Melissa Rochelle's Reviews > Red Rising

Red Rising by Pierce Brown
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
71171
's review

really liked it
bookshelves: arc, read-2013, scifi-fantasy

Darrow and I had a rough start. Now that I've finished the book, I understand why the beginning was important. But it was a slow start. I was not interested in the underground Mars life of the Reds, but when Darrow wakes up amongst new friends the book really started moving. It went in a direction I did not expect and I finally understood why so many people were comparing it to The Hunger Games . Hopefully the wait for the next book isn't TOO long!

A great read for fans of The Hunger Games, Ender's Game, or people that like books.
1 like · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Red Rising.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

November 4, 2013 – Started Reading
November 4, 2013 – Shelved
November 6, 2013 –
page 36
9.42% "Beginning of the 5th chapter and it's starting to pick up a bit. It was a rough start because there's a lot of new terminology."
November 8, 2013 –
page 68
17.8% "Up until Chapter 9, I thought I might give up in this one..."
November 16, 2013 –
page 400
100% "A slow start, but a very interesting end. What's the pub date for book 2?"
November 16, 2013 – Finished Reading
November 17, 2013 – Shelved as: read-2013
November 17, 2013 – Shelved as: scifi-fantasy
November 17, 2013 – Shelved as: arc

No comments have been added yet.