Baba 's Reviews > Veiled Innocence

Veiled Innocence by Ella Frank
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
4669232
's review
Jul 18, 2013

really liked it
bookshelves: arc-by-author, student-teacher-romance, older-hero-younger-heroine, books-kelly-and-baba-liked-or-loved
Recommended for: lovers of student/teacher stories and all fans of Ella Frank

3.5 stars. Review posted April 3, 2014

 photo oie_BWi6QbbQX1bU_zpsd0a54350.gif

 photo oie_BVaG4WADb3xF_zps13f02e50.gif

 photo oie_66WO7TD35mKI_zps5318f88d.gif

Tick, tick, tock. Fate took its course when 18-year-old Addison Lancaster arrived late at school on the first day of her senior year and came face to face with her new world history teacher, 32-year-old Mr. McKendrick.

 photo oie_R2HjOIn8FCaw_zps033cf7b1.gif

Due to personal reasons, Mr. McKendrick (sorry, no first name because that would be a spoiler) decided to come back to Denver. Yet he wasn’t prepared for what he would be ‘finding’ there.

My thoughts
When you have read an author’s entire backlist then you’re compelled to choose a favorite. Also, an important point in reviewing books is being honest. I do give Ella plenty of credit for always writing different stories as well as different characters. One thing’s for sure, she switches effortlessly from a fun and light plot to something much more wistful and gloomy. Long story short, I enjoyed Veiled Innocence but it isn’t my favorite book by Ella Frank. Besides, it didn’t hit the originality, the painful intensity, the staggering beauty and the mind-blowing steam level of Blind Obsession. Thus it’s obvious which book of hers is my favorite. I tend to ruminate a lot when I don’t fall for the characters, especially when the book has been written by one of my favorite authors.

I distinctly remember when more than a few of my classmates and I were swooning over our best-looking teachers. However, in light of Addison’s actions, none of us would have taken the next step and hit on any of them in such a brazen and unapologetically candid manner. I also find myself pondering as to why I’m such a sucker for student/teacher stories. Let’s face it, we all know that on a moral and ethical level this is so very wrong, and yet I can’t resist feeling irresistibly drawn to this kind of trope over and over again. What I feel opposed to in real life works quite fine in my fictional world. Not always, though (no kidnapping, human-trafficking and slavery and rape stories for Baba). No matter how I look at it, a little something was missing here but I hope you'll find it. What I couldn't seem to see or feel might as well be within touching distance for you.

Veiled Innocence is told from Addison and Mr. McKendrick’s POVs and switches between past and present events. I’m actually not a fan of timeframe hopping. Despite the many shifts, however, the plot flowed smoothly and didn’t detract from my enjoyment of the story.

Addison is brazen and ruthless and I sure as heck can’t accuse her of not going after what she wants. Plus, she’s burdened by lots of baggage due to her messed up background and she has to deal with mental issues. Addison is very obsessive and unveils stalker-ish tendencies. I was torn between feeling sorry for her, knowing what she went through in the past three years, and an unshakable sense of anger because she showed not one iota of will to respect boundaries. In fact, it was pretty shocking to see how easily she overstepped any and all boundaries and challenged and tempted her teacher all. The. Time. Addison played a dangerous game and I wasn’t sure if she even cared about the consequences. I can’t and won’t conceal my dislike that I felt for her. On the other hand, I must give her credit for taking the blame when the s@it hit the fan.

Despite Mr. KcKendrick being a very sexy teacher with gorgeous, long-ish hair, he didn’t quite win me over. I appreciated the fact that he scrutinized his choices numerous times and he never acted like a predatory lecher. Mr. McKendrick’s father had instilled a sense of morality in him and he was aware of his transgressions. Even though he tried pretty hard to resist Addison, ultimately temptation won over common sense. On second thought, I guess what I missed most about his personality was this all-encompassing charisma that Phillipe Tibideau, hero of Blind Obsession, exuded in spades.

 photo oie_qHWXv3dU1PSq_zps92b90825.gif

Bottom line, Veiled Innocence is an interesting and solid read and I enjoyed it. The writing is good and Ella captured the somber and gloomy atmosphere nicely. I loved the history and mythology references, and I think Ella did a great job at intertwining all those references with the plot. A few tempting smexy times (without any ick-factor) and a couple twists and turns made for another satisfying reading experience from this talented author. Ella, whatever you’ve got in store next, I’ll be ready to read it!

Recommended to lovers of student/teacher stories and all fans of Ella Frank.


All quotes approved by author.

