❃**✿【Yasmine】✿**❃'s Reviews > Brutal

Brutal by K.S. Adkins
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
15766781
'Who am I, you're asking yourself. My name is Venessa Cross, and I fight for those who can't.'

VENESSA CROSS
description

ROGAN BLACK
description


Genre: Gritty action-romance. Maybe for fans of 'Real Ugly' C.M. Stunich
Cover: 5/10
Writing: 7/10
Heroine: 9/10
Hero: 9/10
Amount of humour: 3/10
Amount of jealousy: 5/10
Hotness: 7/10
Romance: 8/10
Ending: 9/10
Extra book Details: HEA. Dual POV.

What Venessa experienced at 17 years old, was absolutely HORR-IF-IC. When her families murder investigation is dropped, Venessa decides to take the law into her own hands.

'No-one follows the rules here. Instead, rules are treated as options.'
'These days, the cops are the clean up crew, not your first line of defence. They couldn't save my family, and they can't save yours. Detroit needs a wakeup call, and I’m the alarm.'


Rogan Black was raised in the system and grew up on the streets.
'With no authority figure or discipline, I figured out quick that I needed rules and order in my life.'

'I'm crime's worst nightmare. I make women and children cry. I'm feared because I'm an asshole, and I like it that way. Detroit is MY town. I'm Detective Rogan Black, and I'm THE motherfucking law.'
'I'm an ugly son of a bitch. Bigger than most men. Meaner then 'em too. Women don't run to me, they usually run from me.'

Only Venessa doesn't want to run from him.
'He's one of the biggest, scariest guys I’ve ever seen. Only he's not scary to me. I wanted to jump on his lap.'

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Fair to say, I loved the characters. They were perfect for each other; they both love aggression, are ruthless, obsessed with each other, extremely brutal and are determined warriors.

Venessa was totally kick-ass and admirable. It wasn't just the horrors of her family's deaths that she went through.

Rogan was both an alpha and a beta. He's a loner, an aggressor, a virgin, a tough guy. But also innocent when it comes to women and most social situations. He thought he was sooo ugly, though he might have been, but Venessa saw him as wonderful.
I adored him when he says things like; I'm thirty years old, and this is my first real hug.' and “Never had shit that's mine, got you now. Don't need nothing else.”

There were some funny bits for me. The porn scene made me giggle and when Venessa said; “Rogan, I'm going to come on your face if you don't move!”

I loved seeing Rogan and Venessa explore sex and love for the first time together. There was quite a bit of sex too. *wink wink*

I knocked this down a star because I felt the author took on the insta-connection (not intsa-lust or love) heavy handily, causing some lines to come out a little corny and their emotions to be too much too soon. This also was evident when it came to the 'jealous scenes'; where either party would punch someone for looking/talking/generally touching their other half.

I did expect this to be a cat and mouse chase, or a love/hate, crime vs criminal, kind of book. It's more about the two working together to fight something greater, something that they believe in. Expect an imperfect, gritty, sex and violence kind of read with two loveable, tough, unique characters.
19 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Brutal.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

January 27, 2014 – Shelved
January 27, 2014 – Shelved as: to-read
January 30, 2014 – Started Reading
January 30, 2014 –
1.0% "Kick ass female? Yes please... 'You never want to get a visit from me. Because if we do meet, you won't remember it until it's too late. My name is Venessa Cross, thanks for asking. i am justice.' "
January 30, 2014 –
2.0% "Kick ass male too? You're spoiling me... 'I'm crime's worst nightmare. I make women and children cry. I'm feared because I'm an asshole, and i like it that way. Detroit is MY town. I'm Detective Rogan Black, and I'm THE motherfucking law.' "
January 30, 2014 –
11.0% "'6'4", 275 lbs, shaved head, beard, tattoos, built like a tank... If i had to guess, I would say he doesn't smile much, but if he did, I'd throw my panties at his feet and beg for his cock.'"
January 30, 2014 – Shelved as: violence
January 30, 2014 – Shelved as: action
January 30, 2014 – Shelved as: dark-book
January 30, 2014 – Shelved as: law-enforcer-hero
January 30, 2014 – Shelved as: loner-lead-character
January 31, 2014 – Shelved as: virgin-hero
January 31, 2014 –
40.0% "This book didn't go how i expected it to, thought it was going to be a bit of cat and mouse, love and hate. I got insta-connection, there's a few corny lines too, but it's still good."
January 31, 2014 – Finished Reading
February 1, 2014 – Shelved as: star-rating-4
March 5, 2014 – Shelved as: fave-heroine
March 5, 2014 – Shelved as: fave-hero

Comments Showing 1-24 of 24 (24 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by J (new) - rated it 4 stars

J Yasmine: This one sounds really good. Let me know if its worth buying.


❃**✿【Yasmine】✿**❃ I will, time will tell :)


❃**✿【Yasmine】✿**❃ See my last update!


message 4: by Polly (new)

Polly Cheating?


❃**✿【Yasmine】✿**❃ Nopes :) Reminds me of 'Real Ugly' because of the gritty and dark feeling, and the effed up pair.


message 6: by J (new) - rated it 4 stars

J One more sale for Amazon! Thanks Yasmine.


❃**✿【Yasmine】✿**❃ Hope you enjoy it Judy


message 8: by K.S. (new)

K.S. Adkins Thanks! You really put a shit ton of effort into a review, so thank you for that! I wrote this two years ago for fun, never expected to publish it let alone have people read it. Much love!


❃**✿【Yasmine】✿**❃ Well i'm very glad you did :)


message 10: by K.S. (new)

K.S. Adkins By the way, you are the only one who has nailed my image of Rogue so far. Kudos!


❃**✿【Yasmine】✿**❃ Haha, as soon as he was described to me i thought 'Eff me it's Kerry King from Slayer!' dum dum dum!


message 12: by J (new) - rated it 4 stars

J Yasmine: 19% in and I'm loving Brutal. Thank you, thank you. I was in a book drought (Scarred Beautiful and Crash Into You -- couldn't finish either of them). My Super Bowl Sunday has been saved!


❃**✿【Yasmine】✿**❃ Haha glad you're liking it Judy. Loved the characters, such a good backstory.


message 14: by Janey (new) - added it

Janey Great review, Jasmine :)


message 15: by Janey (new) - added it

Janey Should put my glasses on, Yasmine!! 8-)


❃**✿【Yasmine】✿**❃ haha. hope you like it


message 17: by K.S. (new)

K.S. Adkins I really hope you like it! Xoxox


message 18: by Katie (new)

Katie great review.


message 19: by Ailene♥ (new)

Ailene♥ (view spoiler) Now I have to read this. Awesome review! ;)


❃**✿【Yasmine】✿**❃ Haha, i have a shelf dedicated to them.


message 21: by Kristin (new) - added it

Kristin I like the grading you put at the end of your review! Makes it easy for me to getting an idea of the book without learning too many details. :)


message 22: by Luv2read (new) - added it

Luv2read Loved your review!


❃**✿【Yasmine】✿**❃ Thank you both. Yes Kristin i've found it handy to break things down like that, it helps me decide my rating x


message 24: by Luv2read (new) - added it

Luv2read I agree with Kristin. Very informative.


back to top