Baba 's Reviews > Illumination

Illumination by Rowan Speedwell
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
4669232
's review

liked it
bookshelves: m-m

3.5 stars.***Review posted October 4, 2013

Miles and Adam took a swim…
 photo tumblr_mtqnrd7XXu1qffcrao6_500_zps3492d940.gif

 photo tumblr_mqk4krUVUC1rh1wv4o1_500_zps9be3bec4.gif

Most memorable scene of the entire book, at least for me. It's a (view spoiler)

Do you know what I mean when I say I miss you?
Do you know what this hole in my chest signifies?
I'm standing in the rain, my heart in my hands
Just waiting for you to know what I mean
What I mean when I say I miss you


So beautiful. That made my heart leap with delight.

 photo chuva_zps07ff9058.gif

"Hey, ain't your fault. You were born gay--(view spoiler) had to practice bein' a dick. I saw (view spoiler) punch him earlier from upstairs. That was a fuckin' great punch."


 photo tumblr_m68fivUgAp1qgcliio1_500_zps751429d3.gif

I liked it. I really did but a higher rating wouldn't be justified because…well, I can't gush about it like others did. A few days ago I read another book that featured a rock star Metal Heart and Illumination is not as good as Metal Heart. I'm really sorry. I'm especially sorry for my friend Sheri whom I adore for her enthusiasm for this specific book. I would have loved to feel this intense connection that you need to rate a book with five stars. It's very unfortunate that it didn't happen for me.

 photo tumblr_mu3ncrUbjB1qavqqoo1_500_zps8b59fdba.gif

The book title is very apt and provides plenty of connotations and I really liked the calligraphy. Miles is an awesome artist. He is also an artist with many issues. Since twelve years he is suffering from agoraphobia and lives a lonely and asocial life as a hermit at a rundown cottage surrounded by a lake and trees.

Up until the 70 % mark the story went rather quietly, like water that bubbled gently. What I found irritating was the fact that Adam and Miles didn't address the big elephant in the room. Meaning, I wanted them to have THE talk. Instead I had to accept that Adam treated the topic with (view spoiler) I got it that Miles wasn't good with words. Still, I must say it was such a disappointment that their talks were (mostly) superficial. Yeah, evade the difficult subject matter as often as possible. Besides, Miles wasn't the only one who had to deal with issues. Adam's "recreational" (view spoiler) problem should have been addressed considerably deeper. The resolution wasn't satisfying enough and was way too convenient for my liking. I guess that's exactly my problem with this book. While there was so much potential, the execution fell a bit flat for me; there wasn't enough depth and not enough character and plot development. I'm just not satisfied anymore with scratching the surface of an interesting and severe subject matter. I need more.

Don't let my concerns put you off though. I'm sure that many readers will love this book. Happy reading!

I see your face…every place…


http://baba.booklikes.com
51 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Illumination.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

September 20, 2013 – Shelved as: to-read
September 20, 2013 – Shelved
September 20, 2013 – Shelved as: m-m
September 26, 2013 – Started Reading
September 26, 2013 –
0.0% " photo tumblr_mk4kfxvRvi1rsntc8o1_500_zpsc12e42d9.gif\n Back to m-m..."
September 27, 2013 – Shelved as: to-read
October 1, 2013 –
21.0% ""No time to fuck, then," Miles said. "You like manga?"\n "Dude," Adam said, "you're givin' me whiplash again."\n Those blue eyes flicked his way, and the soft, sexy mouth gave him a twisted smile. "Gotta keep you on your toes."\n "I think I woke up in The Twilight Zone."\n "Could be worse," Miles said, "you could have woken up in The Twilight Saga."\n "Oh, Christ. That he knows about," and Miles laughed."
October 1, 2013 – Finished Reading
October 2, 2013 –
43.0% "Miles blinked at Adam. "What?"\n "Nothing. Never mind. Are we going to eat that pizza or stare at it?"\n "Well," Rob rumbled from behind Miles, "that bottom one has enough crap on it that it's likely to start moving on its own any minute now."\n There are some funny moments and overall I like it but...it doesn't really knock my socks off. I'm sorry, Sheri."
October 2, 2013 –
56.0% " photo 46bb3d80-03e1-40d0-a5c0-5b214afdc693_zpsb395d327.jpg"
October 3, 2013 –
71.0% " photo tumblr_mik8ud8o471qzftgao1_500_zps63bf667f.gif\n *sad face* Miles's story is really tragic. "
October 3, 2013 –
100.0%
October 3, 2013 – Shelved as: to-read

