Jessica ❁ ➳ Silverbow ➳ ❁ Rabid Reads-no-more's Reviews > Winter

Winter by Marissa Meyer
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
10336538
Reviewed by: Rabid Reads

I've been a champion of THE LUNAR CHRONICLES for years now. I saw CINDER featured for months and months on Fantastic Fiction (b/c before I started using Goodreads), and I was simultaneously intrigued and horrified by the concept of a sci-fi YA retelling of a fairy tale. Honestly, I don't remember what finally convinced me to pick it up. I was just glad I did.

Now I'm not so sure. The first two books were fantastic, and while I wasn’t quite as fond of the third, it wasn’t awful.

BUT.

After finishing WINTER, I added two new bookshelves (a record) to my Goodreads collection:

1. you-should-be-ashamed-of-yourself
2. are-you-effing-kidding-me

Why?

For a multitude of reasons.

And for the second time this year (though for very different reasons), this will be a two-part review--a nonspoilery review first, followed by a spoiler-tagged RANT.

I hate WINTER, Part I:

1. Unexplained plot threads.

Threads. As in plural. I can only talk about one here, but there are many more, and two of them are HUGE.

Meyer got away without having to focus on the romantic evolution of most of her MC couples in WINTER. Cinder and Kai have been around since book 1. Scarlet and Wolf, almost as long, plus Wolf’s animal instincts make it believable. Winter and Jacin, b/c they’ve loved each other FOREVER.

Cress and Thorne? Not so much.

Cress has very real, very legitimate issues with Thorne and his incorrigible need to flirt with any and all present females, and Thorne is a life-long womanizer. But these obstacles never get directly addressed. We're just supposed to accept that Cress is "different" and Thorne really has changed, without any concrete evidence to support those claims.

Call me cynical, but I'd learned that lesson by the time I was twenty.

2. Winter and Jacin feel like guests in their own story.

I didn't go back and do the math, but I'd guess that only 5 - 10% of this monster was spent on Winter and Jacin as a couple. I'll grant you that the time spent on their coupleness was fantastic. I'll even say that it was as fantastic as the stuff we saw with Scarlet and Wolf (my personal favorite couple).

BUT.

These moments were so few and far between that they were completely overwhelmed by ALL THE OTHER THINGS.

In the end, I was convinced their love was real. I just didn't care.

description

3. ALL THE OTHER THINGS.

There was entirely too much happening in this book. I don't know if Meyer couldn't maintain the quality of writing we've become accustomed to, or if she was frazzled from trying to fit everything in, but WINTER was choked with clumsily handled side plots.

Parts of the story evolution are so lazy, it's almost like Meyer expected the leftover adrenaline from all the BAD THINGS, the one area where she continued to excel (unexpectedly dropping truly horrible obstacles on our MCs), to carry us right over the discrepancies.

And for a lot of people that probably worked.

BUT.

Not me.

4. EXTREME repetition for added shock factor.

I almost DNF-ed this book. I was 80% into it, but I did not care, I was ready to take all 800+ pages to the shooting range and use it for target practice.

Why?

B/c I was so over Lunars taking control of 1/2 of our MC couples and making them try to kill the other half.

YES. I get it. Lunars SUCK. They will steal your free will and make you do really bad stuff. LIKE KILL YOUR FRIENDS or your ONE TRUE LOVE.

description

ALSO, death was constantly imminent. Someone(s) would get captured, execution would be inevitable, HA HA, just kidding! Escape, wheeeeeeee!

Over and over and OVER again.

description

5. How the end played out (and this is my NUMERO UNO problem, FYI):

This isn't really a spoiler, but if you're one of those readers who wants to go into a book completely blind, I'd skip this part. Actually, if you're one of those types of readers, I'd avoid reviews entirely.

Anyway, Levana is pure evil. We know this. We've known this for a looooooong time. She has done so many horrible, shocking, despicable things, and she is CRAZY.

She has to die. The end.

The question is how to do it? How do we take down this master of bioelectricity manipulation?

The possibilities are endless.

So imagine my surprise and OUTRAGE when a huge part of that plan involves revealing to the world what Levana looks like underneath that veil.

I call:

description

And I'm furious all over again.

I'm furious b/c I HATE Levana, and I'm furious that I have to be outraged on her behalf. I'm furious b/c what in the effing hell is the point of having a cyborg mechanic for a princess, if you're going to have her go all Mean Girl on the crazy chick?

B/c Levana is a rabid dog.

You don't kick a rabid dog. You don't jeer and laugh at it b/c UGLY. You put it out of it's misery. The-effing-end.


