Elizabeth (Miss Eliza)'s Reviews > Bridget Jones: The Edge of Reason

Bridget Jones by Helen Fielding
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
92508
's review
Oct 19, 2013

really liked it
bookshelves: chick-lit, fiction, jane_austen, re-read
Read 2 times. Last read October 21, 2013.

*Special Content only on my blog, Strange and Random Happenstance during An Excess of Chicks: Chick Lit Month (April 2014)

Bridget Jones might finally have the man of her dreams, but Bridget is still Bridget and a happily ever after ending is hard to achieve when you are very good at self sabotage. Quickly loosing Mark Darcy and one again becoming a love pariah is exactly what you'd expect Bridget to do, and she does it with style. But luckily while her love life might be taking a hit... was that the evil Rebecca with Mark? Bridget's job prospects might be on the rise with a potential interview with none other then the "real" Mr. Darcy, Colin Firth! In Italy of all places! Well... he does live in Italy, but still, it seems so romantic and surely once he's met Bridget he will see that he has found his soul mate... now if Bridget could just get his shirt moistened. Though a vacation that turns into an international scandal might be just what's needed to get Bridget and Mark back together again.

Back to that fateful weekend when I started to devour the Bridget Jones oeuvre (read previous review for the background). I remember driving to Borders to pick up the book and having a run in with the manager. I had had the shit kicked out of me by Samuel Beckett and the manager there, well, he was a pompus jackass if ever their was one and I wasn't going to take his shit. The only joy I get out of Borders going out of business is seeing him sometimes around town in menial positions far below his "highness" at Borders and smiling... yes, sometimes right at him. The fight was a fight I had been having with him for awhile. It's corporate policy and city policy that non-service dogs can't be in stores that sell food, like Borders does with it's cafe. I should note that I have nothing against dogs, aside from severe allergies, but when you're in a bookstore and want to get that copy of Edge of Reason and there's a guy with his dog with a bag of dog poop in one hand and a book in the other... well, you complain. And then you storm out without getting the book... and yeah, things escalate quickly. So besides having the shit repeatedly kicked out of me, getting a copy of this book was an adventure in itself. There were tears.

Bridget herself had an ill advised adventure in Edge of Reason too. That first time I read this book the whole Bridget being arrested for drug possession in Thailand and then becoming queen of the prison overshadowed everything. Well, that and the fact that in the book it says that MI-5 helped Mark... well, MI-5 is for domestic not international disputes, so, this error really really annoyed me. In fact, this scene, which upon re-reading is so short and brief, I can't come to terms as to why it bothered me so much. Maybe it's just the quintessential Britishness of Bridget and her being in Thailand seemed out of place. Or over the years the mildly related second movie has so eclipsed the book in it's badness that upon picking up the book again I realized how fresh and funny it was, unlike the movie which just might be the worst film ever made. It also helps if you are trying to avoid reading the worst Doctor Who book ever written, just saying...

Taking it's plot from Jane Austen's Persuasion, the misunderstandings and the reconciliations hang off this basic spine, but it's the little things I love. The battle with the construction worker, and who hasn't had a worker show up and destroy your house and then disappear into the aether? That Colin Firth interview, seriously, that would be me interviewing Colin Firth! Also, the movie he's promoting isn't actually that bad, a little weird and it was renamed My Life So Far if you want to check it out, you'll learn a lot about curling and sphagnum moss. But it's Bridget's just, well, not obtuseness, but, she's a romantic, so she lives in hope but it is in fact her hopelessness that makes this book such a fun read. Also the whole taking self help books as spiritualism... it really is quite clever and it is a new religion. Long live Bridget Jones, the girl able to turn her problems into a system of belief.
flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Bridget Jones.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

Started Reading (Other Paperback Edition)
February 13, 2008 – Shelved (Other Paperback Edition)
February 13, 2008 – Finished Reading (Other Paperback Edition)
August 2, 2008 – Shelved as: fiction (Other Paperback Edition)
January 27, 2009 – Shelved as: chick-lit (Other Paperback Edition)
October 19, 2013 – Shelved
October 19, 2013 –
0.0% "Yes, I should have learned my lesson and not be re-reading this... but I don't remember this one and I NEED to read the new one!"
Started Reading
October 21, 2013 –
0.0% "This book was greatly enhanced by "Last Crap Book I Read" syndrome, the opposite of "Last Great Book I Read" syndrome which makes whatever you pick up next crap."
October 21, 2013 – Shelved as: chick-lit
October 21, 2013 – Shelved as: fiction
October 21, 2013 – Shelved as: jane_austen
October 21, 2013 – Finished Reading
July 4, 2014 – Shelved as: re-read

No comments have been added yet.