Amy | Foxy Blogs's Reviews > The Tied Man

The Tied Man by Tabitha McGowan
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
9955253
's review

really liked it
bookshelves: 2014-books, january-2014


THE TIED MAN is a dark fairy tale where the Princess comes to save the Prince.

Lilith♦ is the princess in this twisted tale.

Finn♦ is the "Rapunzel" of Albermarle Hall.

Blaine♦ is the evil queen.

The Tied Man is kind of like the 'boy' version of Captive in the Dark and Escape from Paradise.

My only issue I found with the story is the foreign lingo because it kept tripping me up. The writing style made it hard for me to be fully immersed in the story because it took awhile to get use to it. Otherwise it was a good dark and twisted tale.

SERIES:
The Tied Man (The Tied Man, #1) by Tabitha McGowan Unbound (The Tied Man, #2) by Tabitha McGowan
Book 1 can be read as standalone. | Book 2 will be a second story with the same protagonists, but a whole new plot.
37 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Tied Man.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

January 22, 2014 – Shelved
January 22, 2014 – Shelved as: to-read
January 23, 2014 – Started Reading
January 23, 2014 –
5.0% "Started this one and I'm not sure what to think. \n I've been told to keep reading.\n \n description"
January 25, 2014 –
76.0% "THIS IS FOR YOU, BLAINE!!\n \n description"
January 25, 2014 –
78.0% "Oh, Finn, you are breaking my heart.\n \n description"
January 25, 2014 –
83.0% "description"
January 25, 2014 – Shelved as: 2014-books
January 25, 2014 – Shelved as: january-2014
January 25, 2014 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-46 of 46 (46 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Jen (new) - added it

Jen Wonderful review Amy! Can't wait to read and love the tip you have about the lingo. At least I know that going into it.


Amy | Foxy Blogs Thank you, Jen! I know it is a simple review for such a complex story but there are so many reviews out there I figured this one will at least get the point across.
I know not everyone has issues with writing styles...but for some reason it sticks out to me.
If nothing else you can go on Amazon.com and read the sample to see if it something that interest you.


Christy Ah! You read my favorite book of 2013! That makes me happy! Glad you enjoyed it :D Awesome review, Foxy!


message 4: by Renee (new) - added it

Renee Great review dimples! Might have to give it another go!


Amy | Foxy Blogs Christy wrote: "Ah! You read my favorite book of 2013! That makes me happy! Glad you enjoyed it :D Awesome review, Foxy!"

Thank you, Christy
I can see why it was your favorite. It was good story. I bet you are excited for book 2. :)


Amy | Foxy Blogs Renee wrote: "Great review dimples! Might have to give it another go!"

Thanks, lazybones! I'll be there for you if you do. :)


Kara And what were your final thoughts my dearest Foxy lady?! Xoxo


Crazy for Books (Stephanie) Fantastic review. I really wish this would go on sale so I could buy it. It sounds really good.


Elaine Amy so glad you kept with it. This was one of my favourites from last year and it stayed with my for a long time. Fab review :)


message 10: by • Lisa • (new)

• Lisa • Really fabulous review, Amy x


Jennifer Kyle Great review Foxy :DDD


message 12: by Mo (new) - rated it 4 stars

Mo Nice review. What do you mean by "foreign lingo"?


Amy | Foxy Blogs Kara wrote: "And what were your final thoughts my dearest Foxy lady?! Xoxo"

Hmmmm...what in particular do you want to know? I'm sure this would have been a 5 stars if I could have gotten past the writing. :)


Amy | Foxy Blogs Crazy for Books (Stephanie) wrote: "Fantastic review. I really wish this would go on sale so I could buy it. It sounds really good."

Thanks, Stephanie! :) I borrowed this from a friend. It was an amazon loan-able book. Maybe you have a friend you can borrow it from?


Amy | Foxy Blogs Elaine wrote: "Amy so glad you kept with it. This was one of my favourites from last year and it stayed with my for a long time. Fab review :)"

Thanks, Elaine! I can totally see why it was a favorite! I'm very curious what book 2 will be like.


Amy | Foxy Blogs Lisa Jayne wrote: "Really fabulous review, Amy x"

Thank you, LJ!
Are you going to read it?


Amy | Foxy Blogs Jennifer wrote: "Great review Foxy :DDD"

Thanks, Jennifer! :)


Amy | Foxy Blogs Mo - Irene's Irish minion for the month of January wrote: "Nice review. What do you mean by "foreign lingo"?"

Thanks, Mo! :)
okay, I'll go find my kindle (I should have marked the copy to make looking back faster)->
(view spoiler)


message 19: by Mo (new) - rated it 4 stars

Mo Amy (Foxy) wrote: "Mo - Irene's Irish minion for the month of January wrote: "Nice review. What do you mean by "foreign lingo"?"

Thanks, Mo! :)
okay, I'll go find my kindle (I should have marked the copy to make lo..."


Ok, get you. I suppose as an Irish person, I sort of knew them and Finn was Irish so got his lingo. But I can imagine it might be annoying.

"load of bollocks" - that is one I would use regularly - LOL.


Amy | Foxy Blogs It wasn't bad...just kept tripping me up. Maybe if I read more books by foreign authors I bet I wouldn't even notice it.

Next time...I'll ask you what things mean if I don't understand them. :)


message 21: by Mo (new) - rated it 4 stars

Mo Amy (Foxy) wrote: "It wasn't bad...just kept tripping me up. Maybe if I read more books by foreign authors I bet I wouldn't even notice it.

Next time...I'll ask you what things mean if I don't understand them. :)"


LOL, Amy and us foreigners have to read American authors all the time and you don't hear us complaining when you guys spell stuff incorrectly, like color instead of colour use words like gas instead of petrol, garbage instead of rubbish, trunk instead of boot (of the car)!!


