Sandra 's Reviews > Falling Kingdoms

Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
9752625

RE-READ: SEP 2015
Note - old review below but my thoughts have not changed....still loved it!


****************************************************

“Even paradise could become a prison if one had enough time to take notice of the walls.

After seeing quite a few negative things about Falling Kingdoms on goodreads i was hesitant to buy it. But eventually i did, because, like, what the hell? Just cause some people disliked it doesn't mean that i will too! And i am so glad i did.




Why?

Because it was a total winner for me and i LOVED it!







FANS OF Throne of Glass and A Game of Thrones (both books and TV show) will INHALE this outstanding high fantasy book just like i did!




IN A LAND WHERE MAGIC HAS BEEN FORGOTTEN AND PEACE HAS REIGNED FOR CENTURIES, UNREST IS SIMMERING.

THREE KINGDOMS BATTLE FOR POWER.


A PRINCESS....




“Magic will find those with pure hearts, even when all seems lost.”


An Auranos princess must journey into enemy territory in search of a magic long thought extinct in order to safe her sister. But on her journey she will start the beginning of a new era.

A REBEL....




A rebel with a heart made of ice will become the leader of a bloody revolution that will change everything.

A SORCERESS...




A sorceress discovers the truth about the supernatural legacy she is destined to wield.

A SON OF A BLOOD KING.




Magnus is the son of the Limeros' cruel king (nicknamed the 'blood' king), and will either be a hero or the biggest villain Mystica will ever see. Will he surrender to the light?...Or to the dark?

IT'S THE EVE OF WAR.
EACH MUST CHOOSE A SIDE.


KINGDOMS WILL FALL.




So you are probably confused, and trust me, i can see why. Let me clarify things for you, because i was really baffled at times in the beginning myself.

In the book the fantasy world is called Mystica, and is split up into 3 very different kingdoms.
1)Auranos - a beautiful, rich and 'happy' kingdom ruled by a fair king.
2) Paelsia - a starving, dusty, and harsh kingdom/place to live in, ruled by no one in particular.
3) Limeros - violent and disciplined kingdom ruled by the 'blood king'.

There are 4 protagonists and each play an essential part of the story. BUT there are a few more secondary characters POV's added to theirs.

You are probably all like this right now...




I hope it makes a little sense at least, if not i promise you it will if you read the book!

Characters:
Cloe(princess) - OMG. The majority of the book i thought she was a spoiled little brat who was dumb and very naive. It seemed like EVERYONE was in love with her. I felt like strangeling. She was exaggerating and acting like she was 5. Cloe was an immensely ignorant and selfish protagonist that i had a hate/love relationship towards the end. She did grow on me though, and at the end i thaught life has finally tought her a lesson and she grew up. Definitely became stronger.

“You must draw from that strength. You must increase it. And you must hold on to it because sometimes that small glimmer of inner strength is all that we have to help us press forward through the darkness."





Lucie and Magnus i loved in the beginning.NOT.ANYMORE. After what they have done (view spoiler) i'm all like...




There are many flaws in Falling kingdom that make me understand why some readers disliked it. For example, the more than 1 love triangle and about million love interests.

But i loved the fantasy world and the few legends. I thought everything in this book was very interesting and i was intrigued throughout the book.

“I have stories. But stories are not facts.'
'I like stories. Love them, actually. Most of the time they're better than facts.”


I was shocked a few times too. Like when my favorite character died. I was like...




The end more than made up for the flaws, in my opinion.
It was so emotional it made me shed a tear or two! (view spoiler)




Overall , Falling Kingdoms was a book that played with my feelings and took me on a fantastic rollercoaster i absolutely loved! It is action-packed and has a very awesome plot that i enjoyed. The cliffhanger at the end wasn't big but i still need book 2 ASAP (thank goodness it's out already!). Read this, guys ! :)

Sincerely - The Critic.




108 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Falling Kingdoms.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

August 31, 2013 – Shelved
August 31, 2013 – Shelved as: to-read
December 14, 2013 – Started Reading
December 16, 2013 –
page 300
72.82% " SUCH A FANTASTIC HIGH FANTASY BOOK! I KNEW IT WOULD NOT DISAPPOINT! SO FAR IT IS FOR CERTAIN REACHING MY EXPECTATIONS! \n
"
December 17, 2013 –
page 412
100.0% " OMG. THAT IS ALL I HAVE TO SAY. REVIEW IN PROCESS "
December 17, 2013 – Shelved as: awesome-characters
December 17, 2013 – Shelved as: cliffhangers
December 17, 2013 – Shelved as: love-triangles
December 17, 2013 – Shelved as: liked-the-characters-some-or-all
December 17, 2013 – Shelved as: made-me-cry
December 17, 2013 – Shelved as: melting-inside-awwww
December 17, 2013 – Shelved as: nooo-way
December 17, 2013 – Shelved as: omfg
December 17, 2013 – Shelved as: panic-attack
December 17, 2013 – Shelved as: reviewed-books
December 17, 2013 – Shelved as: sad
December 17, 2013 – Shelved as: sad-tragic-endings
December 17, 2013 – Shelved as: sexy-males
April 11, 2014 – Shelved as: stay-with-me-forever
April 11, 2014 – Shelved as: young-adult
April 11, 2014 – Shelved as: romance
April 11, 2014 – Shelved as: rich-plot
April 11, 2014 – Shelved as: paranormal-romance
April 11, 2014 – Shelved as: fantasy
April 11, 2014 – Shelved as: continuing-series
April 11, 2014 – Shelved as: beautifully-written
April 13, 2014 – Shelved as: first-book-in-a-series-on-trilogy
September 20, 2015 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-43 of 43 (43 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Aimen (new)

Aimen Love the review, Sandra!! <3


message 2: by Vibha (new)

Vibha Amazing review babe!! <3


message 3: by Mona (new)

Mona Great review Sandra!


message 4: by Jennifer (new)

Jennifer Kyle Fantastic review Sandra :D


message 5: by Baba (new)

Baba  Great review, Sandra!


message 6: by Debra (new)

Debra Amazing review hon xx


message 7: by Pam (new)

Pam Wonderful review, Sandra :)


Sandra Lisa wrote: "Awesome review, Sandra! ;)"

Thx x


Sandra Aimen wrote: "Love the review, Sandra!! <3"

Thank you <3


Sandra Vibha_ wrote: "Amazing review babe!! <3"

Thx hon :)


Sandra Mona wrote: "Great review Sandra!"

