Amy | Foxy Blogs's Reviews > Making Faces

Making Faces by Amy Harmon
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
9955253
's review

it was amazing
bookshelves: 2013-books-i-ve-read, book-boyfriends, counting-by-5-s, fall-2013-5-stars, october-2013, loaned, top-fall-favorite-reads, 5-stars-2013, headphones, re-read-2015, 2015-books, august-2015
Read 2 times. Last read August 1, 2015 to August 5, 2015.

** AUDIO PRICE DROP **
$2.99 (normally $30.00) ➜http://amzn.to/1agiVPT
4/10/2015
*******************************************************

Re-Read (8/5/2015)
I actually listened to this one on a couple family car trips. Even though it's been two years since I originally read it I still experienced all the same feels.
My teens verdict -> they loved it. Thumbs up all around.

*******************************************************
P.R.I.C.E.L.E.S.S.
I feel inadequate to write a review that will do this story the justice it deserves.

Absolutely my favorite book of the year! I deliberately read Making Faces slowly to make it last as long as possible. Being immersed in the beauty of this story allowed me to go from laughing to crying to giggling and back to bawling my eyes out. It's a rare find when a book can make you FEEL.

Reading Making Faces reminded me of how I felt when I read Painted Faces. It evoked all the insecurities I have about the question, "Could I be with someone who didn't fit the mold of what society considers 'normal'?" Am I strong enough like Fern and Freda to love men who aren't physically perfect?
"God has given you one face and you make yourself another."-Hamlet
Can society stop seeing the exterior and see the interior of a person?
"When you really look at them, you stop seeing a perfect nose or straight teeth. You stop seeing the acne scar or the dimple in the chin. Those things start to blur, and suddenly you see them, the colors, the life inside the shell, and beauty takes on a whole new meaning."

Three main characters graced the pages of this book each one equally important.
"Everybody is a main character to someone." -Bailey

Fern has become one of my favorite heroines. The other day a friend asked me if I could be any female book character who would I be...I would be Fern. I loved her grace and passion and her ability to love unconditionally.

Bailey is going down as one of my all time favorite characters. His ability to make me laugh and cry has not been out done by any other character yet.

Ambrose has so much deep beauty that you can't help but love him. His strength and sense of duty is unmatched.

I'm going to be thinking about this story for a long time. When I saw that Amy Harmon had a new book coming out I quickly recommended it to my friends. I knew Ms. Harmon wouldn't disappoint. This story is one I will continue to encourage my friends to read. I know I will read it again. After my husband gave me a funny look for laughing like a crazy person (Bailey had just announced, "You gonna tell me I can't have my seeing-eye cat with me?") I decided I'm going to read this book to him like I did On the Island and Easy. I, for one, am a better person for reading it.

**Pre-review Personal note from the author** (view spoiler)

Standalone

175th book of 2013
148 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Making Faces.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

September 15, 2013 – Shelved
September 15, 2013 – Shelved as: to-read
October 21, 2013 – Started Reading
October 21, 2013 –
2.0% "She'd read thousands of them- Alpha males, tight abs, smoldering looks, happily-ever-afters.\n \n description \n \n Fern could be my best friend."
October 21, 2013 –
4.0% "Beautiful Spider\n \n description \n \n This better NOT be foreshadowing for a certain character."
October 21, 2013 –
7.0% ""So Fern might die before me?"\n "Yes! We're all going to croak sooner or later."\n "Or maybe you will read so many books that your head will explode!"\n \n description \n \n Probably going to be my fate. :)"
October 22, 2013 –
29.0% "Could you belong to someone who didn't want you?\n \n description"
October 22, 2013 –
37.0% "OH MY GOSH! I can't stop crying. \n \n description"
October 22, 2013 –
41.0% ""Shakespeare would have been an incredible rapper."\n \n description"
October 22, 2013 –
46.0% "YES!!! Fern, you're awesome!\n \n description"
October 22, 2013 –
52.0% ""Ambrose? I'm not leaving you. I will follow you all night if I have to!"\n \n description"
October 22, 2013 –
53.0% ""You read smutty romance novels and quote scripture. I'm not quite sure I have you figured out."\n \n description\n \n YES!!!"
October 23, 2013 –
89.0% "description"
October 23, 2013 –
100.0% "The last line tore me up.\n \n description"
October 23, 2013 – Shelved as: to-read
October 23, 2013 – Shelved as: 2013-books-i-ve-read
October 23, 2013 – Shelved as: book-boyfriends
October 23, 2013 – Shelved as: counting-by-5-s
October 23, 2013 – Shelved as: fall-2013-5-stars
October 23, 2013 – Shelved as: october-2013
October 23, 2013 – Finished Reading
October 30, 2013 – Shelved as: loaned
February 2, 2014 – Shelved as: top-fall-favorite-reads
February 19, 2014 – Shelved as: 5-stars-2013
August 1, 2015 – Started Reading
August 5, 2015 – Shelved as: headphones
August 5, 2015 – Shelved as: re-read-2015
August 5, 2015 – Shelved as: 2015-books
August 5, 2015 – Shelved as: august-2015
August 5, 2015 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-50 of 111 (111 new)


