Kat's Reviews > Gives Light

Gives Light by Rose Christo
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
4878104
Only a few weeks ago, Susan got dragged into a kinky BDSM-y buddy read with us. Little did I know that Susan may not be a fan of BDSM, she surely has a neat little sadistic streak. According to her, revenge apparently is a dish best served in the form of sexless YA.

Vengeance at its finest!

Not only don’t I like YA anymore, I’m shallow. I want my gay sex cake and eat it too. But I suppose that one who forces kinky books upon others must gracefully accept the consequences... So looking at those burly toddlers on the cover of Gives Light, I took a deep breath and dove in, fully expecting another melodrama fueled childish angst-fest.

...and was blown away instead.

When you lose your vision, your ears will pick up on more sounds, your nose will distinguish more scents. When you take away sex as a means and a climax, will you cling to the simplest of touches? In the expert hands of this author, yes. A kiss no longer is a rushed foray into something more, but an earth-shattering experience. A meaningful look becomes more penetrating than a..well.

In a pace that’s more soothing than anything, you’ll get invited into a Native American reservation along with the endearing and admirable main character, the 16 year old Skylar. What follows is a heart-warming, slowly unfolding coming of age story, in which past and present clash and love conquers all.

I’ll admit it! The unhurried pacing and sharp focus on little, gentle gestures made my cynical heart swell. It didn’t take much; a discarded jacket, a soundless laugh or charcoal drawings. Until a scene involving a bedroom and a photo occurred and I simply couldn’t feel any more feels than I felt in that one breath-catching moment. For me, the essence of love is captured beautifully in this book, in all its facets and depth. This is how I feel love too and I applaud Christo for making its power palpable.

My only niggles would be that the story slowly petered out in the final pages, whereas I had expected a final assault on my senses that, I’m sure, would’ve sent me straight to cloud nine. And I personally would’ve made these boys 2 years younger. Their behavior and acts (or more accurately, their lack thereof) felt a bit too innocently sweet and at odds with their given age. All in all, I will say (not even grumpily anymore!) that Gives Light is very beautiful indeed and highly recommended. I wish schools would include this one on their reading lists.

You can check out our group review plus enter the giveaway to WIN all 4 books in the series (Posted 16/03/2014):
40 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Gives Light.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

August 17, 2013 – Shelved
August 17, 2013 – Shelved as: to-read
August 17, 2013 – Shelved as: injured-or-disabled-mc
August 17, 2013 – Shelved as: ya
August 17, 2013 – Shelved as: coming-of-age
August 17, 2013 – Shelved as: glbt
August 17, 2013 – Shelved as: terrific-covers
February 18, 2014 – Shelved as: boys-in-our-books-blog
February 18, 2014 – Shelved as: buddy-read
March 1, 2014 – Started Reading
March 1, 2014 –
35.0% "Feck, it so happens that I enjoy this. \n \n My rep, my rep! What to do? :-0\n \n "
March 2, 2014 –
60.0% "Gah, I hate Susan for making me sniffle and smile over sexless (read: rewardless :p) YA...\n \n "
March 3, 2014 – Shelved as: bouts-of-fangirl-craziness
March 3, 2014 – Shelved as: favorites
March 3, 2014 – Shelved as: friend-recs
March 3, 2014 – Shelved as: heartwarming
March 3, 2014 – Shelved as: life-s-longings
March 3, 2014 – Shelved as: my-goddamn-emotions
March 3, 2014 – Shelved as: pampers-the-emo-within
March 3, 2014 –
100.0% "Sex is overrated anyway.\n \n "
March 4, 2014 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-50 of 64 (64 new)


Rosalinda *KRASNORADA* *Biting nails* Can't wait for your review x


Diana Aww, this series is so, so wonderful! I hope you'll like it as much as I do :D


message 3: by Kat (new) - rated it 5 stars

Kat I doubt it. I'm biased and bitter.;p


Shelley Loederkoningin wrote: "I doubt it. I'm biased and bitter.;p"

Don't forget jaded, and ornery :D


Natalie I liked this story overall, but the chasteness bothered me and seemed unrealistic. Boys that age are walking lumps of hormones.


message 6: by Kat (new) - rated it 5 stars

Kat I like this so far. Do something, Shelley! Kick me, pinch me, anything!


message 7: by Kat (new) - rated it 5 stars

Kat Natalie wrote: "I liked this story overall, but the chasteness bothered me and seemed unrealistic. Boys that age are walking lumps of hormones."

You would think so, yes! It's a strange experience..reading and knowing there will be no reward, no sex, no... I should be ashamed of myself.:p

Still...

(view spoiler)


Shelley Loederkoningin wrote: "I like this so far. Do something, Shelley! Kick me, pinch me, anything!"

Nah, I kind of like it too. Shit, there goes our rep.


message 9: by Kat (new) - rated it 5 stars

Kat Well, mine is officially down the drain. I read this dad+bedroom part last night and I think 2 eyelashes must have gotten stuck in both of my eyes simultaneously. So this morning I plastered on a cynical expression and read it again; same bloody thing!


