Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾'s Reviews > Midnight Lies

Midnight Lies by Ella Grace
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
5498948

"Do you want me to say that staying away from you more than a minute is painful for me? That the thought of not having you in my life tears at my soul? That just seeing your face creates a peace inside me I've never felt before? That having you in my arms is like coming home?"


If you're looking for a romantic suspense that is filled with action, mystery, steam, and will keep you on the very edge of your seat until the very last page...well, you NEED to read this series.

I really liked, but didn't LOVE the first book in this series, this book took me by complete and total surprise. While the series is based on triplet sisters, and each book has a different hero and heroine, it is not meant to be a standalone. A lot of nuances and backstory were heavily covered in the first book, and many things would be missed by skipping it.

Midnight Lies picks up somewhere right around where Midnight Secrets left off. Samantha Wilde, the popular, flirty sister and former homecoming queen took everyone by surprise when she became a homicide detective. While she is still haunted by her parents' murder suicide, it helps drive her need for justice.

When she meets and begins dating sexy emergency physician, Quinn Braddock, Samantha can't help but fall head over heals. Quinn, coming out of a terrible marriage, is not looking for anything permanent. After all, he tried it once, and it didn't work. While they may not share a detailed history or feelings with each other, the passion between them burns hot and heavy.


When Quinn becomes a suspect in his ex-wife's brutal murder, it shakes Samantha's foundation to the core. Her history isn't exactly the best indicator of good judgement and she can't help but harbor doubts of his innocence. Though it doesn't take her long to rectify her mistake. Unfortunately, for Quinn, feeling betrayed by Sam's initial doubts it's too late, and he breaks up with her in a way that leaves Sam brokenhearted. Leaving behind her life and job in Atlanta, Sam moves back to Midnight to begin an investigating business with her 2 sisters.

Five months later, Quinn realizes his mistake and that he wants Sam back. Following her to Midnight seems like the first logical step he's made in a while. He knows it will be a long road back inside Sam's heart, but he's a man determined.


This book was a page turner until the very end. While I found the first book to be a little drawn-out and slow to start, this one more than made up for it.

It was also incredibly steamy. Sam and Quinn burned up the pages together.


Midnight Lies was quick paced and action packed. All of the characters were back from the first book and it was great to get another peek at Zach and Savannah. Even though the mystery of the killer wasn't quite as shocking as it was in the first book, the twist at the end took me by complete surprise.


The set up for the third sister, Sabrina, sounds like it will be the best book of the 3. And I'm still hoping that we'll get a book for Logan and Brody.

ARC courtesy of publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review

For more reviews visit: Dirty Girl Romance Book Blog
28 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Midnight Lies.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

July 1, 2013 – Shelved
July 1, 2013 – Shelved as: up-next
July 1, 2013 – Shelved as: netgalley
July 7, 2013 – Started Reading
July 7, 2013 – Shelved as: up-next
July 18, 2013 – Shelved as: arc-to-review
August 1, 2013 –
0.0% "Yey!Samantha's story! Hope it's a good one"
August 3, 2013 –
4.0% "Ella Grace definitely knows how to suck you in with the very first chapter. Damn!\n "
August 3, 2013 –
20.0% "Well hell, Quinn. I know you have a right to be mad, but that was just cold. Now you're just being an asshole...\n \n Why do I suddenly like you more? Strange..."
August 3, 2013 –
30.0% "Ooh but I do love a good grovel. Looks like Quinn has his work cut out for him\n "
August 4, 2013 –
65.0% "And so the psycho killer makes another appearance. Hmmm...\n "
August 5, 2013 –
84.0% "If the killer is who I think it is, I'll be a little disappointed since I had a feeling about this person the whole time."
August 5, 2013 –
85.0% "Well that was a little anticlimactic...\n "
August 5, 2013 –
86.0% "Oh.My.God!\n Holy friggin shit!\n I am so eating my words right now. Damn!\n \n I did NOT see that coming!"
August 5, 2013 – Shelved as: auto-buy-authors
August 5, 2013 – Shelved as: keeper-shelf
August 5, 2013 – Shelved as: romantic-suspence
August 5, 2013 – Shelved as: part-of-a-series
August 5, 2013 – Shelved as: steamy-romance
August 5, 2013 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-40 of 40 (40 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

♥ Jx PinkLady Reviews ♥ Oh yes!!!! Quinn is delicious!! x


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Jxxx ♥ Pink Lady ♥ wrote: "Oh yes!!!! Quinn is delicious!! x"

Ain't he, though? ;)


message 3: by * Meli Mel * (new)

* Meli Mel * WONDERFUL review, Lkay!! ;) x


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Meli Mel *Ty and Zane's Creeper* wrote: "WONDERFUL review, Lkay!! ;) x"

Thanks, Meli! <3


message 5: by Christy (new)

Christy Fantastic review, Lkay! :D


message 6: by Jen (new) - added it

Jen Great review, Lkay!! I can't wait to read this!! :)


Anne OK Fantastic review, Lkay! I totally agree with you that "Midnight Lies" doesn't disappoint and is fast-paced from start to finish with lots of sizzle! Loved it!