And that's it for the first portion of of my review. I can't adequately communicate how disappointing WINTER by Marissa Meyer is without spoilers, but I hope you at least get the gist. This is the worst last book in a previously beloved series I have ever encountered. I did not know it was possible to be this underwhelmed, this unhappily surprised, this ANGRY about a book from an author whose past work had been stellar. I’m undecided about whether or not the early installments warrant an overall recommendation. Your call. Ugh.

Jessica Signature

I hate WINTER, Part II:

NOT kidding, there are spoilers EVERYWHERE in there. DO NOT click unless you've already read the book, or have no intentions of ever doing so. (view spoiler)

My other reviews for this series:

Glitches (Lunar Chronicles 0.5)
Cinder (The Lunar Chronicles, #1)
The Queen's Army (Lunar Chronicles, #1.5)
Scarlet (The Lunar Chronicles, #2)
Cress (The Lunar Chronicles, #3)
Fairest (The Lunar Chronicles, #3.5)
329 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Winter.
Sign In »

Quotes Jessica ❁ ➳ Silverbow ➳ ❁ Rabid Reads-no-more Liked

Marissa Meyer
“She was prettier than a bouquet of roses and crazier than a headless chicken. Fitting in was not an option.”
Marissa Meyer, Winter

Marissa Meyer
“It’s not proper for seventeen-year-old princesses to be alone with young men who have questionable intentions.”
She laughed. “And what about young men who she’s been best friends with since she was barely old enough to walk?”
He shook his head. “Those are the worst.”
Marissa Meyer, Winter

Marissa Meyer
“Winter reached over and pulled the pilot’s harness over Scarlet’s head. “Safety first, Scarlet-friend. We are fragile things.”
Marissa Meyer, Winter

Marissa Meyer
“Are you real?” she asked.
He smiled, but only a little. “Do I seem real?”
She shook her head. “Never.”
Marissa Meyer, Winter

Marissa Meyer
“Thorne scoffed. “Careful is my middle name. Right after Suave and Daring.”
“Do you even know what you're saying half the time?” asked Cinder.”
Marissa Meyer, Winter

Marissa Meyer
“One should never save cake for later when it can be eaten now.”
Marissa Meyer, Winter

Marissa Meyer
“Can I bring my friends?”
“I will personally extend invitations to the entire Rampion crew. We’ll make a reunion out of it.”
“Even Iko?”
“I’ll find her a date.”
“Because there’s a rule against androids coming to the ball, you know.”
“I think I know someone who can change that rule.”
Marissa Meyer, Winter


Reading Progress

January 29, 2014 – Shelved
November 12, 2015 – Started Reading
November 12, 2015 –
page 109
13.1% "Your input is the only input that matters,” she whispered.\n description"
November 12, 2015 –
page 135
16.23% "And he was looking at her. Again.\n She looked away. Again.\n Stupid, stupid, stupid.\n Mortified, she found herself fantasizing about crawling down to the podship dock and getting sucked out into space.\n \n LOL. Oh, Cress . . . *giggle snorts*"
November 12, 2015 –
page 154
18.51% "description"
November 12, 2015 –
page 166
19.95% "This wasn’t about assassinating Levana. This was about giving the citizens of Luna a voice and ensuring it was heard.\n \n Elend? Is that you?"
November 12, 2015 –
page 218
26.2% "description"
November 12, 2015 –
page 245
29.45% "Dear Marissa Meyer,\n \n I HATE YOU. \n \n I HATE YOU, I HATE YOU, I HAAAAAATE YOUUUUUUU!!!\n \n Sinseriously,\n Jessica--I hate you--@Rabid Reads"
November 12, 2015 –
page 335
40.26% "With her thaumaturges behind her, they could control entire sectors, entire cities. \n But even she had limits. \n She shook her head. It mattered not. The people would not revolt against her. The people loved her.\n description"
November 13, 2015 –
page 410
49.28% "Kai tuned out Levana’s voice, examining their bound wrists instead. Was the ribbon around his wrist growing tighter? His fingers were beginning to tingle with numbness. He was losing circulation. But the ribbon curled innocently against his skin. \n Stars above, it was warm in here. \n “… and I vow to love and cherish him for all our days.” \n Kai snorted. Loudly."
November 13, 2015 –
page 469
56.37% "“Did you see any rice in there? Maybe we could fill Cinder’s head with it.”\n Everyone stared at him.\n “You know, to … absorb the moisture, or something. Isn’t that a thing?”\n “We’re not pouring rice in my head.”\n “But I’m pretty sure I remember someone putting a portscreen in a bag of rice once after they’d put it through a clothes washer and—”\n “Thorne.”\n “Just trying to be helpful.”\n \n Hahahaha"
November 13, 2015 –
page 527
63.34% "NO, Winter! No, no, noooooo:\n description"
November 13, 2015 –
page 540
64.9% "description"
November 13, 2015 –
page 543
65.26% "*ROARS* Every time . . . Every damn time I think Levana has outdone herself, has hit her glass ceiling of entitled queen bitchness, SHE PROVES ME WRONG! \n description"
November 13, 2015 –
page 750
90.14% "So Lunars . . . they can control your mind? They can turn your allies against you? They can turn the LOVE OF YOUR LIFE AGAINST YOU?!\n \n Maybe you should do it just one more time to make sure we've got it. \n \n I'm. So. BORED.\n \n description"
November 14, 2015 –
page 810
97.36% " "One should never save cake for later when it can be eaten now." \n \n description"
November 16, 2015 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-50 of 181 (181 new)


