Alejandro's Reviews > Divergent

Divergent by Veronica Roth
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
665584
's review

liked it
bookshelves: novel, dystopia, romance, politics, military, science-fiction

A book with its ups and downs.


ROLLERCOASTER OR FERRIS WHEEL?

Politeness is deception in pretty packaging.

This novel was a rollercoaster for me. Maybe it should be a ferris wheel (pun intended) but no, it was a rollercoaster since at some moments I was quite high, real excited about the story, but at some moments I was way down, getting into my nerves.

It wasn't easy to rate the book, since I liked the general story in the novel, but I really liked several unexpected twists in key moments of it.

So, it was hard to reflect my overall reading experience in 3 or 4 stars. At the end I chose 3 stars weighting more the general experience over particular surprises. (It was of those times where having the option of giving a half star could be real helpful to be more accurate in my general rating).


DIFFERENT DYSTOPIAN HERO(INE)

It's easy to be brave when they're not my fears.

It was kinda different dystopian story since usually, the hero(ine) finds inside of the strange (for us) society and something unexpected happens and the hero(ine) realizes that how the society is working is wrong and he/she takes a rebellious position against the system.

However, in Divergent, the heroine, Tris is working hard to fit in the system, of course, she has some doubts here and then, but in general, she is playing along with the dystopian society and its rules.

She doesn't think that the dystopian society is wrong. She knows the rules, she accepts them, and she worked hard to make her own future into this society.

In here, the system itself will fall apart without a participation of the heroine.

Tris will only have to react to a "failure" of the dystopian society and trying to survive, but the "failure" is unrelated to her and she isn't the one who incites it.


A DOOMED SYSTEM IN ITS ROOTS

It must require bravery to be honest all the time.

I didn't surprise myself that this dystopian society could starting to fall apart by itself.

I mean, the very system is odd. (To say it in a mild way)

At least, the way that people reacts to the base of the system.

You have 5 factions, each faction with very distinct features, but when you get to be 16 years old, you have to choose a faction, the one where you already are or another one, even you have to take a test that giving you the results to know if your personality is more "tuned" to the characteristics of other faction.

So far, sounds nice.

BUT, if you choose a different faction to the one where you grew up...

...ZAP! CRASH! KAPOW!...

...you're considered a traitor to your original faction and it's very likely that your family won't seeing you anymore.

Ah?! What the heck just happened?

If changing of faction is something SO terrible, why the heck they force you to take a dang test and choosing?

Also, you will find out, in the story, how few characters born in their current factions, so, if they also chose a different faction, why the heck are they so mad when their sons do just the same dang thing? Geez!!!

Oooh! And if you fail to enter into your new faction, you ended to be "factionless"...

...Why even there are "factionless" people?!!!

There is enough hate between official factions, and are they engrossing AND feeding a faction (only without a cool name) that they have even more valid reasons to hate to the rest of whole bunch of the five official factions?

No wonder why this dystopia doesn't really need Tris (or any other hero(ine)) to fight against the system, since the very conception of it was doomed to fail for itself, sooner or later.


THOSE DANG MOVING TRAINS

A chasm reminds us that there is a fine line between bravery and idiocy.

It's funny how being "divergent" seems to be something unusual in that dystopian society but you will meet more people than you would expect that they are like that, so how strange really is?

Also, I don't like when the story shows the advantage of being like that and the very book that you are barely enjoying that, ZAP! KAPOW! TOMA GUACHO! something came up to nullify that. (No, I won't spoil what is).

But geez! It's like... "Hey! I'm Superman!" ... "Oh, really? Sorry chump, I have Kryptonite." ... All the fun of being Superman going to the sewers.

I would accept that some weakness to the "Divergent" state would be developed but, was it too much to wait until the second book at least?

What I really like was that you can't foreseen how the relationships between the characters will be. At some moments, you will like a lot some characters and later you will hate them or feeling sorry for them, or just the opposite way too. Indeed it was of the strongest points in the narrative.

I would like to meet the "good old times" of the Dauntless faction when "teamwork and risking your life for a higher purpose" were priorities and not this bunch of train-jumpin' psychos that they are now...

...Did they really think that bravery is shown only for being so stupid of jumping from and into moving trains?!!!

"Thanks, Mom and Dad for sacrificing so much for me during 16 years only for me getting my brains spread out in the pavement while trying to jump into a freaking moving train!"

Are there even some train station in that city?!

