~IreneOust~'s Reviews > Louder Than Love

Louder Than Love by Jessica Topper
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
13784133
's review

it was amazing
bookshelves: top-ten-reads-2014, sexy-rock-star, favorite-couple-award, maximum-satisfaction


This is yet another example how one should NEVER rely on GR ratings when choosing a book ... 3.95 stars average?? For this??? While other crap 'stuff' out there rakes in 4.5 + ??? Really??? OK, to each their own but that pretty much proves my point.

I know it's only January 22nd but this is the first book to land on my "TOP TEN READS OF 2014" shelf, folks! Yep, it's that good! I know it's only my opinion but this is my review and I'll praise if I want to!

I am not going to recap the plot because there is no point in doing so - you have either read the book so you know what it's about or you are about to read it so there is no need to spoil it for you. What I am going to do is list my likes and dislikes so here goes ...

What I LOVED :

☠ The writing.

Jessica Topper, you've got a fan for life! You know how the characters in this book play TOD and one of the questions is “If you could choose anyone, living or dead, to meet and have lunch with, who would you choose and why?”? If that question was directed at me, my answer would be "Jessica Topper". Because I would love to pick your brain about who/what inspired the characters/events in this book and I would LOVE to know if there are more projects to come from you in a near future!

☠ Abbey with an E.

I don't think there is a child character that's been written to date that can top Abbey's cuteness. I am in love with her and that's all there is to it!

☠ Kat's friends.

I love how nobody was perfect. From body to relationship issues, thanks for keeping it real, Jessica!

☠ Grant.

Because every book needs a douchebag and he made a perfect one!

☠ Kev.

One of my favorite parts in this book was him meeting Adrian.

☠ Music references.

As a child of the 80s, I LOVED [and could relate to] that!

☠ The story.

Perfection! From start to finish. I loved how we got to know each character so well, how we hurt with them, laughed with them and even loved with them ... did anyone else get goose bumps at the scene near the end when Adrian (view spoiler)

☠ Pete.

I loved how he was integrated to be a part of this story.

And last but certainly not least ...

☠ Adrian & Kat

These two went straight onto my "favorite couple award" shelf. Flawed yet perfect in every way duo!


Things that didn't quite work for me :

 photo blinkingcursor_zpsf906126e.gif


Final thoughts : if you are looking for a book that is fast paced sex, drugs and rock'n'roll type of story, you may want to avoid this one. However, if you are in the mood for a well written story about love, friendship, second chances and starting over, give this one a shot! I promise you won't regret it!


Cheerio!!

 photo LouderThanLoveCollage_zpsykeiq4rb.jpg




January 19, 2014


Thanks to Mo's & Lkay's awesome reviews of this title, we are Buddy Reading it in HERE starting Monday, January 20, 2014 as part of Canary Room 101 'member's choice' Challenge Buddy Read.


Till Monday, my friends ...

 photo loverocknroll_zpsb33f51f6.gif

71 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Louder Than Love.
Sign In »

Quotes ~IreneOust~ Liked

Jessica Topper
“I guess I'm not a very spiritual person. I don't think things always 'happen for a reason,' everything must be 'God's way,' or (and this is one of Karen's favorites) 'He only gives you what you can handle.' I simply believe, and I'm sorry to sound crude about it, that shit happens. Period.

Sometimes you are the pigeon.
Sometimes you are the statue.”
Jessica Topper, Louder Than Love

Jessica Topper
“I can't believe you quoted Shakespeare and the Doors in the same breath.”
Jessica Topper, Louder Than Love

Jessica Topper
“If we hurry you can make the 6:35."

"I'd rather kiss you and take the 6:55.”
Jessica Topper, Louder Than Love

Jessica Topper
“You are the best thing to happen to me, bar none. You, Abbey...all of this. You both walked into my life and...I never knew what I wanted until you did.”
Jessica Topper, Louder Than Love

Jessica Topper
“You've got this...this love-no, it's louder than love. It's passion and beauty built up inside you that deserves to burst out.”
Jessica Topper, Louder Than Love

Jessica Topper
“I have never loved like I love you. You've got to know this. My silly drunk girl.”
Jessica Topper, Louder Than Love

Jessica Topper
“The pure rapture was apparent, although there were glimmers of what could only be described as an exorcism. He was simultaneously reaching for something yet trying to rid himself of it at the same time as he ran through a smooth and fast legato.”
Jessica Topper, Louder Than Love


Reading Progress

August 8, 2013 – Shelved
January 19, 2014 – Started Reading
January 19, 2014 –
1.0% "Getting ready to dive into this one with my C.D. Canaries ...\n \n  photo divinginrocknroll_zpsdd01b56b.gif"
January 21, 2014 –
55.0% "I can't put this down! I didn't even go into work today because I want to finish it ... and because it's bloody cold out there!"
January 21, 2014 –
75.0% "Grant (and Jake),\n \n  photo youareadouchebag_zpsee3b2fd1.gif"
January 21, 2014 –
100.0% " photo excellent_zpse35b8bb3.gif"
January 22, 2014 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-42 of 42 (42 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ Yay! Enjoy Irene!


Ⓐlleskelle - teamSøren♗ ⊲I like big b00ks⊳ Enjoy your BR! This one can't go wrong!


~IreneOust~ Thank you, ladies! Really loving this one :)


Iryna Stalked you guys in CR 101. So much fun to read the thread!!! Irene, you are like a bee queen of the BR. And your interview... Tony & Eric are at your feet lol... Enjoy!


