Carol [Goodreads Addict]'s Reviews > Salt & Stone

Salt & Stone by Victoria Scott
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
10717098
's review

it was amazing
bookshelves: dystopian, paranormal-fantasy, young-adult

Books with Bite | Kate Ormand

Salt and Stone is book two in the Fire and Flood series by Victoria Scott. If you thought book one, Fire and Flood, was intense, buckle your seat belts ladies and gents, boys and girls, because you are in for the ride of your life.

Laurence Mouton/AltoPress/Maxppp ; Red flag on snow-covered golf ...

Tella, Guy, and their group have made it through the first two portions of the Brimstone Bleed. They survived the jungle and the desert. Now it’s time for the second half of the race. First, the ocean, then the mountains.

ship in a storm

As they begin their first challenge, their group takes on a few new members along with their pandoras. Each member is trying to win the cure for a loved one. But as a group, these people bond, form an alliance. How will they be able to separate in the end when only one of them can win? What will they be forced to sacrifice in order to earn the cure for their loved one?

With each leg of the challenge come new dangers. It becomes evident that things are happening that are fabricated by the Brimstone Bleed planners. They plan challenges that will pit the contenders against one another and put their lives in constant danger. How many of Tella’s group will survive?

“They are not the good guys. They are the monster under the bed, a slippery shadow in the corner at midnight. They are the thing you didn’t think to fear until it was too late.”

Foxes and other predators

From the start, we see the strong bond between Tella and her pandora, her little fox, Madox. Tella also has inherited the bear from book one that she calls Monster. You can see throughout the book how much she loves all the animals and they in turn are drawn to her.

Famous Walking Bridges in Canada | USA Today

In the first book, Tella is happy to follow Guy. He is the unofficial leader of the group who has vowed to keep Tella safe. Well, Tella has grown in leaps and bounds since she first left home six weeks ago to enter this race. She wants Guy to see her as an equal, someone who is capable of making decisions and taking care of herself. I loved watching her struggle to feel as though she was earning her independence. Her rational thinking saves the day more than once. If I had one single complaint in this book, though, it was that she was so set on making sure that Guy saw her as a strong leader and not as a dependent, that it took away from the romance. I wanted to see more growth in the relationship between them. I’m really hoping in the next book that part of the story can progress more.

snowy mountain

At every turn, Tella and her group are thrown into life threatening situations. You barely get a chance to breathe between each heart pounding event. You will not be bored reading this book, I can pretty much guarantee that. You will cringe, grip your book/e-reader a little tighter, but you will also smile and cheer for Tella and her friends.

Victoria Scott, I have said it before but you are a genius. I know before I pick up any one of your books that I am in for an exciting and crazy journey. I recommend this series to everyone, young and old. The torture begins now waiting for the next book to come out.

signature
85 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Salt & Stone.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

February 17, 2014 – Shelved
February 17, 2014 – Shelved as: to-read
February 17, 2014 – Shelved as: dystopian
February 17, 2014 – Shelved as: paranormal-fantasy
March 16, 2015 – Started Reading
March 17, 2015 –
page 42
13.13% "Chapter 9\n And they're off!!!"
March 17, 2015 –
page 97
30.31% "Chapter 20\n OH MY GOSH!!!"
March 17, 2015 –
page 144
45.0% "Chapter 31\n This is completely freaking me out!"
March 18, 2015 –
page 158
49.38% "Chapter 35\n I'm having to restrain myself from posting shocking, gasping status updates every two pages. Just know that this is ALL very intense!!!!!"
March 18, 2015 –
page 211
65.94% "Chapter 49\n This book is so freaking awesome!!!"
March 18, 2015 –
page 261
81.56% "Chapter 62\n This is killing me!"
March 18, 2015 – Finished Reading
November 10, 2015 – Shelved as: young-adult

Comments Showing 1-26 of 26 (26 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Gabrielle Read her short story Four Houses it was also SOO amazing !!!!