Honestly, it seems that those dang train never stop at any moment!

Due stupid actions like those and others such, "safe mode" isn't activated in this novel, so you will find blood here and there, showing once and a while, some pointless deaths.

Amity and Candor factions are nothing but a bunch of wimps and cowards.

I wonder how smart really are Erudite faction if they came up with such society system doomed to fail.

And finally, Abnegation faction isn't any real better, I mean, they are soooooooo selfless that they will give their seats to you in a bus, BUT driving that bus is something beneath them, something to do for those poor souls of the "factionless".

Also, Abnegation people can put in order a hall after a high profile event, BUT working as full-time janitors is deserved for the "factionless".

This is not a society, but a freaking ticking bomb!









127 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Divergent.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

February 27, 2014 – Started Reading
February 27, 2014 – Shelved
March 3, 2014 – Shelved as: novel
March 3, 2014 – Shelved as: dystopia
March 3, 2014 – Shelved as: romance
March 3, 2014 – Shelved as: politics
March 3, 2014 – Shelved as: military
March 3, 2014 – Shelved as: science-fiction
March 3, 2014 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-49 of 49 (49 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

LeeAnne Great review Alejandro! I love your honesty! I read this book and felt a lot of the same things you talked about. The very beginning hooked me but then it fell flat and dragged. I had to force myself to finish it.


Lynda I really want to read this, especially before the movie release later this month. Will you continue with the rest in the series?


Alejandro LeeAnne wrote: "Great review Alejandro! I love your honesty! I read this book and felt a lot of the same things you talked about. The very beginning hooked me but then it fell flat and dragged. I had to force mys..."

Hi, LeeAnne! Truly glad that you liked my review. Yes, it happens to me too at the beginning, it hooked big time with Veronica Roth's narrative style and the introduction of this society, but when the first phase of the training started, my excitement began to fade, I had some boosts here and there, but again it was getting me down.


Alejandro Lynda wrote: "I really want to read this, especially before the movie release later this month. Will you continue with the rest in the series?"

Hi, Lynda! I wanted to read the first book precisely to do it before the premiere of the movie adaptation. I still want to watch the movie. I've been thinking about continuing the book series or not. Right now, I won't rush up, but maybe I will try the second book at some point in the near future.


message 5: by god's child (new)

god's child cool


message 6: by god's child (new)

god's child cool


Alejandro god's child wrote: "cool"

Tks!


message 8: by Ivonne (new)

Ivonne Rovira Love the review. I have some of the same objections as you -- but that's not why your review is so perfect! LOL!


Alejandro Ivonne wrote: "Love the review. I have some of the same objections as you -- but that's not why your review is so perfect! LOL!"

Haha ;) Okay! :P


Aj the Ravenous Reader I enjoyed reading your review so much, Kuya Alejandro and I couldn't help agree with you on so many things. Your observations and critiques are spot on. Excellent review!^^


Alejandro Aj the Ravenous Reader wrote: "I enjoyed reading your review so much, Kuya Alejandro and I couldn't help agree with you on so many things. Your observations and critiques are spot on. Excellent review!^^"

Thanks a lot, Aj ;) I think that I enjoyed better the film adaptation of this first book. I supposed that having Kate Winslet, Ashley Judd and Shailene Woodley helped a bit too ;) :P But indeed while the same odd elements are there, I think that I liked the film version more.

I am reading the second book now, since the second film adaptation is out this week if I am not mistaken, so I hope to finish it tomorrow, to be ready to go and watch the movie.

Good thing is that I am enjoying more the reading experience (so far) of the second book (obviously without fixing my thinking in the doomed dystopian incoherent elements). ;)


Aj the Ravenous Reader Alejandro wrote: "Aj the Ravenous Reader wrote: "I enjoyed reading your review so much, Kuya Alejandro and I couldn't help agree with you on so many things. Your observations and critiques are spot on. Excellent rev..."

I believe I could say the same about the film. I like it better to than the book and that's a rarity, don't you think, Kuya Alejandro?^^ Glad that you're enjoying the reading experience though. Just a little warning: the third book makes the incoherent elements a tornado of even more incoherence. Lol.^^


Paula I like your take on this one, Alejandro. I favored this book out of the series. Did enjoy the movie and looking forward to the next coming out soon.


