Misfit's Reviews > This Rough Magic

This Rough Magic by Mary  Stewart
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
1375548
's review
Oct 12, 2009

really liked it
bookshelves: romantic-suspense, st-vincent-de-paul-haul, 2013-mt-tbr-challenge, greece, rh-2013-challenge
Read from February 16 to 17, 2013

"Here was I, Lucy Waring, being asked into the water for a game."

This Rough Magic follows the usual Mary Stewart formula - exotic setting (Corfu), heroine in peril, hero who doesn't seem like a hero at first and of course a rocking good mystery to be solved.

"The body was lying half in, half out, of the largest patch of shadow."

Despite being a bit dated (loved all the nylon clothing!), this was a lot of fun, especially the last 100 or so pages that were pretty darn near unputdownable.

12 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read This Rough Magic.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

02/16/2013 page 16
4.0% "Here was I, Lucy Waring, being asked into the water for a game."
02/16/2013 page 63
18.0% "Love the cat's name. Nitwit"
02/16/2013 page 87
25.0% "The body was lying half in, half out, of the largest patch of shadow." 4 comments
02/16/2013 page 96
28.0% "Is anything the matter?"
02/16/2013 page 182
54.0% "Insta-love!"
02/17/2013 page 264
78.0% "Somewhere something slammed, nearly frightening me out of what wits I still had."
02/17/2013 page 291
86.0% "I put a hand to my stomach, doubled up and pitched headlong into the sea." 2 comments
02/17/2013 page 323
96.0% "No actress ever had a better cue. I pulled the window open and went in."

Comments (showing 1-10 of 10) (10 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Sarah Mac (new)

Sarah Mac Woo! Can't go wrong with MS. :D


Misfit You are very right with that.


Hannah Dolphins, moonlight and murder - what's not to love?


message 4: by Cryssa (new)

Cryssa It's been such a long time since I read this one. Enjoy


Misfit Cryssa wrote: "It's been such a long time since I read this one. Enjoy"

Thank you kindly. I love Stewart's writing.


Hana I found the the loveliest dolphin picture for my comments on chapter 9 -- the magical midnight dolphin rescue op

description/>


Misfit Hana wrote: "I found the the loveliest dolphin picture for my comments on chapter 9 -- the magical midnight dolphin rescue op

" />"


That is gorgeous, thank you. I just loved the dolphin in this story.


Hana I'm so glad you like it!! I've been playing around with images (inspired by Anne and Tweety, with a lot of help from Lisa Kay) and just added this and some others to my evolving review of This Rough Magic. I'm inordinately proud of this new found skill ;) Let me know what you think!

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show...


Misfit Very nice.


message 10: by Hana (new) - rated it 5 stars

Hana Thank you!


back to top