karen's Reviews > The Stranger

The Stranger by Albert Camus
Rate this book
Clear rating
Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Stranger.
Sign In »

Comments Showing 1-50 of 164 (164 new)


A.J. Howard Terry Jones' favorite work of post-war French existentialism?

(His favorite [The] Cure song is still "Boys Don't Cry")


Greg I was going to review this one as, A GUYS MOTHER DIES AND HE SHOOTS AN ARAB AND THEN HE DIES TOO.


Krok Zero In 12th grade English we read this book and my teacher brought in a Cure CD to play that song for the class.

I don't understand this new reviewing trend though.


message 4: by Eh?Eh! (new)

Eh?Eh! There's something wrong...I think the punctuation negates the girlishness of the review.


karen i know it look like i am just trying to ca$h in on parody-votes, but i thought of this walking home and it just made me laugh. please excuse.


Paquita Maria Sanchez I appreciate the new, sleek, succinct review style that all the kids are embracing these days.


karen good point, eh! i have fixed it.


we are just tickled by what the kids are doing on the internet, and we are doffing our caps to them...


Greg I was thinking earlier that writing reviews like this is almost a reason to get a twitter account.


Joshua Nomen-Mutatio The Myth of Sisyphus

MAN THINKS REAL HARD ABOUT DYING BUT DOESN'T BUT THEN DOES.


message 10: by Paquita Maria (last edited Sep 09, 2010 04:48PM) (new) - rated it 4 stars

Paquita Maria Sanchez The Plague

A BUNCH OF PEOPLE PARTY HARD AND THEN THEY DIE.


karen Krokophilia wrote: "In 12th grade English we read this book and my teacher brought in a Cure CD to play that song for the class.

I don't understand this new reviewing trend though."


DID IT MAKE PEOPLE MORE RECEPTIVE TO THE EXISTENTIALIST MOVEMENT??

sorry, i was still in teenmode.


message 12: by Paquita Maria (last edited Sep 09, 2010 04:51PM) (new) - rated it 4 stars

Paquita Maria Sanchez The Plague draft two:

A BUNCH OF PEOPLE PARTY HARD AND THEN THEIR NUTS SWELL UP AND THEY DIE AND SHIT.


message 13: by Greg (new) - rated it 5 stars

Greg Kristi wrote: "The Plague draft two:

A BUNCH OF PEOPLE PARTY HARD AND THEN THEIR NUTS SWELL UP AND THEY DIE AND SHIT."


The swelling nuts is a nice touch.


message 14: by JSou (new) - rated it 3 stars

JSou I wish ♥J.K.'s Bitch♥ could see what a wonderful thing she started here on goodreads.


karen i concur - nuts.


Paquita Maria Sanchez Swollen nuts are always (a/nice to the) touch.


message 17: by Greg (new) - rated it 5 stars

Greg Sadly she thinks we are all geeks, or nerds, or something like that.


message 18: by Paquita Maria (last edited Sep 09, 2010 05:07PM) (new) - rated it 4 stars

Paquita Maria Sanchez Goodreads

A BUNCH OF GEEKS NERDS WITH SWOLLEN BALLS AND NOT SOCIAL TENDENCIES AND CIGARETTES SMOKE AND TALK TRASH BOUT SILLY SHIT LIKE THEY ARE SMART BUT THERE NOT SMART BITCHEZZZ.


message 19: by D. (new)

D. Pow MERSAULT WAS A FUCKER. A PHONY AND FREAK. THIS BOOK SUCKS. TOO LONG AND BORING. MADE ME WANT TO SLEEP AND THEN CAME STOOPID CURE SONG FUCK YOU ROBERT SMITH OLD FAT MAN.


karen you realize that since i don't say "no" to friend requests, that i have about 300 teen girl "friends" who are probably making fun of us old people right now.


ah, youth...


message 21: by Paquita Maria (last edited Sep 09, 2010 05:27PM) (new) - rated it 4 stars

Paquita Maria Sanchez Kristi Steffen's Favorite Quotes

"I have about 300 teen girlfriends"
-Karen


karen i'm such a player.