Aj the Ravenous Reader Fantastic review, Carol. I love the beautiful pics too. This sounds like a beautiful and adventurous read.^^


Carol [Goodreads Addict] Gabrielle wrote: "Read her short story Four Houses it was also SOO amazing !!!!"

Thanks so much, Gabrielle. I will most definitely check it out!!!


Carol [Goodreads Addict] Aj the Ravenous Reader wrote: "Fantastic review, Carol. I love the beautiful pics too. This sounds like a beautiful and adventurous read.^^"

Thank you so much, Aj. Adventurous is putting it mildly. This author is crazy awesome. XO


Aj the Ravenous Reader Oh wow! I'll put it in my tbr then! Thanks, Carol.^^


message 6: by Dali (new)

Dali Beautiful!!


Rachel Reads Ravenously Awesome review Carol!


Carol [Goodreads Addict] Dali from TJLovesToRead wrote: "Beautiful!!"

Thanks dear Dali!! XO


Carol [Goodreads Addict] Rachel ♥Reads Ravenously♥ wrote: "Awesome review Carol!"

Thank you, Rachel. I'm exhausted! lol I feel like I was there with them in this book!


message 10: by Jen (new)

Jen Awesome review Carol!


Carol [Goodreads Addict] Jen wrote: "Awesome review Carol!"

Thanks so much, Jen. I love Victoria Scott! This series is so good!


message 12: by Leanne (new)

Leanne Good book love it pz make another one


message 13: by Suzanne (new)

Suzanne Carol, is this a duology or are there more books to come?


Carol [Goodreads Addict] Suzanne wrote: "Carol, is this a duology or are there more books to come?"

This comes to a somewhat of an ending if that makes sense. There are certain things still needing dealing with but a big portion of the story does conclude. The last I heard she was trying to sell a third book in the series but I don't know if she ever did. You can easily read these first two and come away satisfied but I loved them so much I hope for more.


message 15: by Suzanne (new)

Suzanne Thanks Carol. I'm not starting series anymore unless they're already completed, I end up forgetting what's gone on before, or how much I enjoyed the book, and don't be as keen to continue. This sounds like a good series but I think I'll wait and see if she writes anymore.


Keaton McKenzie I loved your review of this book!!!! Thank you sooo much for liking my update on reading the Salt & Stone book. I LOVE IT


Carol [Goodreads Addict] Keaton wrote: "I loved your review of this book!!!! Thank you sooo much for liking my update on reading the Salt & Stone book. I LOVE IT"

Thank you so much, Keaton, and I'm so glad you are loving the book. Victoria Scott is amazing. I also read her Dante Walker series and just loved it. Enjoy!!!


message 18: by JewelsyGoolsy (new)

JewelsyGoolsy Terrific review, mate xxx


Carol [Goodreads Addict] JewelsyGoolsy wrote: "Terrific review, mate xxx"

Thanks so much, Jewels! I loved this series. Victoria's books are amazing.


message 20: by Candace (new)

Candace Great review, Carol! :)


Carol [Goodreads Addict] Candace wrote: "Great review, Carol! :)"

Thanks so much, Candace! Her books are so amazing!


Keaton McKenzie Does anyone know if there will be a 3rd book or not? I finished Salt & Stone last night and I am already itching to read more on the story.


Carol [Goodreads Addict] Keaton wrote: "Does anyone know if there will be a 3rd book or not? I finished Salt & Stone last night and I am already itching to read more on the story."

I don't know. But hope that she does continue the series!!!


Keaton McKenzie Okay. I really hope she does. Its amazing!!!


message 25: by Deborah (new)

Deborah Wonderful review Carol I'm going to save myself the torture and wait until they're all out xx


Carol [Goodreads Addict] Deborah wrote: "Wonderful review Carol I'm going to save myself the torture and wait until they're all out xx"

Thanks, Deborah. I'm not sure if there is going to be another book or not. Some things are wrapped up but there is still some things up in the air at the end of this one. I also read her Dante Walker series and it was so fantastic!


back to top