Rosalinda *KRASNORADA* Loederkoningin wrote: "Well, mine is officially down the drain. I read this dad+bedroom part last night and I think 2 eyelashes must have gotten stuck in both of my eyes simultaneously. So this morning I plastered on a c..."

LOL! Thanks for making me laugh on a Monday morning. And yeah, say goodbye to your rep! *face palm*


message 11: by Nina (new) - rated it 4 stars

Nina Loederkoningin wrote: "Well, mine is officially down the drain. I read this dad+bedroom part last night and I think 2 eyelashes must have gotten stuck in both of my eyes simultaneously. So this morning I plastered on a c..."

Dude, just stop trying.


message 12: by Anne (new) - rated it 4 stars

Anne ^Exactly.


message 13: by Kat (last edited Mar 04, 2014 05:52AM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Kat I think fearless Shelley has moved on to Waiting in the Throes, whereas my mushy and heavy heart and I are ready to start book 2. This book is beautiful. Rosalinda, Anne, Diana, you were all right. I'm with Natalie that it may not be entirely realistic. Making these boys 14 instead might have done the trick.

Nina, you haven't even read this book yet, dudette. You're such a lo~oo~ser!>:)


message 14: by Nina (new) - rated it 4 stars

Nina But I'm planning to, and I will. I'm not the one who pretends not to like sweet, pure teenage love, so shut up, grandma.


message 15: by Kat (new) - rated it 5 stars

Kat Nina wrote: "But I'm planning to, and I will. I'm not the one who pretends not to like sweet, pure teenage love, so shut up, grandma."

Kids these days.. It's a shame corporal punishments are prohibited.


message 16: by Kat (new) - rated it 5 stars

Kat And please, the word teenage reminds me of gym lockers, Axe deodorant and zits.


message 17: by Nina (last edited Mar 04, 2014 06:27AM) (new) - rated it 4 stars

Nina You punishing me? Girl, you're lucky you're funny.

Do you like adolescent better? *smirks*


message 18: by Anne (last edited Mar 04, 2014 01:34PM) (new) - rated it 4 stars

Anne Nina wrote: "But I'm planning to, and I will. I'm not the one who pretends not to like sweet, pure teenage love, so shut up, grandma."

Grandma, Lo? *snort laugh*
Who's that girl? I like her already.


message 19: by Kat (new) - rated it 5 stars

Kat Ough. You have befriended her little submissive, but you haven't met the ever polite Nina yet? That should be remedied!

Anne, meet Nina.
Teenage dirt bag, meet Anne.:)


message 20: by Nina (new) - rated it 4 stars

Nina Why, hello there, Anne!
Don't listen to Tinka. I am so charming it's not even funny. Are you charmed yet?

On a more serious note: Tinka, when shall we expect a review? Because I want to see your reputation shattered and destroyed on my very own screen.


message 21: by Anne (new) - rated it 4 stars

Anne Loederkoningin wrote: "You have befriended her little submissive, but you haven't met the ever polite Nina yet? That should be remedied!

Anne, meet Nina.
Teenage dirt bag, meet Anne.:)"


Her wha-? Wait, where? Where?


message 22: by Anne (new) - rated it 4 stars

Anne Nina wrote: "Why, hello there, Anne!
Don't listen to Tinka. I am so charming it's not even funny. Are you charmed yet?"


Absolutely.


message 23: by Kat (new) - rated it 5 stars

Kat Ahh, I love when my friends become friends.:') Just don't forget where you came from...*threatening voice*


message 24: by Kat (new) - rated it 5 stars

Kat Nina wrote: "Why, hello there, Anne!
Don't listen to Tinka. I am so charming it's not even funny. Are you charmed yet?

On a more serious note: Tinka, when shall we expect a review? Because I want to see your r..."


Not all my buddy read girlfriends have finished yet. It goes live on the 17th, which will give me plenty time to either find a large rock to hide underneath until, what will possibly become a scary cotton candy rave review, has vanished from everyone's feed or..to balance out my rep by luring a certain bratty adolescent with Nutella and locking her up in my chilly cellar.


message 25: by Nina (last edited Mar 05, 2014 06:59AM) (new) - rated it 4 stars

Nina Anne wrote: "Loederkoningin wrote: "You have befriended her little submissive, but you haven't met the ever polite Nina yet? That should be remedied!

Anne, meet Nina.
Teenage dirt bag, meet Anne.:)"

Her wha..."


Anne, that'd be Vivian, the cute little thing.


message 26: by Nina (new) - rated it 4 stars

Nina Tinka, you can't lure me with something I can get for myself. Work out something else.
Also, it's so cute when you try to be threatening. *pinches cheek*


message 27: by Anne (new) - rated it 4 stars

Anne Nina wrote: "Anne, that'd be Vivian, the cute little thing."

