Jen's Reviews > Barely Breathing

Barely Breathing by Rebecca Donovan
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
6049062
's review

it was amazing
bookshelves: contemporary-romance, july-reads, kindle-own

Well, I finally finished this gut wrenching, emotional tale. I have decided that I must write this review to put some amount of closure on this book before I can even attempt to begin my day. (which; by the way, it is 2pm and I am still in my jammies!!LOL) Nothing has gotten done in my house, and no one has really exsisted since I started this story! I must say that Rebecca Donovan knows how to write a story with such powerful emotion, that it is impossible not to get caught up in it. I was amazed at the accuracy of her words in regards to Emma's mother's acoholism, as well as how Emma was affected by it. I know this, as it is a situation that hits close to home for me. Acoholism has touched my life throughout my childhood and beyond, so this book hit me where it hurts more than a few times. Seeing Emma go through the guilt; thinking that by being there for her mom; she might be able to change her. The humiliation, that she went through wanting to hide her mother's behaviour, figuring that somehow it might reflect on to her. Finally, the wonderful denial that she convinced herself that it wasn't really as bad as it was, and that she herself was ok and could handle her mother. It broke my heart to see Emma go through all of this even after she finally got out of her other terrible situation with her Aunt and Uncle.

Now, all of this was bad enough. Then we get into how Emma's nightmares continued to plague her. With her feeling so isolated and alone and not being able to tell Evan or her friend Sarah any of her problems; it was bound to happen that she would turn to Jonathon-who was a partner to her pain. I am getting ahead of myself..You see, Emma's mom had this fetish with being involved with younger men. Jonathon came into the picture as Rachel's (Emma's mother)boyfriend, but slowly him and Emma became extremely close. They both battled nightmares, and they also shared traumatic pasts. You have heard of the phrase: "Bird's of a feather, flock together?" This would be what happened with Emma and Jonathon. It was inevitable I suppose; but I tell you, that situation frustrated me to know end. I know that Emma loved Evan with all of her heart; but for some reason she just couldn't seem to share her darkest hurts with him. With Jonathon, she felt he understood and there were times that I wondered if he didn't play on that a bit.

Evan was still in the picture, but barely. If there is one complaint that I have with this book, it is that Evan was hardly in it. Now that I have read the full story I can understand that this journey is taking us on a detour for a short period of time..at least..that is what I'm telling myself! (See, I can be good at denial too!!LOL) There were some heart warming scenes between Emma and Evan, and then there were some heart breaking ones. The most frustrating thing that I have gone through with these two in the last two books, is the sexual tension. OMG! I have never seen a couple go through so many interuptions that ruin their intimacy in any book..EVER! I kept thinking that poor Evan must have blue balls by now! (sorry, shame on me..that was crude!) I couldn't help thinking it though! Evan is a loyal as they come, and he truly loves Emma. I so hope they get a HEA, but at this point I truly have no idea what will happen.

This is a series that I am so glad I waited until all of the books came out. I could not imagine how upset I would have been to have to wait for the next book. The cliffhanger isn't as major as in the first one; but it still is there. There is more story to be told. I will be honest and say that I am dying to delve into the third one right away. I am a little concerned though, that once I get into it; I might need therapy in the end! These books are intense,and as hard as they are to read, there is so much truth in them. There is a lot of drama; but I can honestly say that if you have ever lived in an alcoholic home, there is always chaos to some degree. I am anxious to get started on where life is going to take Emma now. I am quite positive that where ever she goes, and what ever she does..it is not going to be a smooth ride. So, I am going to buckle up my seat belt, and get ready for one bumpy ride!
21 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Barely Breathing.
Sign In »

Quotes Jen Liked

Rebecca Donovan
“I breathed for you... I begged for you to breathe with every breath I gave to you. I kept pleading for you to breathe over and over again. And then… then you did. ~ Evan”
Rebecca Donovan, Barely Breathing


Reading Progress

July 9, 2013 – Started Reading
July 9, 2013 – Shelved
July 9, 2013 – Shelved as: contemporary-romance
July 9, 2013 – Shelved as: july-reads
July 9, 2013 – Shelved as: kindle-own
July 10, 2013 –
22.0% "I have a feeling I know what direction this is going..can't say I am liking the direction it is taking..And btw..why is Ethan hardly around??? And what the heck is wrong with Sarah??? Everything is a mystery?"
July 10, 2013 –
31.0% "Oh Emma, do not go in there..this situation is an accident waiting to happen..This is sooo not good.."
July 11, 2013 –
53.0% "Everytime Evan and Emma get interupted, I wanna throw my Kindle..And I am getting concerned about some of the decisions Emma is making.."
July 11, 2013 –
77.0% "This is killing me...Emma just has more and more piled on top of her..then she is also making stupid decisions..I am telling you, this heroine is one that NEEDS a HEA..I'm thinking it is gonna be awhile before she gets it!"
July 11, 2013 –
80.0% "Oh boy, I think I know where this is going..and it isn't in a good direction..I don't know why she keeps calling Jonathon instead of Evan..I am gonna be furious if what I think is gonna happen happens..Kindle..meet wall!!"
July 11, 2013 –
85.0% "OMG! This is totally shattering me..Quick..Kleenex...I need the Kleenex...like NOW!!"
July 11, 2013 –
94.0% ""I've spent most of my life trying to make it to a future that still hasn't happened, or avoid a past that won't let me go. I don't remember when I've ever just stopped to live in the present, to hold on to the seconds I'm in.""
July 11, 2013 –
95.0% "FINALLY!"
July 11, 2013 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-24 of 24 (24 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Sammy (new)

