Baba 's Reviews > Our Last Summer

Our Last Summer by Matthew J. Metzger
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
4669232
's review

liked it
bookshelves: m-m, new-adult-or-young-adult

3.5 stars. Review posted March 16, 2014

 photo tumblr_msobf3SzGJ1r0ddb6o1_500_zps31a2b805.gif

"I am in your summers."


 photo 737467_zpsfd87b2e2.gif

While Our Last Summer is a pretty impressive debut, it doesn't measure up to Matthew's Vivaldi in the Dark series. Our Last Summer was a tough one to rate. At times I felt like I was engulfed by a yoyo-effect. The beginning was promising and then it kinda fizzled out; it picked up again only to test my patience once again. The story shined the most during the last 30 %. At that point I felt totally invested in the characters as well as the plot and there was something going on. Simply put, the story was really compelling for the first time.

It was hard for me to connect with Alex who was a very closed-off and taciturn loner unlike Ryan who was more responsive. Also, it was difficult to deal with Alex's indifference (view spoiler) I caught myself telling him secretly to do something already!

Pretty much when I made do with It was good but… Matthew pulled something emotive out of his hat that proved how talented he is when he puts pen to paper.

"I am part of your summers," Alex says. "I'm part of this world, out here, in the middle of nowhere, with the sun and midnight wanderings and little secrets that don't mean anything. I'm not part of that world: of your autumn or winter or spring. I'm not there."

 photo giphy_zps7e95e476.gif

(view spoiler)

(view spoiler)

 photo tumblr_mrun9yzTEm1snj1m8o1_500_zpsb08e32a9.gif

(view spoiler)

Passenger -- Hearts on Fire (with Ed Sheeran)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EreZNk...

If you are a fan of Matt's writing then I recommend you to read Our Last Summer.
28 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Our Last Summer.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

February 9, 2014 – Shelved
February 9, 2014 – Shelved as: to-read
February 9, 2014 – Shelved as: m-m
February 9, 2014 – Shelved as: new-adult-or-young-adult
March 12, 2014 – Started Reading
March 12, 2014 –
0.0% " photo tumblr_mwql4p9aN61su9a05o1_500_zps76eb4bb4.gif\n I love Matt's writing and this book was his debut. So let's see…"
March 12, 2014 –
20.0% " photo tumblr_mzksdavaGj1r1mkubo1_400_zps8896f366.gif\n Alex's voice changes--it goes cold. The summer heat is gone; Alex's voice is the icy calm of a frozen river, with that same danger of drowning and death lurking underneath, waiting. Good beginning!"
March 13, 2014 –
40.0% "He jumps when Alex's hands--cool, too cool for the heat of summer like this--suddenly cup around his neck, the long fingers twining and knotting at the back, just under the curve of his skull. His head snaps down to find Alex's face barely an inch from his and then…\n \n What happens then?? :))"
March 13, 2014 –
60.0% "XXX--XXX it is this month. And FYI: I can now spend an hour staring at Maria's rack in History and not even get a hard on. She's hot! The reply is surprising--both in that it comes at all, and that it shows a thought process of Alex's that Ryan would never have guessed at. Next Tuesday. Thanks. And FYI: she can't have been that hot, then."
March 14, 2014 –
100.0% " photo tumblr_mjrufp8cIR1rsq9eyo1_500_zps2c3594af.gif\n I am in your summers."
March 14, 2014 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-34 of 34 (34 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Baba  Lisa wrote: "Looking forward to your review, Baba! ;)"

Thank you, Lisa. :))


message 2: by Isabel (new) - added it

Isabel I am his fan... I'm also fan of your reviews, so I will read this book!


message 3: by Mysza (new)

Mysza Great review Baba, always love your graphic:)


Lady Vigilante (Feifei) Lovely review Baba!! xx


message 5: by Jessica (new)

Jessica Florence Fab review!


message 6: by Glamdring (new)

Glamdring Beautiful review, Baba! :)xxx


Baba  Isabel wrote: "I am his fan... I'm also fan of your reviews, so I will read this book!"

That's sweet of you, Isabel! Thank you. :))
I'm pretty sure that you will enjoy Our Last Summer. Can't wait to read more from him!!


Baba  Mysza wrote: "Great review Baba, always love your graphic:)"

Thank you, Mysza. What can I say? I'm a visual whore. Lol :))


Baba  Lady Vigilante (Feifei) wrote: "Lovely review Baba!! xx"

Thank you, Feifei. :)) xxx


Baba  Soraya Naomi wrote: "Lovely review, B"

Thank you, Soraya. :))


Baba  Jessica wrote: "Fab review!"

Thank you, Jessica. :))


Baba  Glamdring wrote: "Beautiful review, Baba! :)xxx"

Thank you, Glam. :)) xxx


Katy Loves Romance ❤️ Fab review Baba!!! <3


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ Wonderful review B, 5-star! [xoxo]


message 15: by Ronyell (new)

Ronyell Awesome review Baba!!! :D


message 16: by Debra (new)

Debra Wonderful review, Baba! :)


Pavlina Read more sleep less blog  Lovely review sweetie xx


Baba  Katy wrote: "Fab review Baba!!! <3"

Thank you, Katy. :))


Baba  SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ wrote: "Wonderful review B, 5-star! [xoxo]"

Thank you, Sue. :)) xoxox


Baba  Ronyell wrote: "Awesome review Baba!!! :D"

Thank you, Ronyell. :))


Baba  Debra wrote: "Wonderful review, Baba! :)"

Thank you, Debra. :))


Baba  Pavlina loves Dex ❤❤ wrote: "Lovely review sweetie xx"

Thank you, hon. :)) xoxox


message 23: by * Meli Mel * (new)

* Meli Mel * Lovely review, Baba! :))


message 24: by Ronyell (new)

Ronyell Baba ♥♥♥ Tyler, Marcus, Dean, Tate, Dan, Ty & Hunter wrote: "Ronyell wrote: "Awesome review Baba!!! :D"

Thank you, Ronyell. :))"


You're welcome! :D


Baba  Meli Mel *Ty and Zane's Creeper* wrote: "Lovely review, Baba! :))"

Thank you, Meli. :))


message 26: by Kristen (new)

Kristen Nice and honest review, Baba. You expressed your feeling perfectly. ♥ xoxo


Baba  Kristen (Peddler of Smut) wrote: "Nice and honest review, Baba. You expressed your feeling perfectly. ♥ xoxo"

Thank you my sweet friend. :) Hugs & kisses


message 28: by SheReadsALot (new)

SheReadsALot Great review, Lady B!


Baba  Vilda wrote: "Great review, Baba!"

Thanks, Vilda. :))


Baba  SheReadsALot wrote: "Great review, Lady B!"

Thanks, Lady S. :))


message 31: by Patrycja (new)

Patrycja Great review!


Baba  Patrycja wrote: "Great review!"

Thanks, Patrycja. :))


message 33: by Sammy (new)

Sammy Loves Books I have been stalking your reviews Baba, Lol!!


Baba  Sammy wrote: "I have been stalking your reviews Baba, Lol!!"

LOL Yup, I saw that, Sammy. Thank you! :)))


back to top