Joshua Nomen-Mutatio karen wrote: "i'm such a player."

http://wiki.answers.com/Q/What_was_th...


Paquita Maria Sanchez MyFleshSingsOut wrote: "karen wrote: "i'm such a player."

http://wiki.answers.com/Q/What_was_th..."


Karen went to the Virgin Islands once. They are now, simply, "The Islands."


karen oh snap!!


Joshua Nomen-Mutatio Keeping that youthful glow is a real chore...


karen is this going to tie back in to my semen review??


message 28: by Paquita Maria (last edited Sep 09, 2010 05:42PM) (new) - rated it 4 stars

Paquita Maria Sanchez Your flesh sings out for virgins for Karen. Like the sirens in a way, but more creepier.


Joshua Nomen-Mutatio karen wrote: "is this going to tie back in to my semen review??"

Yes. Like all things.

Glaziness is next to godliness.


Paquita Maria Sanchez Male virgins, too. Sperm included. For to cook with.


karen these are words that will come back to haunt me. like, in a courtroom someday.


Joshua Nomen-Mutatio Kristi wrote: "Your flesh sings out for virgins for Karen."

I do fetch when asked. I put some Jonas Brothers tickets on a fishing hook and reel it into the fiction section at B&N. If I do good karen gives me a semen-based treat and a pat on the head.


Paquita Maria Sanchez karen wrote: "these are words that will come back to haunt me. like, in a courtroom someday."

Will you be charged with multiple counts of spermicide?
HHHHHHHHHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!


karen this is my favorite day on goodreads.com ever.


Joshua Nomen-Mutatio Edible semen and French existentialism all in one day. It's sure been somethin' fun. Loud 'n blunt book reviews are so awesome.


message 36: by Paquita Maria (last edited Sep 09, 2010 05:52PM) (new) - rated it 4 stars

Paquita Maria Sanchez If I do good karen gives me a semen-based treat and a pat on the head.

But surely you're not a virgin! I suppose her standards may have lowered as far as her culinary experiments are concerned...it's not as if virgin spermen are in endless supply.


Paquita Maria Sanchez karen wrote: "this is my favorite day on goodreads.com ever."

At the very least, it's in my top 3.


Joshua Nomen-Mutatio No, I'm just the slutty man-boy slave who fetches.


Paquita Maria Sanchez MyFleshSingsOut wrote: "No, I'm just the slutty man-boy slave who fetches."

THAT'S more like it.


karen boooo!!!

i'm going to send you a copy for christmas....


karen it sparked a serious vegan discussion.

it's not all vulgar....
it is sophisticated.


message 43: by Joshua Nomen-Mutatio (last edited Sep 10, 2010 06:03AM) (new) - added it

Joshua Nomen-Mutatio My pals and I had a similar joke-discussion about the technicalities of veganism and ingesting human bodily fluids. It led to the absurd notion that a true vegan would just have to kill themselves, since technically to live your body is more or less constantly consuming itself.

There's also the "Level Nine Vegan" as created by The Simpsons, which doesn't eat anything that casts a shadow.


message 44: by Marc (new) - rated it 3 stars

Marc Kozak NEO AND TRINITY DIE AND THE MATRIX IS REBOOTED


message 45: by Marc (new) - rated it 3 stars

Marc Kozak THANKS TO KENAN'S STREET HOCKEY TEAM THE DUCKS AND COACH BOMBAY REMEMBER WHAT THE GAME IS ALL ABOUT AND BEAT ICELAND


message 46: by Marc (new) - rated it 3 stars

Marc Kozak Ok I'm done, sorry.


message 48: by Matt (new) - rated it 5 stars

Matt Margo ^ Also known as "the outsider"...


message 49: by Paquita Maria (last edited Sep 10, 2010 10:36AM) (new) - rated it 4 stars


karen god, everything ties together always..


« previous 1 3 4
back to top