**ARC courtesy of Ella Frank in exchange for an honest review**

100 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Veiled Innocence.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

July 18, 2013 – Shelved
July 18, 2013 – Shelved as: to-read
February 21, 2014 – Shelved as: arc-by-author
March 30, 2014 –
page 0
0.0% " photo oie_SRvGaW6GgJF9_zps3398b21f.gif\n Saying that I'm excited is a slight understatement! :))"
March 31, 2014 –
page 0
0.0% " photo 8fa7a713-6367-4696-9399-ac191716b2d8_zps34038f97.png\n I'm 27 % done: Promising beginning! Our heroine is very obsessive and tenacious! :))"
March 31, 2014 –
page 0
0.0% " photo oie_4MlZs5yclC4J_zps618d68db.gif\n I'm 40 % done: Sinning is hot..."
April 1, 2014 –
page 0
0.0% " photo oie_kQ7qdH9tkecC_zpsb9e32586.gif\n I'm 75 % done: How's it going to end?"
Started Reading
April 2, 2014 –
0.0% " photo tumblr_mkkg4uusgm1r59u5eo1_500_zps3d7dcc47.gif\n I'm 100 % done. A good read but not my personal favorite by Ella Frank."
April 2, 2014 – Shelved as: student-teacher-romance
April 2, 2014 – Shelved as: older-hero-younger-heroine
April 2, 2014 – Finished Reading
April 18, 2014 – Shelved as: books-kelly-and-baba-liked-or-loved

Comments (showing 1-50 of 104) (104 new)


message 1: by Mona (new)

Mona I always love the gifs you add to your reviews Baba. Some are extremely sexy...then you have the beautiful and sweet :))


Baba  Mona wrote: "I always love the gifs you add to your reviews Baba. Some are extremely sexy...then you have the beautiful and sweet :))"

Thanks, Mona. I especially love the first gif. :))


message 3: by Mona (new)

Mona Baba ♥♥♥ Tyler, Marcus, Dean, Tate, Dan, Ty & Hunter wrote: "Mona wrote: "I always love the gifs you add to your reviews Baba. Some are extremely sexy...then you have the beautiful and sweet :))"

Thanks, Mona. I especially love the first gif. :))"


Its awesome! Its great that you find such good gifs. Sometimes I swear I struggle to find decent ones that aren't used constantly :)


Baba  Mona wrote: "Baba ♥♥♥ Tyler, Marcus, Dean, Tate, Dan, Ty & Hunter wrote: "Mona wrote: "I always love the gifs you add to your reviews Baba. Some are extremely sexy...then you have the beautiful and sweet :))"
..."


I know what you mean. All you need is time and then a little bit of luck to find the good ones. :))


message 5: by Lisa Jayne (new)

Lisa Jayne Stunning gifs baba x


Baba  Lisa Jayne wrote: "Stunning gifs baba x"

Thanks, Lisa Jayne. :)) xxx


message 7: by Maite (new) - added it

Maite Lisa Jayne wrote: "Stunning gifs baba x"

Wow love them (gifs) add so much flair to your reviews!! Thank you.


Baba  Thanks, Maite, and you're welcome. :)


message 9: by Makhda (new) - added it

Makhda sexy review!
loved it!


Baba  It's not a review yet, Makhda, but thanks anyway. :))
Will be reading the book soon.


message 11: by Makhda (new) - added it

Makhda Lolz.I mean gifs. ;)


Baba  Lol Ok. :))


Monica **can't read fast enough** You sure know how to put gifs together to make me want to read everything that you start! :)


Baba  Monica wrote: "You sure know how to put gifs together to make me want to read everything that you start! :)"

I guess that's a nice side benefit of posting gifs. :))))


message 15: by Barbara (new) - added it

Barbara Amazing gifs, another book I want to read! x


message 16: by Maite (new) - added it

Maite Your reviews and gifs make it so much fun to read!!


Baba  Maite wrote: "Your reviews and gifs make it so much fun to read!!"

Thanks, Maite. :))


Baba  Barbara wrote: "Amazing gifs, another book I want to read! x"

Thanks, Barbara. Hope you enjoy! :) xxx


message 19: by Yaz (new) - added it

Yaz *The Reading Girl* can't wait ;)


message 20: by SheReadsALot (new)

SheReadsALot Great preview, Lady B! :D


message 21: by Kristen (new)

Kristen Wonderful review so far, Baba. Glad you enjoyed it even though it wasn't your favorite by this author. It's not always cute and dry when rate a favorite authors books. I find I don't rate them like I do other books. I rate them compared to the other books written by the author. In some ways I'm harder on my favorite authors because I expect more from them. Sad but true. :D xoxo


message 22: by Ragus (new)

Ragus I agree ... your GIFs are superb, Baba!! I love Ella Frank as well and appreciate her creativity and sensuous writing. However, does the teacher/student pairing have any ick-factor?


