Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾'s Reviews > Seize Me

Seize Me by Crystal Spears
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
5498948
DNF at 21%


Sorry, but I was done at "Prosto yebat' menya"


No one that speaks Russian should read this book....EVER. It will drive you up the wall, batshit crazy.

I love biker books, and I've been curious about this one since a GR friend told me the heroine is Russian. But at the same time I've been avoiding it because nothing bothers me more than inaccuracies in portrayals of different nationalities.

I've been skimming a few pages here and there but never got into it. Finally yesterday, I decided to give it a go and try to read it through


Here's the thing, google translate is NOT a good resource. Sometimes something that has one meaning in English, has an ENTIRELY different meaning in another language.

NONE of the Russian phrases were correct. In fact they were so far off, I didn't know whether to laugh hysterically or throw my kindle at the wall in frustration.

Here's some Russian 101
"VY": Is a polite form of address to a senior, a stranger, or anyone in formal situations

As to the phrase: "Vy skhuatili menya" (You've seized me)
I have just one question: Skhuatili za shto? (Grabbed your what?)
This phrase DOES NOT have the same meaning in Russian. Not even close. It does not directly translate and means something very different.





61 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Seize Me.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

July 11, 2013 – Shelved
July 11, 2013 – Shelved as: to-read
July 11, 2013 – Shelved as: not-for-me
July 11, 2013 – Shelved as: to-read
December 6, 2013 – Started Reading
December 6, 2013 – Shelved as: errors-galore
December 6, 2013 – Shelved as: dnf
December 6, 2013 – Shelved as: will-never-re-read
December 6, 2013 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-50 of 69 (69 new)


Victoria I don't know anything about Russian but found the authors writing style just didn't work for me at all. While I love a biker/MC book I don't think I'll read any future releases from this author. Of course, I reserve my right to change my mind if I go into a biker slump =)


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Victoria wrote: "I don't know anything about Russian but found the authors writing style just didn't work for me at all. While I love a biker/MC book I don't think I'll read any future releases from this author. Of..."

I couldn't even concentrate on the actual story after seeing all those errors. It was beyond ridiculous. I love MC books, and was going through a biker slump myself, which is why I finally gave in and tried to read it. Wasn't feeling the story much either :-/


aksana  -  4 - 8 - 15 - 16 - 23 - 42 - After reading this I think I'll never read this one :D
I was really annoyed by Last Hit and the russian phrases and terms of endearment.


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ 4815162342 - aksana wrote: "After reading this I think I'll never read this one :D
I was really annoyed by Last Hit and the russian phrases and terms of endearment."


Oh shit. I was afraid of that with Last Hit, that's why I've been putting it off. Think I'll be putting it on my 'pass' shelf now.

This book was just bad...and I mean BAD. The phrases were not only wrong, but don't even exist in the Russian language...at least not in the way she meant to use them. Gah! I'm getting pissed just thinking about it


♥ Jx PinkLady Reviews ♥ Oh dear, that's not good at all. Hope your next one is better, Lkay xxx Nicely said, btw


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ So sorry L! You explained real well and wow you speak Russian!!! = )))


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Jxxx ♥ Pink Lady ♥ wrote: "Oh dear, that's not good at all. Hope your next one is better, Lkay xxx Nicely said, btw"

That's not even touching on everything else I disliked in this book. I think it would have been a never ending rant had I done that :-/
I'm reading Knight & Stay next so I know I'm in for a winner :))


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ wrote: "So sorry L! You explained real well and wow you speak Russian!!! = )))"

Meh. It happens. Not gonna lie though, those errors drove me out of my ever loving mind.

Moving on to some sexy yumminess with Kitty French now :))


Christy Sorry it didn't work for ya hun! Better luck with your next read <3


message 11: by • Lisa • (new)

• Lisa • Aaaaw babes they can't all work !! ❤️❤️


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Christy wrote: "Sorry it didn't work for ya hun! Better luck with your next read <3"

Thank you, sweets. It happens ;)


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Lisa Jayne wrote: "Aaaaw babes they can't all work !! ❤️❤️"

No, they definitely can't. Unfortunately this one hit all my no no triggers LMAO


Nicole Sorry this didn't work for you :(


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Nicole wrote: "Sorry this didn't work for you :("

No biggie. I was curious, I read it, I'm no longer curious LMAO


Nicole haha


Mirjana **DTR - Down to Read** Damn lady....sorry this didn't work for you! I have the same issues in movies when there's any Serbian in it! I showed my sister your review and she started dying of laughter (she's minoring in Russian at the University of Iowa). Your frustrations were justifible and hopefully the author will take note......if you want to incorporate a foreign language....make sure you know what you're talking about!


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Mirjana ***Let's Sound It Out - - - Mary-On-A*** wrote: "Damn lady....sorry this didn't work for you! I have the same issues in movies when there's any Serbian in it! I showed my sister your review and she started dying of laughter (she's minoring in Rus..."

OMG! The errors in the Russian phrases were RIDICULOUS! They weren't even wrong, they flat out don't exist or mean something entirely different.

Tell your sister that the "prosto yebat' menya" was the heroine telling the hero to "just fuck her". No no no and did I mention NO!