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Christy wrote: "Fantastic review, Lkay! :D"

Thanks, hon! :)


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Jen wrote: "Great review, Lkay!! I can't wait to read this!! :)"

I liked this much better than the first, and I enjoyed the first one. Didn't hurt that Quinn was very yummy lol.


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ AnneOK wrote: "Fantastic review, Lkay! I totally agree with you that "Midnight Lies" doesn't disappoint and is fast-paced from start to finish with lots of sizzle! Loved it!"

I liked the first book, but felt it dragged a little in the first half. So happy to see it getting better in this one. Can't wait for Sabrina's book...the set up sounds promising :-)


message 11: by Vashti (new)

Vashti Loved your review and looking forward to reading this series.


message 12: by Len (new)

Len Wonderful review Lkay :)


Christine Wallflower & Dark Romance Junkie Wonderful review L-Kay!!!


Blacky *Romance Addict* Awesome review Lkay!


message 15: by • Lisa • (new)

• Lisa • Love your review- you always have the best book thoughts ❤❤


message 16: by Samien (new) - added it

Samien I'm sold! I LOVE romantic suspense! Great review! I have to check to see if you've read some of my faves :)


Smitten's Book Blog Who is this guy??


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Vashti wrote: "Loved your review and looking forward to reading this series."

Thanks, Vashti! This series is great, and it just gets better with each new book :)


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Len wrote: "Wonderful review Lkay :)"

Thanks, hon! <3


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Christine The Dark Romance Junkie wrote: "Wonderful review L-Kay!!!"

Thanks, Christine ;)


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Blacky *Romance Addict* wrote: "Awesome review Lkay!"

Whaaa? No more Mistress of Doom? hehehe
Thanks, Blacky *Romance Addict*! ;)


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Lisa Jayne wrote: "Love your review- you always have the best book thoughts ❤❤"

Thanks so much my sweet friend <3


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Samien wrote: "I'm sold! I LOVE romantic suspense! Great review! I have to check to see if you've read some of my faves :)"

I love me a good Romantic Suspense. If you see some I haven't read than heck yea, send them my way ;)


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Smitten's Book Blog wrote: "Who is this guy??"

Isn't he yummy? His name is Thomas Beaudoin, and apparently he's an actor. He doesn't know it, but he's also the star of many of my book castings LOL


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Lisa wrote: "Awesome review, Lkay!"

Thanks, Lisa!


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ ♠ Sharon is an emotional book junkie ♠ wrote: "wonderful review Lkay!"

Thank you, Sharon :)


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ Awesome review Lkay!


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ wrote: "Awesome review Lkay!"

Thank you, SueBee! ;)


message 30: by Ⓐlleskelle - teamSøren♗ ⊲I like big b00ks⊳ (last edited Sep 07, 2013 12:39AM) (new) - added it

Ⓐlleskelle - teamSøren♗ ⊲I like big b00ks⊳ Lkay ❇✾The one-click buy button addict❇✾ wrote: "Smitten's Book Blog wrote: "Who is this guy??"

Isn't he yummy? His name is Thomas Beaudoin, and apparently he's an actor. He doesn't know it, but he's also the star of many of my book castings LOL"


Yep, he is sooo fine, i remember a commercial with him for Sauza vodka. He was a firefighter and it was hilarious! You must check it out girls!


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Ⓐlleskelle #teamSøren♗ ⊲I like big bꝎks⊳ wrote: "Lkay ❇✾The one-click buy button addict❇✾ wrote: "Smitten's Book Blog wrote: "Who is this guy??"

Isn't he yummy? His name is Thomas Beaudoin, and apparently he's an actor. He doesn't know it, but h..."


Oh and I know EXACTLY what commercial you're talkin about :)
http://www.goodreads.com/user_status/


Ⓐlleskelle - teamSøren♗ ⊲I like big b00ks⊳ ;) yep. Hot guy and a kitten... Lol. But that voice, and his eyes... {drool}


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Ⓐlleskelle #teamSøren♗ ⊲I like big bꝎks⊳ wrote: ";) yep. Hot guy and a kitten... Lol. But that voice, and his eyes... {drool}"

I just had to go and watch this commercial on youtube again LOL!


Jonetta I like your choices!!


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Jonetta wrote: "I like your choices!!"

Thanks, Jonetta ;)


message 36: by KatLynne (new)

KatLynne Another great review, Lkay:)!


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ KatLynne wrote: "Another great review, Lkay:)!"

Thank you, sweet friend <3


message 38: by Fil (new) - added it

Fil Sounds awesome, great review, and yes I added!


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Fil wrote: "Sounds awesome, great review, and yes I added!"

Thanks, Fil! I'm a big fan of this author. Her Rom Suspense series under her other pen name Christy Reece was really good too


message 40: by Fil (new) - added it

Fil Didn't know that, have to check out both! Thanks


back to top