Tatiana's Reviews > Dragonfly in Amber

Dragonfly in Amber by Diana Gabaldon
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
2250020
's review

really liked it
bookshelves: 2009, historical
Recommended for: Outlander fans

"Drangonfly in Amber" starts with Claire coming back to 70s Scotland after the death of her husband Frank. You don't have to be a genius to realize right away that something had gone really wrong between Claire and Jamie in the 18th century. So I started the book a little sad knowing that I was surely headed for a heartbreak.

The book however soon goes back to Jamie and Claire through Claire's memories. We meet them where the 1st book left off - on the way to France to attempt to stop Charles Stuart’s plans to reclaim the throne of Scotland. Naturally, a series of adventures follows as we see our couple travel from Paris to Lallybroch to Edinburgh, etc.

Just like "Outlander," "Dragonfly in Amber" is full of adventure, curious historical facts, fascinating characters and very touching scenes of love and kinship. The passion and smuttiness of the "Outlander" are almost gone as Claire and Jamie settle into their comfortable marriage. You miss it a little in the beginning, but soon the void is filled by scenes of true companionship and marital devotion (I know, it sounds corny, but it’s not).

Although I truly enjoyed the book, I did have some concerns with it. Unlike "Outlander" written entirely from Claire's POV, this book jumps from 1st person narration to 3rd person narration in the first and last part of the book; and in the middle - a few times from Claire's to Jamie's POV. This bothered me. While I understand the need for it, I believe there is a better way to relay the story without resorting to multiple and sometimes unnecessary POVs.

The other issue I have is with the idea of time-travel itself. I wonder how Gabaldon is going to handle the issue in her future books, but I couldn't quite understand why for instance Claire would stop Jamie from killing Jack Randall to ensure the birth of her 1st husband Frank, but would readily agree to try to change the course of history knowing that the consequences of it could in theory affect the lives of millions of people, including Claire's. I am still a little puzzled by it. Plus, is Gabaldon's theory that it is impossible to change the future at all? Because so far Claire and Jamie have been unable to stop anything from happening.

In spite of these concerns, "Dragonfly in Amber" is still an engrossing read which makes you both happy and sad, heartbroken and delighted. I will definitely read "Voyager," especially because this second book in the series ends with quite a cliffhanger.

Reading challenge: #1 - D
41 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Dragonfly in Amber.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

August 2, 2009 – Shelved
September 2, 2009 – Shelved as: 2009
September 2, 2009 –
page 1
0.11%
September 4, 2009 –
page 115
12.14%
September 15, 2009 –
page 200
21.12%
September 17, 2009 –
page 250
26.4%
September 19, 2009 –
page 344
36.33%
September 19, 2009 –
page 358
37.8%
September 21, 2009 – Shelved as: historical
September 21, 2009 –
page 420
44.35%
September 22, 2009 –
page 460
48.57%
September 23, 2009 –
page 555
58.61%
September 25, 2009 –
page 650
68.64%
September 27, 2009 –
page 752
79.41%
September 27, 2009 –
page 800
84.48%
Started Reading
September 28, 2009 –
page 949
100%
September 28, 2009 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-20 of 20 (20 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Heather (new)

Heather Are you listening to this or reading it?


Tatiana I started audio, but I have a book too to mix things up


message 3: by Heather (new)

Heather Is the senior citizen reading it again? lol


Tatiana Yeah LOL.
She does Stottish accent very well though


message 5: by Heather (new)

Heather :)


message 6: by Tatiana (last edited Sep 03, 2009 01:22PM) (new) - rated it 4 stars

Tatiana As long as smut is read to me while I am at work, I can overlook the age of the narrator:)


message 7: by Heather (new)

Heather I wonder if she takes her dentures out before she gets to the good scenes?


Tatiana LMAO! Stop it!


message 9: by Heather (new)

Heather I bet that's how she gets that Scottish accent down,nothing says y'ken like squeeky gums ;)


Tatiana Blasphemy! Leave poor Jaime alone. Are you trying to kill my kilt-wearing-bronze-chest-hair buzz?


message 11: by Heather (new)

Heather I sorry. I just have this mental image of some gray haired old lady getting all hawt and bothered while reading about Jaimi in all his kilt wearing, bronze chest hair (eww by the way) glory, lol.


Tatiana You have to be there, that's all I'm saying. You weren't complaining about chest hair when I e-mailed you those hot pics BTW :)


message 13: by Heather (new)

Heather I plead the 5th, I have no idea who you are referring to ;)


message 14: by Ivy (last edited Sep 16, 2009 05:25AM) (new) - rated it 4 stars

Ivy You ladies are a trip! lol! Looking forward to your review, T. I am always up for smut--anytime, day or night! ;)


message 15: by Heather (new)

Heather Good review, but I am concerned about this time travel business, it doesn't make any sense, being with Jaimie should alter history and therefore, alter her...


Tatiana Being a sci-fi fan, I am very particular about time-travel, I need logic in it. It hasn't been a huge issue here or in Outlander, but it has to be handled in future books for sure. Otherwise it won't make sense.


message 17: by Heather (new)

Heather It seems like it is slipping. I'll be interested in hearing your thoughts about the next one. I don't like people messing up time travel either.


message 18: by Fera (new) - rated it 3 stars

Fera Flies Free when I will have a day-off I will try to read it in less than one day. I have read Harry Potter and The Goblet of Fire less than 12 hours before x)


Tatiana Fera wrote: "when I will have a day-off I will try to read it in less than one day. I have read Harry Potter and The Goblet of Fire less than 12 hours before x)"

I can't imagine doing such a thing myself. You must be a very speedy reader.


Howard Meyer This story is a well researched, fantastical tale of love and adventure. Fans of Outlander will be delighted with the reunion of the long lost lovers, finding Dragonfly in Amber the continuation of a love story that transcends time itself.


back to top