Brenna's Reviews > The Tied Man

The Tied Man by Tabitha McGowan
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
12928663
's review

it was amazing
bookshelves: dark, ugly-cry, favorites, captive, top-top-fave, feeeeels

This book… this effing book. Wow!

It feels so strange to say I loved it or enjoyed it because the subject matter it deals with is really extreme, dark, and sad. But I did, I was blown away by how good this book is!

Lilith Bresson is a very successful artist. The richest and most powerful people in the world covet her work. The thing is, Lilith Bresson doesn’t do anything she doesn’t want to do. She is a no-nonsense, blunt to a fault realist. I instantly loved her! Her past has been somewhat shady, with a POS father and a prostitute for a mother, but there is one person she would do anything for. When her father tells her that Blaine Albermarle wants her to paint a portrait, Lilith’s initial response is, “‘Well golly fucking gosh how terribly delightful for her. Now get out.” Until she is blackmailed with the well being of her younger brother.
Control. The one thing that shaped my life, and the one thing I felt that I was about to lose.

With her fate decided for her, she makes her way to Albermarle Hall. A place where some of the most depraved, disturbing, and sick fantasies can be made a reality… with the right price of course. There are no electronics of any kind allowed on the island, all for the sake of the “experience.” Being the extremely perceptive person that she is, it doesn’t take long for Lilith to get that there is just something not right about Blaine and Albermarle Hall.
With a shiver that I hoped was more to do with the chill of the morning, I realized it would also be one hell of a place to try to leave.
Soon Lilith meets Finn, Blaine’s “companion.” He has lived at The Hall for three years and is all part of the experience that Blaine provides to her sick guests. He is basically there for them to do with as they please.
The very first time I met him, Finn Strachan stole my breath.

Lilith and Finn strike up an unlikely friendship. They are extremely open and honest with one another and given the circumstances, everything progressed at a very realistic pace. Them spending time together or being friendly at all is a huge risk, it makes it something that can be used against them.
‘Pull back, Finn. For both your sakes.’
‘I can take it.’
‘You might be able to. But can Lilith?’

I was incredibly anxious while reading this book. Just genuinely nervous for Lilith & Finn’s well being in general. There is nowhere Blaine won’t go or let someone go for her. I have never read about characters like the sadists in this book. These aren’t your sweet sadists (ha!) who have a conscience or only cause pain with consent. This is not BDSM. These are the ones who don’t stop, who have no limits, who don’t care what happens. That is what made this book so hard to read, it’s not that the acts performed are particularly shocking, they are just downright appalling and sometimes just hard to stomach because they are so gruesome. It’s degrading, demoralizing, and incredibly sad.

I cared so deeply for these characters (the good guys), that every moment of torture was hard to take. There were moments I thought that if I were in their situation, I don’t know if I’d want to live. I would understand if there spirit was completely broken. All the while though, there is this small sliver of hope. It’s not all dark and depressing and those small moments of happiness or relief were just as emotionally charged for me and those were the parts that made me cry. Then there is this cynical, dry, witty humor that just makes this even more of a win for me...

I am just in awe of how much Lilith and Finn’s story got to me. It’s a testament to how brilliant the writing is and how well developed these characters are. I whole-heartedly recommend this book to people who can handle a dark, emotional read with very detailed, disturbing subject matter. The disclaimer is legit. But if you can handle it, it’s an AMAZING book. It’s beautifully written with a storyline that not just anyone could have pulled off.
‘What did you call me?’
‘Ah. A chuisle. Gaelic. ‘My darling’. I prefer the proper translation, mind you.’
‘Which is?’ He gave a bashful smile. ‘My pulse.’
28 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Tied Man.
Sign In »

Quotes Brenna Liked

Tabitha McGowan
“She wore a cantilevered, augmented-breast-skimming satin dress the colour of egg-yolk. Somewhere in deepest Nebraska, a prom queen two sizes smaller than Selena was wondering where the fuck her outfit had disappeared to.”
Tabitha McGowan, The Tied Man

Tabitha McGowan
“I didn’t know what the hell to say to that. I just gave an ungrateful sigh of exasperation and pulled the sweater over my head.
‘It’s just your colour,’ Henry enthused.
‘And you can fuck right off,’ I said.”
Tabitha McGowan, The Tied Man

Tabitha McGowan
“Oh, Jesus Christ on a fuckin’ pushbike.”
Tabitha McGowan, The Tied Man

Tabitha McGowan
“God, I’ve just figured out what’s missing – you ditched the hallowed Albermarle Teddy Bear!’

I nodded.   ‘Banished to a dark cupboard for all eternity.’

‘You cold-hearted bastard.’

‘Give me a hot water bottle any day.   At least they have some appreciable function.   Not like that pathetic pile of overpriced fake fur and anthropomorphic bullshit I locked in the wardrobe.’

