Baba 's Reviews > Star-Crossed

Star-Crossed by Luna Lacour
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
4669232
's review

it was ok
bookshelves: dnf, rolls-eyes

1.5 stars. DNF at 50 % Review posted March 24, 2014

 photo tumblr_mkipggMv6M1s49gedo1_500_zps05b2a919.gif

I love lyrical prose (emphasis on lyrical) and not corny purple prose. When I get the impression that an author tries too hard and, in the process comes off as pretentious, my interest fades away fast. As you can gather from my review this was the case with Star-Crossed. The characters and plot but also the storytelling itself came off as indifferent and unappealing. The story was monotonous and fell flat. Everything simply plodded along without much purpose. I know the purpose of the story was that game to seduce the teacher but still. I just didn't feel it and ended up bored.

 photo Bildschirmfoto2014-03-20um182318_zps8e7cb5e2.png

Star-Crossed is nowhere as good as Leah Raeder's Unteachable because first and foremost it lacked the magic. It didn't shine. If anything, it came off as bland and dull. I remember that I didn't fall for the characters in Unteachable but I irrevocably fell for Leah's splendid writing. Unfortunately, this wasn't the case here. I neither liked the characters nor the writing style.

When I finally DNFd the book I've had my fill of analogies and semi-colons. I think the quotes are more telling than a long-winded review.

It wasn't love. (I hope not, Kaitlyn. After all, you only met him a few minutes ago). I didn't love him. But I felt something - and that was enough to make me breathe in the air around us like it was some sweet nectar that if I didn't savor then, I'd never have the chance. He smelled of warm almond; of coffee and sweat, which might have been mixed with the espresso I'd drank or the caramel still lacing my breath. Cherry sugar still coated my tongue, and I wanted him to taste it.

Shame came flooding like a syringe shot straight into the vein, mixed with an undeniable thrill.

She had about the same subtlety of a cow chewing grass, but oddly enough, there was something sultry about the way her mouth moved.

My father was surrounded by his business partners, all in suits, their faces already flushed from the alcohol that slogged through their veins like motor oil.

The candle flame was still dancing, rising and falling as the white wax dripped down like sweat from joined bodies.


 photo tumblr_miva01qlzc1qhgogbo1_500_zps1ad8603d.gif

At first, his hands shot up, like a criminal marked with a red hot target; like he was facing certain death by firing squad. They fell slow as quick-sand, eventually finding my hips where they settled with a shaky hesitancy, hovering just above the fabric.

Mr. Tennant kissed my mouth like it was something to worship, something to savor. Delicate and delicious, his breath shallow as a pool of puddle water. And if I were still a child, still stuck in the age of sticky-sweet candy and hop-scotch, I would have jumped and played in that murky depth forever.


 photo tumblr_m64mt2RdTQ1qfq8ubo1_500_zps258d0465.gif

When it was just the two of us, door securely latched, my heart started humming; it trashed around like a caged animal. Standing there, no words spoken, we were like two stranded voiceless islands.

 photo c1301805-bbca-43f2-b995-22b3426f6548_zps6574cb85.png

I could listen to him talk for hours about anything and everything. Literature, film; his past that was still about as clear as an aged, opaque window.

Mr. Tennant remained standing, and I watched his throat move as if something lived inside there.


It's probably a frog...
 photo 9abe1fcd-ed1c-4567-88a7-0f63345f0368_zps4930b378.png

Will appeared unconvinced; skimming his hands through hair that only proceeded to fall straight over his forehead; black strands over fair and flawless skin. His natural allure was a tragedy itself.

"Jesus," he exclaimed; soft and feral in the way the words crawled into my ears, sinking like toxic paint into the crevices of my brain.

