Baba 's Reviews > In Dark Woods

In Dark Woods by Susan Fanetti
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
4669232
's review
Mar 23, 2014

really liked it
bookshelves: books-kelly-and-baba-liked-or-loved, novellas-or-short-stories

4.5 stars. Review posted April 13, 2014

 photo oie_hifYz7zcX83B_zpse98ce16e.gif

 photo d2589799-cff3-444c-9ac3-d9d1bce0148d_zps3dde75a7.png

It was intense and almost unbearably emotional occasionally. It fucking hurt. Keep a stack of tissues at the ready. Let me handle my review the same way we rip off a band-aid: quick. Fact is, I don't see any purpose in digging around the painful and fierce turmoil which had been provided by In Dark Woods. A riveting and well-written turmoil, that is.

 photo tumblr_mdfys7zr6P1rh7xy4o1_500_zpsad2342bc.gif

I'm neither a writer nor a poet. I am a simple reviewer. Yet I wanted to convey my feelings in a special way. It's not a poem, it's a listing of thoughts and I'd like to dedicate it to Isaac and Lilli. Since I didn't want to feel stupid over doing something a bit unconventional for once, I sent it to a dear friend of mine to get her…um…approval. She told me it made her cry. Well, and her response made me teary-eyed.


When tragedy strikes, time stands still
All the wait saturated with angst, despair and hope

Drowning in pain and misery
Fighting back, coping with depression, inadequacies
A savage fear rears its ugly head

Hope blooms

Wiped out by setbacks and everyday worries
Crying jags, exhaustion obliterated by strength and a battling disposition

Marked by milestones
Suppressed desires
Touching, caressing, feeling, skin on skin

Just hold me
Fucking hold me together

A climax

Incentive to keep going
Dealing with quarrels, divergences

To wing hope
(view spoiler)
Love weathers any storm

And underneath it all a human being
No surrender, unconditional devotion

Don't take anything for granted
Gratitude, bliss

At last

Escaping the dark woods
Back on the right road

(view spoiler)

Again.



Maybe I should hand over a thankyou to the author because her words inspired mine.
In Dark Woods really touched me deeply. Even today I'm still thinking about this novella and I decided to upgrade my rating to 4.5 stars.

(view spoiler)

 photo tumblr_muispn9hRn1rk0tgso1_500_zpsd4ea41c4.gif

Bottom line, In Dark Woods is a very intimate and profoundly moving portrayal of Isaac and Lilli and a must read for every fan of the Signal Bend series.

Recommended read.
47 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read In Dark Woods.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

March 23, 2014 – Shelved
March 23, 2014 – Shelved as: to-read
April 10, 2014 – Started Reading
April 10, 2014 –
0.0% " photo oie_0DyQ9nv4y9JA_zps10c74f45.gif\n I'm back to the Signal Bend series! More Isaac and Lilli… :)))"
April 11, 2014 –
100.0% " photo oie_1Htc6SQO4tUi_zpsae32afbe.gif"
April 11, 2014 – Shelved as: books-kelly-and-baba-liked-or-loved
April 11, 2014 – Shelved as: novellas-or-short-stories
April 11, 2014 – Finished Reading

Comments (showing 1-50 of 62) (62 new)


Taintedskyee (Books Books&More Books) Didn't like bearded guys much but ur Gifs and pics great.they are hot&sexy. Great work lookin forward to read the review.


message 2: by Geri Reads (new)

Geri Reads I need to get back to this series soon! :)


Baba  Bibliophilia {Søren & Kingsley Forever} wrote: "Love the pics and gifs you share, hun xx

I have this whole series so far, is it worth a read?"


Thank you, hon. Yes, please do give it a try!! Book 3 is my least favorite so far and I haven't read book 4. But book 1 and 2 and the novella are definitely worth reading! :) xxx


message 4: by Baba (last edited Apr 12, 2014 05:33AM) (new) - rated it 4 stars

Baba  Taintedskyee (Books Books&More Books) wrote: "Didn't like bearded guys much but ur Gifs and pics great.they are hot&sexy. Great work lookin forward to read the review."