Iryna SO B E A U T I F U L, Baba!!! Kind of dark & dangerous...


message 24: by Fil (new) - added it

Fil Awesome review!


message 25: by Jen (new) - added it

Jen Hey Baba! I can't wait for your full review! As always, when I read your reviews, I appreciate that I am always going to get full honesty from you! So what if it wasn't your favorite..we can't love them all right?! Gorgeous gifs and quotes, I love how you take the time to do that in your reviews..You ROCK girl and I just think you are the best! Hugs♥


message 26: by Lisa (new)

Lisa Looking forward to your full review on this one, Baba! :D


message 27: by Jill (new)

Jill I've never read this author, but definitely giving this a miss....3.5 stars isn't enough to tempt me.


message 28: by ♥Rachel♥ (new)

♥Rachel♥ Great initial review, Baba! :)


Ije the Devourer of Books Fab review and great gifs too.


Christine Wallflower & Dark Romance Junkie Beautiful review Baba!!!


message 31: by Nat O (new)

Nat O Wonderful review Babs! xo


Baba  Audrey wrote: "can't wait ;)"

It's up. :)


Baba  SheReadsALot wrote: "Great preview, Lady B! :D"

Thanks, Lady S. :))


Baba  Kristen (Peddler of Smut) wrote: "Wonderful review so far, Baba. Glad you enjoyed it even though it wasn't your favorite by this author. It's not always cute and dry when rate a favorite authors books. I find I don't rate them like..."

Thanks, Kristen. You are partially right. I really give my best to treat every author's work the same way. Sure, when I read a book written by a favorite author I might have higher expectations. Still, I think it's a fair rating and a fair review. :)) xoxox


message 35: by Baba (last edited Apr 03, 2014 05:49AM) (new) - rated it 4 stars

Baba  Ragus wrote: "I agree ... your GIFs are superb, Baba!! I love Ella Frank as well and appreciate her creativity and sensuous writing. However, does the teacher/student pairing have any ick-factor?"

Thank you, Ragus. Thanks for mentioning the ick-factor. Nope, there is none at all and I took the liberty to add that nice term to my review. :))


Baba  Iryna wrote: "SO B E A U T I F U L, Baba!!! Kind of dark & dangerous..."

Thanks, Iryna. It's not "dark", just a little bit somber and gloomy. :)) xxx


Baba  Fil wrote: "Awesome review!"

Thanks, Fil. :))


Baba  Jen wrote: "Hey Baba! I can't wait for your full review! As always, when I read your reviews, I appreciate that I am always going to get full honesty from you! So what if it wasn't your favorite..we can't love..."

Thank you, Jen. You rock, too!! True that, we can't love every book from our favorite authors. Like I said it was good but IMO not outstanding. I guess we all have our personal favorites and that's just fine. Hugs & kisses

P.S. Full review is up.


Baba  Lisa wrote: "Looking forward to your full review on this one, Baba! :D"

Thanks, Lisa. :))


Baba  Jill wrote: "I've never read this author, but definitely giving this a miss....3.5 stars isn't enough to tempt me."

Frankly, I don't think you would really love this one, Jill. Like I said I think her best work to date is Blind Obsession. There (view spoiler)


Baba  ♥Rachel♥ wrote: "Great initial review, Baba! :)"

Thanks, Rachel. :))


Baba  Ije the Devourer of Books wrote: "Fab review and great gifs too."

Thanks, Ije. :))


Baba  Christine née The Dark Romance Junkie wrote: "Beautiful review Baba!!!"

Thanks, Christine. :))


message 44: by Baba (last edited Apr 03, 2014 06:42AM) (new) - rated it 4 stars

Baba  Sanaa wrote: "Wonderful review Babs! xo"

Thanks, Sanaa sweets. :)) xoxox


Baba  Bibliophilia {Søren & Kingsley Forever} wrote: "Am Happys Mr. S behaved again ;) your review makes me wanna read it all the more. So pretty with quotes and pics, yummieee xx"

Thank you, hon. I *think* you will enjoy it! :)) xoxox


message 46: by ♥Rachel♥ (new)

♥Rachel♥ And now, great final review, Baba! :)


message 47: by [deleted user] (new)

I honestly absolutely adore your reviews! Another beautiful review. :)


message 48: by Pavlina Read more sleep less blog❤❤ (last edited Apr 03, 2014 06:40AM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Pavlina Read more sleep less blog❤❤  Amazing review hon sorry it wasn't one of your fav!

I haven't started it yet!!I hope I'll like it :D


Lady Vigilante (Feifei) Superb review Baba!! Sorry this one wasn't as great as her other work! xx


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ Poignant art B! = )) And your review and they way you describe it really makes me WANT to read this story, (view spoiler)


« previous 1 3
back to top