One by one, I started unbuttoning my shirt; watching as his eyes, like an elevator, slowly drop from my chin to that calico fabric.


 photo Bildschirmfoto2014-03-23um150711_zps86a4f9cd.png

There was an undeniable spark in his eyes, flint on stone. The idea seeped into his face as if I were suggesting he dive into the first sheet of freshly-fallen snow.

 photo tumblr_myc2rjTOcQ1syv0zno1_500_zpsa30cb113.gif

He listened without protest; his eyes quickly lapping up every movement like the constant shutter-sound of a camera; each millisecond like a frame of film that would forever burn into his mind.

 photo tumblr_md8dza7t3y1r4wab5o1_400_zps8052e287.gif

 photo e9984b85-9658-405f-a88f-5dc5dfbbd4df_zps64e2a330.png

While XXXXXX kiss felt like the impending explosion of a firework, Mr. Tennant's mouth against mine was like oxygen drizzling from a cannula; enabling a deeper breath; giving me the sneaking suspicion that there was a deeper strength concealed somewhere amidst entrails and bone.


I'm very sorry but this book wasn't my cup of tea. At all.


**Review at request of author Luna Lacour**

All quotes are taken from the pre-published copy and may be altered or omitted in the final copy.

37 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Star-Crossed.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

March 22, 2014 – Started Reading
March 22, 2014 – Shelved
March 22, 2014 – Shelved as: to-read
March 22, 2014 –
page 0
0.0% " photo tumblr_mojqderpIY1rdsbb4o1_500_zps70be62ed.gif\n I usually like the student/teacher trope. Let's see… :)"
March 22, 2014 –
page 0
0.0% " photo tumblr_mtl1dfom6Y1s0miolo1_500_zps2bd17d8d.gif\n I'm 18 % done: The writing is very flowery and the pace is slow. I'm not hooked (yet). In fact, I'm kinda bored. Well, it's still early in the game, so let's hope for the best."
March 23, 2014 –
page 0
0.0% " photo tumblr_mdabjhQ7j61rjnpzbo1_500_zps845feaa3.gif\n I'm 50 % done: She had about the same subtlety of a cow chewing grass, but oddly enough, there was something sultry about the way her mouth moved. I've had my fill of analogies. No more. DNF."
March 23, 2014 – Finished Reading
March 24, 2014 – Shelved as: dnf
March 24, 2014 – Shelved as: rolls-eyes

Comments Showing 1-48 of 48 (48 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Glass I'm curious about this one. Looks interesting, but it could easily be one of cliche stories.


Baba  Glass wrote: "I'm curious about this one. Looks interesting, but it could easily be one of cliche stories."

Yup, I know. Will post updates, no worries. :)


message 3: by Geri Reads (new)

Geri Reads The blurb really sounds promising, Baba! I hope the whole books lives up to it. :)


Shannie's ⭐️Lookin' 4 My Next BBF⭐️ Ooh teacher-student........hot!! Hope it's a good one babes!!


Baba  ♥~♥Geri♥~♥HatesLoveTriangles ♥~♥ wrote: "The blurb really sounds promising, Baba! I hope the whole books lives up to it. :)"

Yep, the blurb did sound very good. But like I told you I've got some issues. Will keep you posted. :)


Baba  Shannon wrote: "Ooh teacher-student........hot!! Hope it's a good one babes!!"

Thanks, Shannon. I loved Leah Raeder's Unteachable. However, I have an inkling Star-Crossed won't be up to par. We'll see. :)


Shannie's ⭐️Lookin' 4 My Next BBF⭐️ Well bummer!! I hate when a book doesn't live up to what ya wanted. Wonderful honest review Baba!! xoxo


Pavlina Read more sleep less blog❤❤  Amazing review hon <33 I'm not sure if this one is for me too :(((

I'm sure your next book will be much better :D muah <33


Christine Wallflower & Dark Romance Junkie Oh shoot! I was hoping this was gonna be a goodie! Great, honest review Baba!!!


message 10: by Geri Reads (new)

Geri Reads My first thought reading your quotes was, "What's a cannula?" LOL!


message 11: by [deleted user] (new)

I love that frog photo, hysterical! Thank you for the review, you just reminded me I should be re-reading Unteachable!


