Luke Burrage's Reviews > The Warrior Prophet

The Warrior Prophet by R. Scott Bakker
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
2292364
's review

it was amazing
bookshelves: audio-book, recommended-by-sfbrp-listeners, reviewed-on-the-sfbrp, paper-book
Read 2 times. Last read November 23, 2009.

Second time through, and as an audiobook, I enjoyed more than the first time.

I think it's better than the first book too. However, like Empire Strikes Back and Star Wars, or even the first two Hunger Games movies, the second can only be better due to building on the first. Building on the story and characters.

Kellhus is fucking terrifying. Probably one of the best villains in any fantasy book I've read. Also, weirdly, one of the best heroes.

Full review on my podcast, SFBRP episode #269.
9 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Warrior Prophet.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

Finished Reading
August 5, 2009 – Shelved
Started Reading
November 23, 2009 –
page 79
12.66%
November 23, 2009 – Finished Reading
November 25, 2009 –
page 270
43.27%
March 4, 2015 – Shelved as: audio-book
March 4, 2015 – Shelved as: recommended-by-sfbrp-listeners
March 4, 2015 – Shelved as: reviewed-on-the-sfbrp
March 4, 2015 – Shelved as: paper-book
March 4, 2015 –
1.0% "I really enjoy the "What came before" section."
March 14, 2015 –
15.0% "This is way more hardcore "Kelhus is awesome" material upfront than I remember. I guess that will pass once the army sets off into the desert."
March 17, 2015 –
40.0% "This is really creepy. I like it."
March 23, 2015 –
55.0% ""He's not human."\n \n "Neither was Skaius.""

Comments Showing 1-1 of 1 (1 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Matt (new) - added it

Matt Uebel Kellhus. Seriously. I hope to hear more from you on this topic in the review. (I'm sure I will)

To me, the whole concept of the Dunyain is utterly fascinating, particularly when it starts involving these notions of "The Outside", the God of Gods, etc.


back to top