:)


Baba  SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ wrote: "I understand. = )) Will you continuing on?"

Yep, I'm going to read Havoc's story (book 5). :)


Baba  Iryna wrote: "Baba ♥♥♥ Tyler, Marcus, Dean, Tate, Dan, Ty & Hunter wrote: "Iryna wrote: "Incredible review, Baba. Two first series were my favorite too... I am stuck at the 4th book..."

Thanks, Iryna. I think ..."


Lol Good. :)) xxx


Baba  Cathy wrote: "Great review Baba!"

Thanks, Cathy. :))


Baba  Christine née The Dark Romance Junkie wrote: "Awesome review Baba!!!"

Thanks, Christine. :))


Baba  Debra wrote: "Fabulous review, Baba!! :)"

Thanks, Debra. :))


Baba  Meli Mel *Ty and Zane's Creeper* wrote: "Wonderful review, Baba!!"

Thanks, Meli. :))


Baba  Lady Vigilante (Feifei) wrote: "Amazing review Baba! I completely appreciate the way you worded it too for those who haven't read books 1 and 2 <3"

Thanks, Feifei. I'm glad to know it was all right. :)) xxx


Baba  Rica wrote: "Great review Baba! I just wanted to hug Show throughout this book...hell throughout all three books!"

Thanks, Rica. I'd say he needed a hug. :))


Baba  Emma wrote: "Awesome review Baba :-))"

Thanks, Emma. :))


Baba  Kristin (KC) wrote: "A great review, Baba! :)"

Thanks, Kris. :))


Baba  Mysza wrote: "Fab review Baba babe:)"

Thanks Mysza lovely. :))


Sunny Baba, I think you will enjoy In Dark Woods, the novella. You get to revisit Lilli and Isaac. I thought it was heartbreaking.


message 43: by Pam (new) - added it

Pam Great review, Baba :)


message 44: by Kristen (new)

Kristen Wonderful full review, Baba! xoxo


Baba  Sunny wrote: "Baba, I think you will enjoy In Dark Woods, the novella. You get to revisit Lilli and Isaac. I thought it was heartbreaking."

I downloaded it already. Thank you, Sunny. :)


Baba  Pam wrote: "Great review, Baba :)"

Thanks, Pam. :))


Baba  Kristen (Peddler of Smut) wrote: "Wonderful full review, Baba! xoxo"

Thanks my sweet friend. :)) xoxox


Baba  Kristen (Peddler of Smut) wrote: "Wonderful full review, Baba! xoxo"

Thanks my sweet friend. :)) xoxox


message 49: by Sammy (new)

Sammy Loves Books Wonderful review Baba ;o)


Baba  Sammy wrote: "Wonderful review Baba ;o)"

Thanks, Sammy. :))


« previous 1
back to top