Amy | Foxy Blogs You're welcome. :) I'm looking forward to this one too. :)


JoJo - JJJ (Jo Anna) Janesko Thanks for the rec amy this sounds so good.


Amy | Foxy Blogs You're welcome. :) Less than a month until it is released. Yay!


message 6: by Kim (new) - rated it 5 stars

Kim Bailey I have seen so many good things for this book ... Anxiously awaiting!


Amy | Foxy Blogs I'm hoping when I get home from work I can start this because it sounds awesome. :)


• Lisa • Bring on the Foxy review!!! ❤❤❤


Amy | Foxy Blogs LOL!!! I'm only a fourth of the way through! It's beautiful, LJ! YOU MUST READ THIS BOOK>


Amy | Foxy Blogs Allison *will never conquer her tbr list* wrote: "LOVELY REVIEW AMY."

Thank you so much, Allison! :)


Lady Vigilante (Feifei) Beautiful and inspiring review Amy! Can't wait to read it! <3


message 13: by Janey (new) - added it

Janey Great review, Amy...can.not.wait to read this. Talking myself up for an emosh time!


message 14: by Dee (new) - rated it 5 stars

Dee Montoya beautiful review! amazing Book!


message 15: by Kim (new) - added it

Kim  *Mo Chridhe* Great review, Amy! Wow! Favourite book of the year huh?


message 16: by Kara (new) - rated it 4 stars

Kara I loved your review. I love your passion...
and I know you love me more!


Renee Your review has got me all emotional again. I can 'feel' how much you loved this book through your words. I agree that the characters are so lovable in this book and although there were so many heartbreaking moments there were also some laugh out loud moments, it was the perfect balance. Beautiful review... Fern ;) x


Shannon The Show Stopper Wow! I'm trying to finish with Dusty but I keep getting distracted by seeing this book everywhere. You're review is making almost impossible to NOT start it now! Great job. I'm glad it moved you...those are the best books...it's like making a new friend or finding family.


Jess-i-ca ~Sometimes a Gif Witch~ I agree..I think its my favorite of the year too..


Amy | Foxy Blogs Lady Vigilante (Feifei) wrote: "Beautiful and inspiring review Amy! Can't wait to read it! <3"

thank you!! It is so beautiful! I'm sure you'll love it. :)


Amy | Foxy Blogs Janey wrote: "Great review, Amy...can.not.wait to read this. Talking myself up for an emosh time!"

Janey, thank you!!! You'll be glad you read it! It's not all tears! I laughed throughout this book. :)


Amy | Foxy Blogs Denisse wrote: "beautiful review! amazing Book!"


Thanks, D. :) Yes, it was an amazing book. Hard to come by.


Amy | Foxy Blogs Kim wrote: "Great review, Amy! Wow! Favourite book of the year huh?"

Thanks, Kim! I know! That is a big statement to make. I hope you read it. It's very moving.


Amy | Foxy Blogs Kara wrote: "I loved your review. I love your passion...
and I know you love me more!"


LOL! Absolutely!!!


Amy | Foxy Blogs Renee wrote: "Your review has got me all emotional again. I can 'feel' how much you loved this book through your words. I agree that the characters are so lovable in this book and although there were so many hea..."

Thank you, silly girl! Thinking about the book has me crying again. I have a killer headache from all the crying.


message 26: by MC (new) - rated it 5 stars

MC Good review! I loved this book!


Amy | Foxy Blogs Shannon The Show Stopper wrote: "Wow! I'm trying to finish with Dusty but I keep getting distracted by seeing this book everywhere. You're review is making almost impossible to NOT start it now! Great job. I'm glad it moved you......"


