Mo's Reviews > Friends Without Benefits

Friends Without Benefits by Penny Reid
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
11856352
's review

really liked it

3.75 stars


The first thing I noticed was that his unshaven stubble from last week had grown into a haphazardly trimmed, close cut beard. And looking like sex on a stick – if sex were Italian and the stick had an unfair amount of charisma – he sauntered to us.



I really enjoyed this one. Another funny, witty book from Penny Reid. Bunch of friends who love to knit together. This was about Elizabeth and Nico. Had been childhood “friends” but parted ways years previously.


Elizabeth doesn’t do relationships. She just hooks up for sex and finishes with a guy a while later…. She feels she had her one true love when she was younger and as her Dad kept telling her… there really was only one true love for a person.

My dad decided to take me to Ireland at the end of the summer …


You know me! Any mention of Ireland or things Irish and I am happy.

”When was the last time you were happy?”


Elizabeth is a successful doctor but is still quite insecure. She meets up with Nico again when he brings his niece into hospital for treatment.

She was really very lovable for a kid



Nico wants Elizabeth. Elizabeth is wary. Don’t want to say too much or quote too much as there are a few funny lines in the book that you are better off experiencing firsthand.

Italians who speak Italian should be illegal, or at least come with warning labels - may make your panties explode.



Loved all the music references too... yeah, you know me and my music. Could have done without the boy bands but, hey, I am a little old for them!!


If you are looking for a good, funny, sweet read, this is it!

STAY WITH ME






51 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Friends Without Benefits.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

March 11, 2014 – Started Reading
March 11, 2014 – Shelved
March 11, 2014 – Shelved as: to-read
March 11, 2014 –
3.0% " It was horrible and senseless, and I now felt the sudden need to drink scotch, brood and read Edgar Allen Poe or the ending to Hamlet. Maybe I would top it all off with some YouTube videos of drowning kittens while listening to Radiohead\n \n "
March 11, 2014 –
12.0% "I discovered an abiding passion for Guinness since the place we stayed was basically down the road from the Guinness factory. I think I did that brewery tour seventy times\n \n LOL, 69 more times than me!\n \n "
March 11, 2014 –
18.0% "
Slow dancing in the high school gym with the most popular guy in school, I was suddenly the protagonist in a 1980’s John Hughes movie
\n \n \n "
March 11, 2014 –
33.0% "
It was a messy cry. A snorting, snotty, sobbing cry.
\n \n "
March 12, 2014 –
51.0% "And I might have drooled a little bit. In fact, I know I did because I felt droopy water fall to my arm.\n \n "
March 12, 2014 –
52.0% "
He was obscene, and the scene was pornographic …. I thought I might just orgasm on the spot. I certainly would if he touched me. Don’t let him touch you!
\n \n "
March 13, 2014 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-46 of 46 (46 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Sabrina (new) - added it

Sabrina ::shudders::


message 2: by Ⓐlleskelle - teamSøren♗ ⊲I like big b00ks⊳ (last edited Mar 13, 2014 09:54AM) (new) - rated it 4 stars

Ⓐlleskelle - teamSøren♗ ⊲I like big b00ks⊳ I look forward to read your review, Mo.
4 stars. ... I'm telling you book 3 is even better!


message 3: by Mo (new) - rated it 4 stars

Mo Ⓐlleskelle - teamSøren♗ ⊲I like big b00ks⊳ wrote: "I look forward to read your review, Mo.
4 stars. ... I'm telling you book 3 is even better!"


Oh, I was going to start another book but now you are making me want to read book 3.


Gisele Lovely review, Mo! Book #3 in this series is my favorite. Alex, the hero, is so intriguing! He reminds me of Ian from The Madness of Lord Ian Mackenzie. I think you gonna like it. :)


message 5: by Ⓐlleskelle - teamSøren♗ ⊲I like big b00ks⊳ (last edited Mar 13, 2014 10:04AM) (new) - rated it 4 stars

Ⓐlleskelle - teamSøren♗ ⊲I like big b00ks⊳ I loved your review Mo. that's definitely the kind of books that puts you in a good mood. I could re-read, no problems.
Enjoy book 3, pronto!


message 6: by Mo (new) - rated it 4 stars

Mo Gisele wrote: "Lovely review, Mo! Book #3 in this series is my favorite. Alex, the hero, is so intriguing! He reminds me of Ian from The Madness of Lord Ian Mackenzie. I think you gonna like it. :)"

Thanks Gisele. Yes, I have heard book 3 is the best....


message 7: by Mo (new) - rated it 4 stars

Mo Ⓐlleskelle - teamSøren♗ ⊲I like big b00ks⊳ wrote: "I loved your review Mo. that's definitely the kind of books that puts you in a good mood. I could re-read, no problems.
Enjoy book 3, pronto!"


Ok, will stay in a good mood with a goofy grin and get to book 3. Need to organise shopping and dinner first.


message 8: by [deleted user] (new)

Great review Mo!!


message 9: by [deleted user] (new)

Great review!