‘You have serious teddy bear issues.”
Tabitha McGowan, The Tied Man

Tabitha McGowan
“The momentary discomfort was nothing at all compared to the realisation that she was finding refuge in my flawed embrace.”
Tabitha McGowan, The Tied Man

Tabitha McGowan
“It was the first time I had ever felt guilt at finding a man attractive.”
Tabitha McGowan, The Tied Man


Reading Progress

July 19, 2013 – Shelved
July 19, 2013 – Shelved as: to-read
August 9, 2013 –
0.0% "Please, please, pleeeeaaassse let me stay awake long enough to read this!"
August 10, 2013 – Started Reading
August 10, 2013 –
3.0% "Initial thoughts... Lilith is pretty fucking awesome. I'm loving the writing style. High hopes for my bad book funk cure :)"
August 10, 2013 –
7.0% "LMAO! I've been reading books with the best airplane scenes lately..."
August 16, 2013 –
15.0% "My anxiety is at an all-time high from NO reading time in a whole WEEK. But, it's HAPPENING! I hope I can remember how since it's been so effing long. Sheesh."
August 18, 2013 –
43.0% "*gag*"
August 18, 2013 –
53.0% "What the... ?!?!?!?! These people are totally and completely fucked up in the head!!!"
August 18, 2013 –
83.0% "This book is going to give me an anxiety attack!"
August 18, 2013 – Finished Reading
August 19, 2013 –
100.0% "Holy shit. That was intense. Overwhelming. Heartbreaking. Amazing. Fucked up. I'm exhausted."
August 26, 2013 – Shelved as: dark
August 26, 2013 – Shelved as: ugly-cry
August 26, 2013 – Shelved as: favorites
August 26, 2013 – Shelved as: captive
August 26, 2013 – Shelved as: top-top-fave
December 16, 2013 – Shelved as: feeeeels

Comments Showing 1-50 of 51 (51 new)


message 1: by [deleted user] (new)

Oh man. I don't think you'll have any trouble with this book... intense!


Brenna Intense! Woot! Just what I want right now :)


message 3: by [deleted user] (new)

ツ Then you're all set. haha


Brenna Apparently I'm back to my old ways and needed to wait until midnight to start. Here I go! Eeep!


message 5: by Amanda (new)

Amanda i heard this is hard to stomach. let me know later whether the sexual abuse in Beneath the Burn or this is worst.


Brenna I'll keep you posted. I have only barely been introduced to that and more just the knowledge that its happening, not so much experiencing it yet if that makes sense. I am DYING to make some progress in this, I've just had NO reading time and might not for a couple days :(


message 7: by Amanda (new)

Amanda Brenna wrote: "I'll keep you posted. I have only barely been introduced to that and more just the knowledge that its happening, not so much experiencing it yet if that makes sense. I am DYING to make some progres..."

what a bummer, brenna. i shall be stalking u nonetheless for any updates :D


Brenna Yay, I love being stalked! :P I could fit in a little here and there, but I would rather wait til I can atleast get a big chunk in. Hopefully tomorrow! *fingers crossed*


message 9: by Jen (new) - added it

Jen Fantastic review Brenna!!! Have a super week hon!!!


message 10: by Amanda (new)

Amanda hey, your review is finally up. this sounds amazing. I so torn between dying to and scare to pick this up. *brace self*


Brenna Jen wrote: "Fantastic review Brenna!!! Have a super week hon!!!"
Thanks Jen! You too! ♥


message 12: by Brenna (last edited Aug 27, 2013 12:31AM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Brenna Amanda wrote: "hey, your review is finally up. this sounds amazing. I so torn between dying to and scare to pick this up. *brace self*"

FINALLY is right! I've been so busy, plus I needed a minute (a week) to let this soak in.. lol

You should give it a try! It's so amazing. I think you would love it, just be prepared.


message 13: by Ash Wednesday (last edited Aug 27, 2013 12:12AM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Ash Wednesday Sweet Sadism will be the title of my avant-garde debut album comprised of caterwauling, keening and just generally being an auditory pain :D


Brenna LMAO! Can I pre-order?


Ash Wednesday I'll give you a signed copy :)


message 16: by Nila (new) - added it

Nila Isn't this just the most almighty, amazing, awesome book! So glad you gave it such a great review. (Author says the sequel will be out after holidays, AND she promises a happy ending!)


Brenna Ash Wednesday wrote: "I'll give you a signed copy :)"

I heard that! I got those connect-iooooons! *this sounds better in my head, singing* ;)


message 18: by Brenna (last edited Aug 27, 2013 12:31AM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Brenna Nila wrote: "Isn't this just the most almighty, amazing, awesome book! So glad you gave it such a great review. (Author says the sequel will be out after holidays, AND she promises a happy ending!)"

