Julio Genao's Reviews > The Foxhole Court

The Foxhole Court by Nora Sakavic
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
3977017
's review

did not like it
bookshelves: bantha-poodoo
Recommended for: people who want to read a book like Gossip Girl but with more Y chromosomes and extra punching.

the book of no.

description

no, (view spoiler)

no, the NCAA would never permit (view spoiler)

no, (view spoiler)

no, you don't go from (view spoiler)

no, marginally post-pubescent children wouldn't be able to (view spoiler)—and who does that, anyway?

no, the human body cannot be reduced to (view spoiler) with (view spoiler) and (view spoiler), not even if it (view spoiler)

no, you probably can't (view spoiler)

no, there is no team sport on earth that can be competently played if (view spoiler)—baseball and the 1979 yankees notwithstanding.

no, you can't shake off the effects of a (view spoiler)

no, (view spoiler)

no, it is not possible to (view spoiler)—and who seriously fucking does that, ever, anywhere, anyway?

no, you can't really (view spoiler)

no, you probably can't make this big melodramatic speech with your (view spoiler)

no, one does not simply walk into mordor.

no.

okay?

just—no.




(view spoiler)
964 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Foxhole Court.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

July 18, 2013 – Shelved
July 18, 2013 – Shelved as: to-read
September 10, 2013 – Started Reading
September 10, 2013 –
10.0% "Lots of yummy subtext so far, but you'll forgive me for being annoyed at the idea of a made-up sport that can go from obscure backyard experiment to NCAA franchisee in the span of a single generation—replete with rabid fans upset about a free agency scandal.\n \n Pro hockey is about 89 years old and I still have to beg my friends to give a flying fuck when my team loses a tough game against an 89-year-old rival."
September 11, 2013 –
28.0% "Andrew is a little melodramatic. But don't tell him I said so cuz HE WILL CUT ME"
September 11, 2013 –
36.0% "Jesus. Poor Neil :-("
September 11, 2013 –
54.0% "Everything is a big ol' scene. NOW WE FIGHT (again)"
September 11, 2013 –
59.0% "“Andrew wasn't smiling anymore, but Neil was. He felt it as it curved across his lips and knew it was a sick, ghastly expression. He dug his fingernails into his mouth, trying to claw the look off his face, but it was frozen in place.”\n \n [i hate when that happens.]"
September 11, 2013 –
59.0% "“Andrew wasn't smiling anymore, but Neil was. He felt it as it curved across his lips and knew it was a sick, ghastly expression. He dug his fingernails into his mouth, trying to claw the look off his face, but it was frozen in place.”\n \n [your mother told you it would stick—but did you listen? no.]"
September 11, 2013 –
59.0% "“Andrew wasn't smiling anymore, but Neil was. He felt it as it curved across his lips and knew it was a sick, ghastly expression. He dug his fingernails into his mouth, trying to claw the look off his face, but it was frozen in place.”\n \n [PUT A LIL' WINDEX ON IT.]"
November 18, 2013 – Finished Reading
December 7, 2014 – Shelved as: bantha-poodoo

Comments Showing 1-50 of 203 (203 new)


message 1: by Richard (new) - added it

Richard Derus ...and who does that, anyway?

I would have.


message 2: by Sandra (new) - added it

Sandra Oh, Julio, my sweet prince. Your reviews never fail to make me snicker. <3

Ohai, Richard!


message 3: by Julio (last edited Sep 11, 2013 02:28PM) (new) - rated it 1 star

Julio Genao Richard wrote: "...and who does that, anyway?

I would have."


you're a traditionalist. these kids today have no style.


Ije the Devourer of Books I like the bit about Mordor. I like the way you used no. This review is going to stay with me for longer than many books have. :)


Julio Genao Sandra wrote: "Oh, Julio, my sweet prince. Your reviews never fail to make me snicker.

well, that makes one of us having fun with these shitty books.


Julio Genao Melissa *Pervy Kitten* wrote: "LMAO. Great review!! <3"

thanks. i left it all out on the court.