Thx Mona! :)


Sandra Jennifer wrote: "Fantastic review Sandra :D"

Thank you J! :)


Sandra Baba ♥♥♥ Tyler, Marcus, Dean, Tate, Dan, Ty & Hunter wrote: "Great review, Sandra!"

Thx ;)


Sandra Debra wrote: "Amazing review hon xx"

Thanks babe x


Sandra Pam wrote: "Wonderful review, Sandra :)"

Thank you Pam! <3


♥ Jx PinkLady Reviews ♥ Fabulous review, Sandra x


message 17: by ♥Rachel♥ (new)

♥Rachel♥ Wonderful review, Sandra! Laughing at your gifs! I have to say this book scares me a little and it seems like it's one where your emotions are all over the place. I can't ignore your 5 star rating, though. When I'm in the mood for high fantasy, I'll have to pick this up. :)


message 18: by Ingie (new)

Ingie Great review, Sandra! Merry xmas! <3


message 19: by Patrycja (new) - added it

Patrycja Awesome review, Sandra xo


Katy Loves Romance ❤️ Fab review Sandra!!! <3


message 22: by Miss Fifi (new)

Miss Fifi Love the review, Sandra! xx


message 23: by • Lisa • (new)

• Lisa • FANTASTIC review babes x


Sandra Jxxx ♥ Pink Lady ♥ wrote: "Fabulous review, Sandra x"

Thx J :)


Sandra ♥Rachel♥ wrote: "Wonderful review, Sandra! Laughing at your gifs! I have to say this book scares me a little and it seems like it's one where your emotions are all over the place. I can't ignore your 5 star rating,..."

Thank you, love! It is an emotional book...that can sometimes turn sour for some readers. But hopefully you will love it as much as i did! Fingers crossed you're in a mood of high fantasy soon because i can't wait for you to read this! <3


Sandra Ingela wrote: "Great review, Sandra! Merry xmas! <3"

Thanks, hon! Marry xmas to you too xoxo


Sandra Patrycja wrote: "Awesome review, Sandra xo"

Thank you, darling :)


Sandra Christine The Dark Romance Junkie wrote: "Great review Sandra!!!"

Thanks my friend! x


Sandra Katy wrote: "Fab review Sandra!!! <3"

Thx Katy! :)


Sandra Miss wrote: "Love the review, Sandra! xx"

Thank you, love! <3


Sandra Lisa Jayne wrote: "FANTASTIC review babes x"

Thx L ;)


message 32: by Christy (new)

Christy Wonderful review, Sandra! <3


message 33: by destini mia (new)

destini mia Awesome review, hun!! ♥︎


Sandra Christy wrote: "Wonderful review, Sandra! <3"

Thanks hon <3


Sandra Vilda wrote: "Oh!! I need to check this out! :D Awesome review, Sandra!"

Thank you, love! You so do! Such a phenominal book i loved with all my heart! <3


Duchess Nicole Fabulous review, Sandra. I'm hearing good things about this!


Kayla So true. They said this book was "The Game of Thrones for Kids." I love this book. I cried when the people I love died. I loved the part When one of my fav characters got kissed. (I wont name who.) But awesome Review!!! If I hadn't read the book already, I would have because of this review!!!!!!


Taylor Snyder some people take writing way too seriously, they're just stories that the author enjoys. I highly doubt they actually care if someone dislikes it. for me writing allows my imagination to go wild and release me from reality.


Andromeda Moon I love the pictures you chose for the four main characters! They would make an awesome cast if this book was made into a movie.


message 40: by Kelly (new) - added it

Kelly Great review! I have this book and I have not gotten around to reading it but now I am definitely going to read it soon! :D


Frost Good job for writing this review! These are my thoughts throughout the book! THE SHOCKS. YEAH I FEEL YOU. Even Tomas's shocked me quite a bit. And wow THEON. I was so damn sure that he's gonna end up with Cleo but i was wrong. TOTALLY WRONG. I love Magnus quite a lot but when he killed Theon, wow you lil b*itch i hope you got killed by Cleo. And yeah, the father scene at the end is really emotional and Emilia too. When Cleo finally found the seeds and were heading towards her sister's chambers i already had the feeling that Emilia would be dead already. And yeah she's gone. Wow. Just like you said, Falling Kingdom was really a book that toyed with readers' feelings and yeah reading the book is like riding a rollercoaster, full of surprises and plot twists. Thank goodness that i have book two when i finished the book! But now im struggling since i don't have book three i need to read book 2 slowly. VERY SLOWLY but i know i can't do it. It would just be the same as me while reading book 1. I tried to make is as slow as possible while reading Falling Kingdoms but i can't stop after Theon's death. Now i'm currently reading Rebel Spring and i hope there won't be any deaths :C.


message 42: by Dilpreet (new) - added it

Dilpreet I need to read this series omg!


message 43: by Anneke (new) - added it

Anneke Iten Awsome review I'm definitely going to read it!


back to top