Baba  Shannon wrote: "Well bummer!! I hate when a book doesn't live up to what ya wanted. Wonderful honest review Baba!! xoxo"

Thank you, Shannon. Yep, I share your feelings. :/ xoxox


Baba  Pavlina loves Dex ❤❤ wrote: "Amazing review hon <33 I'm not sure if this one is for me too :(((

I'm sure your next book will be much better :D muah <33"


Thank you, hon. Yep, I'm enjoying Divine Solace so far! Geez, the writing…they are world's apart. :) xoxox


Baba  Christine The Dark Romance Junkie wrote: "Oh shoot! I was hoping this was gonna be a goodie! Great, honest review Baba!!!"

Thank you, Christine. Hope you'll enjoy it more than I did! Good luck! :P


Baba  ♥~♥Geri♥~♥HatesLoveTriangles ♥~♥ wrote: "My first thought reading your quotes was, "What's a cannula?" LOL!"

LOL I know what it is, Geri. Honestly, all those analogies…um…no comment. :P


Baba  Oana wrote: "I love that frog photo, hysterical! Thank you for the review, you just reminded me I should be re-reading Unteachable!"

You're welcome, Oana. Star-Crossed can't hold a candle to Unteachable. Hope you'll enjoy your reread! :))


message 17: by Geri Reads (last edited Mar 24, 2014 10:47AM) (new)

Geri Reads Baba ♥♥♥ Tyler, Marcus, Dean, Tate, Dan, Ty & Hunter wrote: "♥~♥Geri♥~♥HatesLoveTriangles ♥~♥ wrote: "My first thought reading your quotes was, "What's a cannula?" LOL!"

LOL I know what it is, Geri. Honestly, all those analogies…um…no comment. :P"


I had to Google it and it wasn't a sexy image at all! LOL!


message 18: by Isabel (new)

Isabel So sorry this wasn't your cup of tea Baba :)


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ Sorry B! I understand! I hope your next will be a 6-star! = (


message 20: by Chandra (new)

Chandra Better luck on your next book, Baba


message 21: by Jessica (new)

Jessica Florence :( sorry it didn't work for you.


message 22: by Mysza (new)

Mysza Great honest review Baba. Shit, I wanted to do it next, will have to revise then.


Lady Vigilante (Feifei) Ehhh I didn't notice any of those quotes when I read it but now that you mention...those do sound odd. I wasn't wowed either :(

Hope your next one is better Baba! <3


message 24: by ♥Rachel♥ (new)

♥Rachel♥ Oh wow, I could only read a few of those quotes. I have no idea how you got to 50%, Baba! Sorry this didn't work. Love the puppy picture, though! Great honest review! :)


Baba  ♥~♥Geri♥~♥HatesLoveTriangles ♥~♥ wrote: "Baba ♥♥♥ Tyler, Marcus, Dean, Tate, Dan, Ty & Hunter wrote: "♥~♥Geri♥~♥HatesLoveTriangles ♥~♥ wrote: "My first thought reading your quotes was, "What's a cannula?" LOL!"

LOL I know what it is, Ge..."


Lol I agree.


Baba  ♥~♥Geri♥~♥HatesLoveTriangles ♥~♥ wrote: "Baba ♥♥♥ Tyler, Marcus, Dean, Tate, Dan, Ty & Hunter wrote: "♥~♥Geri♥~♥HatesLoveTriangles ♥~♥ wrote: "My first thought reading your quotes was, "What's a cannula?" LOL!"

LOL I know what it is, Ge..."


Lol I agree.


Baba  Isabel wrote: "So sorry this wasn't your cup of tea Baba :)"

Thank you, Isabel. :)


Baba  SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ wrote: "Sorry B! I understand! I hope your next will be a 6-star! = ("

Thank you, Sue. :)


Baba  Chandra wrote: "Better luck on your next book, Baba"

It didn't deliver either. Thank you, Chandra. :)


Baba  Jessica wrote: ":( sorry it didn't work for you."

