Karen's Reviews > Once and Always

Once and Always by Judith McNaught
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
6972914
's review

it was amazing
bookshelves: favorites

5 STARS ❤︎❤︎❤︎❤︎❤︎
OH... HOW I LOVE THIS BOOK!!!


[image error]  photo 2523d7e5574c68b90902ce8b5d7f2acb.jpg

And yet another masterpiece of historical romance. And what an emotional roller coaster ride it was. The passion and the angst are just dripping from every page. I was completely sucked into the story from beginning to end. These books… words cannot express my love for them.

“Don’t ever let anyone convince you that you can be happy with someone who doesn’t love you.

[image error]  photo 0f8ae679-4f82-49c2-9559-fc9d8371ef54.jpg

Victoria Seaton was born and raised in Portage, New York in the early 1800’s. She was orphaned at the young age of 18, when her parents were killed in a carriage accident. With no family left in America, and no immediate marriage prospects, Victoria and her younger sister, Dorothy are sent off to England to live with distant relatives there. Relatives they have never met or even heard mention of… and apparently relatives of great rank and wealth.

“I still cannot quite believe it,”… “Mama was the granddaughter of a duchess! What does that make us, Tory? Do we have titles?”
Victoria sent her a wry glance. “Yes, we are Poor Relations.”


Victoria was a titian haired beauty, with deep blue eyes. She was also a girl with an incredibly positive outlook on life. She was free spirited and innocent, but also strong willed and proud. She overcame great set-backs, first dealing with the tragic death of her parents, a trip across the ocean, and then upon her arrival, the complete rejection of her great grandmother, the Dowager Duchess of Claremont, who apparently was only interested in adopting her younger sister.

[image error]  photo 4cc321903ece298e0adb53fef02e4a5a.jpg

This left Victoria alone at the docks. She was to be taken in by her distant cousin, Charles Fielding, the duke of Atherton, and his nephew Jason Fielding, the Marquess of Wakefield, to live with them at their estate.

[image error]  photo DA4D283A-99CC-4205-9893-5A7736EC4885.jpg

Victoria develops an immediate kinship with her Uncle Charles, who was thrilled to have her there. But, things did not go so well with her dark and broody cousin, Jason, the Lord of the estate, who couldn’t be rid of her fast enough.

[image error]  photo ec08dbd103f15b7ce4cce08a55f47161.jpg

Lord Jason Fielding, the Marquess of Wakefield, was an extremely wealthy and arrogant man. He was dark and devastating handsome, moving with a panther-like grace that made him one of the most desired bachelors in Europe. Despite his dangerous and threatening countenance.

Having survived a troubled childhood and then the loss of his wife and son, he was determined to live his life out alone, pouring himself into his work and his fortunes, to fill the void of his blackened heart. He had no interest in love… he believed it didn’t exist. He sought out women only as an ornament for his arm at social affairs or to warm his bed when he so desired.

So when he read in the paper, his apparent betrothal to his young cousin, Miss Victoria Seaton, he was not only shocked, but completely enraged by the rumor.

The sparks fly almost immediately between these two. Victoria is so innocent and kind, she tries to reach out to him, but is immediately shot down. Feeling completely alone and rejected by her family, Victoria would like nothing better than to leave and sail back to New York, but she finds herself completely without options and no where else to go.

[image error]  photo 8F2BE2DB-B4E0-4520-92A1-0C634B0595CC.gif

I really liked Victoria’s character. A true optimist faced with devastating circumstances. She perseveres without despair. Constantly trying to make the best of her situation. And always loyal, awaiting the return of her first love, Andrew to come for her to take her home. And she enchanted everyone that crossed her path... including the wild beast.

[image error]  photo 71b2718826eb7b53c53ae1a93f390fe3-1.jpg

And Jason…. having to deal with her often cruel and arrogant cousin, Victoria was completely baffled by the bitterness he displayed. And what a bastard he could be.

“None of this is Victoria’s fault,” Charles began… “You must understand that.”
“Really,” Jason drawled sarcastically, “And does that wining little beggar understand that this is my house, and I don’t want her here?”


[image error]  photo d98f0e0d71a3526b003a5044266e9bfe.jpg

I so loved the banter between these two characters. And I LOVED Jason Fielding!!! He was such an incredibly tortured soul… He completely shuts himself off to happiness and love… and his past is so mysterious and dark. He is an enigma, an alpha maniac, a paragon of grief and despair. And completely misunderstood… GOD I LOVE THAT MAN!

“He is very fine.”

[image error]  photo egfox_black_panther_2011_hd_by_eg_art-d4kodv7.jpg

“Please touch me — let me feel your hands on me.”