Comments Showing 1-50 of 53 (53 new)


message 1: by Beth (new) - added it

Beth my mom suffers from agoraphobia as do i but not a server as her...it is no laughing matter and i wouldnt wish it on anyone, its a shame that MM isnt really my gene it would be interesting to see how the other is portraying the illness..i might pop this on my trl for one day just to find out


Baba  ♥~Beth~♥ wrote: "my mom suffers from agoraphobia as do i but not a server as her...it is no laughing matter and i wouldnt wish it on anyone, its a shame that MM isnt really my gene it would be interesting to see ho..."

I'm sorry to hear that, Beth.
What I would have liked to see is the talk between the two MCs. I guess it will happen but I'm already 71 % done. It's too late IMO. (view spoiler)
That's why I know what happened to him. I would have liked to get more insight in Miles's character. Just...give me something more...you know.
This is a very severe situation for Miles but I felt it didn't came across as THAT severe. Did I make sense?
The whole thing is a little bit "meh" to me.


message 3: by Beth (new) - added it

Beth well thats a shame its stories like this with it placed in and explained that not only help others to understand what we go through but also helps us know we're not alone, still its good to see it used at all as this is very rare


Baba  Maybe it's another case of "it's not the book, it's me." Maybe I just didn't feel "it." :)


message 5: by LenaRibka (new)

LenaRibka I thought you'd review it higher, Baba(having followed your updates!)


Rosalinda *KRASNORADA* Looking forward to your review, Baba x


Sheri sorry it didn't push your buttons Babs....love the gifs :)


message 8: by Kristen (new)

Kristen I look forward to your review, hon. <3


Baba  Lena♥Ribka wrote: "I thought you'd review it higher, Baba(having followed your updates!)"

I liked it but not as much as Metal Heart. :)


Baba  Rosalinda wrote: "Looking forward to your review, Baba x"

Thanks, Rosa. It's up. :) xxx


Baba  Sheri wrote: "sorry it didn't push your buttons Babs....love the gifs :)"

Thanks, Sheri. I'm sorry too. I liked it but I would have loved to see more depth and better character and plot development. It wasn't enough for me. :)


Baba  Vilda wrote: "Looking forward to read your review!"

Thanks, Vilda. :)


Baba  Kristen (Peddler of Smut) wrote: "I look forward to your review, hon. <3"

Thanks, hon. It's up. Hugs & kisses :)


message 14: by ☆ Sammy ☆彡 (new)

☆ Sammy ☆彡 Wonderful review, Baba!


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ Beautiful review Baba!!! = ))) Sorry it didn't live up to its full potential... (view spoiler)


Pavlina Read more sleep less blog  Lovely review Baba <3


message 17: by SheReadsALot (new) - added it

SheReadsALot Great review, Lady B!! I appreciate the honesty. Rowan Speedwell can be a hit or miss for me. But I love rock star romances, so I need to read this. ;)


Rosalinda *KRASNORADA* Baba ♥♥♥ Marcus, Tyler, Tate, Dan, Ty, & Hunter wrote: "Rosalinda wrote: "Looking forward to your review, Baba x"

Thanks, Rosa. It's up. :) xxx"


Fab review Baba! Sorry it wasn't amazing x


Kelly| Just Another Horror Reader Wonderful and honest review, B! :). xx


Baba  Kelly wrote: "Wonderful and honest review, B! :). xx"