Amy | Foxy Blogs LMAO...
Mo, that reminds me when I lived in DC. (I'm from the West Coast). My co-workers in DC kept saying that I said things funny. Such as, "pop"...they called it "soda" (for pepsi, coke, 7-up, etc).
I remember asking my co-worker if they wanted a 'pop'. He looked at me and said, "pop is something you call your dad or something you do when you hit someone but it isn't something you call a drink."
Needless to say...he was lucky I didn't give him a "pop" in the eye after his snarky remark he made to me.


Brandi Great review, Amy!! I loved this one! Glad you enjoyed it :)


message 24: by Mo (new) - rated it 4 stars

Mo Amy (Foxy) wrote: "LMAO...
Mo, that reminds me when I lived in DC. (I'm from the West Coast). My co-workers in DC kept saying that I said things funny. Such as, "pop"...they called it "soda" (for pepsi, coke, 7-up..."


LMAO. yeah, so there are discrepancies even within the States....


Amy | Foxy Blogs Thank you, Brandi :) Now, we have to wait for book 2 to get more. :)


Crazy for Books (Stephanie) Amy (Foxy) wrote: "Crazy for Books (Stephanie) wrote: "Fantastic review. I really wish this would go on sale so I could buy it. It sounds really good."

Thanks, Stephanie! :) I borrowed this from a friend. It was..."


Good idea. I didn't think to ask. Will scope out my friends who've read it and see if I can borrow. Thanks.


♥ Jx PinkLady Reviews ♥ Great review, Amy. Erm, by foreign lingo do you mean Brit speak? Lol. Otherwise known as English? lol xxx


message 28: by Barbara (new) - added it

Barbara oo this sounds good! great review Amy :))


Amy | Foxy Blogs Jxxx ♥ Pink Lady ♥ wrote: "Great review, Amy. Erm, by foreign lingo do you mean Brit speak? Lol. Otherwise known as English? lol xxx"

Thanks, Jxxx :)
yea, words like- bloody, wanker, etc aren't stuff I'm familiar with. :)


Amy | Foxy Blogs Barbara wrote: "oo this sounds good! great review Amy :))"

Thanks, Barbara!!!
If you like dark erotica then this is up your alley. :)


♥ Jx PinkLady Reviews ♥ Amy (Foxy) wrote: "Jxxx ♥ Pink Lady ♥ wrote: "Great review, Amy. Erm, by foreign lingo do you mean Brit speak? Lol. Otherwise known as English? lol xxx"

Thanks, Jxxx :)
yea, words like- bloody, wanker, etc aren't ..."



Lol, they are great words and very British. I need to get with the programme and read this book. Xxx


Amy | Foxy Blogs Aaah....would have been fun reading it with you! :) I'll be watching for your updates when you get around to reading it. :)


message 33: by Cindy (new) - added it

Cindy Loved your review! :) x


Amy | Foxy Blogs Thanks, Cindy. xo.
I'll be curious to see what you think when you read it. :)


message 35: by CeCe (new) - rated it 5 stars

CeCe Great review, Amy. I have had this book in my Kindle FOREVER!!!! I just buy books and then forget I have them until I see reviews about them. That Amazon is an addiction. :)


message 36: by Cindy (new) - added it

Cindy Amy (Foxy) wrote: "Thanks, Cindy. xo.
I'll be curious to see what you think when you read it. :)"

I have to admit I have been a little leery of this one. Captive in the Dark had my heart seriously malfunctioning half the time. That series was intense!:D


Amy | Foxy Blogs Christine wrote: "Great review, Amy. I have had this book in my Kindle FOREVER!!!! I just buy books and then forget I have them until I see reviews about them. That Amazon is an addiction. :)"

Thank you, Christine.
Me too...I have that one-click disease. Last year I made a shelf for all my books I purchased but hadn't read. Then I got stressed out seeing all of them. So, I stopped adding books I buy to it. Lol.


Amy | Foxy Blogs Cindy, that series did a number on me too. You're all broken in.
This one didn't effect me the same way CITD/SiTD did. Maybe I've become immune to it. :(.
Or maybe bc CITD/SiTD were one of my first dark books that's why they stuck with me.


message 39: by Cindy (new) - added it

Cindy Amy (Foxy) wrote: "Cindy, that series did a number on me too. You're all broken in.
This one didn't effect me the same way CITD/SiTD did. Maybe I've become immune to it. :(.
Or maybe bc CITD/SiTD were one of my fi..."


They were my fist too,lol. Well I am going to give it a try;) If I survived CITD your right I should be able to handle anything, *shaky lol* :)


Amy | Foxy Blogs I'll hold your hand through it. Just let me know when you start it :)


message 41: by Cindy (new) - added it

Cindy Amy (Foxy) wrote: "I'll hold your hand through it. Just let me know when you start it :)"

ah your the best:D I will let you know;)


message 42: by Anna (new) - added it

Anna its drateful to say so and i feel like a terrible person but guys being raped and abused in books doesnt terrify me as much as girls its different in real life ofcourse and i cant read abought young boys getting raped to be honest phedophilia and bestiality are my only no nos


Amy | Foxy Blogs Lian92...yea, those things are no for me too. I'm glad I've never come across that in a book.


message 44: by Anna (last edited Mar 17, 2014 11:07PM) (new) - added it

Anna dont read Neko and Kings plessure they include descriptions of dog human sex i also heard Tender mercies has it


Amy | Foxy Blogs Ewww. Thanks for the heads up.


message 46: by Anna (new) - added it

Anna yeah i also find it disscusting i mean whats next graphick descriptions of sex with three year olds no thanks phedophilia and Bestiality cant be erotised


back to top