Julio Genao Ije the TweetAway Queen wrote: "I like the bit about Mordor. I like the way you used no. This review is going to stay with me for longer than many books have. :)"

thank you. i feel like i'm really on top of my game right now.


message 8: by Sandra (new) - added it

Sandra julio wrote: "Sandra wrote: "Oh, Julio, my sweet prince. Your reviews never fail to make me snicker.

well, that makes one of us having fun with these shitty books."


You shall not pass die while reading a shitty book. Quit reading shitty books, man.


message 9: by Richard (new) - added it

Richard Derus Traditionalists would've abandoned the old ogre on an ice floe. Those being in short supply in Austin, I had to do the next best thing.

Hey Sandra! *smooch*


message 10: by Eve (new)

Eve Great review. I like the individual spoilers - they're like opening little gifts. :)


message 11: by Julio (new) - rated it 1 star

Julio Genao Sandra wrote: "You shall not pass die while reading a shitty book. Quit reading shitty books, man..."

i know, coach. i know if i keep working hard i'll find my A game


message 12: by Sandra (new) - added it

Sandra Eve wrote: "Great review. I like the individual spoilers - they're like opening little gifts. :)"

MTE. Each one filled me with anticipation. So fun!


message 13: by Richard (new) - added it

Richard Derus julio wrote: "Sandra wrote: "You shall not pass die while reading a shitty book. Quit reading shitty books, man..."

i know, coach. i know if i keep working hard i'll find my A game"


I feel too crappy to hit the joke about hittin' on your A and the one about workin' it hard is too lame.


message 14: by Vanessa (new)

Vanessa North Oh, man, you need a good read, bad. But this made me laugh so, so hard.


message 15: by Julio (new) - rated it 1 star

Julio Genao Eve wrote: "Great review. I like the individual spoilers - they're like opening little gifts. :)"

cheers, thanks. but at the end of the day i do it for the fans. this team has the best fans in the world.


message 16: by Julio (last edited Sep 11, 2013 02:36PM) (new) - rated it 1 star

Julio Genao Vanessa wrote: "Oh, man, you need a good read, bad. But this made me laugh so, so hard."

thanks. it's humbling when the crowd's chanting your name and you feel like they're out there on the court with you. i don't wanna let this team or this city down.


Ije the Devourer of Books Your review reminds me of the chorus to the pop song 'No limits'.

Start at 0.55 :)

www.youtube.com/watch?v=oKnwHAGXvlE


message 18: by Julio (new) - rated it 1 star

Julio Genao that's what the stadium PA guys like to play when our team's warming up on the court


Ije the Devourer of Books Your review also deserves an appropriate smiley

Funny Ghost Says NO


Great review


message 20: by Karen (new) - added it

Karen Forget the book, it could not possibly compete with your review, even my hubby was laughing and he usually rolls his eyes at me when I read him this kind of stuff. Thanks for the mealtime entertainment Joolz, as always you are priceless!


message 21: by Tamara (new)

Tamara Quit making me want to read shitty books.
And thanks for making me laugh!


message 22: by Julio (new) - rated it 1 star

Julio Genao Ije the TweetAway Queen wrote: "Your review also deserves an appropriate smiley

Great review"


it was a team effort


message 23: by Julio (new) - rated it 1 star

Julio Genao Karen wrote: "Forget the book, it could not possibly compete with your review, even my hubby was laughing and he usually rolls his eyes at me when I read him this kind of stuff. Thanks for the mealtime entertainment..."

thanks. i feel like if we keep playing in sync like this we can really move up in the standings.


message 24: by Julio (new) - rated it 1 star

Julio Genao NannyOgg wrote: "Quit making me want to read shitty books.
And thanks for making me laugh!"


at the end of the day it's about the love of the game, and i'm glad when the fans can see that.


message 25: by Fangtasia (new) - added it

Fangtasia Can we add quotes from reviews to GR? Like they do from books, I mean.

