Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾'s Reviews > Uncommon Passion

Uncommon Passion by Anne Calhoun
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
5498948
5 Beautifully Erotic Stars

My God, he was broken. So broken, this frightening vulnerability protected only by pieces of bulletproof vest held together with razor wire, attitude, and a smile that broke her heart every time he flashed it.

He was in too deep, she was too deep for a man like him, and he didn’t have anything left inside to give her.


Anne Calhoun has this way with writing that is captivating yet understated. It's erotic and beautifully passionate. The book draws you in from the first page, and the words will weave their way all around you, making sure you experience everything along with the characters; every smell, every feeling, every sound, every passionately erotic moment. Anne doesn't write simple erotic romances.

I have fallen in love with her writing since reading Liberating Lacey, my first book by her. And I have been singing her praises every book since. I have yet to read a book by Miss Calhoun that I haven't enjoyed, and this one was no exception. Dare I say this was her best book yet? Well it was definitely a favorite of mine.

I loved everything about this book; the story, the characters, the writing.

What I have grown to love most about Anne's writing, is the way that she is able to write a heroine that strong, but in this incredibly endearing and understated way.

Rachel has recently left the only life she has ever known inside a restrictive religious community. She may be sheltered and a virgin, but she knows what she wants and she goes after it. She wants to experience life without limitations, she wants to feel, to truly live; like a butterfly taking flight after leaving the strict cocoon that was her upbringing.

The first thing she wants to experience is passion. When she meets the sexy Swat Officer Ben Harris at a bachelor auction, she knows that he is the perfect man to give her what she wants.

Ben is a broken and jaded man, trying to bury his pain in an endless haze of adrenaline jags at work, drinking, and sex.

He's not looking for forever, he's not even looking for next week. All he cares about is the here and the now. But when he learns that Rachel is a virgin after their one night together, he sets out to make amends. He knows he can't offer her much, but what he can offer her is a no string attached sexual education and not lose her heart in the process.
Everyone was worried Rachel would get her heart broken if she didn’t get a ring and a vow and a happily ever after right out of a movie. But Rachel needed something more, something he didn’t know if he could give her. She had no shields whatsoever to protect her from anything.
Including him. The only thing he could teach her was how to harden her heart.

Rachel never imagined that this is what she was missing; this lust, this burning hot passion that sets them both on fire.

Ben may have been detached in his life and relationships, but he was certainly not detached when it came to teaching Rachel the darker parts of passion.
Just say cock."
"I don’t use language like that.” He paused as if he were going to pull out, but then didn’t. Ensnared in need, she moaned and squirmed again. "Try ride me. Pound into me. Make me scream. Or go for the one that means all three. Try fuck me."


The sex scenes in this book, while beautifully written, were also scorching hot.

Ben was definitely rough around the edges and loved things dirty and hot.
You should have..." she began, but that finger circled again and the words trailed off.
"Should have what, Rachel? Should have fucked you on the steps while they stumbled around? Should have made you be quiet while you took my cock deep inside?" She shook her head, as much response to the tumultuous cascade of sensation his words set off as negating his interpretation.
"Should have stopped?” The whisper was dark, taunting. "Not gonna stop, Rachel." Two fingers slid inside her when he spoke, and a breathless little cry escaped her lips. "I want it right now, right the fuck now, against this wall now."



All Ben wanted to do was to teach Rachel about sex, and have a little fun with her while staying his jaded and detached self. But he begins to see that she is not quite what he expected
People assumed virgin meant weak, naïve, insecure, even ashamed. Not Rachel. She was aware, thinking about what she did and why she did it, and strong enough to ask questions, plan, execute a course of action that left her alone in the world.

Rachel may have been sheltered, but she was not your typical virgin that you might read in a book. She had a backbone, she stood up for what she believed. But the way she went about doing it is what made her so endearing to the reader. She had a quite intensity to her. She didn't scream, she didn't cry, she didn't make stupid decisions. She remained true to herself and her desires for life throughout the whole story, and I absolutely loved that about her.

Ben begins to see that there is a whole lot more to Rachel then the naive virgin he first thought her to be.
Rachel was wrong with him. Rachel and her dark hair and golden eyes and her ability to shine a light on the protective shield he held up between himself and the world. Just showing him it was there, let alone what it meant, or how thin it really was. Making him feel things he didn’t want to feel.

Can Rachel get past his defenses to the beautifully broken man inside? Will Ben allow her past his walls and into his heart without breaking hers in the process?

Loved, absolutely loved this book. If you have never read a book by this author, this is the perfect one to start with. You will fall in love with the characters and the story.