Lol I just think if it's the right guy then it can look pretty hot!! :))
Thanks, T.


Baba  ♥~♥Geri♥~♥HatesLoveTriangles ♥~♥ wrote: "I need to get back to this series soon! :)"

Yep, that's a good idea, Geri. :)


Taintedskyee (Books Books&More Books) Baba ♥♥♥ Tyler, Marcus, Dean, Tate, Dan, Ty & Hunter wrote: "Taintedskyee (Books Books&More Books) wrote: "Didn't like bearded guys much but ur Gifs and pics great.they are hot&sexy. Great work lookin forward to read the review."

Lol I just think if it's th..."

I cant agree more.Lol


Baba  Taintedskyee (Books Books&More Books) wrote: "Baba ♥♥♥ Tyler, Marcus, Dean, Tate, Dan, Ty & Hunter wrote: "Taintedskyee (Books Books&More Books) wrote: "Didn't like bearded guys much but ur Gifs and pics great.they are hot&sexy. Great work lo..."

Lol *high five* :)


message 8: by Eva (new)

Eva Amazing review, Baba ❤️


Baba  Eva wrote: "Amazing review, Baba ❤️"

Thank you, Eva. :)) <33


message 10: by Jessi (new) - added it

Jessi Beautiful review Baba!


message 11: by Sheri (new)

Sheri Awesome review! Love it :D


♥Sharon♥ Amazing review Baba! :-)


Ije the Devourer of Books A beautiful review. Very thoughtful and reflective. Thanks for sharing.


message 14: by Lisa (new)

Lisa Fabulous review, Baba!


Vallsykes Baba! My dear, my kindred reviewer, my GR pal...
that.poem.was.freaking.AMAZING!

Baba ♥♥♥ Tyler, Marcus, Dean, Tate, Dan, Ty & Hunter wrote: "Just hold me
Fucking hold me together

A climax"


That just brought me back to a certain part.

Baba ♥♥♥ Tyler, Marcus, Dean, Tate, Dan, Ty & Hunter wrote: "And underneath it all a human being
No surrender, unconditional devotion

Don't take anything for granted
Gratitude, bliss

At last

Escaping the dark woods"


Sorry to keep quoting, but you hit it on the nose when you said "it fucking hurt."

What is built and what is suffered by Isaac and Lilli...this couple really affects me.

What a great review! Thanks so much for sharing.


Lady Vigilante (Feifei) Fantastic review Baba!! xoxo


message 17: by Ronyell (new)

Ronyell Awesome review Baba! I'm definitely checking out this book!


Baba  Jessi wrote: "Beautiful review Baba!"

Thank you, Jessi. :))


Baba  Sheri wrote: "Awesome review! Love it :D"

Thank you, Sheri. :)) <3


Baba  ♥Sharon♥ wrote: "Amazing review Baba! :-)"

Thank you, Sharon. :))


Baba  Ije the Devourer of Books wrote: "A beautiful review. Very thoughtful and reflective. Thanks for sharing."

Thank you, Ije, and you are welcome. :))


Baba  Lisa wrote: "Fabulous review, Baba!"

Thank you, Lisa. :))


Baba  Vallsykes wrote: "Baba! My dear, my kindred reviewer, my GR pal...
that.poem.was.freaking.AMAZING!

Baba ♥♥♥ Tyler, Marcus, Dean, Tate, Dan, Ty & Hunter wrote: "Just hold me
Fucking hold me together

A climax"

Tha..."


Lol You are too sweet, Vall, thank you and you are welcome! This came pretty much out of the blue. I wrote it down and asked a friend if I should post it. :)

I agree with you. This couple really does affect me, too. Very much so.