Thank you, Jessica. :)


message 31: by Baba (last edited Mar 25, 2014 11:38AM) (new) - rated it 2 stars

Baba  Mysza wrote: "Great honest review Baba. Shit, I wanted to do it next, will have to revise then."

Thanks, Mysza. More than a few readers loved it. Just give it a try and maybe you'll love it.
Good luck! :)


Baba  Lady Vigilante (Feifei) wrote: "Ehhh I didn't notice any of those quotes when I read it but now that you mention...those do sound odd. I wasn't wowed either :(

Hope your next one is better Baba! <3"


Lol Thanks, Feifei. I'm reacting very sensitive to this kind of writing; just not my cup of tea. Sorry to hear that you didn't love it either. :((


message 33: by Jen (new) - rated it 2 stars

Jen Baba, as always your reviews are accurate and honest! I have started this book and am feeling the same about some of the issues you mentioned. Another thing I noticed toward the beginning of the book is in one scene Marius wasn't wearing a tie, and by the next page he was described as dragging his tie against Kaitlyn's back when he was standing close to her. *sigh* those kinds of things frustrate me in a book..I don't know if I should bother continuing or not..I hate not finishing but I also don't want to force it either???


Baba  Jen wrote: "Baba, as always your reviews are accurate and honest! I have started this book and am feeling the same about some of the issues you mentioned. Another thing I noticed toward the beginning of the bo..."

I'm sorry to hear that, Jen! You are a very attentive reader (that makes you also a great beta reader, BTW). :)))
Whatever works best for you…you could also put it down for a couple days and pick it up later… xoxox


Kristin (KC) - Traveling Sister Better luck with your next. Well said, Baba! xx


Maida»-(¯`v´¯)-» BAHAHAHAH!!!! XD Oh.my.gosh! I can't even express how hard I'm laughing (I feel like I should add an analogy somewhere here! lol ;p). I'm so sorry this didn't work out for you, Baba, for obvious reasons. And I totally get your point about authors trying to hard, especially since it reflects in their work. I'm just wondering how you even got to the 50% mark?? Hopefully, your next read is mind-blowing! *fingers and toes crossed* Fabulous, honest review, Baba! :)


message 37: by KatLynne (new)

KatLynne Sorry this didn't work lovely Babs! Great, honest review.

BTW...Love those puppies:))♥hugs♥


message 38: by Kristen (new)

Kristen Dang! Sorry this one didn't work for you, Baba! ((hugs)) and kisses


Baba  Kristin (KC) wrote: "Better luck with your next. Well said, Baba! xx"

Thanks, Kris. :) xxx


Baba  MåїÐ»-(¯`v´¯)-» wrote: "BAHAHAHAH!!!! XD Oh.my.gosh! I can't even express how hard I'm laughing (I feel like I should add an analogy somewhere here! lol ;p). I'm so sorry this didn't work out for you, Baba, for obvious re..."

Thank you, Maida. I think I can hear it and I'm sitting in front of my laptop. Please…no analogy any more. I'm kinda cured. :)))
My stamina left me when I was halfway through...


Baba  KatLynne wrote: "Sorry this didn't work lovely Babs! Great, honest review.

BTW...Love those puppies:))♥hugs♥"


Thank you my sweet friend. *hugs* :)


Baba  Kristen (Peddler of Smut) wrote: "Dang! Sorry this one didn't work for you, Baba! ((hugs)) and kisses"

Thank you, Kristen. :) xoxox


message 43: by Patrycja (new)

Patrycja Another left down for you. Sorry, hon. Great review xx


Baba  Patrycja wrote: "Another left down for you. Sorry, hon. Great review xx"

Yep, a total bust. Thank you, Patrycja. :) xxx


message 45: by Sammy (new)

Sammy Loves Books Great honest review Baba!!


Baba  Sammy wrote: "Great honest review Baba!!"

Thank you, Sammy. :))


message 47: by Glamdring (new)

Glamdring Great review, Baba! :)xxx


Baba  Glamdring wrote: "Great review, Baba! :)xxx"

Thanks, Glam. :) xxx


back to top