~IreneOust~ Thank you, Iryna :) You are too kind!!!! I hope everyone is enjoying this read as much as I am because I am loving it. Truly. I needed something like this ... a nice heartwarming story with happy and sad tears, cheeky humour, great MCs and a fabulous supporting cast!


Carol (StarAngel's Reviews) Allen Fantastic review Irene!! You have me intrigued now on whether to add! xo


Brandi Great review, Irene! I am bumping this one up :)


Lisa *-* GiViNg It To YoU * LoCk StOcK & TwO SmOkiNg BaRrELs Love this review Irene, it's already on my list to read..looks like its jumped up the queue now! lisa x


Tanja ~ T's Book ~ KT Book Reviews Perfect review. This was my pick for best book in 2013. I mean how could it not be? It has everything a good book should have and oh so much more. Love the gif too "What didn't work for you" LOL! Perfection Irene, simple perfection!


message 10: by Dαɴιjα (new)

Dαɴιjα Wonderful review, Irene!


message 11: by Mo (new) - rated it 5 stars

Mo Fabulous review, Irene. Glad you loved it.


Ⓐlleskelle - teamSøren♗ ⊲I like big b00ks⊳ Fantastic review Irene! Seriously, well done, this book deserve praises, LMAO on the "Things that didn't quite work for me :" gif!
Perfection, both the book and your review.


TeriLyn Excellent review, Irene! Great BR!


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ Awesome review Irene! I am adding to buzz and next shelf! xoxo


message 15: by Mo (new) - rated it 5 stars

Mo I cannot see the "things" gif... darn


message 16: by Mo (new) - rated it 5 stars

Mo .. jeez now I get it - I am slow....


Ⓐlleskelle - teamSøren♗ ⊲I like big b00ks⊳ Mo - Irene's Irish minion for the month of January wrote: ".. jeez now I get it - I am slow...."

LMAO!
It's alright Mo, it happens to all of us at some point. :/


Wendy'sThoughts Irene... you NEVER fail to just take it there... you tell exactly what you are feeling and direct us to what works and what doesn't... oh yeah...everything worked... You are the master and i bow to ya.... xxxx


Perry ★TBBSisterhood Blog★ Holy shit... this sounds incredible. Just clicked "Want to Read". Stunning review, Irene!!


message 20: by Patrycja (new) - added it

Patrycja Great review x


Katy Loves Romance ❤️ Fabulous review Irene!! So glad you loved it <333


message 22: by Jennifer (new) - added it

Jennifer I LOVE THIS REVIEW, BABE!!!!! I have this but I haven't read it yet, so I'm bumping it up!


Assenette I'm sold! Love the review... this is my next!!! :)


Mirjana **DTR - Down to Read** Fantastic review lady!! I'm bumping this up!!


Claudine Fantastic review, Great BR!


message 26: by Raine (new)

Raine Added to my read list. Thanks for the review!


~IreneOust~ I just wanted to thank everyone for your kind comments! This was definitely a read woth every penny! To say I enjoyed this immensely would be an understatement.



Mo, don't worry ... we all have those days! LOL!


♥Sharon♥ Just a perfect review Irene! Love it! ❤


❥Lil Amazing review for an amazing book!


Amanda I so agree, Irene. GR ratings can be so misleading. But nonetheless, thanks to some of the rare reviews here by my GR friends that spur me to pick up this book XD


Julie If you gave it 5 stars, then I know I'll enjoy the book.


~IreneOust~ Thank you so much for your kind words, everyone! xoxo





Julie wrote: "If you gave it 5 stars, then I know I'll enjoy the book."

Julie, I hope you love it as much as I did. Long time no speak. Hope all is well :)


Trisha read this based on your review Irene and I whole heartedly agree with your 5 stars...I k ow you don't give them too freely! thanks for the recommendation sister!


~IreneOust~ Thank you, Trisha! I am so happy to hear you enjoyed this one as well! Can't wait for more books from this wonderful author!


Vallsykes ~ Irene *Mo's Bitch* ♥s ~ Søren ~ Ben O'Callahan ~ Joe Callahan ~ Javier ~ Spin ~ wrote: "one should NEVER rely on GR ratings when choosing a book ... 3.95 stars average?? For this??? While other crap 'stuff' out there rakes in 4.5 + ??? Really???"

You know, the only reasons I can think that Louder Than Love has a 3.96 average rating is that the plot goes a little slow and steam is at a minimum, but if it that's it, then I can only assume the masses just love smutty-craptastic, below par, shallow writing more than complexity of element and craft. This author showed some literary chops, IMO. LOL, I couldn't consciously go below 4 stars for this storytelling. I did get miffed at the pace and (view spoiler) but still it was great character building on the author's part.

Great review, Irene.


Lizbeth Great review! Read this yesterday - Awesome freakin' book! Loved every single page.


message 38: by [deleted user] (new)

Awesome! review hun.


Karen WoooHOOOO!!!! Best review ever!!!! Totally agree!!!!


Deanna❤Pink Lady❤️ I can't wait to read this- Fantastic Review my friend!!! xoxo-


Jo Ann Great review and love your pictures of Kat, Adrian and Abbey - perfect! Once again you have led me to a fanfuckingtastic book!!


~IreneOust~ You guys ... thank you!! One of my favorite books ... EVAH!!! TY all so much! For those of you who are going to read, I hope you love it as much as I did if/when you do read it and for those of you who read it ... YAY! for loving it!! Jessica Topper is a wonderful storyteller!


back to top