I wanted to rip my hair out. And this is not even touching on the rest of the actual story. Gah, just GAH!


♥ Jx PinkLady Reviews ♥ Lkay ❇✾The one-click buy button addict❇✾ wrote: "Jxxx ♥ Pink Lady ♥ wrote: "Oh dear, that's not good at all. Hope your next one is better, Lkay xxx Nicely said, btw"

That's not even touching on everything else I disliked in this book. I think ..."


Yes, It's a winner, imo. Hope you love!! ♥


message 20: by Len (new) - rated it 3 stars

Len Oh hun sorry didn't work for you, on the next book


message 21: by [deleted user] (new)

I understand the feeling. I feel like that about southern characters since I'm from the south. (Mississippi to be exact) Some authors just don't get us right. Especially those who aren't from the south and never even visited. I added this one a while back and I was really looking forward to it. I still plan on giving it a go, so we'll see.


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Lisa wrote: "Sorry this one was a bust, Lkay!"

Meh, it happens :)


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Len wrote: "Oh hun sorry didn't work for you, on the next book"

It definitely did not. Between the almost juvenile dialogue and the HUGE translating mistakes, this was most certainly a DUD.


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ TORI wrote: "I understand the feeling. I feel like that about southern characters since I'm from the south. (Mississippi to be exact) Some authors just don't get us right. Especially those who aren't from the s..."

Well I hope you enjoy it more than I did when you get to it. The translating mistakes were just way too much for me. I may have tried to overlook them if the story at least interested me...but it was pretty weak. :-/


message 25: by [deleted user] (new)

We shall see.


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Cap'n Heather.....Aarrrrrrr ~Snarky Bloggers~ wrote: "

"


LMFAO! Perfect gif


~IreneOust~ This book made me want to invent this:

 photo mentalbleach_zpsda56086e.png

But till then, I settled for this:

 photo mentalbleach1_zpsd4ea2305.jpg

And I am shocked I made it farther than you! LOL!


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ ~ Irene ♥s ~ Søren ~ Ben O'Callahan ~ Joe Callahan ~ Javier ~ Manuel ~ wrote: "This book made me want to invent this:



But till then, I settled for this:



And I am shocked I made it farther than you! LOL!"


How this book managed to get 5 star reviews is just beyond me. I didn't even bother touching on the plot and the ridiculous dialogue. The wrong translations just pissed me off to no end. I'm kind of wishing for that mental bleach myself. LMAO!


message 30: by Wendy'sThoughts (new)

Wendy'sThoughts Once again... Between Irene's review and yours... i have been educated and entertained... what more could a gal who is 3/4 Russian and 1/4 English wish for... Do i speak or read Russian... no... a little Yiddish ... yup but nothing is more annoying then someone not able to write a book of a specific genre and f' it up - but then to add insult to injury... not even researching the language use for the book as that is your "Special gimmick"... Thanks for the education and fun XXXX


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Wm AddictedReader&LovingTeamO wrote: "Once again... Between Irene's review and yours... i have been educated and entertained... what more could a gal who is 3/4 Russian and 1/4 English wish for... Do i speak or read Russian... no... a ..."

I'm pretty sure that everything about this book drove me batshit. The wrong translations were just the icing on an already shit cake. They were so bad it truly was insulting


message 32: by Vallsykes (last edited Dec 20, 2013 04:48PM) (new) - rated it 1 star

Vallsykes Lkay ❇✾The one-click buy button addict❇✾ wrote: "How this book managed to get 5 star reviews is just beyond me."

Yeah, I know. Glad you some and other readers have outed it's ridiculousness like I did.

My dislike of this book is one of the reasons I didn't like Cage (Corps Security, #2) by Harper Sloan , that and the fact that I rated the first in that series only 2 stars. In that book, the hero from Seize Me (Breakneck) makes an appearance (rolling eyes) and I was like "enough already".
Honestly, I wish that some of these new self-pub, etc. writers would respect the readers a little more and not just come out any old kind of stuff.

Good review.


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Vallsykes wrote: "Lkay ❇✾The one-click buy button addict❇✾ wrote: "How this book managed to get 5 star reviews is just beyond me."

Yeah, I know. Glad you some and other readers have outed it's ridiculousness like I..."


The utter lack of research in the foreign language the author used is truly insulting. It was so wrong it was laughable. And that's not even touching on the almost juvenile dialogue and my issues with the plot itself.

I actually really enjoyed Cage, but I read that book before this one so I didn't know who Braxxon was.


message 34: by Vallsykes (last edited Dec 20, 2013 05:21PM) (new) - rated it 1 star

Vallsykes Lkay ❇✾The one-click buy button addict❇✾ wrote: "I actually really enjoyed Cage, but I read that book before this one so I didn't know who Braxxon was.
LOL, I stopped reading Cage in the middle. I remember not feeling the heroine or something and then I skimmed a bit, seeing Braxxon step up to have Cage's back and I just put it down. Anyway thanks to my Reading Challenge, I will probably finish it up and give it a review (I'll go read yours:D).