Yes, this totally exceeded my expectations! I'm actually nervous about the sequel. I love them so much, so I'm greedy and want more. It's just going to be so different! I'm cautiously optimistic... ;)


Debra Awesome review, Brenna!! Loved this one!! Glad you enjoyed it too :-)


Brenna Thanks Debra! xo


message 21: by Joana (new) - added it

Joana Amazing review Brenna :D
You made me even more interested in reading this one ^^


Lise *friends don't flag* Effing wow review, Brenna!


message 23: by AJ (new) - rated it 5 stars

AJ Love your review, love this book, love you! It's all awesome! :)


Brenna Joana ♥Team Dex ♥ wrote: "Amazing review Brenna :D
You made me even more interested in reading this one ^^"


Oh yay! I hope you do! Thanks Joana :)


[~Ami~]♥Sexy Dexy♥ Love the review Brenna. This was a hard to read book but I loved it too x


Brenna Lise *friends don't flag* wrote: "Effing wow review, Brenna!"

Hehehe - love you Lise! Thanks! ;)


Brenna AJ wrote: "Love your review, love this book, love you! It's all awesome! :)"

Ditto, ditto, ditto! ♥ #lovefest


Brenna [RR~Ami] Romance~Readoholic wrote: "Love the review Brenna. This was a hard to read book but I loved it too x"

Thanks Ami! It was hard to read, but in a good way (if that makes sense). I never wanted to stop. I think that's one of the main reasons I'm so impressed with it!


Steph Amazing review!
It seems crazy to say, but I loved it too. LOL


Brenna That's cuz we're all a little nuts! :P thanks Steph!


Steph Hahaha. ;)


message 32: by Kim (new) - added it

Kim  *Mo Chridhe* This sounds like torture porn =\


Brenna I don't even know how to respond to that. lol :/ Cuz it's not a ton of sex, but there is torture. The story and the characters and everything in general are just amazing. There are light moments in there too and humor, I promise. Try it, Kim! Pretty please!?!?


message 34: by Kim (new) - added it

Kim  *Mo Chridhe* I dunno... (view spoiler) But I'll get to this one day. Ash has been breathing down my neck about this too. I just need to recover from my last book-heartbreak. And I haven't even started Shooting Scars yet *facepalm*


message 35: by Ash Wednesday (last edited Aug 27, 2013 05:56AM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Ash Wednesday I don't breath on people's necks to read this book, right Brenna? :p
But yes there was a point I felt it was on the brink of torture porn. But the writing made up for it for me. It's not the run of the mill erotica.


message 36: by Brenna (last edited Aug 27, 2013 05:55AM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Brenna Yeah, I understand. I'm glad Ash breathed down my neck, though! :P (view spoiler) It definitely is a hard read that you need to be prepared for, but it is well worth it in my opinion. :)


Christy Great review babe! LOVE this book, and the new cover is amazing!!!!


message 38: by Kim (new) - added it

Kim  *Mo Chridhe* Ash Wednesday wrote: "I don't breath on people's necks to read this book, right Brenna? :p
But yes there was a point I felt it was on the brink of torture porn. But the writing made up for it for me. It's not the run of..."


*snort* Right.

I AM interested, just scared beyond my wits. Same reason why I haven't read Forbidden yet =|


message 39: by Kim (new) - added it

Kim  *Mo Chridhe* Brenna wrote: "Yeah, I understand. I'm glad Ash breathed down my neck, though! :P [spoilers removed] It definitely is a hard read that you need to be prepared for, but it is well worth it in my opinion. :)"

That spoiler actually made me feel better, because at least (view spoiler) I'll read this soon :) And great review, btw!


Jennifer Great review, Brenna!


Brenna Christy wrote: "Great review babe! LOVE this book, and the new cover is amazing!!!!"

Thanks Christy! I like this cover better too, even though I imagine Finn looking way for fragile, ya know?


Brenna Kim wrote: "Brenna wrote: "Yeah, I understand. I'm glad Ash breathed down my neck, though! :P [spoilers removed] It definitely is a hard read that you need to be prepared for, but it is well worth it in my op..."

Yeah, I thought that might. It's not like he was kidnapped. It's a different kind of captive for sure. Thanks Kim! ♥


Brenna Jennifer wrote: "Great review, Brenna!"

Thanks Jennifer! :)


Amber Rose Great review, Brenna. This has been on my top list for EVER it seems like. But, I have a couple of books to read first before I finally pick it up. Can't wait. :)


Brenna Lisa wrote: "Awesome review!"

Thanks Lisa! :)


Brenna Amber's Reading Room wrote: "Great review, Brenna. This has been on my top list for EVER it seems like. But, I have a couple of books to read first before I finally pick it up. Can't wait. :)"

I think you'll really like this one, Amber! Can't wait to hear what you think :) Thanks!


Karen Great review Brenna, I need to read this!!!


Brenna Yes you do, Karen! Do it, do it! & thanks! :)


Brenna Vilda wrote: "Awesome review, Brenna! I need to pick this up soon, I couldn't help but buy a copy. ;)"

Oh yeah! I'm so glad you got it. Can't wait to see what you think. Thanks!


message 50: by Tabitha (new)

Tabitha McGowan Have I said I really love this review? Cos I *really* do! Thank you! :D


« previous 1
back to top