Jenn Welcome to the party/roller coaster.


message 3: by Jo (new) - rated it 3 stars

Jo Oh yes, the feels.... It's a killer.


Hannah ◇Reader in the Rough◇ I put this series on hold because I saw your previous status update.
THIS is my biggest grievance with anything mind control related. It changes people.

A character written into doing wrong for the greater good... Huh!? Not a curveball I can handle. I hate when a character is all of a sudden not true to the personality you love. HATE.


Jessica ❁ ➳ Silverbow ➳ ❁ Rabid Reads-no-more Joanita wrote: "Oh yes, the feels.... It's a killer."

For REALZ.


Jessica ❁ ➳ Silverbow ➳ ❁ Rabid Reads-no-more JustAnotherHannah wrote: "I put this series on hold because I saw your previous status update.
THIS is my biggest grievance with anything mind control related. It changes people.

A character written into doing wrong for ..."


My biggest grievance is that it makes things to easy.

And not only is she written into doing wrong, she doesn't see that it's wrong. There's no hint that she has misgivings about what they're doing. The only thing that comes even close turns into a rationalization for why it's okay.


Anne Whew! I almost bought this book, b//c I was too excited to wait. Glad I didn't now. Hoping this is one of those books we agree to disagree on! *sobs*


Jessica ❁ ➳ Silverbow ➳ ❁ Rabid Reads-no-more I can't comment. Meh :/ But I am glad you had more restraint than I did--if you love it, you can always get it later. Probably at the used book store ;)


Eon ♒Windrunner♒  I secretly knew this was the REAL rating for this book. Based on Joanita's behavior while reading it. ;)


Jessica ❁ ➳ Silverbow ➳ ❁ Rabid Reads-no-more Hahahaha! Yeah, she told me you were baffled. I think she's more forgiving than I am ;)


message 11: by Jo (new) - rated it 3 stars

Jo *applauds* Well said, Jessica! The horse gif is exactly how I felt about this book.

But I loved the first 50%, so I really had a hard time rating it :-(. I gave it 4stars, but I'm changing it now to 3, because the last 50% was a HUGE disappointment.


message 12: by Jessica ❁ ➳ Silverbow ➳ ❁ Rabid Reads-no-more (last edited Nov 16, 2015 07:05AM) (new) - rated it 1 star

Jessica ❁ ➳ Silverbow ➳ ❁ Rabid Reads-no-more Dollface, you can like it as much or as little as as you want! The whole world knows I'm:

1. HYPER critical
2. OCD about details
3. Unforgiving

Seriously, that last one--if one thing in a book seriously ticks me off, all the other nitpicky things COMPOUND.

I'm glad you liked it more than I did. I wish I liked it that much, too ;)


Caitlin Gutilla I understand your point of view, I do. But when you have an almost invincible dictator who cannot be stopped, who is going to kill as many people as possible (and has already due to biological warfare), who executes family members because someone didn't cook the food right, wouldn't you use every possible weakness to try to stop them? Personally, I think Cinder stayed true to her character. The only way to stop Levana from literally taking over the world was to use every weapon in her arsenal. I don't think she should have spared her humiliation, because Levana definitely didn't deserve it.

This is just my opinion. Everyone is entitled to their own thoughts and feels about a book but I just thought I'd share my perspective.


♛Tash Oh noes...my dreams of fan girling with you over Winter are dashed. Le sigh.


message 15: by Angela (new) - added it

Angela Mean girls? Really? That's what it turns to? *sigh*


message 16: by Jessica (new)

Jessica What?! Damn it. Damn it. Damn it! I was looking forward to this and it was going to be my reward...urrrrggg.