"no, the NCAA would never permit a psychotic player to don a school uniform on the condition he be stoned out of his mind on antipsychotics the entire time." - Julio-Alexi Genao


message 26: by Julio (new) - rated it 1 star

Julio Genao dunno. have to take that up with the league


message 27: by Richard (new) - added it

Richard Derus I do love three fingers of Dewar's.


message 28: by Deeze (new)

Deeze I'm tempted to ask you to review A Red-Tainted Silence. Just to see this kind of review again lol. Of course you might love it


Vivian Yeah...seriously, gasoline does not burn that hot.


message 30: by Julio (new) - rated it 1 star

Julio Genao Deeze wrote: "I'm tempted to ask you to review A Red-Tainted Silence. Just to see this kind of review again lol. Of course you might love it "

if i do it's because i put god first and sport second


message 31: by Julio (new) - rated it 1 star

Julio Genao Vivian wrote: "Yeah...seriously, gasoline does not burn that hot."

nothing burns as hot as my will to win


message 32: by Deeze (new)

Deeze julio wrote: "Deeze wrote: "I'm tempted to ask you to review A Red-Tainted Silence. Just to see this kind of review again lol. Of course you might love it "

if i do it's because i put god first and sport second"


I take it that's a no then? lol


message 33: by Julio (new) - rated it 1 star

Julio Genao anything can happen in this game


message 34: by Erika (new)

Erika Lol love it! Thanks for reading crappy books so I don't have to. ;)


message 35: by Vio (new) - added it

Vio Fab review, Julio.


message 36: by Julio (new) - rated it 1 star

Julio Genao Erika wrote: "Lol love it! Thanks for reading crappy books so I don't have to. ;)"

Sometimes you have to just take one for the team


message 37: by Julio (new) - rated it 1 star

Julio Genao Vio wrote: "Fab review, Julio."

Thanks. But with such great teammates it's like I just have to set up in front of the net and wait for the pass.


message 38: by Debra (new) - added it

Debra Thanks for the great review! It's been sitting on my Kindle but won't be wasting my time now.


message 39: by Julio (new) - rated it 1 star

Julio Genao Teammates gotta look out for one another


message 40: by Tara (new) - added it

Tara Spears Uh-oh... I have the same problem seeing the realism in books. It is a book but things so wrong you know the writer did zero research sets me off. And since I am a researcher of abnormal extreme, this is probably something I would be screaming at. Thanks for the review Julio!


message 41: by Julio (new) - rated it 1 star

Julio Genao Thanks, but there is no "I" in team.


message 42: by Tara (new) - added it

Tara Spears Um... I forgot to mention that a few antipsychotics can make some people high when mixed together or with alcohol. But I actually know which ones, and the high is very short lived (did I mention dangerous too?), then you are comatose for several hours.


message 43: by Richard (new) - added it

Richard Derus I think thorazine is one.


message 44: by Julio (new) - rated it 1 star

Julio Genao thanks


message 45: by Tara (new) - added it

Tara Spears Richard wins! Thanks for playing... Yes, Thorazine mixed with Buspar will give you a pretty decent LSD type high.


message 46: by Tara (new) - added it

Tara Spears julio wrote: "Thanks, but there is no "I" in team."

No, there is no "I" in team. It wouldn't be a team, would it.


message 47: by Julio (new) - rated it 1 star

Julio Genao If we're gonna get to the playoffs we gotta stick together


message 48: by Sandra (new) - added it

Sandra julio wrote: "Thanks, but there is no "I" in team."

There is however and M and an E. ;)

Your responses today are making me snicker, jsyk.


message 49: by Julio (last edited Sep 12, 2013 06:25PM) (new) - rated it 1 star

Julio Genao coach always told me if i put my mind to it i could accomplish anything

well

anything except returning from my torn ACL in time for the playoffs last year.


message 50: by mark (new)

mark monday clever review. clever julio!


« previous 1 3 4 5
back to top