Sharon ∞❥ is an emotional book junkie ❥∞ 's Reviews > VIP

VIP by M.  Robinson
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
3275325
's review

really liked it
bookshelves: emotional-angsty-books, read-in-2014

3.5 - 4 ★'s

The Premise:

Childhood love that evolves into adult love but is it true love or is it just settling?


The Lure:

Ahhh...the cheating lure. Even though I don't care for actual cheating, I do love all the emotional drama. Plus it doesn't hurt when you're friends are going crazy over the book.

description

The Characters:

Sebastian - aka Sebby or my aka Mr. Indecisive. From the beginning, he's always had a big heart full of love but somewhere along the line, he never learned to differentiate between the types of love. And that's where all his problems lie even if he is loyal and just wants to do the right thing.

Julia - aka Babygirl. (her nickname bugs me!) I liked her in the very beginning but she quickly became too clingy and then too distant later. I did like that she finally stepped up to the plate.

Olivia - aka Oli. (another one I don't like...I mean it's great not to have another Liv but it just makes me think of Olive Oyl!) I just really felt sad for her...she was always on the outside looking in.

Ysabelle - aka Bella/aka Ysa. I really liked her although sometimes I didn't like who she pretended to be. I got that though. And it was hard reading some of the things she went through but I loved her growth. Thank Goodness she had a backbone!

Madam - Ugh...I just don't like her. Way too controlling and what she did to Ysa with the last "date"...that's pretty unforgivable. I heard the next book will be about her...not sure if I want to read it.

Brooke - I LOVED her. She was sooo sweet and what a good friend. Now, I would definitely read a book about her!

Devon - another character I really liked. He was always so giving.

Christian - what a sweetie and I loved how he treated Ms. Ysabelle.


The Emotions:

Well, you certainly go through a whole range of emotions with this book. From sorrow to happiness and plenty of angst. I'm pretty sure you won't need any tissues though.

description

The Steam Factor:

Hot, Hot, Hot...phewww. Lots of spicy scenes and throw in Sebby being a dirty talker and what more could a girl ask for?

Also, there's not just adult sex, there's sweet, first time sex too!

And it's nice because it's descriptive enough without going over into pornland.


The Bonuses:

I love that we get both Sebastian's and Ysabelle's POVs...it just adds so much to the story.

And there is an epilogue...although it's not really a "where are they in the future" but more of a set up for a future book.


The Problems:

Unfortunately, there were a few:

1. Some spelling/grammar errors - usually this is not a problem for me except when they disrupt my reading and that happened a few times.

example: piece instead of peace and barley instead of barely, just to name a few.

2. The language - sometimes the wording felt a bit off. This could just be me but I had to go back and reread things a few times.

example: "I couldn't help to smile"

3. Repetitive words - nevertheless - 7/nonetheless - 10. (This probably just bothers me since I recently read a book where both words were overkill...I'm sure I'm overly sensitive to them.)

4. Sebastian's indecisiveness drove me up a wall. He went back and forth, back and forth. It kills me what it might do to Ysa when she finds out who initiate what.

5. Essentially, there are three stories going on - Sebastian's life prior to Ysa, Ysa's life prior to Sebastian and then after they met. While I enjoyed the background, I felt it was a bit drawn out. The good stuff really started happening after 50%.


The Outcome:

Overall, I enjoyed the book. It was very emotional which is a huge plus for me. I wanted more for Ysabelle though especially when she finally opens herself up to love.

description


The Future:

I was happy with the way things turned out and I don't really need another book. That doesn't mean I don't want one. From what I've heard, we won't get more of Sebastian and Ysabelle until the third book and that will be hard to wait for.

description
The Quotes:

♥ "I thought I wanted all boys, he's so messy and stinky."

♥ "My name is Vanwell, Sebastian Vanwell."

♥ "I wanted to be with her. I didn’t care about repercussions. I lived in that moment. I let it take over me."

