JG (The Introverted Reader)'s Reviews > Hello, Cupcake

Hello, Cupcake by Alan    Richardson
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
48404
's review
Nov 02, 2009

really liked it
bookshelves: reference, 4_stars, non-fiction, reviewed, cookbooks

I bought this hoping to find some cute Halloween cupcakes to make. I usually like to make some sort of cake for the younger relatives as they make the rounds on Halloween and it was getting harder to find ideas. I feel like I hit the jackpot! There are a lot of cute Halloween cupcakes, but there are plenty of ideas for all kind of occasions too. By the time I get through experimenting, the family may be tired of cupcakes! I will say that they give instructions for cutting the corners of a Ziploc baggy to decorate with frosting. I quickly got frustrated with that and dragged out my decorator bags and tips. Much easier. I'll also add that I have taken a cake decorating several years ago, but I only make a few birthday cakes a year and I'm FAR from being an expert. I think they're right when they say that anyone (with patience) can make these.

So, anyway, here's a pic of my first attempt at fixing up some of these babies! The werewolves are nothing but cupcake, frosting, marshmallow, fruit-by-the-foot, M&Ms, and a jelly bean.

Photobucket
7 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Hello, Cupcake.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

November 2, 2009 – Shelved
November 2, 2009 – Shelved as: 4_stars
November 2, 2009 – Shelved as: non-fiction
November 2, 2009 – Shelved as: reviewed
November 2, 2009 – Shelved as: cookbooks
June 24, 2017 – Shelved as: reference

Comments (showing 1-15 of 15) (15 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Sara ♥ (new)

Sara ♥ SO SO CUTE!!!


JG (The Introverted Reader) Thanks! I thought they were, but I'm probably not the best judge of that! ;)


message 3: by Beth (new)

Beth Knight Those are adorable!


message 4: by Heather (new)

Heather Those turned out SO cute, JG! You did a great job on them! I'm going to have to look for this book. I just bought at Crate & Barrel the other day a cupcake keeper thing to store cupcakes in. I usually hate to make them because they are so tricky to store without squishing the icing. So now that I've got this new container, I'm ready to start baking!


JG (The Introverted Reader) Thanks again!

Heather, at least you planned ahead! I baked the cupcakes, THEN realized I didn't have anything to transport them in and had to send the hubby out shopping! Luckily he enjoys shopping, especially if it involves anything in the kitchen.

I got this really cheap from a catalog, but I had to pay shipping, so I don't know if it's really any cheaper than anywhere else if you aren't buying anything else from them. I'll see if I can find it though, just in case.


message 7: by Heather (new)

Heather Thanks for that link, JG!

Ooh, I love shopping for kitchen gadgets too!! It would never do for me to work at a place like Crate & Barrel because every cent of my paycheck would go directly back to the store! LOL I have a serious weakness for kitchen-y stuff. I love to cook and bake and there are just so many fun things out there to work with!


JG (The Introverted Reader) I love to bake but HATE to cook. So when hubby's shopping, I have to stifle the urge to stsrt dramatically sighing like a teenager. :) if I know he's going to be a while, I'm pretty content looking at baking books and gadgets, and even any tableware they have around. I have to admit that the few times I've been inside Crate & Barrel, i thought it was pretty cool...until hubby took too long looking at little food prep bowls just inside the door, just as I thought we were leaving!


message 9: by Cathy (new) - added it

Cathy So cute! Do you think there are projects a pretty coordinated 11 year-old could do? My little guy loves to cook. And his brother loves to eat!


JG (The Introverted Reader) I'll check when I get home. If there are easier ones, they would be fun to make with kids!


message 11: by Cathy (new) - added it

Cathy Thanks, that wound be great. It might be a fun family gift that they could use fir the holidays and for the little guys upcoming 8th bday party. Any sports ideas in it, too?


message 12: by Sara ♥ (last edited Nov 05, 2009 08:00AM) (new)

Sara ♥ You could do basketballs, soccer balls, and baseballs pretty easily just using different colored frosting. You could also use Twizzler pull-and-peels for the stitching on a baseball...

Here's are some links to cute cupcake pictures:
- http://www.debbiescraftsnthings.com/S...
- http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_cWVSTQVnGzM...
- http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_cg187vs-nuQ...
- http://fancyflours.files.wordpress.co...
- http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_XG96aSdWcjU...

Here's a fun team-specific one:
- http://media.nowpublic.net/images//92...

You could use different candies to make shapes of sports logos. Fruit roll-ups and gum drops come in a lot of different colors you could shape.


JG (The Introverted Reader) That's what I was thinking. A lot of these cupcakes use fruit roll-ups.

Catherine, I asked my husband's opinion on whether an 11-year-old could make some of these, and we think he could, as long as there is an adult who's willing to help. The easier ones just require heating canned frosting and then dunking some sort of assembly (think cupcake, mini doughnut, doughnut hole) into it and then doing some simple decorations. There are harder ones too, so if it's something he enjoys, there would be projects for him as he gets older. There aren't any sports cupcakes, but there are lots of animals, alien cupcakes, bugs, funny faces, clowns, and stuff like that that I think most boys would enjoy making. And eating! Hope that helps!


message 14: by Pat (new)

Pat Jen!!! So fun and cute! I heard they were a big hit with the family! I may check out this book! How creative!


message 15: by The reader (new)

The reader Cool


back to top