Baba 's Reviews > Her Best Laid Plans

Her Best Laid Plans by Cara McKenna
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
4669232
's review
Jan 18, 2014

liked it
bookshelves: netgalley, cara-mckenna

3.5 stars. Review posted April 20, 2014

 photo oie_trongVLC6K6w_zpsccb2881b.gif

 photo oie_G6ZmAVcZwljm_zpsb1145b43.gif

A quick review for a quick read.

In a nutshell
Jamie Webb, a student from Boston, is house-sitting for her mother's best friend in Ireland for the next ten days. While nursing a Guinness in a pub she makes the acquaintance of Connor Kelleher, a hot Irish mechanic bartender with aspirations to become an engineer. The attraction is mutual and they start flirting. One thing leads to another and they're entangled in a vacation fling...

My thoughts
I'm actually not a fan of insta-anything but when you're on the lookout for a little holiday fling and when you're on the rebound as well, then I guess it's required that you have to feel some kind of insta-lust to get to fourth base. Going into this I knew it wouldn't be McKenna's best work to date. Thus, don't expect anything too deep or special. Just take it for what it is; Her Best Laid Plans is a nice read, a rather light and easy one, just something pretty short and good for in between. It's solidly written and definitely better than all those Harlequins I've been reading during the 80s and 90s. I felt entertained and that's what matters in the end. Again, I must point out how well Cara McKenna writes her steamy scenes. They are sexy and arousing. The man is considerate, generous and demanding all at the same time; he takes care of the woman and knows how to get her off. Really well done.

"(…)And we've both picked the worst possible time to fall for somebody."
"And we've both picked the worst possible person to fall for."
"Don't blame me for that--I was just minding my business in the proper hemisphere. You're the one who came poaching." He kissed her temple.


Overall an enjoyable read but it didn't provide an intensity or emotional pull that would have justified a higher rating. If you are on the lookout for something short and light then give it a try. I also think that fans of Cara McKenna will like it.


All quotes are taken from the pre-published copy and may be altered or omitted in the final copy


**ARC courtesy of Harlequin via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review**



http://baba.booklikes.com
41 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Her Best Laid Plans.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

January 18, 2014 – Shelved
January 18, 2014 – Shelved as: to-read
April 17, 2014 – Started Reading
April 17, 2014 –
0.0% " photo tumblr_mdp5b5YlWa1qkoifqo1_500_zps7ad627b0.gif\n Let's give this one a try… *fingers crossed*"
April 18, 2014 –
60.0% " photo oie_G6ZmAVcZwljm_zpsb1145b43.gif\n It doesn't wow me but it's a nice read and I'm enjoying it!"
April 19, 2014 –
100.0% "Nice."
April 19, 2014 – Finished Reading
April 21, 2014 – Shelved as: netgalley
August 28, 2015 – Shelved as: cara-mckenna

Comments (showing 1-48 of 48) (48 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Lisa Jayne (new)

Lisa Jayne I'm super interested to see what you'll think of this !!! ❤️ Have you started yet?


Baba  Lisa Jayne wrote: "I'm super interested to see what you'll think of this !!! ❤️ Have you started yet?"

Nope, not yet, Lisa babes. I'm going to read Hard Time first. I guess I'll be starting it on Friday. :)) xxx


message 3: by Lisa Jayne (new)

Lisa Jayne Oooooh I want to read 'Hard time' too, I'll be looking out for your updates baba licious !!!


Baba  Lisa Jayne wrote: "Oooooh I want to read 'Hard time' too, I'll be looking out for your updates baba licious !!!"

Lol Stalk anytime, Lisa lovely. :) xxx


Baba  Shannon ❤️Mrs Jake Spears❤️ wrote: "Enjoy lovely!!"

Thanks, dearie. :))


Louise Wonderful review Baba!:))


Lisa *-* GiViNg It To YoU * LoCk StOcK & TwO SmOkiNg BaRrELs Great Review Baba as always!!


message 9: by Debra (new)

Debra Lovely review, Baba! :)


message 10: by Lisa Jayne (new)

Lisa Jayne SUPER review, poppet x


Baba  Louise wrote: "Wonderful review Baba!:))"

Thanks, Louise. :))


Baba  Lisa *-* WaNtS tO dO wrote: "Great Review Baba as always!!"