Alejandro Aj the Ravenous Reader wrote: "Alejandro wrote: "Aj the Ravenous Reader wrote: "I enjoyed reading your review so much, Kuya Alejandro and I couldn't help agree with you on so many things. Your observations and critiques are spot..."

Oh, I don't that a film resulted better than the book so rare. I am a bookworm in the same level than I am a freak film (one could say that I am a Media Divergent! Hahaha) I enjoy to watch films in the same way as reading books. I had some experiences like with "Forrest Gump" where the film is a masterpiece while the book is some of the worst things that I ever read.

Good thing with "Divergent" was quite similar experiences, only enjoying better the film.

Thanks for the warning about the third book ;) I won't read it right after this one, but since I am about to finish the second one, I will read the third book REAL SOON ;) Maybe after reading the third book of Star Wars Thrawn Trilogy ;)

Not always, but sometimes I find useful to give a rest to a book series and reading something different in between ;)


Alejandro Paula wrote: "I like your take on this one, Alejandro. I favored this book out of the series. Did enjoy the movie and looking forward to the next coming out soon."

Thank you so much for your feedback, Paula! :D


Aj the Ravenous Reader Cool to know, Kuya Alejandro. Looking back at the films, I guess I would have to take my word back. You're right. There are a lot of films better than the books and vice versa. That makes them equal.^^ I also usually do that in series. I usually read something else in between.^^


Alejandro Cool ;)


message 18: by [deleted user] (new)

wonderful review, Alejandro.


message 19: by Licha (new)

Licha This book was never on my list but your review doomed its chances for sure. There's nothing worse than a book that doesn't have any logic to its own plot. When you start to find the contradictions within a book it's hard to take it seriously.

Rollercoaster is a great description for so many books that have as many peaks as valleys.


Aditi Nice and justified review, I agree with you on the general story! :-)


Acordul Fin Great review, Alejandro!


Nadia Great review, Alejandro! btw ferris wheel is genius, I think it's just the right word to describe Divergent :D


message 23: by Torrin (new) - added it

Torrin I love your review, Alejandro! It was really fun to read while also honestly putting your opinion on Divergent across. I totally agree with you... theoretically. I didn't really get through the book. I read a few chapters and put it down because, while the plot was interesting, I felt like the execution would really suffer. Nice job,


Alejandro Steve wrote: "wonderful review, Alejandro."

Much appreciated my friend ;)


Alejandro Licha wrote: "This book was never on my list but your review doomed its chances for sure. There's nothing worse than a book that doesn't have any logic to its own plot. When you start to find the contradiction..."

I think that I started to read the series since several friends told me that it was something a LOT better than Twilight and Hunger Games, and while it seems to be indeed better than those book series, I still uncertain of how LOT better it is indeed, and I keep reading (second book) since Shailene Woodley (who appears in Th Fault in Our Stars too) was casted for the film adaptation, so I see that I won't have choice but finish it hehehe.

Second book, while it keeps with illogical stuff, certainly it's quite better than the first book.

So, I will finish the book series :P


Alejandro Aditi wrote: "Nice and justified review, I agree with you on the general story! :-)"

Hi, Aditi. I'm quite glad that you agree with me in the general story ;) The book isn't bad, (since 3 stars I considered quite fair on the good side of the book rating system), it was just unexpected (for better or worse) that the dystopia had such clear faults itself.


Alejandro The Pixie Reader wrote: "Great review, Alejandro!"

Thank you, Pixie! :D


Alejandro Nadia wrote: "Great review, Alejandro! btw ferris wheel is genius, I think it's just the right word to describe Divergent :D"

Hi, Nadia! ;) I was figuring out my angle to do the review and the ferris wheel image came to my mind :P

Maybe Veronica Roth thought about that too ;) Ad that's why she used it on the first book :P


Alejandro Lady Sugo wrote: "I love your review, Alejandro! It was really fun to read while also honestly putting your opinion on Divergent across. I totally agree with you... theoretically. I didn't really get through the boo..."

Hi, Lady Sugo! I think that Veronica Roth has a very good narrative style, she can create interesting characters and her use in the interaction is real good.

Only I was shocked of how faulty was this dystopia system, but again, maybe all was part of the plan, but it's hard to figure it out and/or accept it, to keep on reading the following books and finding out.