As for lack or research, unbelievable dialogue and plot discrepancies, I agree. If I were a ghost reader or received advanced copies of Seize Me or some other "flop" books out there, I would have never been asked again because I would have said "trash it and start over". Hahaha, maybe authors should consult people who are decidedly from the language and culture that they want to use in the plot and characterization.


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ Cap'n Heather.....Aarrrrrrr ~Snarky Bloggers~ wrote: "

"


LOL!


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Vallsykes wrote: "Lkay ❇✾The one-click buy button addict❇✾ wrote: "I actually really enjoyed Cage, but I read that book before this one so I didn't know who Braxxon was.
LOL, I stopped reading Cage in the middle. I..."


Oh man, you and me both. I really wish she did more research on the language. I wish I can tell you how laughable it is, but it doesn't even translate. Out of curiosity I went on google translate, since I couldn't figure out how on earth she came up with those sayings. And lo and behold, that's exactly what pops up. Funny that a direct translation doesn't always work since phrases like that don't even exist. Ugh. I'm getting pissed all over again just thinking about it


message 37: by Geri Reads (new)

Geri Reads LOL! Great review, Lkay.


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ ♥~♥Geri♥~♥HatesLoveTriangles ♥~♥ wrote: "LOL! Great review, Lkay."

Can ya tell I was just a teensy bit irritated when writing this review? LMAO


message 39: by Anna (new)

Anna oh my i couldnt get in to the book even before absurd Russian frases but this book sounds silly Russian is my first language с приветом из Москвы and if i get to this prosto yebat menya ill be laughing histericaly as well as cringing from annoyance it seems moor like parody on Russian language its like when Russians try to make remakes out of American shows in Russian reality people should wright abought what they know or do research at least


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Lian92 wrote: "oh my i couldnt get in to the book even before absurd Russian frases but this book sounds silly Russian is my first language с приветом из Москвы and if i get to this prosto yebat menya ill be laug..."

You know, a parody is a good way to describe what this was. I was between laughing hysterically and cringing in all of the 20% I was able to get through in this book. I can close my eyes at a lot, but when the heroine was screaming at the hero to just fuck her "prosto yebat' menya"...I WAS DONE.

If she researched it even a little bit, it would have been better. Considering the book itself wasn't that great to me, the horrendous translations were the straw that broke the camels back.

P.S. Moy muzh iz Moscvi :)


message 41: by Anna (new)

Anna yeah but maybe for those who dont know Russian this book would be a good idea though it seems like a recycled plot of other Biker romances and the hero is a real jerk from what i heard


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Lian92 wrote: "yeah but maybe for those who dont know Russian this book would be a good idea though it seems like a recycled plot of other Biker romances and the hero is a real jerk from what i heard"

I think that people that haven't read any other MC books like Madeline Sheehan or Joanna Wylde may like it. I wasn't big on the hero, the heroine, or the dialogue between them. I'll try the 2nd book in the series. Hopefully no Russian characters in that one


message 43: by Anna (new)

Anna um i couldnt finish Undeniable liked the begining of Unbeautifuly much better but read only the sample not so easy to download books on kindle from Moscow ill try later i think in my case MC books i generally not such a good idea the hetoes are to rough and Brutal and wouman are basicaly treated like things and its seems ago to hit and mistreat them but for other people but me your right Undeniable is defenetly better written and absurd


message 44: by Anna (new)

Anna i meant not absurd


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Well MC books are in their own category, and definitely not for everyone. I love dark and gritty, so I really enoyed Undeniable. But my favorite book in the series was Unbeautifully.

Have you read Motorcycle Man (Dream Man, #4) by Kristen Ashley ? This was my first foray into the genre. Awesome book, not as dark but still entertaining. Going off of your preferences, you may enjoy it


message 46: by Anna (new)

Anna no i havent read it but i tried Own the wind and couldnt realy get in to it the only boo that had a somewhat MC feel that i liked is Welcome to Sugartown but its more Na though the second part was rather dark and gritty and i strangly didnt find the hero a jerk even though he did some realy terrible thiings


message 47: by Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ (last edited Jan 13, 2014 12:47PM) (new) - added it

Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Lian92 wrote: "no i havent read it but i tried Own the wind and couldnt realy get in to it the only boo that had a somewhat MC feel that i liked is Welcome to Sugartown but its more Na though the second part was ..."

Own the Wind is not even close to what MM man was. Her books that are published under Forever are no where close to the quality of her self-published ones. MM was a self-pub before she re-released it with Forever. I wasn't a big fan of Own the Wind but LOVED Motorcycle Man.

Reaper's Property (Reapers MC, #1) by Joanna Wylde was also a very good one


message 48: by Anna (new)

Anna i havent read this one but read a sample i also read a sample to Reapers legasy that one i liked beter do you know if i can read MM and both Reaper books online as well as Undeniable siries


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ You should be able to. I know they're available in ebook in the US, so I'm guessing you should have them there by now too


message 50: by Anna (new)

Anna oh Lana i just now remembered that you know Russian realy silly of me anyway i didnt get far in Raze is there any Russian phrases there but Solnishko with that i can deal as long as the Author knows Solnyshko is son


« previous 1
back to top