Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾'s Reviews > The Dark Light of Day

The Dark Light of Day by T.M. Frazier
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
5498948
5 Dark and Utterly Captivating Stars

Walking with a friend in the dark is better than walking alone in the light.


Do you like sweet romances? Rainbows? Unicorns? Perfectly normal and non-damaged MC? Well too fucking bad! Because you're not going to get that here. Not even close. So prepare yourself for a story that's dark, gritty, brutal, devastating, gut-wrenching, keep-you-at-the-edge-of-your-seat-wanting-to-see-what-happens-next. Can't say you weren't warned.



Want me to describe my feelings through this books in one gif? If there was one phrase that was running through my mind the entire time I was reading it, it was 'Holy shit!' I couldn't believe this was a debut novel. Brilliantly written, utterly captivating, the story of Abby and Jake stole my heart, broke me, gutted me, and kept me completely unable to put the book down until I finished. I was sucked in from the very first chapter.

Abby...

How a person can survive the horrors that this poor girl goes through and still come out with the strength that she does is beyond me. Life has not been kind to Abby. Not in the least. But with everything that she goes through, she maintains this persevering core. I fell in love with her character. You would think someone like her would be shy, awkward, but every time life knocked her down, she came up swinging. She didn't take shit from anyone, but the vulnerable, damaged, and scared little girl that she hides behind her her carefully constructed walls broke my heart.

Jake...

He was just everything you love in a broken hero. Jake is a man that has some very dark demons. He's not the white knight that rides into the night to save Abby, but he does in his own dark way. But what I truly loved, was that mostly Abby saves herself.

This is not a story of perfect love and romance. It's a story about 2 damaged souls that learn to walk together in the shadows.

By the time I finished this book, I was a fucked up mess of emotions. This book does not let up for even a second. I spent the entire second half of this book a hysterical fucking mess. And when I was down, and thinking it can't possibly get any worse, T.M. Frazier would take what I imagined is her 6in booted foot and kick me right in the damn feels.
It was

Followed by

Which mainly led to me feeling like


This book gutted me. Gutted.Me. But I loved every single fucked up second of me. My advice for you once you decide to read this incredible yet dark story? Lots of booze. No really.

You're going to need it.

This is an author that is now on my auto-buy list. I'm surprised I haven't seen this book more on my GR feeds. It deserves to be there. If you like dark and gritty romances, this book is a HUGE rec from this girl. And this is coming from one picky bitch.

Now if you'll excuse me, I'm off to set my feels right. They're completely FUBAR after I finished. And I thank you



ARC courtesy of author in exchange for an honest review

For more reviews visit
62 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Dark Light of Day.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

October 24, 2013 – Shelved
October 24, 2013 – Shelved as: to-read
October 29, 2013 – Shelved as: 1st-tier-tbr
November 14, 2013 – Started Reading
November 14, 2013 –
0.0% "I've read the warnings, and I think I'm ready...\n \n Time for a mind fuck!"
November 15, 2013 –
52.0% "Fuuuuuuuck!! I knew this was going to be bad. I tried to prepare myself...\n But...\n But...\n But...\n "
November 15, 2013 –
59.0% "Oh god! Oh god! Oh god! \n "
November 15, 2013 –
69.0% "And just as I'm down, T.M. Frazier takes what I imagine is her 6inch booted foot to kick me right in the feels!! Are you kidding? Are you fucking kidding me? This cannot be happening!!!!!!!\n \n "
November 15, 2013 –
90.0% "And the hits just keep on coming\n \n Now excuse me\n \n All I ask is\n "
November 15, 2013 –
100.0% "Holy. Shit.\n This book! I have no words. Fucking awesome!\n Review to come once I wrap my mind around everything I just read.\n Wow."
November 16, 2013 – Shelved as: auto-buy-authors
November 16, 2013 – Shelved as: best-of-the-best
November 16, 2013 – Shelved as: favorite-authors
November 16, 2013 – Shelved as: faves
November 16, 2013 – Shelved as: unforgettables
November 16, 2013 – Shelved as: books-with-an-edge
November 16, 2013 – Shelved as: fav-new-author
November 16, 2013 – Shelved as: favorite-heroine
November 16, 2013 – Shelved as: favorite-alpha-hero
November 16, 2013 – Shelved as: kick-ass-heroine
November 16, 2013 – Shelved as: new-to-me-author
November 16, 2013 – Shelved as: tattooed-hero
November 16, 2013 – Shelved as: holy-shit-did-i-just-read-that
November 16, 2013 – Shelved as: dark-read
November 16, 2013 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-41 of 41 (41 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

*J* Too Many Books Too Little Time Great review!!! LOVED this one too!!!


message 2: by Allison ❤️Will Never Conquer Her TBR❤️ (last edited Nov 16, 2013 11:11AM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Allison ❤️Will Never Conquer Her TBR❤️ WOWSA! Nicely done! In all your FUBAR-ness, stellar job. I'll have to look this up !


