Shawna's Reviews > Heart of Fire

Heart of Fire by Linda Howard
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
1802746
4 stars – Romantic Suspense

This was a steamy, entertaining adventure romance with a smart, spunky archaeologist heroine and a hot alpha hero who guides her through the wilds of the Amazon in search of a mythical lost city. In the midst of battling bad guys and the perils of the jungle, they find themselves intensely attracted to each other. And when they finally succumb to their volatile desires? YOWZA! There’s a sex scene in the rain that’s so explosive and smokin’ hot that the H/h literally have steam coming off of them afterward. The hero has sexual stamina that would put the Energizer Bunny (and the Rabbit vibrator) to complete shame. So if you’re a fan of Linda Howard, romantic suspense with action adventure, and sexually charged alpha heroes, then you might enjoy this. 4 stars!
16 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Heart of Fire.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

September 20, 2009 – Shelved
September 20, 2009 – Shelved as: author-linda-howard
September 20, 2009 – Shelved as: romantic-suspense
March 18, 2010 – Shelved as: hero-alpha‎
June 12, 2010 – Shelved as: exotic-wild-settings-survivor-lovin
September 13, 2010 – Shelved as: archaeology-antiquities-scholar
October 14, 2010 – Started Reading
October 14, 2010 – Shelved as: 2010-reads
October 14, 2010 – Shelved as: action-adventure-treasure-hunting
October 14, 2010 – Shelved as: hero-expert-skilled-voracious-lover
October 14, 2010 – Shelved as: hero-stalk-me-baby-possessive
October 14, 2010 – Shelved as: hero-stud-mantel-hall-of-fame
October 14, 2010 – Shelved as: heroine-kickass-spirited-strong
October 14, 2010 – Shelved as: i-read-no-longer-own-sold-swapped
October 14, 2010 – Shelved as: sizable-packages-size-matters
October 14, 2010 – Finished Reading
January 6, 2011 – Shelved as: 4-stars
February 24, 2011 – Shelved as: hero-walking-hardon
October 24, 2011 – Shelved as: hero-brooding
October 24, 2011 – Shelved as: hero-cold-cruelbrute-dark-dangerous
October 24, 2011 – Shelved as: favorite-hottest-love-scenes-nookie

Comments Showing 1-20 of 20 (20 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Tammy (new) - added it

Tammy Sounds like a movie script! Is this an old Linda Howard book?


Shawna Yes, it's one of her oldies. :)


MelissaB Great review Shawna! I enjoyed this book too. A hero like a rabbit vibrator is a winner in my book :) yeah the sex in the rain scene was great (slap slap)


message 4: by Tammy (new) - added it

Tammy Good to know. Thanks!


Shawna MelissaB wrote: "Great review Shawna! I enjoyed this book too. A hero like a rabbit vibrator is a winner in my book :) yeah the sex in the rain scene was great (slap slap)"

Thanks, Melissa! LOL! Sooo true!!

YW, Tammy!


message 6: by Catherine (last edited Oct 14, 2010 03:18PM) (new) - added it

Catherine I still crack up whenever I think of "Slap Slap" Melissa!

Great review, Shawna!


Shawna Thanks, Catherine! That part was hilarious!


Keri This was one of my favs.


message 9: by Catherine (new) - added it

Catherine I still have a soft spot for After the Night. Yes, I know he was a douche. Don't judge me! ;)


MelissaB Catherine wrote: "I still have a soft spot for After the Night. Yes, I know he was a douche. Don't judge me! ;)"

Me too! Yes Gray was an ass but he was a sexy ass!


message 11: by Catherine (new) - added it

Catherine I have reread that book many times. He was very sexy. The book as a whole was pretty sexy for me. The scene in the courthouse bathroom totally cracked me up too.


MelissaB I love the bathroom scene!


message 13: by Catherine (last edited Oct 14, 2010 06:10PM) (new) - added it

Catherine He was just so flabbergasted and then she couldn't stop laughing! I actually like a lot of her older ones. I feel her style has completely changed though. It just doesn't hit me the same way anymore. Although Mr. Perfect was pretty freakin' hilarious!


MelissaB I like Mr. Perfect but I don't read her new ones.

Speaking of After the Night - porch scene!


Shawna Your not alone, Catherine. I'll just ditto what Melissa said. Gray was an ass, but still damn sexy!

Linda Howard rights hot alphas with revved up sex drives, LOL!


message 16: by Catherine (last edited Oct 14, 2010 06:16PM) (new) - added it

Catherine MelissaB wrote: "I like Mr. Perfect but I don't read her new ones.

Speaking of After the Night - porch scene!"


That was sooooo hot! Too bad he says the worst thing possible and ruins the moment. >:|


MelissaB Catherine wrote: "MelissaB wrote: "I like Mr. Perfect but I don't read her new ones.

Speaking of After the Night - porch scene!"

That was sooooo hot! Too bad he says the worst thing possible and ruins the moment...."


I like his answering machine message where he basically says he is an idiot


message 18: by Catherine (new) - added it

Catherine Shawna wrote: "Your not alone, Catherine. I'll just ditto what Melissa said. Gray was an ass, but still damn sexy!

Linda Howard rights hot alphas with revved up sex drives, LOL!"


I always thought she did alpha pretty well. Some strayed close to the line, but she usually didn't cross it. There was one or two books where it didn't work for me, but on the whole they did.


message 19: by Catherine (new) - added it

Catherine MelissaB wrote: "Catherine wrote: "MelissaB wrote: "I like Mr. Perfect but I don't read her new ones.

Speaking of After the Night - porch scene!"

That was sooooo hot! Too bad he says the worst thing possible and..."


Me too. I liked that he kept leaving them too.


message 20: by Annie (new)

Annie Mmmm I'll have To check it out! ;)


back to top