There were misunderstandings aplenty, and a HEA that was HARD EARNED! What’s not to love, right? This one will go down in my all time favorites, as most of Judith’s books I’ve read so far. The writing is outstanding!!! Just writing this review has me wanting to read it all over again.

[image error]  photo b08a5d38d1a57b977525dffbd97cd7cb.jpg

After all his farflung financial triumphs and aimless sexual exploits, he had finally found what he had unconsciously been searching for: He had found the place he belonged… He was home now.

[image error]  photo 886d857d03563a79679db2a6792431b7.jpg
58 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Once and Always.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

January 8, 2014 – Shelved
January 8, 2014 – Shelved as: to-read
September 8, 2014 – Started Reading
September 8, 2014 –
page 17
4.26% " "I still cannot quite believe it, Mama was the granddaughter of a duchess! What does that make us Tory? Do we have titles?"\n "Yes... we are Poor Relations..."\n [image error] photo RALPH.jpg "
September 9, 2014 –
page 35
8.77% " "There it is - Wakefield Park. I herrt it has a hunnert and sixty rooms!"\n [image error] photo DA4D283A-99CC-4205-9893-5A7736EC4885.jpg "
September 9, 2014 –
page 58
14.54% "Willie...\n [image error] photo 52e279fa92ceecc759dfe3ed074a0343.jpg"
September 10, 2014 –
page 153
38.35% " "I shall ask Mrs Craddock to fix a crow pie and I shall force you to eat it while I watch." \n .."You're not afraid of anything, are you?"\n "I'm not afraid of you."\n [image error] photo am "
September 10, 2014 –
page 176
44.11% " "Andrew is a spineless fool. And I'm a bigger fool than he is."\n [image error] photo ba339da5a11a4bf4349750648c43754d.jpg "
September 10, 2014 –
page 195
48.87% " " I like you too, Jason. \n [image error]  photo 629456.gif "
September 10, 2014 –
page 208
52.13% "Uncle Charles!!!! You devil. Well played!!!\n [image error]  photo 252b815a46c3cb023f80a03425931572.jpg "
September 10, 2014 –
page 220
55.14% " "Forget I mentioned a church at all." ..."While we were vowing to love and honor one another, I'd be waiting foor lightening to strike."\n [image error] photo BE2ACA "
September 11, 2014 –
page 314
78.7% " "He's very fine. \n [image error]  photo 15f8cfcfe6aeb3e4e6bd0c4a02db2621.jpg "
September 11, 2014 –
page 327
81.95% "[image error]  photo 133d8655167e80863af35cf9c00d6554jpg.gif \n My God... this man is a tortured soul!"
September 11, 2014 –
page 352
88.22% "FINALLY!\n [image error]  photo 200_s.gif "
September 11, 2014 –
page 400
100% "OH HOW I LOVED THIS BOOK!\n [image error]  photo 8590400.gif "
September 13, 2014 – Shelved as: favorites
September 13, 2014 – Finished Reading
February 6, 2017 –
0.0% "Re-reading this one!"
February 6, 2017 –
2.0% ""
February 6, 2017 –
4.0% " "Mama was the granddaughter of a duchess! What does that make us, Tory? Do we have titles?"

Victoria sent her a wry glance. "Yes," she said. "We are 'Poor Relations.'"

"
February 7, 2017 –
16.0% "Willie!!!

"
February 8, 2017 –
65.0% "Oh shit.... here comes the bad part...

"
February 8, 2017 –
92.0% "Well hell....sobbing now.

"

Comments Showing 1-48 of 48 (48 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Mo (new) - rated it 5 stars

Mo I think I will go on a McNaught binge soon, even re-reads. enjoy.


Karen Mo wrote: "I think I will go on a McNaught binge soon, even re-reads. enjoy."

Thanks! I am in HEAVEN reading these books. I may re-read them with you!


message 3: by Mo (new) - rated it 5 stars

Mo Karen wrote: "Mo wrote: "I think I will go on a McNaught binge soon, even re-reads. enjoy."

Thanks! I am in HEAVEN reading these books. I may re-read them with you!"


Would love to. Cannot remember if you have read Whitney, my Love?? Just in the door from the UK, bloody knackered. Sean is settled and seems happy. Edinburgh is a nice place for him to be.


Karen Mo wrote: "Karen wrote: "Mo wrote: "I think I will go on a McNaught binge soon, even re-reads. enjoy."

Thanks! I am in HEAVEN reading these books. I may re-read them with you!"

Would love to. Cannot remem..."


