Suzanne's Reviews > How to Make Friends and Monsters

How to Make Friends and Monsters by Ron Bates
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
2426006
's review

liked it
bookshelves: ya-kid-lit, netgalley

Would you like to go through life with the name Howard Boward? Can you imagine the grief you would get from other kids at school? They call him "How-lame" or "How-weird" and even less complimentary things. He is great at school work and he's a science genius - but he has no friends. When his mom gives him a book called How to Make Friends, Howard decides to take it literally and creates a friend for himself out in his lab. You can imagine all the problems that might cause, but Howard does learn about how to make and keep friends.

If you have ever felt invisible because you're not one of the "popular kids," or ever thought that nobody understands you and appreciates you - then you will understand Howard. This book reminded me a lot of the Origami Yoda series and the way Dwight tries to fit in at school.

I would recommend this to readers who enjoy Origami Yoda, Diary of a Wimpy Kid, and other humorous school stories about kids trying to fit in and make friends.

I read an e-book version provided by the publisher through NetGalley.
flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read How to Make Friends and Monsters.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

July 13, 2013 – Started Reading
July 13, 2013 – Shelved
July 13, 2013 –
page 102
45.54%
July 13, 2013 – Shelved as: ya-kid-lit
July 13, 2013 – Shelved as: netgalley
July 13, 2013 –
page 177
79.02%
July 13, 2013 – Finished Reading

No comments have been added yet.