Jessica ❁ ➳ Silverbow ➳ ❁ Rabid Reads-no-more Caitlin wrote: "I understand your point of view, I do. But when you have an almost invincible dictator who cannot be stopped, who is going to kill as many people as possible (and has already due to biological warf..."

I understand your POV, too. But I'm a firm believer in the end not justifying the means. I feel like Meyer took the obvious road, the easy road. She's the author. She had limitless ways to wrap this thing up, but she was lazy. *shrugs* and not just about this. There were half a dozen dangling plot threads and poorly explained outcomes. There were HUGE inconsistencies after she'd beat us over the head that certain things would never happen.

How the end played out is only the biggest of nearly half a dozen issues.


Jessica ❁ ➳ Silverbow ➳ ❁ Rabid Reads-no-more Tash wrote: "Oh noes...my dreams of fan girling with you over Winter are dashed. Le sigh."

:(


Jessica ❁ ➳ Silverbow ➳ ❁ Rabid Reads-no-more Angela wrote: "Mean girls? Really? That's what it turns to? *sigh*"

Duuuuude. Did you read Fairest?


Jessica ❁ ➳ Silverbow ➳ ❁ Rabid Reads-no-more Jessica wrote: "What?! Damn it. Damn it. Damn it! I was looking forward to this and it was going to be my reward...urrrrggg."

Jess . . . I think you would throw this one across a room. You might even be tempted to set it on fire.


message 21: by Angela (new) - added it

Angela Jessica ❁ Far Dareis Mai ❁ Rabid Reads wrote: "Angela wrote: "Mean girls? Really? That's what it turns to? *sigh*"

Duuuuude. Did you read Fairest?"


Not yet. And after seeing how you feel about this, I'm not entirely sure I want to finish out the series....


message 22: by Jessica ❁ ➳ Silverbow ➳ ❁ Rabid Reads-no-more (last edited Nov 16, 2015 08:11AM) (new) - rated it 1 star

Jessica ❁ ➳ Silverbow ➳ ❁ Rabid Reads-no-more Blah. Then I can't say anything else. You learn things about Levena in Fairest . . .


Hannah ◇Reader in the Rough◇ No, Jessica, I totally agree! There's a difference between a hard choice for a character to make for the greater good and the writer shrugging their shoulders and writing their way through a conclusion because oh well, people will buy it regardless
regardless. *cough, cough* The Selection...


message 24: by Jessica ❁ ➳ Silverbow ➳ ❁ Rabid Reads-no-more (last edited Nov 16, 2015 08:22AM) (new) - rated it 1 star

Jessica ❁ ➳ Silverbow ➳ ❁ Rabid Reads-no-more JustAnotherHannah wrote: "No, Jessica, I totally agree! There's a difference between a hard choice for a character to make for the greater good and the writer shrugging their shoulders and writing their way through a conclu..."

I haven't read past the first book in The Selection, but EXACTLY. This book was too long, she tried to do too many things, and the writing suffered. ALL over the place. It feels like she started to get frazzled towards the end and stopped caring that things didn't quite add up.


Alienor ✘ French Frowner ✘ I never read this series but I followed your updates on this and I'm so, so sorry for you ♥ It's so awful when the last book of a series we love doesn't deliver and ruins everything :(


message 26: by Lily (last edited Nov 16, 2015 10:11AM) (new)

Lily *snaps out of gif-induced hypnosis*

I'm sorry that the conclusion of the series didn't work out for you. I hate it when that happens.

I've been debating on whether to start on the Lunar Chronicles for ages - the premise sounds really cool. I'll need a new audiobook sometime soon, and I see that my library has Cinder. But I'm so bad at finishing series that there's a chance I might not even get to Winter.


message 27: by Stephanie (new)

Stephanie So sorry this was a disappointment for you, Jessica.


message 28: by Molly (new)

Molly Ouch!


Jessica ❁ ➳ Silverbow ➳ ❁ Rabid Reads-no-more Stephanie wrote: "So sorry this was a disappointment for you, Jessica."

Alienor ✘ French frowner ✘ wrote: "I never read this series but I followed your updates on this and I'm so, so sorry for you ♥ It's so awful when the last book of a series we love doesn't deliver and ruins everything :("

I'm sorry, too :(


Jessica ❁ ➳ Silverbow ➳ ❁ Rabid Reads-no-more Lily wrote: "*snaps out of gif-induced hypnosis*

I'm sorry that the conclusion of the series didn't work out for you. I hate it when that happens.

I've been debating on whether to start on the Lunar Chronic..."


If finishing series is a legit problem for you, then I HIGHLY recommend this one, LOL. Seriously. Even though I didn't love CRESS as much as CINDER and SCARLET, it was still pretty good, and CINDER and SCARLET were amazeballs.