Sammy Loves Books I hate cliffhangers too if I don't have immediate access to the next book in the series. Glad you didn't have to wait year after year for book releases. Great review Jen.


message 2: by Kristen (new) - added it

Kristen Beautiful review, Jen. This book wouldn't work for me but I'm glad you enjoyed as much as you did. ((hugs))


message 3: by Ingie (new)

Ingie Lovely review, Jen!


message 4: by * Meli Mel * (new)

* Meli Mel * Great review, Jen! :))


message 5: by Jen (new) - rated it 5 stars

Jen Sammy wrote: "I hate cliffhangers too if I don't have immediate access to the next book in the series. Glad you didn't have to wait year after year for book releases. Great review Jen."

Thanks Sammy! Yes, I have learned the hard way too many times! Now, I almost always wait..there are a few times when I can't, especially if it is an ongoing series that I have loved for awhile! Hope you have a great weekend! I am going camping and won't be back until Sunday..I will miss all of you guys on GR!


message 6: by Jen (new) - rated it 5 stars

Jen Kristen wrote: "Beautiful review, Jen. This book wouldn't work for me but I'm glad you enjoyed as much as you did. ((hugs))"

Thank you Kristen! I totally hear you, this series would not be for everyone..and I usually prefer way more romance and sex to my books; but I became hooked from book one, and now I just have to finish! LOL


message 7: by Jen (new) - rated it 5 stars

Jen Ingela wrote: "Lovely review, Jen!"

Thank you so much Ingela! Have a wonderful weekend! I'm going camping, so I will see you again on Sunday evening! Hugs.


message 8: by Jen (new) - rated it 5 stars

Jen Meli Mel *Ty and Zane's Creeper* wrote: "Great review, Jen! :))"

Thank you Meli!! Thanks for checking out my review..I hope you have a great weekend and I will see you again on Sunday! MWAH!


message 9: by Ingie (new)

Ingie Jen wrote: "Meli Mel *Ty and Zane's Creeper* wrote: "Great review, Jen! :))"

Thank you Meli!! Thanks for checking out my review..I hope you have a great weekend and I will see you again on Sunday! MWAH!"


Have a nice weekend (in a tent?)! =)


message 10: by Baba (new)

Baba  Great review, Jen!


message 11: by Dd (new) - added it

Dd Amazing review Jen!!:))


message 12: by • Lisa • (new)

• Lisa • FANTASTIC review as always Jen B!! ❤


Blacky *Romance Addict* Fab review Jen :)


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ Wonderful review Jen! You are such a trooper!!! [hugs]


♥ Jx PinkLady Reviews ♥ Lovely review, Jen x


message 16: by Jen (new) - rated it 5 stars

Jen Ingela wrote: "Jen wrote: "Meli Mel *Ty and Zane's Creeper* wrote: "Great review, Jen! :))"

Thank you Meli!! Thanks for checking out my review..I hope you have a great weekend and I will see you again on Sunday!..."


Bahahaha!!! "In a tent?" LOL Been there done that Ingela..and my hubby and I now bought ourselves a beautiful camper trailer..(not sure what to call it but it's a house on wheels basically!) So we were camping in luxury and he even watched tv while in the wilderness..which I didn't care for; but while he was doing that, I got to read...so I wasn't complaining!!! It was peaceful and that is what mattered!


message 17: by Jen (new) - rated it 5 stars

Jen Baba ♥♥♥ Marcus, Tyler, Tate, Dan, Ty, & Hunter wrote: "Great review, Jen!"

Thanks muchly Baba!!!


message 18: by Jen (new) - rated it 5 stars

Jen Dd wrote: "Amazing review Jen!!:))"

Awww...thanks for saying that Dd!!!


message 19: by Jen (new) - rated it 5 stars

Jen Lisa Jayne wrote: "FANTASTIC review as always Jen B!! ❤"

;-) Thank you Lisa, it means a lot coming from you, as I always think highly of your reviews!


message 20: by Jen (new) - rated it 5 stars

Jen Lisa wrote: "Awesome review, Jen. I read the first book in this series quite some time ago and did not like it at all. Glad you are enjoying the series."

Thanks so much Lisa, and sorry to hear that the first one didn't float your boat!


message 21: by Jen (new) - rated it 5 stars

Jen Blacky *Mistress of Doom* wrote: "Fab review Jen :)"

Thank you so much Blacky!


message 22: by Jen (new) - rated it 5 stars

Jen SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ wrote: "Wonderful review Jen! You are such a trooper!!! [hugs]"

Sue, your so sweet and thank you for saying that! I sure am grateful to have found a friendship in you!


message 23: by Jen (new) - rated it 5 stars

Jen Jxxx ♥ Pink Lady ♥ wrote: "Lovely review, Jen x"

Thanks so much Jxxx aka "Pink Lady!!" I am bummed I didn't get to enjoy the series with you and the other Pink ladies; but maybe another time!!!


♥ Jx PinkLady Reviews ♥ Jen wrote: "Jxxx ♥ Pink Lady ♥ wrote: "Lovely review, Jen x"

Thanks so much Jxxx aka "Pink Lady!!" I am bummed I didn't get to enjoy the series with you and the other Pink ladies; but maybe another time!!!"





back to top