Yes you are so right!!! These characters felt real to me.
You won't regret pausing in your other book and reading this one. I'm here if you need someone talk to...I enjoyed our last BR together. :)


♥ Jx PinkLady Reviews ♥ Brilliant review, Amy xxx


Amy | Foxy Blogs Lisa wrote: "Wonderful review, Amy!"

Thank you, Lisa! I'm glad you loved it too. :)


Amy | Foxy Blogs Jess-i-ca ~Angst Avoider & BR Bailer~ wrote: "I agree..I think its my favorite of the year too.."

YEAH!!! Favorite reads are few and far beyond but make reading so worth it. :)


Amy | Foxy Blogs Mckenzie wrote: "Good review! I loved this book!"

Thanks, Mckenzie! I'm with you- LOVED this book. :)


Amy | Foxy Blogs Jxxx ♥ Pink Lady ♥ wrote: "Brilliant review, Amy xxx"

Thank you, Jxxx! I hope you read this one. :)


message 33: by Anna (new) - rated it 5 stars

Anna Beautiful review Foxy !!!! ❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️


Amy | Foxy Blogs Anna wrote: "Beautiful review Foxy !!!! ❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️"

Awe, Thank you! Hard to do justice to this beautiful book. :)


Jennifer Kyle Foxy Fantastic!!!! <3


Patty Belongs To Kellan~Jesse~Lautner~Miller~Jack~Racer~Rafe~Liam~Prince Nicholas~Hayes~Simon~Gianluca & Archer WOW!!! Amy, your review is PERFECT!!!
I know you TRULY LOVED this one if you wrote more than a quick blurb for a review.
Loved all the GIFS!!!
I'm going to start this over the weekend hopefully. :)
xoxoxoxo
❤❤❤


Renata Severo I love stories of strength and courage. Great review, Amy. I'll buy! xoxo


Amy | Foxy Blogs Jennifer wrote: "Foxy Fantastic!!!! <3"

Thank you, Jennifer. :)


Amy | Foxy Blogs Patty wrote: "WOW!!! Amy, your review is PERFECT!!!
I know you TRULY LOVED this one if you wrote more than a quick blurb for a review.
Loved all the GIFS!!!
I'm going to start this over the weekend hopefully. :)..."


Thanks, Patty! I really let it all hang out there in this review, huh?! LOL. I hope you love it!


Amy | Foxy Blogs Renata wrote: "I love stories of strength and courage. Great review, Amy. I'll buy! xoxo"

Thanks, Renata! I can't wait to see what you think of this book. I'm jealous you'll get to experience it for the first time. I love that first time feeling when you read a great book.


Amanda awesome review, amy. looking forward to this one.


Amy | Foxy Blogs Amanda wrote: "awesome review, amy. looking forward to this one."

Thank you, Amanda! I don't normally lay my heart out in a review but I couldn't resist with this book. :)


Sarah (SB) ღ Ok chickie,I didn't read your lovely review till I finished.

Hands down, best book of the year.

I can feel your love squishing out between the words of your review. It's overflowing! With just cause :)


Amy | Foxy Blogs Sarah (SB) ღ wrote: "Ok chickie,I didn't read your lovely review till I finished.

Hands down, best book of the year.

I can feel your love squishing out between the words of your review. It's overflowing! With just c..."




Thanks, SB!!! I know it's rare for me to get so emotional in my reviews!! But I couldn't help it. This book deserved it.
I'm so glad you LOVED it too.


Sarah (SB) ღ I think the synopsis does it NO justice. I would not have added added it based on that. It was you and KC double teaming the page with all your feels. Thank you both for sharing so many powerful updates. I would have been robbed of this EXPERIENCE.♥


Xoxo


Amy | Foxy Blogs Awe, thank you for those kind words! It has made my night. :) xoxo


message 47: by Jenn (new)

Jenn Love your review. I love when a book can make you actually feel. It's a rare thing to find these days. This sounds like a book I should read and a book that is a quality read.


Amy | Foxy Blogs Jenn wrote: "Love your review. I love when a book can make you actually feel. It's a rare thing to find these days. This sounds like a book I should read and a book that is a quality read."

Thank you, Jenn. Yes, it is all those things (a book YOU should read and it's a quality read). I hope you love it too.


message 49: by Jenn (new)

Jenn Amy- I will definitely add to my TBR list. I see nothing but positive reviews for this. Finding a quality read is hard these days. Thanks for recommending it to me as well.


Amy | Foxy Blogs You're welcome. :)


« previous 1 3
back to top