For more of my reviews visit: Dirty Girl Romance Book Blog


31 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Uncommon Passion.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

September 3, 2013 – Shelved
September 3, 2013 – Shelved as: to-read
September 5, 2013 – Started Reading
September 5, 2013 –
0.0% "Finally!!!!! Can't wait to dive into this one. Love me some Anne Calhoun\n "
September 6, 2013 –
20.0% "\n Loving this book <3"
September 6, 2013 –
52.0% "\n Wow. Not sure whether I should be appalled or amused myself. But damn, awkward! Lol"
September 7, 2013 –
75.0% "Anne Calhoun writes some of the best heroines...Loving this book"
September 7, 2013 – Shelved as: auto-buy-authors
September 7, 2013 – Shelved as: best-of-the-best
September 7, 2013 – Shelved as: contemporary-romance
September 7, 2013 – Shelved as: erotic-romance
September 7, 2013 – Shelved as: faves
September 7, 2013 – Shelved as: favorite-authors
September 7, 2013 – Shelved as: keeper-shelf
September 7, 2013 – Shelved as: unforgettables
September 7, 2013 – Shelved as: best-dirty-talk
September 7, 2013 – Shelved as: books-i-d-reread-over-over
September 7, 2013 – Shelved as: favorite-alpha-hero
September 7, 2013 – Shelved as: favorite-heroine
September 7, 2013 – Shelved as: steamy-romance
September 7, 2013 – Shelved as: virgin-heroine
September 7, 2013 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-45 of 45 (45 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Wendy'sThoughts Me too! I know your review will rock!


message 2: by Len (new) - added it

Len Fab review Lkay, xo


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Len wrote: "Fab review Lkay, xo"

Thanks so much, Len <3


Deanna❤Pink Lady❤️ What a lovely review Lkay!! It was beautiful!! ❤❤


Sharon ∞❥ is an emotional book junkie ❥∞ wonderful review Lkay...i love that first gif about sex! LOL!


Wendy'sThoughts See, I was right... your review DID rock!


Emma ~ The Indecisive Reader ~ Fantastic review Lkay, love your pics and gif's :)


Katy Loves Romance ❤️ Amazing review Lkay!!! <3


Heidi Just finished book. Jeez that was good. Loved your review Lkay!


Blacky *Romance Addict* Amazing review Lkay! Can't wait to read this :)


Baba  The book draws you in from the first page, and the words will weave their way all around you, making sure you experience everything along with the characters; every smell, every feeling, every sound, every passionately erotic moment. Anne doesn't write simple erotic romances.

THIS...^^^^^^^^^^^^it's perfect!!
Love your review, Lkay!


message 12: by • Lisa • (new)

• Lisa • Love your review ADDED ... I still need to read Liberating Lacey weirdly so I nearly started it last night x


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Deanna ❤Pink Lady❤ wrote: "What a lovely review Lkay!! It was beautiful!! ❤❤"

Thank you very much, Deanna <3 <3 :) This book was just so good, you should definitely check this author out ;)


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ ♠ Sharon is an emotional book junkie ♠ wrote: "wonderful review Lkay...i love that first gif about sex! LOL!"

Thanks, Sharon! That gif describes my feelings perfectly LOL.


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Wm Wanna be JAX'S Woman TEAM JAX wrote: "See, I was right... your review DID rock!"

Aw, thanks Wm! <3


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Emma wrote: "Fantastic review Lkay, love your pics and gif's :)"

Thanks, Emma. This book is definitely going up there on my favorites shelf :)


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Katy wrote: "Amazing review Lkay!!! <3"

Thank you, Katy <3


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Heidi wrote: "Just finished book. Jeez that was good. Loved your review Lkay!"

I absolutely love this author. She writes some of the best books. And thanks ;)


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Blacky *Romance Addict* wrote: "Amazing review Lkay! Can't wait to read this :)"

Blacky, woman, you will love it! It's tied for my favorite with Liberating Lacey. So good!


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Baba ♥♥♥ Marcus, Tyler, Tate, Dan, Ty, & Hunter wrote: "The book draws you in from the first page, and the words will weave their way all around you, making sure you experience everything along with the characters; every smell, every feeling, every soun..."

Anne is just so good at this. I swear you really do experience all that through her writing. Just fantastic! Thanks so much, Baba!