Vivian, right. :)


Vivian ♪(┌・。・)┌		Nina wrote: "Anne wrote: "Loederkoningin wrote: "You have befriended her little submissive, but you haven't met the ever polite Nina yet? That should be remedied!

Anne, meet Nina.
Teenage dirt bag, meet Anne..."



Did you just call me "Vivian, the cute little thing" ?

*pushes sleeve up* *dons leather jacket* *straps the closest sharp object to my thigh (aka pencil)*

I believe some re-education is in order, submissive or not.

I'll show you cute, baby. 凸ಠ益ಠ)凸


message 29: by Kat (new) - rated it 5 stars

Kat I completely approve of that emoji.

Also, you're strapping? Damnn gurl. Nina better run fast.


Shelley Oh Loco. I heart you, ya big sap!

 photo 167_zpsdf2a90fa.gif


Rosalinda *KRASNORADA* Can you pls elaborate?

QUOTE
A meaningful look becomes more penetrating than a..well.
UNQUOTE

LOL

I love your review! I don't know who you are anymore but I am soooooo glad you loved Skylar & Rafael <3

xxx


message 32: by Kat (new) - rated it 5 stars

Kat Rosalinda *KRASNORADA* wrote: "Can you pls elaborate?

QUOTE
A meaningful look becomes more penetrating than a..well.
UNQUOTE

LOL

I love your review! I don't know who you are anymore but I am soooooo glad you loved Skylar & Ra..."


Don't you try to make me say (view spoiler), you evil woman!:D


message 33: by Kat (new) - rated it 5 stars

Kat Shelley wrote: "Oh Loco. I heart you, ya big sap!

"


You too!<3 And I heart that you loved this one too, so I don't have to feel busted and exposed as a weakling on my own.;)


message 34: by Nina (new) - rated it 4 stars

Nina Vivian ♪(┌・。・)┌ wrote: "Nina wrote: "Anne wrote: "Loederkoningin wrote: "You have befriended her little submissive, but you haven't met the ever polite Nina yet? That should be remedied!

Anne, meet Nina.
Teenage dirt b..."


You're simply not believable.
And cute as fuck.


Anna (Bananas) Burly toddlers? Lmao
Okay, maybe my expectations were too high with this one (due to all the rave reviews) and therefore I was disappointed. And your expectations were sufficiently low that you were blown away by the sweetness.

Or, you know I have a cold, cold heart.


message 36: by Ingie (new) - added it

Ingie I also see myself as a non-YA readers, but this novel seems, almost, all the 'girls' here love. I'll maybe give it a try, I also, at some point. Excellent review, LK!


message 37: by Anne (new) - rated it 4 stars

Anne You're sooo romantic! *sigh* Haha.


message 38: by Anne (last edited Mar 18, 2014 11:22AM) (new) - rated it 4 stars

Anne Vivian ♪(┌・。・)┌ wrote: "Did you just call me "Vivian, the cute little thing"?"

Viv, you're being cute now. Just saying.


Anna (Bananas) Ooo, Ingela, cute Blythe pic!


message 40: by Nina (new) - rated it 4 stars

Nina Anne wrote: "Vivian ♪(┌・。・)┌ wrote: "Did you just call me "Vivian, the cute little thing"?"

Viv, you're being cute now. Just saying."


RIGHT?


message 41: by Ingie (new) - added it

Ingie Anna (Bananas!) wrote: "Ooo, Ingela, cute Blythe pic!"

Haha, I didn't even know that these dolls were called "Blythe". I'd to check it on Google. Good, now when I know may I find "my doll" with some stylish summer wear soon. ~ Thanks Anna B!! :))))


Anna (Bananas) There's a book! This is Blythe by Gina Garan

Well, apparently 2 books now. Blythe+ Style by Gina Garan

I bought a book of Blythe postcards years ago and I still have a couple of them on the corkboard in my kitchen. They're cute.


Anna (Bananas) They remind of those Bratz dolls, with their giant noggins.

...now that we're entirely off topic. Sorry Loco!


message 44: by Ingie (last edited Mar 18, 2014 12:02PM) (new) - added it

Ingie Anna (Bananas!) wrote: "There's a book!This is Blythe by Gina Garan.."

I'll look more ... I love the cute doll I have. Stylish coat, too. LoL!


Anna (Bananas) Oh cool, you actually have one? I'm jealous.


message 46: by Anna (Bananas) (last edited Mar 18, 2014 12:08PM) (new) - rated it 3 stars

Anna (Bananas) Where'd you find it? They're probably on ebay. If I remember correctly they were made in the 60s or 70s.


message 47: by Anne (new) - rated it 4 stars

Anne Since here seems to be the right place for cute things...



Lo will kill me. Ha.


message 48: by Nina (new) - rated it 4 stars

Nina That is so adorable.
Just sitting here with hearts in my eyes... :D


message 49: by Anne (new) - rated it 4 stars

Anne Hehe.


Anna (Bananas) Awwwwwww


« previous 1
back to top