Amy | Foxy Blogs's Reviews > The Tyrant's Daughter

The Tyrant's Daughter by J.C. Carleson
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
9955253
**4.75 Cultural stars**
"To me, it was simply a story with a message: family honor, redemption, and true love."

Laila is the Invisible Queen of the Middle East (easily ignored, easily dismissed). After her father is murdered she becomes a refugee in America along with her mother and younger brother. Adjusting to her new life in America is a night and day experience.

description

Things aren't as they seem and she discovers that within her own family. The betrayal runs deep within her network. The last part of the book holds secrets and an endless loop of double crossing.

A great young adult book with an interesting story line. The short chapters made the book move along quickly. For my romance loving friends this book does not have romance.

Standalone

20th book of 2014

**ARC pre-approved by Random House Children's Books via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.**
21 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Tyrant's Daughter.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

February 3, 2014 – Started Reading
February 3, 2014 – Shelved
February 3, 2014 –
8.0% "What kind of person doesn't know whether her father was a king or a monster?\n \n description"
February 3, 2014 –
43.0% "This new life of mine is hard on the feet.\n \n description"
February 3, 2014 –
61.0% ""You're not a fan of good old-fashioned American junk food, huh?"\n "The food here is so...LOUD."\n \n description"
February 3, 2014 – Shelved as: arc-or-netgalley
February 3, 2014 – Shelved as: 2014-books
February 3, 2014 – Shelved as: february-2014
February 3, 2014 – Shelved as: winter-2014-five-stars
February 3, 2014 – Shelved as: counting-by-10
February 3, 2014 – Finished Reading
February 19, 2014 – Shelved as: 5-stars-2014

Comments Showing 1-20 of 20 (20 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Ingie (new)

Ingie Nice review, Amy!


♥ Jx PinkLady Reviews ♥ Lovely review, Amy xx


message 3: by Christy (new)

Christy Fantastic review, Amy! :)


message 4: by Dee (new) - added it

Dee Montoya Great Review Amy! I want to read it.


message 5: by Cindy (new)

Cindy Great review Amy!;)


message 6: by Jen (new)

Jen Great review Amy!


Amy | Foxy Blogs Ingela wrote: "Nice review, Amy!"

Thank you, Ingela :) xo


Amy | Foxy Blogs Christy wrote: "Fantastic review, Amy! :)"

Thanks, Christy! xo :)


Amy | Foxy Blogs Denisse~ is Ruger's Old Lady~ wrote: "Great Review Amy! I want to read it."


Thanks, D!
I think the book gets released next week. :)


Amy | Foxy Blogs Jxxx ♥ Pink Lady ♥ wrote: "Lovely review, Amy xx"

Thank you, Jxxx!!!


Amy | Foxy Blogs Cindy wrote: "Great review Amy!;)"

Thank you, Cindy!
Still working on getting my netgalley books off my shelf. :)


Amy | Foxy Blogs Jen wrote: "Great review Amy!"

Thank you, Jen!


Crazy for Books (Stephanie) Fantastic review, Foxy!


Amy | Foxy Blogs Crazy for Books (Stephanie) wrote: "Fantastic review, Foxy!"

Thanks!!! :) xo
Did I tell you my netgalley rating is now 79.2%. Slowly but surely working my way through netgalley!


Crazy for Books (Stephanie) Amy (Foxy) wrote: "Crazy for Books (Stephanie) wrote: "Fantastic review, Foxy!"

Thanks!!! :) xo
Did I tell you my netgalley rating is now 79.2%. Slowly but surely working my way through netgalley!"


Wow! that's fantastic. I'm so jealous.


Amy | Foxy Blogs It's been a lot of work on my part...but it feels good to be almost there.
But it's like a catch 22. Everytime I get close I get a bunch more books. LOL


Crazy for Books (Stephanie) Amy (Foxy) wrote: "It's been a lot of work on my part...but it feels good to be almost there.
But it's like a catch 22. Everytime I get close I get a bunch more books. LOL"


Oh yes, I completely agree. I've stopped looking at it. I know I will never read them all. I'm auto approved for so many publishers, And I just keep adding more and more. I'll just read what I think I may want to at any given time and hope one of them is a NetGalley book ;DD


Amy | Foxy Blogs Sounds like a good plan. :) read what you want


message 19: by Didi (new)

Didi Great review Amy :-))


Amy | Foxy Blogs Thanks, Didi. :)


back to top