Due that I liked the film adaptation of the first book enough, I decided to keep on reading the book series and so, continue to watch the film adaptations too.


message 30: by Mona (new) - rated it 4 stars

Mona Alejandro, I don't know if you have read the next books in the series yet ("Insurgent" and "Allegiant") but it seems to me, based on this review, that you will probably like them better than the first book. Tris becomes less reactive and more proactive as the books progress. But maybe you already know that :)


Alejandro Mona wrote: "Alejandro, I don't know if you have read the next books in the series yet ("Insurgent" and "Allegiant") but it seems to me, based on this review, that you will probably like them better than the fi..."

Hi, Mona :D I wasn't certain if I'd continue the book series but since I liked the movie adaptation of the first book, and this week will be premiered (if I am not mistaken) the second movie, I thought that it wouldn't hurt to try the second book.

You're right. I like more the second book. I'll do the review in a moment.

And taking in account that it's only one book more plus the short stories about Four, I see no reason of not finish it ;) I'll read something in between but certainly I'll read the rest of the books real soon.


message 32: by Mona (new) - rated it 4 stars

Mona Alejandro wrote: "Mona wrote: "Alejandro, I don't know if you have read the next books in the series yet ("Insurgent" and "Allegiant") but it seems to me, based on this review, that you will probably like them bette..."

You may actually like the last book, "Allegiant" the best :)

Although it does not have a happy ending.


Alejandro Mona wrote: "Alejandro wrote: "Mona wrote: "Alejandro, I don't know if you have read the next books in the series yet ("Insurgent" and "Allegiant") but it seems to me, based on this review, that you will probab..."

I like Happy Endings, but if the book is really good, I can handle sad endings. Thanks!


message 34: by Carol (new) - added it

Carol Still have not read this! Enjoyed your review!


message 35: by Mona (new) - rated it 4 stars

Mona Carol wrote: "Still have not read this! Enjoyed your review!"

Carol, it's an excellent series..do read these :)


Alejandro Carol wrote: "Still have not read this! Enjoyed your review!"

I'm glad to hear, Carol :) I hope you'd be able to read it in the future :)


message 37: by Carol (new) - added it

Carol I hope to Mona....just keep thinking it won't measure up to The Hunger Games. :-)


message 38: by Gary (new)

Gary Great review! Good explanation of the three star vs four star decision:)


Alejandro Gary wrote: "Great review! Good explanation of the three star vs four star decision:)"

Thank you, Gary! And truly glad of having you again interacting here on Goodreads ;) :D


message 40: by Mona (new) - rated it 4 stars

Mona @Carol..it does.


message 41: by Gary (new)

Gary Alejandro wrote: "Gary wrote: "Great review! Good explanation of the three star vs four star decision:)"

Thank you, Gary! And truly glad of having you again interacting here on Goodreads ;) :D"

Thanks Alejandro. Its good to talk to you too:)


Alejandro Gary wrote: "Alejandro wrote: "Gary wrote: "Great review! Good explanation of the three star vs four star decision:)"

Thank you, Gary! And truly glad of having you again interacting here on Goodreads ;) :D"
T..."


;) :D


message 43: by VICK (new) - rated it 4 stars

VICK This is the best review I've ever seen. Thank you so much. I hated this book much and your review made me feel better.


message 44: by Ruth (new) - rated it 2 stars

Ruth E. R. Alejandro, you have added considerably to my impression of the book by pointing out what is specifically wrong with it, and perhaps appreciating what is okay. A different way of seeing it. Thank you! :) but I liked your review more than I liked the book


Alejandro Victória wrote: "This is the best review I've ever seen. Thank you so much. I hated this book much and your review made me feel better."

Thank you ;) People read the books and get different things out of them. I'm glad that my appreciation seemed to vindicate what you felt about it.


Alejandro Ruth wrote: "Alejandro, you have added considerably to my impression of the book by pointing out what is specifically wrong with it, and perhaps appreciating what is okay. A different way of seeing it. Thank yo..."

Thank you so much, you're so kind, Ruth ;)


Andrea You totally nailed it! The last line was my favorite, "This is not a society, but a freaking ticking bomb!" That's so perfect! Great job! I'm glad you liked it.


Alejandro Andrea wrote: "You totally nailed it! The last line was my favorite, "This is not a society, but a freaking ticking bomb!" That's so perfect! Great job! I'm glad you liked it."

Hehehe ;) Thanks for your great feedback, Andrea!

Sorry for such delayed reply.


Dievendin I have read the full book this is very nice I have many collections of book like this you want to read just follow this link.....http://www.eonline9.com


back to top