russell barnes's Reviews > Moonraker

Moonraker by Ian Fleming
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
72919
's review
Oct 21, 2009

liked it
bookshelves: crime, 20th-century

V cool. Again, nothing like the film - no space stations, cable-car battles or Jaws. Just boring old Dover and a rocket, but it's marvellous. Quaintly dated rather than amusingly so like some of the others I've read this year, he doesn't even get the girl!

Although she is called Gala Brand, and they do survive a cliff falling on them, so it does maintain a certain level of ridiculousness I expect from Bond.
4 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Moonraker.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

October 21, 2009 – Shelved
October 21, 2009 – Shelved as: crime
October 23, 2009 –
page 96
38.87%
October 23, 2009 –
page 118
47.77%
Started Reading
October 26, 2009 –
page 146
59.11%
October 26, 2009 – Finished Reading
June 27, 2011 – Shelved as: 20th-century

Comments (showing 1-5 of 5) (5 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Rob (new) - rated it 4 stars

Rob Manwaring Ok, to my utter shame never read a Bond - Where do I start, Meestah Barnes? Casino Royale?


russell barnes Hello! I suppose Casino Royale is the first one, it's pretty good as well. I'll send my collection over if you want?



James Wow, okay, don't review books anymore if you don't understand the difference between a movie and a book, let alone the original story from the hollywood interpretation.


Paul Is James a friend of yours or a troll?


Paul And you gave the ending away! "he doesn't even get the girl!" - I only read Bond to see if he gets the girl.


back to top