Thanks, Lisa lovely. :)) xxx


Baba  Debra wrote: "Lovely review, Baba! :)"

Thanks, Debra. :))


Baba  Lisa Jayne wrote: "SUPER review, poppet x"

Thanks, Lisa babes. :)) xxx


Rosalinda *KRASNORADA* Great honest review, Baba! Love your gifs x


message 16: by ♥Sharon♥ (new)

♥Sharon♥ Lovely review, Baba! :))


Baba  Rosalinda *KRASNORADA* wrote: "Great honest review, Baba! Love your gifs x"

Thanks, Rosa. :)) xxx


Baba  ♥Sharon♥ wrote: "Lovely review, Baba! :))"

Thanks, Sharon. :))


Baba  4815162342 - aksana wrote: "Beautiful review :)"

Thank you, Aksana. :))


♥Rachel♥ I'm really enjoying Cara McKenna's Hard Time, so I'd like to try more of her work. Her writing is beautiful and sensual. I don't mind insta-lust and sort of expect it with a novella. Great review, Baba! :)


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ Excellent review B! Sounds like a great in-between.... = ) xo


Lady Vigilante (Feifei) Stunning review Baba! Hope you're enjoying your current read :D


message 25: by Vidalia (new) - added it

Vidalia Great review, Baba!


message 26: by Lisa (new)

Lisa Fab review, Baba! :D


Pavlina Read more sleep less blog❤❤  Wonderful review sweetie <3


Baba  Christine née The Dark Romance Junkie wrote: "Great review Baba!!"

Thanks, Christine. :))


Baba  ♥Rachel♥ wrote: "I'm really enjoying Cara McKenna's Hard Time, so I'd like to try more of her work. Her writing is beautiful and sensual. I don't mind insta-lust and sort of expect it with a novella. Great review, ..."

Thanks, Rachel. Then I'd say you should give this one a try. Just don't expect anything similar to her other books. :))
Hope you enjoy!


Baba  SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ wrote: "Excellent review B! Sounds like a great in-between.... = ) xo"

Thanks, Sue. Yep, something nice and light for in between. :) xxx


Baba  Lady Vigilante (Feifei) wrote: "Stunning review Baba! Hope you're enjoying your current read :D"

Thanks, Feifei. Yes, I'm enjoying my current read (I'm actually done already). :))


Baba  Vidalia wrote: "Great review, Baba!"

Thanks, Vidalia. :)


Baba  Lisa wrote: "Fab review, Baba! :D"

Thanks, Lisa. :P


Baba  Pavlina loves Dex ❤❤ wrote: "Wonderful review sweetie <3"

Thanks, hon. :) xxx


Alex is The Romance Fox Lovely review. I like this author so I might just give this a try:)


message 36: by SheReadsALot (new)

SheReadsALot Great review, Lady B!! This does sound like a good in-between or something to read after a intense/dark story. :)


Baba  Alex E wrote: "Lovely review. I like this author so I might just give this a try:)"

Thanks, Alex. Hope you'll enjoy! :) xxx


Baba  SheReadsALot wrote: "Great review, Lady B!! This does sound like a good in-between or something to read after a intense/dark story. :)"

Thanks, Lady S. Yup, I agree! :P


message 39: by Kristen (new) - added it

Kristen Sometimes these solid 3 star simple and mindless reads are just what I need. Wonderfully said, Baba. xoxo


Baba  Kristen (Peddler of Smut) wrote: "Sometimes these solid 3 star simple and mindless reads are just what I need. Wonderfully said, Baba. xoxo"

Thanks my lovely friend. Yes, I agree. Just something light and easy that didn't engage my mind too much. :)) xxx


message 41: by Sammy (new)

Sammy Loves Books Great review Baba!!


Baba  Sammy wrote: "Great review Baba!!"

Thanks, Sammy. :))


Shannie's ⭐️Lookin' 4 My Next BBF⭐️ Fantastic review Baba!! I'm gonna have to check this one out. xx


Baba  Shannon ❤️Mrs Jake Spears❤️ wrote: "Fantastic review Baba!! I'm gonna have to check this one out. xx"

Thanks, Shannon. Hope you'll enjoy! :) xxx


message 45: by Glamdring (new)

Glamdring Great review, Baba! :)xxx
Great quotes too.


Baba  Glamdring wrote: "Great review, Baba! :)xxx
Great quotes too."


Thank you, Glam. :) xxx


message 47: by * Meli Mel * (new)

* Meli Mel * Great review, Baba!! :)


Baba  Meli Mel *Ty and Zane's Creeper* wrote: "Great review, Baba!! :)"

Thanks, Meli. :)


back to top