Baba  Lady Vigilante (Feifei) wrote: "Fantastic review Baba!! xoxo"

Thank you, Feifei. :)) xoxox


message 25: by Baba (last edited Apr 13, 2014 11:19AM) (new) - rated it 4 stars

Baba  Ronyell wrote: "Awesome review Baba! I'm definitely checking out this book!"

Thank you, Ronyell. It would be favorable to read

Move the Sun and
Behold the Stars

before In Dark Woods. :))

P.S. I haven't read Alone on Earth but it worked out fine for me.


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ Beautiful review and art B! So glad you have found a series to love! = ))


message 27: by Ronyell (new)

Ronyell Baba ♥♥♥ Tyler, Marcus, Dean, Tate, Dan, Ty & Hunter wrote: "Ronyell wrote: "Awesome review Baba! I'm definitely checking out this book!"

Thank you, Ronyell. It would be favorable to read

Move the Sun and
Behold the Stars
..."


Thanks!


Pavlina Read more sleep less blog❤❤  Wonderful review hon <33


message 29: by ♥Rachel♥ (new)

♥Rachel♥ Beautiful review and poem, Baba! Although, I must admit, your review makes me nervous about what I guess might have happened to Isaac. Still, I'm very intrigued!


message 30: by * Meli Mel * (new)

* Meli Mel * WONDERFUL review, Baba! :)


message 31: by Barbara (new)

Barbara Awesome review Baba! xx


message 32: by Laura (new)

Laura Wonderful review, Baba! :)


Alex is The Romance Fox You are a poet Baba.....your words touched my heart.xx
Amazing review.


Baba  Ronyell wrote: "Baba ♥♥♥ Tyler, Marcus, Dean, Tate, Dan, Ty & Hunter wrote: "Ronyell wrote: "Awesome review Baba! I'm definitely checking out this book!"

Thank you, Ronyell. It would be favorable to read

[book..."


You're welcome. :)


Baba  SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ wrote: "Beautiful review and art B! So glad you have found a series to love! = ))"

Thank you, Sue. Yeah, this series is a winner! :))


Baba  Pavlina loves Dex ❤❤ wrote: "Wonderful review hon <33"

Thank you, hon. :)) xxx


Baba  ♥Rachel♥ wrote: "Beautiful review and poem, Baba! Although, I must admit, your review makes me nervous about what I guess might have happened to Isaac. Still, I'm very intrigued!"

Thank you, Rachel. It was bad but keep in mind it's romance. That means there is a HEA. :))


Baba  Meli Mel *Ty and Zane's Creeper* wrote: "WONDERFUL review, Baba! :)"

Thank you, Meli. :))


Baba  Barbara wrote: "Awesome review Baba! xx"

Thanks dearie. :)) xxx


Baba  Laura wrote: "Wonderful review, Baba! :)"

Thank you, Laura. :))


Baba  Alex E wrote: "You are a poet Baba.....your words touched my heart.xx
Amazing review."


You're sweet, Alex. Thank you. :)) xxx


message 42: by Joy (new) - rated it 4 stars

Joy Beautiful review Baba


message 43: by Kristen (new)

Kristen Fantastic review, Baba! Glad you loved this book! xoxo


message 44: by [deleted user] (new)

You have a beautiful way with your words!
Great review. :)


Baba  Joy wrote: "Beautiful review Baba"

Thanks, Joy. :))


Baba  Kristen (Peddler of Smut) wrote: "Fantastic review, Baba! Glad you loved this book! xoxo"

Thanks, hon. I'm glad too, for sure!! :))) xoxox


Baba  Aisha wrote: "You have a beautiful way with your words!
Great review. :)"


Thank you, Aisha. :))


message 48: by Geri Reads (new)

Geri Reads Ah your words, Baba! Fantastic review! :)


message 49: by Dijya (new) - added it

Dijya Loved your review Baba..:D


Baba  Vilda wrote: "Ohh, lovely review, Baba! Glad you enjoyed it :D"

Thanks, Vilda. :))


« previous 1
back to top