 ♥  Barb ♥ Wonderful review Lkay hun xx


message 5: by Jeanne (new)

Jeanne Awesome review!! I might be too much of a wimp for this one, but at least you prepared us...haha.:)


♥ Jx PinkLady Reviews ♥ Amazing review, Lkay xxxx


message 7: by Nicole (new)

Nicole Fab review!!


message 9: by Jennifer (new) - added it

Jennifer Great review, Lkay!


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ J *I did it all for the nookie.The book nookie* wrote: "Great review!!! LOVED this one too!!!"

So good! I'm still reeling! Thanks, J ;)


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Allison *will never conquer her tbr list* wrote: "WOWSA! Nicely done! In all your FUBAR-ness, stellar job. I'll have to look this up !"

Thanks, Allison <3
Next time you're in the mood for dark, you must read.


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Barb wrote: "Wonderful review Lkay hun xx"

Thank you, Barb <3


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ ♠ Sharon is an emotional book junkie ♠ wrote: "great review Lkay!"

Thanks, Sharon :)


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Jeanne wrote: "Awesome review!! I might be too much of a wimp for this one, but at least you prepared us...haha.:)"

LOL! You definitely need to be able to handle dark. I've read darker, so I can't say this was too bad. What it was, was fan-freaking-tastic. But not an easy read for sure, although definitely worth it ;)


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Jennifer wrote: "Great review, Lkay!"

Christine The Dark Romance Junkie wrote: "Awesome review Lkay!!!"

Nicole wrote: "Fab review!!"

Jxxx ♥ Pink Lady ♥ wrote: "Amazing review, Lkay xxxx"

Thank you so much, my lovely ladies <3


Christy Fantastic casting! I'm SO HAPPY you loved this book too! Great review, doll! xoxo


message 17: by • Lisa • (new)

• Lisa • FANTASTIC review Lana xx


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ Wonderful review Lana! = DDD I have my box of tissue handy for next week....


message 19: by Pam (new) - rated it 5 stars

Pam Fab review, Lkay :)


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Christy wrote: "Fantastic casting! I'm SO HAPPY you loved this book too! Great review, doll! xoxo"

Thanks, hon! I definitely loved. Can't wait for her next book :)


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Lisa Jayne wrote: "FANTASTIC review Lana xx"

Thank you, sweetie <3


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ wrote: "Wonderful review Lana! = DDD I have my box of tissue handy for next week...."

Oh tissues are a must. Especially in the second half. Alcohol wouldn't hurt either LMAO!
Thank you, SueBee <3


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Pam wrote: "Fab review, Lkay :)"

Thanks, Pam ;)


Blacky *Romance Addict* Awesome review Lkay!!!


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Blacky *Romance Addict* wrote: "Awesome review Lkay!!!"

Thanks, Blacky ;)


message 27: by Jen (new) - added it

Jen Awesome fucking review!!! I checked this out after your rec and I can't WAIT to read this!


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Jen wrote: "Awesome fucking review!!! I checked this out after your rec and I can't WAIT to read this!"

I freaking LOVED this book, Jen. I still can't believe it's a debut novel. This author is now an auto-buy for me. Brilliant!


Lady Vigilante (Feifei) I just fucking love you and your reviews. That is all :)


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Lady Vigilante (Feifei) wrote: "I just fucking love you and your reviews. That is all :)"

I fucking love you back! LMFAO! <3


message 31: by Kristen (new) - added it

Kristen What a great review, Lkay. Nicely done.


message 32: by Jen (new) - rated it 5 stars

Jen Fabulous review Lana!!! You so rock! I love this line that you put:

"This is not a story of perfect love and romance. It's a story about 2 damaged souls that learn to walk together in the shadows."

Hope you are doing well friend! Hugs♥


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Kristen (Peddler of Smut) wrote: "What a great review, Lkay. Nicely done."

Thank you much, Kristen! <3


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Jen wrote: "Fabulous review Lana!!! You so rock! I love this line that you put:

"This is not a story of perfect love and romance. It's a story about 2 damaged souls that learn to walk together in the shadows...."


Thank you so much, my lovely friend. This book was amazing, but my feels were just shot to shit after I finished LOL! Tissues are a must ;)
<3 <3 <3


message 35: by Jen (new) - rated it 5 stars

Jen Gilbert It is on sale right now for anyone who has not read it.


Neringa Neringiukas Hi, I see you loved The Dark Light of Day. So, do you know that TDLoD has a companion novella "Dark Needs"? And its out now.


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Neringa wrote: "Hi, I see you loved The Dark Light of Day. So, do you know that TDLoD has a companion novella "Dark Needs"? And its out now."

I do and I saw. I already got it. Thanks :)


Jamie Wittekind Well....this makes me wanna read it now.


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Jamie wrote: "Well....this makes me wanna read it now."

Do it! This book was amazing! Still one of my favorite dark romances :)


message 40: by MsMoxy (new) - added it

MsMoxy Just picking this up joe after reading Preppy: The Life and Death is Samuel Clearwater! I’m totally looking forward to this read. I didn’t realize how old the book is, but I’m glad I’m picking it up now! Love this review, it helped my decision to read it easy!


Donna Awesome review Lana... this sounds like my kind of dark. Just what I am in the mood for right now!🤗


back to top