So good to hear you survived the separation. He will love Edinburgh. My daughter would love to go there, but the international tuition is outrageous!!! And no scholarships I'm afraid. :(

I did read Whitney, My Love... and LOVED IT!!! These books are like crack cocaine... I just can't stop.


message 5: by Mo (new) - rated it 5 stars

Mo Karen wrote: "Mo wrote: "Karen wrote: "Mo wrote: "I think I will go on a McNaught binge soon, even re-reads. enjoy."

Thanks! I am in HEAVEN reading these books. I may re-read them with you!"

Would love to. C..."


Indeed!! Must try and find some other authors of Historicals who are THIS good. Know any?

We don't have to pay fees, which is fantastic. Wonder will all that change if Scotland vote YES in the referendum to leave the UK. Jamie is a YES supporter.


Saffron have fun reading this Karen...i think i have read this about 4 times! this is one of the books that i will always cherish...hope u love it too :)


Karen Supreet wrote: "have fun reading this Karen...i think i have read this about 4 times! this is one of the books that i will always cherish...hope u love it too :)"

I cherish them all!!! And I will, thanks!


Karen Mo wrote: "Karen wrote: "Mo wrote: "Karen wrote: "Mo wrote: "I think I will go on a McNaught binge soon, even re-reads. enjoy."

Thanks! I am in HEAVEN reading these books. I may re-read them with you!"

Wo..."


I sort of hope they vote NO. Is that wrong? I think they could only benefit from being attached to the UK... protection... $$$... It's not like their being oppressed, like in the past.. or are they? I guess being an American, I can see the benefit of a collective nation. Although, I would cringe at the joining of Europe's countries.


message 9: by Mo (new) - rated it 5 stars

Mo Karen wrote: "Mo wrote: "Karen wrote: "Mo wrote: "Karen wrote: "Mo wrote: "I think I will go on a McNaught binge soon, even re-reads. enjoy."

Thanks! I am in HEAVEN reading these books. I may re-read them wit..."


It is all so interesting. The Nationalist in me says vote YES! But the debates I am listening to on the BBC news and Irish news is conflicting. Will my son lose his free university? It is verra close.... I mean I would love Northern Ireland to be part of Ireland not the UK - ok, no political debates here tonight. But it will be an interesting outcome.


Karen I agree. I'm not normally into politics, and I'm sorely uninformed. So I don't normally like to spout my mouth. But I'm always willing to hear the arguments for each side. ;)


message 11: by Pam (new) - added it

Pam Gorgeous review, Karen :) I'm still waiting on the kindle version of this one though :(


Karen Pam wrote: "Gorgeous review, Karen :) I'm still waiting on the kindle version of this one though :("

Thanks Pam! I had to break down and buy the book. Totally worth it!


message 13: by Pam (new) - added it

Pam Karen wrote: "Pam wrote: "Gorgeous review, Karen :) I'm still waiting on the kindle version of this one though :("

Thanks Pam! I had to break down and buy the book. Totally worth it!"


lol - I have a feeling that is where I will be headed soon!


Saffron Wow! Amazing review Karen! This is the book that I have read more times than I can remember. It's paperback is almost torn..LOL! I am so happy you loved it too :)

PS- I love your Jason! :D


Karen Supreet wrote: "Wow! Amazing review Karen! This is the book that I have read more times than I can remember. It's paperback is almost torn..LOL! I am so happy you loved it too :)

PS- I love your Jason! :D"


Thank you Supreet!!! I'm sure mine is going to take a good bit of abuse as well. I will definitely be reading this again and again. You have great taste in books, and in men too!


message 16: by Sandy ღCoffee Addict Booksღ (last edited Sep 13, 2014 10:16PM) (new) - added it

Sandy ღCoffee Addict Booksღ Love this author:) beautiful review Karen x!


Karen Sandyღ wrote: "Love this author:) beautiful review Karen x!"

Thanks Sandy! I love her too! ❤︎


Adedoyin Great review and I am really tempted to read it. I am a little concerned though about the fact that the hero and heroine being related to each other. I find it a little awkward.


message 19: by ♥Sharon♥ (new) - added it

♥Sharon♥ I wish I had your mad skills at pulling a review together like this. Simply stunning my friend. I must read this one soon. I just have to get out to a book store since I can't one-click it. xo


Karen Adedoyin wrote: "Great review and I am really tempted to read it. I am a little concerned though about the fact that the hero and heroine being related to each other. I find it a little awkward."

Thanks!!!! And it is a VERY VERY VERY distant relation!!! It was just hard to relate that in the review.


message 21: by Christy (new)

Christy Fantastic review, Karen! <3


Karen ♥Sharon♥ wrote: "I wish I had your mad skills at pulling a review together like this. Simply stunning my friend. I must read this one soon. I just have to get out to a book store since I can't one-click it. xo"

Oh girl, you make me blush! Thank you, my friend. You MUST read!!! I love Love LOVE Judith McNaught!!!! She is my classy Kristen Ashley!!!! I will cry hard tears when I run out of JM books to read!!!