Thanks, Kels. *mwah* :)


Baba  Rosalinda wrote: "Baba ♥♥♥ Marcus, Tyler, Tate, Dan, Ty, & Hunter wrote: "Rosalinda wrote: "Looking forward to your review, Baba x"

Thanks, Rosa. It's up. :) xxx"

Fab review Baba! Sorry it wasn't amazing x"


Thanks, Rosa. When I compare this book with my current read then I can see the difference even clearer. The difference between a good and fabulous book. My rating was justified. :) xxx


Baba  SheReadsALot wrote: "Great review, Lady B!! I appreciate the honesty. Rowan Speedwell can be a hit or miss for me. But I love rock star romances, so I need to read this. ;)"

Thank you, Lady S. I hope you'll enjoy it more than I did! Good luck! :))


Baba  Pavlina loves Derek ❤❤ wrote: "Lovely review Baba <3"

Thank you, Pavlina. :)) <3


message 24: by Baba (last edited Oct 04, 2013 10:22AM) (new) - rated it 3 stars

Baba  SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ wrote: "Beautiful review Baba!!! = ))) Sorry it didn't live up to its full potential... [spoilers removed]"

I agree on your spoiler, Sue. And my current read is way better than Illumination.
Thank you. *mwah* :)


Baba  ☆Sammy☆Smexy Bookaholic☆彡 wrote: "Wonderful review, Baba!"

Thank you, Sammy. :))


message 26: by Patrycja (new)

Patrycja Great review!


message 27: by * Meli Mel * (new)

* Meli Mel * Great review, Baba!!


message 28: by Glamdring (new)

Glamdring Great review, Baba! :)xx


It's just me Shelly B Great review Baba!!


message 30: by Karla (new)

Karla Nicely done Baba!


message 31: by Louise (new)

Louise Amazing review Baba!:)


message 32: by • Lisa • (new)

• Lisa • Lovely review baba x


Baba  Lisa Jayne wrote: "Lovely review baba x"

Thank you, Lisa Jayne. :)) xxx


Baba  Louise wrote: "Amazing review Baba!:)"

Thanks, Louise. :))


Baba  Karla wrote: "Nicely done Baba!"

Thanks, Karla. :))


Baba  It's just me Shelly B wrote: "Great review Baba!!"

Thanks, Shelly. :))


Baba  Glamdring wrote: "Great review, Baba! :)xx"

Thanks, Glam. :)) xxx


Baba  Meli Mel *Ty and Zane's Creeper* wrote: "Great review, Baba!!"

Thanks, Meli. :))


Baba  Patrycja wrote: "Great review!"

Thanks, Patrycja. :))


Alex is The Romance Fox Fab review.


message 41: by Duchess Nicole (new)

Duchess Nicole I hate writing three star reviews. But you did it well. And this cover...**eighties rock band...!!**


message 42: by Ingie (new)

Ingie Great review, Baba!


message 43: by KatLynne (new)

KatLynne As always, great review dear friend!


Baba  Alex E wrote: "Fab review."

Thank you, Alex. :)) xxx


Baba  Duchess Nicole wrote: "I hate writing three star reviews. But you did it well. And this cover...**eighties rock band...!!**"

Yep, I don't like to write 3 or 3.5 star reviews either. Thank you, Nicole. You know the dude on the cover kinda reminds me of the frontman of Duran Duran. :)


Baba  Ingela wrote: "Great review, Baba!"

Thank you, Ingela. :))


Baba  KatLynne wrote: "As always, great review dear friend!"

Thank you, KatLynne. :))


Lana ❇✾DG Romance❇✾ Wonderful review, Baba! Sorry it did't quite hit the mark for you :)


Baba  Lkay ❇✾The one-click buy button addict❇✾ wrote: "Wonderful review, Baba! Sorry it did't quite hit the mark for you :)"

Thanks, Lkay. Yeah, it was good just not great. :)


Blacky *Romance Addict* Lovely review Baba!


« previous 1
back to top