♥ "I’ll never be the one he lays next to every night…
I’ll never be the one that he makes love to time after time…
I’ll never be the one he plans a future with…
I’ll never be the one he grows old with…
I’ll never be the one he comes home to…
And I’ll never be the one that he says ‘I love you’ to…
I’m the whore, the escort, the mistress, the prostitute, it doesn’t matter what way you say it…I’m the other fucking woman. I’ll always be second place."
33 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read VIP.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

December 13, 2013 – Shelved
December 13, 2013 – Shelved as: to-read
January 18, 2014 – Started Reading
January 19, 2014 – Finished Reading
January 20, 2014 – Shelved as: emotional-angsty-books
January 20, 2014 – Shelved as: read-in-2014

Comments Showing 1-47 of 47 (47 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

 ~V~ Haha, you just couldn't resist could ya!? ;)


Sharon ∞❥ is an emotional book junkie ❥∞ ~V~ wrote: "Haha, you just couldn't resist could ya!? ;)"

the whole cheating comment lured me in!


Christy Awesome review, Sharon! <3


message 4: by Alexis *Reality Bites* (last edited Jan 21, 2014 02:22PM) (new) - rated it 4 stars

Alexis *Reality Bites* Love your review, Sharon!!
GREAT quotes!!!:)


Emma ~ The Indecisive Reader ~ Great review Sharon x


Sharon ∞❥ is an emotional book junkie ❥∞ Christy wrote: "Awesome review, Sharon! <3"

thank u Christy! xo


Sharon ∞❥ is an emotional book junkie ❥∞ Alexis *RealityBites! Let's Get Lost!* wrote: "Love your review, Sharon!!
GREAT quotes!!!:)"


thanks Alexis! ♥


Sharon ∞❥ is an emotional book junkie ❥∞ Emma wrote: "Great review Sharon x"

thank u Emma! xx


message 9: by Jennifer (new)

Jennifer Kyle Terrific Review Sharon!!!


message 10: by ~V~ (last edited Jan 21, 2014 08:55PM) (new) - rated it 4 stars

 ~V~ Awesome review Sharon!! You made some very good points and i agree with them ALL! Shock! ;)


Sharon ∞❥ is an emotional book junkie ❥∞ Lisa wrote: "Excellent review, Sharon! I am still unsure as to whether I am going to give this one a go. :D"

Thanks Lisa. i can understand that!


Sharon ∞❥ is an emotional book junkie ❥∞ Jennifer wrote: "Terrific Review Sharon!!!"

thank u Jennifer! :D


Sharon ∞❥ is an emotional book junkie ❥∞ ~V~ wrote: "Awesome review Sharon!! You made some very good points and i agree with them ALL! Shock! ;)"

thanks V! LOL...well, it wouldnt have to do w/u having the same points would it? GMTA!!


❤️ Dorsey aka Wrath Lover Reviews ❤️ Fantastic review Sharon! Love the pics and quotes...especially that last quote!!!


 ~V~ ✽ Sharon is an emotional book junkie ✽ wrote: " ~V~ wrote: "Awesome review Sharon!! You made some very good points and i agree with them ALL! Shock! ;)"

thanks V! LOL...well, it wouldnt have to do w/u having the same points would it? GMTA!!"


HA! That's right! ;)


Sharon ∞❥ is an emotional book junkie ❥∞ Dorsey aka Wrath Lover & KA Addict wrote: "Fantastic review Sharon! Love the pics and quotes...especially that last quote!!!"

Thanks Dorsey. yes...thats a good one! :D


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ Awesome review Sharon! Wow. (view spoiler)


Sharon ∞❥ is an emotional book junkie ❥∞ SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ wrote: "Awesome review Sharon! Wow. [spoilers removed]"

Thanks SueBee! (view spoiler)


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ (view spoiler)


message 20: by Jeanne (new)

Jeanne Great review Sharon! This was recommended to me, but I have a feeling it would drive me crazy:)


Sharon ∞❥ is an emotional book junkie ❥∞ SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ wrote: "[spoilers removed]"

(view spoiler)


Sharon ∞❥ is an emotional book junkie ❥∞ Jeanne wrote: "Great review Sharon! This was recommended to me, but I have a feeling it would drive me crazy:)"

Thanks Jeanne. it does make u crazy but its good if u like all that drama!


message 23: by ♥ Jx PinkLady Reviews ♥ (last edited Jan 22, 2014 12:09AM) (new) - added it

♥ Jx PinkLady Reviews ♥ Fabulous review, Sharon with some very honest points.... nevertheless, (lol... I couldn't resisit!!) I hope to read at some time.... hehe xxx


Lucinda - I JUST LOVE TO READ Great review... say what??