Karen Christy wrote: "Fantastic review, Karen! <3"

Thank you Christy!!!! ❤︎


message 24: by AJ (new)

AJ Amazing review, Karen! So glad you loved it.


Karen AJ wrote: "Amazing review, Karen! So glad you loved it."

Thanks AJ!!!! xx


message 26: by Mo (new) - rated it 5 stars

Mo Wonderful review, Karen.


Karen Mo wrote: "Wonderful review, Karen."

Thank you, Mo... this book *sigh*


Sasha-marie Than you soososoooo much for this review! You freaking SOLD the book to me basically and I'm so greatful that you did! From the pictures, to the excerpts, to the lovely description and comments you made. Just thank you! I read the book in a day and it has fast become one of my all time FAVORITES! <3 Thanks for like EVER! :D


Karen Sasha-marie wrote: "Than you soososoooo much for this review! You freaking SOLD the book to me basically and I'm so greatful that you did! From the pictures, to the excerpts, to the lovely description and comments you..."

Thank you so much, Sasha-marie! I cannot say enough about Judith McNaught and her wonderful books! I'm so glad you loved it too. If you haven't read A Kingdom of Dreams or Whitney, My Love, you MUST MUST read them, two of my all time faves!!! I hope you give them a try. :D


Kristine Amazing review! I just finished this book and am dyinngggg. I wish it wasn't over!!! Omg Whitney!?!?! Kingdom of dreams?!? Until you!!!!!??? The list goes on and on and on and on and onnnnnnnn


Karen Kristine wrote: "Amazing review! I just finished this book and am dyinngggg. I wish it wasn't over!!! Omg Whitney!?!?! Kingdom of dreams?!? Until you!!!!!??? The list goes on and on and on and on and onnnnnnnn"

Thanks Kristine!!! And in my opinion the list isn't long enough. I wish she'd write some more!!!!


Alex is The Romance Fox What a fab review Karen............luv luv your pics!!!
:))


Karen Alex is The Romance Fox wrote: "What a fab review Karen............luv luv your pics!!!
:))"


Thanks Alex! xxx


message 34: by ♥Sharon♥ (new) - added it

♥Sharon♥ Glad you loved it the second time around Karen!!! Fab updates btw. xo


Karen ♥Sharon♥ wrote: "Glad you loved it the second time around Karen!!! Fab updates btw. xo"

Thanks Sharon! I can never get enough of these JM books! xx


Sher❤ The Fabulous BookLover Lovely review! I need to read this one:)


Anne OK Beautiful review! I miss Judith McNaught's books so much. Sure wish she would release a new book in the future.


Karen Anne OK wrote: "Beautiful review! I miss Judith McNaught's books so much. Sure wish she would release a new book in the future."

Thanks Anne! I know, I wish she would too. I'm still stuck re-reading them over and over. xx


Karen Sher❤ The Fabulous BookLover wrote: "Lovely review! I need to read this one:)"

Thanks Sher! I hope you get a chance to read it. xx


~Anna's ƦªϻƁℓℹռg$~ Wonderful review, Karen! :)


Piper Fabulous review Karen!!! I love your Jason. ♥♥♥


Karen Anna's Ramblings ☘ ͏͏ wrote: "Wonderful review, Karen! :)"

Thank you Anna! xx


Karen Piper wrote: "Fabulous review Karen!!! I love your Jason. ♥♥♥"

Why thank you my friend!!! Isn't he delicious? xx


Piper Karen wrote: "Piper wrote: "Fabulous review Karen!!! I love your Jason. ♥♥♥"

Why thank you my friend!!! Isn't he delicious? xx"


Very delicious indeed!!!


Karen Piper wrote: "Karen wrote: "Piper wrote: "Fabulous review Karen!!! I love your Jason. ♥♥♥"

Why thank you my friend!!! Isn't he delicious? xx"

Very delicious indeed!!!"


Shades of Ross..... *sigh*


Piper Karen wrote: "Piper wrote: "Karen wrote: "Piper wrote: "Fabulous review Karen!!! I love your Jason. ♥♥♥"

Why thank you my friend!!! Isn't he delicious? xx"

Very delicious indeed!!!"

Shades of Ross..... *sigh*"


*sigh* indeed!!! ♥♥♥


message 47: by Ingie (new) - added it

Ingie Fabulous review, my friend!


Karen Ingela wrote: "Fabulous review, my friend!"

Thanks Ingela! xxx


back to top