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Lisa Jayne wrote: "Love your review ADDED ... I still need to read Liberating Lacey weirdly so I nearly started it last night x"

Thank you, sweets! You would LOVE this author. Liberating Lacey is the perfect book to start with <3


Ⓐlleskelle - teamSøren♗ ⊲I like big b00ks⊳ Hey Lkay, love loved your review! This book was a real surprise for me because it was my first Anne Calhoun ever. Thanks to Baba review i jumped eyes closed into it, but i am oh so grateful!
I finished Liberating Lacey this morning and loved it too!
Then over the edge... Then.. well i'm on a A. Calhoun streak right now ;)


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Ⓐlleskelle #teamSøren♗ ⊲I like big bꝎks⊳ wrote: "Hey Lkay, love loved your review! This book was a real surprise for me because it was my first Anne Calhoun ever. Thanks to Baba review i jumped eyes closed into it, but i am oh so grateful!
I fini..."


Anne Calhoun has come to be one of my favorite authors. I don't typically like novellas, since they're too short for me to get into. But her
Breath on Embers novella is a favorite of mine as well. Just something about her writing that just sucks me in. I love it.


message 24: by Mo (new) - rated it 4 stars

Mo Great review.


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Mo wrote: "Great review."

Thanks, Mo. Hope you enjoy it as much as I did


message 26: by • Lisa • (new)

• Lisa • Lkay ❇✾The one-click buy button addict❇✾ wrote: "Lisa Jayne wrote: "Love your review ADDED ... I still need to read Liberating Lacey weirdly so I nearly started it last night x"

Thank you, sweets! You would LOVE this author. Liberating Lacey is ..."


Ok Im on it babes xx


♥ Jx PinkLady Reviews ♥ GORGEOUS review, Lkay. Loving those B & W Gifs and all your pics xxx


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ Love your review Lkay and this is a story I look forward to!


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Jxxx ♥ Pink Lady ♥ wrote: "GORGEOUS review, Lkay. Loving those B & W Gifs and all your pics xxx"

Thanks, hon! This was such a good book :)


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ wrote: "Love your review Lkay and this is a story I look forward to!"

Thanks you, SueBee. You definitely have a great book to look forward to


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Lisa wrote: "Awesome review!"

Thanks, Lisa!


KatLynne I loved everything about this book; the story, the characters, the writing.

Perfectly stated, Lkay! Love your review sweet friend:)!


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ KatLynne wrote: "I loved everything about this book; the story, the characters, the writing.

Perfectly stated, Lkay! Love your review sweet friend:)!"


Thank you so much, KatLynne <3
This is just one of those authors that I can never go wrong with. I've loved all her books


message 34: by [deleted user] (new)

Alright, I am going to have to try it now. :)


message 35: by Dhenize (new) - added it

Dhenize aawW!greAt review!!iM going to read dis booK 4 suRe!^_^


message 36: by Jacqueline (new)

Jacqueline I really like the sound of this one. You've talked me into it.


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Jenna wrote: "Alright, I am going to have to try it now. :)"

Have you read any other books by this author? You're in for a real treat with this book. It was fantastic :)


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Dhenize wrote: "aawW!greAt review!!iM going to read dis booK 4 suRe!^_^"

Thanks! This book was great


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Jacqueline wrote: "I really like the sound of this one. You've talked me into it."

You'll love it. I have yet to read an Anne Calhoun book that I didn't enjoy


message 40: by [deleted user] (new)

Lkay ❇✾The one-click buy button addict❇✾ wrote: "Jenna wrote: "Alright, I am going to have to try it now. :)"

Have you read any other books by this author? You're in for a real treat with this book. It was fantastic :)"


Nope, but the 1st one is on my list to read :)


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Jenna wrote: "Lkay ❇✾The one-click buy button addict❇✾ wrote: "Jenna wrote: "Alright, I am going to have to try it now. :)"

Have you read any other books by this author? You're in for a real treat with this boo..."


My 2 favorite books by her is this one and Liberating Lacey. Don't judge it by the cheesy cover. It was an amazing book


Jen What I have grown to love most about Anne's writing, is the way that she is able to write a heroine that strong, but in this incredibly endearing and understated way.

Preach! I seriously thought I commented on this earlier. Awesome review, Lkay! Love it!


Christine Wallflower & Dark Romance Junkie Amazing review Lkay!!!


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Jen wrote: "What I have grown to love most about Anne's writing, is the way that she is able to write a heroine that strong, but in this incredibly endearing and understated way.

Preach! I seriously thought I..."


She has become one of my favorite authors. Particularly because she writes such great heroines. Thanks, Jen :)


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Christine The Dark Romance Junkie wrote: "Amazing review Lkay!!!"

Thanks, Christine ;)


back to top