From what I've heard, we won't get more of Sebastian and Ysabelle until the third book and that will be hard to wait for

No I want some more Sebastian and Ysabelle. Wonder who will be in the 2nd book? Any idea?


Carol (StarAngel's Reviews) Allen Awesome review Sharon! xo


Pavlina Read more sleep less blog❤❤  Amazing review Sharon :))


message 27: by • Lisa • (new)

• Lisa • Love your review style !! Kisses x


message 28: by Sharon ∞❥ is an emotional book junkie ❥∞ (last edited Jan 22, 2014 09:10AM) (new) - rated it 4 stars

Sharon ∞❥ is an emotional book junkie ❥∞ Lucinda wrote: "Great review... say what??

From what I've heard, we won't get more of Sebastian and Ysabelle until the third book and that will be hard to wait for

No I want some more Sebastian and Ysabell..."


Thanks Lucinda! i heard its Madams!! im sure we will get more of S & Y in there though.


Sharon ∞❥ is an emotional book junkie ❥∞ Carol (StarAngel's Reviews) wrote: "Awesome review Sharon! xo"

thanks Carol! <3


Sharon ∞❥ is an emotional book junkie ❥∞ Pavlina loves Dex ❤❤ wrote: "Amazing review Sharon :))"

thank u Pavlina! ♥


Sharon ∞❥ is an emotional book junkie ❥∞ Lisa Jayne wrote: "Love your review style !! Kisses x"

thanks Lisa Jayne! xx just trying something different! ;)


Jess-i-ca ~Sometimes a Gif Witch~ Nice review Sharon!


Sharon ∞❥ is an emotional book junkie ❥∞ Jxxx ♥ Pink Lady ♥ wrote: "Fabulous review, Sharon with some very honest points.... nevertheless, (lol... I couldn't resisit!!) I hope to read at some time.... hehe xxx"

Thanks Jxxx! LOL @ nevertheless...i guess i should get used to it. cant wait to see what u think! xo


Sharon ∞❥ is an emotional book junkie ❥∞ Jess-i-ca ~Giffy Giffer~ wrote: "Nice review Sharon!"

thank u Jessica! :D


Debra Love your review, Sharon! I agree with everything you said ;))


Sharon ∞❥ is an emotional book junkie ❥∞ Debra wrote: "Love your review, Sharon! I agree with everything you said ;))"

thanks Debra! xx


message 37: by Sharon ∞❥ is an emotional book junkie ❥∞ (last edited Jan 22, 2014 10:47AM) (new) - rated it 4 stars

Sharon ∞❥ is an emotional book junkie ❥∞ Chiqui**~CaLEb's KiTtEN by dAy SeDucTreSs bY NiGhT**~ wrote: "Who is your friend that's going bananas about this book?
Awesome review love!"


Thanks Kitten! ♥

#whodoyouthink


message 40: by Kristen (new)

Kristen Nicely done, Sharon. <3


Sharon ∞❥ is an emotional book junkie ❥∞ Kristen (Peddler of Smut) wrote: "Nicely done, Sharon. <3"

thanks Kristen! xx


message 42: by Karla (new)

Karla Amazing review Sharon! Love the pictures!


message 43: by Patrycja (new)

Patrycja Awesome review!


Sharon ∞❥ is an emotional book junkie ❥∞ Karla wrote: "Amazing review Sharon! Love the pictures!"

thanks Karla! xo


Sharon ∞❥ is an emotional book junkie ❥∞ Patrycja wrote: "Awesome review!"

thank u Patrycja! <3


Lady Gabriella of Awesomeness (On Hiatus) I heard the editing annoyed quite a bit of my friends...Thanks for he examples love..n great review xo


Sharon ∞❥ is an emotional book junkie ❥∞ Gabriella ♥ Liam Callahan's girl ♥ wrote: "I heard the editing annoyed quite a bit of my friends...Thanks for he examples love..n great review xo"

thanks Gabriella! ♥

i havent read the other books so idk if it got better.


back to top