Sarai's Reviews > Going Postal

Going Postal by Terry Pratchett
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
2506057
's review
Dec 31, 2009

it was amazing
bookshelves: fantasy, general-fiction, humor

I love Terry Pratchett's Discworld series. If you have read other Discworld books of his and liked them, you'll like this one too.

I listened to this on CD. Stephen Briggs always does a marvelous job as a reader. Highly recommended for traveling, except that the discs seemed to need to be changed a lot - whether they were shorter than normal or whether they just seemed to go fast because they're so enjoyable, I'm not sure.

One thing I like about the Discworld books is that even though they are a series, you do not have to read them in order in order to understand what is going on or follow a storyline. Each one is pretty independent.

From School Library Journal
Adult/High School - When petty con man Moist von Lipwig is hung for his crimes in the first chapter of this surprising and humorous novel, it appears to be the end. But this is Discworld after all, a world "a lot like our own but different." Moist awakes from the shock of his hanging to find that the city's Patrician, Lord Vetinari, has assigned him a government job (a fate worse than death?) restoring the defunct postal system. Of course, there is much more to restore than the flow of letters and packages. Justice as well as communication has been poorly served by a hostile takeover of the "clacks" - a unique messaging system that is part semaphore, part digital, and under the monopoly of the Grand Trunk Company. Before Moist can get very far into the job, he encounters ghosts, the voices of unsent letters, and a ruthless corporate conspiracy. In this quickly escalating battle, the post office is definitely the underdog, but, as the author notes, "an underdog can always find somewhere soft to bite." Fortunately Moist has friends: the determined Miss Dearheart, a golem with more than feet of clay, and a secret society of unemployed and very unusual postal workers as well as a vampire named Oscar. The author's inventiveness seems to know no end, his playful and irreverent use of language is a delight, and there is food for thought in his parody of fantasyland. This 29th Discworld novel, like the rest of the series, is a surefire hit for fans of Douglas Adams and Monty Python. - Carolyn Lehman, Humboldt State University, Arcata, CA

flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Going Postal.
Sign In »

No comments have been added yet.