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ Lovely review Mo! = ))


message 12: by Sammy (new)

Sammy Loves Books Lol, I love the exploding panties quote!! Fab review Mo


message 13: by Mo (new) - rated it 4 stars

Mo Miss Cathy♥ wrote: "Great review Mo!!"

Thanks Miss Cathy.


message 14: by Mo (new) - rated it 4 stars

Mo TORI wrote: "Great review!"

Thanks TORI.


message 15: by Mo (new) - rated it 4 stars

Mo SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ wrote: "Lovely review Mo! = ))"

Thanks SueBee.


message 16: by Mo (new) - rated it 4 stars

Mo ✽ Sharon is an emotional book junkie ✽ wrote: "wonderful review Mo!"

Thanks Sharon.


message 17: by Mo (new) - rated it 4 stars

Mo Sammy wrote: "Lol, I love the exploding panties quote!! Fab review Mo"

Thanks Sammy.


message 18: by Didi (new) - rated it 5 stars

Didi Lovely review Mo! I freakin loved this one. Enjoy the third, it's awesome. :-))


message 19: by Fil (new) - added it

Fil Great review Mo! Added!


message 20: by Mo (new) - rated it 4 stars

Mo Didi wrote: "Lovely review Mo! I freakin loved this one. Enjoy the third, it's awesome. :-))"

Thanks Didi. Everyone is saying that the third one is the bomb!!


message 21: by Mo (new) - rated it 4 stars

Mo Fil wrote: "Great review Mo! Added!"

Thanks Fil.


message 22: by Didi (new) - rated it 5 stars

Didi Mo wrote: "Didi wrote: "Lovely review Mo! I freakin loved this one. Enjoy the third, it's awesome. :-))"

Thanks Didi. Everyone is saying that the third one is the bomb!!"


It's awesome! I love Alex. He was so intense, so smart! Shit that boy is drool worthy!


message 23: by Pam (new) - added it

Pam Wonderful review, Mo :))


Glass I was sold after that Stephen Amell pic. :) Great review, Mo.


message 25: by Mo (new) - rated it 4 stars

Mo Pam wrote: "Wonderful review, Mo :))"

Thanks Pam.


message 26: by Mo (new) - rated it 4 stars

Mo Glass wrote: "I was sold after that Stephen Amell pic. :) Great review, Mo."

Thanks Glass.


Karen Beautiful review Mo!!! Gorgeous pics too!! Sounds like a great series.


message 28: by Mo (new) - rated it 4 stars

Mo Karen wrote: "Beautiful review Mo!!! Gorgeous pics too!! Sounds like a great series."

Thanks Karen, it is good so far.


message 29: by ♥ Barb ♥ (new)

 ♥  Barb ♥ Fantastic review Mo!! I love sweet xx


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Great review, Mo :)


message 31: by Mo (new) - rated it 4 stars

Mo ♥ Barb ♥ wrote: "Fantastic review Mo!! I love sweet xx"

Thanks Barb.


message 32: by Mo (new) - rated it 4 stars

Mo Lkay ❇✾The one-click buy button addict❇✾ wrote: "Great review, Mo :)"

Thanks Lana.


♥ Jx PinkLady Reviews ♥ Lovely review, Mo xxx


message 34: by Mo (new) - rated it 4 stars

Mo Jxxx ♥ Pink Lady ♥ wrote: "Lovely review, Mo xxx"

Thanks Jxxx.


message 35: by Jennifer (new)

Jennifer Kyle Great review, Mo <3


message 36: by Mo (new) - rated it 4 stars

Mo Jennifer wrote: "Great review, Mo <3"

Thanks Jennifer.


message 37: by Sammy (new)

Sammy Loves Books Wonderful review Mo!!


message 38: by Mo (new) - rated it 4 stars

Mo Sammy wrote: "Wonderful review Mo!!"

Thanks Sammy.


message 39: by • Lisa • (new)

• Lisa • Lovely images !! Great review x


Crystal~BIG book addict~ Great review, Mo!! xx


Allison ❤️Will Never Conquer Her TBR❤️ Great review QSC! ❤️


♥Sharon♥ Fantastic review Mo. I hope you enjoy book 3 when you get to it. Just finished it. My favorite of the series. ღ


Deanna❤Pink Lady❤️ Lovely review Mo- always love all your pics!! ❤️


message 44: by Mo (new) - rated it 4 stars

Mo Deanna❤Pink Lady❤️ wrote: "Lovely review Mo- always love all your pics!! ❤️"

♥Sharon♥ wrote: "Fantastic review Mo. I hope you enjoy book 3 when you get to it. Just finished it. My favorite of the series. ღ"

Allison ❤️Will Never Conquer Her TBR❤️ wrote: "Great review QSC! ❤️"

Crystal~BIG book addict~ wrote: "Great review, Mo!! xx"

Lisa Jayne wrote: "Lovely images !! Great review x"

Not sure how I missed these comments. Thanks girls.


message 45: by ❥Lil (new) - added it

❥Lil Beautiful review, Mo! xx


message 46: by Kat (new) - added it

Kat Valentine Awesome review Mo!💖😉


back to top