Which is why WINTER was so disappointing :/


Jessica ❁ ➳ Silverbow ➳ ❁ Rabid Reads-no-more Molly wrote: "Ouch!"

YEP. It stings.


message 34: by OhWell (new)

OhWell Is it still worth reading the series? I haven't even started so I'd better not waste my time...


Jessica ❁ ➳ Silverbow ➳ ❁ Rabid Reads-no-more I don't know, I don't know. I truly loved the first two books, the third was decent, and FAIREST was creepily fantastic. It really depends on how you'd feel about the what goes down in this one. *shrugs awkwardly*


Victoria At first I was shocked by your rating -1 star? To The Lunar Chronicles? but I only have 10% left and totally feel you.


Alienor ✘ French Frowner ✘ *clap clap* I read the whole thing because I won't read this series anyway, but I loved your rant. I would have hated that shit.


message 38: by Angela (new) - added it

Angela Really? They took her down by showing her 'true face' to the world? Seriously? That....I don't buy that would have worked. Because Levana IS crazy. She's absolutely bat-shit. You can't humiliate that... =/

I'm debating reading the spoiler tag. I will probably wait for Robin's review to see if it can convince me to try it myself. Right now, I'm thinking not.

(I've never bought Cress and Thorne. Which is unfortunate. And kind of sucks that it's not firmed up here)


message 39: by Angela (new) - added it

Angela Oh! And what was the other book that required the 2-part review?


Jessica ❁ ➳ Silverbow ➳ ❁ Rabid Reads-no-more Victoria wrote: "At first I was shocked by your rating -1 star? To The Lunar Chronicles? but I only have 10% left and totally feel you."

Yeah, it should finally be getting better for you if you're that close the end. I had to quit for day right before I got to the resolution/wrap up. Of course, how could I know that, it drug on for so bloody long?

But yeah, by that point there was no coming back for me.


Jessica ❁ ➳ Silverbow ➳ ❁ Rabid Reads-no-more Alienor ✘ French frowner ✘ wrote: "*clap clap* I read the whole thing because I won't read this series anyway, but I loved your rant. I would have hated that shit."

I definitely hated that shit ;)


Jessica ❁ ➳ Silverbow ➳ ❁ Rabid Reads-no-more Angela wrote: "Really? They took her down by showing her 'true face' to the world? Seriously? That....I don't buy that would have worked. Because Levana IS crazy. She's absolutely bat-shit. You can't humiliate th..."

SERIOUSLY. I lost. My. Bloody. Mind. The way it was setup, rationalized that course of action. She was fixated on her appearance, but THE END DOESN'T JUSTIFY THE MEANS. Plus, yeah, I didn't buy it either regardless of the setup.

And if you were already having issues with Thorne and Cress, they will not get resolved.

Other 2-part review was for Queen of Shadows


message 43: by Cathryn (last edited Nov 17, 2015 04:26PM) (new) - added it

Cathryn I am so sorry. It's the worst when the last book in a favorite series is a big letdown. I've read the first two books but that's it.


Jessica ❁ ➳ Silverbow ➳ ❁ Rabid Reads-no-more Cathryn wrote: "I am so sorry. It's the worst when the last book in a favorite series is a big letdown. I've read the first two books but that's it."

You should quit while you're ahead. It's downhill from there ;)


message 45: by OhWell (new)

OhWell I've read all the comments and it's decided: I won't be reading the series. I don't want to go through a Divergent-style disappointment ever again!


Jessica ❁ ➳ Silverbow ➳ ❁ Rabid Reads-no-more OhWell wrote: "I've read all the comments and it's decided: I won't be reading the series. I don't want to go through a Divergent-style disappointment ever again!"

*high fives* I refused to read Allegiant myself ;)


message 47: by Leda (new) - rated it 3 stars

Leda I was looking forwards to this book so much. I ended up reading almost all of the previous books back to back and liked them a lot. I still think I might read this one eventually, mainly because I want to know how it all ends, but I wish this one would have been as good as at least Cinder (my favourite :)..)


message 48: by Jo (new) - rated it 3 stars

Jo Jessica, this is a FANTASTIC review!!! Bravo.
This book was such a HUGE disappointment and disaster.


Jessica ❁ ➳ Silverbow ➳ ❁ Rabid Reads-no-more Leda wrote: "I was looking forwards to this book so much. I ended up reading almost all of the previous books back to back and liked them a lot. I still think I might read this one eventually, mainly because I ..."

Who knows? You might like it. My opinion seems to be the minority. *shrugs*


« previous 1 3 4
back to top