Baba 's Reviews > Twisted

Twisted by Emma Chase
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
4669232
's review

liked it
bookshelves: humor

2.5 stars. I rounded up to 3 stars due to the fantastic epilogue told from Drew's POV. Review completed April 7, 2014

 photo tumblr_mn0zhxlpPy1qffcrao9_500_zps66280819.gif

 photo tumblr_mn0zhxlpPy1qffcrao7_250_zps6f4687db.gif

After having read and enjoyed Holy Frigging Matrimony: A Tangled Series Short Story back in December 2013, I interviewed Drew for the Berner Zeitung for the first time. I have decided to do another interview. Brace yourselves coz Baba is not in the best of mood and she gotta give it to them straight.

 photo 576ea889-79ed-4794-8d2c-f8f31e929a23_zps0da03692.png

(view spoiler)

Drew pulls the front of his pants away from his waist and looks down. "Nope--still got a dick. Which explains a lot, because your reasoning would only make sense to a woman."

 photo oie_v0ar57ukOfJ3_zpsfd5c13e2.gif

 photo 764f051c-76ae-478f-bcee-94b803aec7ad_zps43fea983.png

 photo oie_P7AiHfWMnvLg_zpsb378125c.gif

The story of my life, I got sidetracked by the quotes. Let's give it another shot, shall we?

********************

Baba:
Hello Drew. It's me again. Baba, a freelance journalist for the Berner Zeitung.

Drew:
*makes confused face* Excuse me, should I know you?

Baba:
*makes angelic face* Yes, Drew sweetie, we've met already, although under much more pleasant circumstances. But then again, you're looking at plenty of women, I'm only a plain little number among so many staggering flowers.

Drew:
No, no, no. I only look at my sweet Kate these days. (view spoiler) Uh...I'm really sorry but your face doesn't seem familiar to me.

Baba:
That's entirely possible since my face looks a tiny bit strained after having witnessed that effin' clusterfuck of yours. Do I make myself clear? By the way, Kate's on her way to meet up with us, so she can contribute something "nice" to this cozy round of ours. I hope she's got a good color in store coz I gotta tell you, dude, anything is possible!

Drew:
*rubs his hands desperately* *sweat breaks out on his forehead* Uh…I'm not sure how to respond to you; proper words seem to elude me at the moment.

Baba:
A speechless Drew. Wonders will never cease! You don't have to say anything at all right now coz I'm so effin' pissed off. *Baba fumes*

Someone is knocking resolutely at the door.

Baba:
Come on in!

Kate:
Hi! Sorry I'm late.

Baba:
That's alright, Kate honey. *Baba smiles sweetly at Kate* I'm enjoying Drew's company and we've had quite a chat already. However, if you're late again I'm going to staple your hands to the conference table.

Kate:
*gasps*

Drew:
*mouths at Kate* She must be PMSing.

Baba:
Shut it, Drew. I can lip-read. I am over-fucking-joyed to see you both. Now let's get down to business, shall we? I swear you two need a divine intervention to save you from your own stupidity and that's why I'm here. Oh, and Kate honey, remove your Jimmy Choos and put them in the corner, please. I don't want to get one of those thrown at my head when you can't rein in your temper while I'm going to give you a well-deserved lecture!

Kate:
*makes a hurt face but removes shoes* *a little tear slips out of the corner of her left eye*

Baba:
Oh please, don't push it, Katie baby. Remember, you're (view spoiler)

Drew:
Let's get back to the topic at hand. What did you mean with Kate having a good color in store?

Baba:
Well, I gotta jog your memory, Drew sweetie. *Baba makes a stern face*

(view spoiler)

Drew:
I must be a bit slow on the uptake…I don't get it.

Kate:
*chimes in* Yes, I don't understand it either.

Baba:
*says to Kate* Still on cloud nine busy thinking about Dick Lick 101?

Kate:
*makes pouty face* That's not true! You are so mean, Baba.

Baba:
*says to Drew* Yep, I distinctly remember that you were slow on the uptake as well when I was talking to you about TGIF during our last interview. BTW, that was so much fun, wasn't it? Well, back to the issue at hand. Let's see…a little green paint from Drew, some yellow paint from Kate, and Baba is going to shake it all together, and boom--she gets a whole new couple at the end of that process. A sexy lovestruck couple who happens to talk to each other early, often and well. Et voilà. Easy peasy. No more clusterfucks of epic proportions in the future.

Drew:
(view spoiler)

Baba:
Excuse me? What do you mean?

Drew:
Your lecture, of course, are you going to (view spoiler)

Baba:
See? I am so pro communication, you morons! Do I have to spell it out for you? Lack of communication and miscommunication is one of my biggest pet peeves! In case your minds are still functioning, you can use your brain cells to give a couple impulses so you can form reasonable words and compose entire (coherent) sentences. You don't just assume stuff all the time. Use your mouth to ask questions or use sign language or whatever the hell you want but do communicate properly please. If the questions are not answered satisfactorily then you do a follow up. Do. Not. Jump. To. Conclusions. Ever. And, to respond to your question, yes, (view spoiler) Geez, this is more important than Kama Sutra and Michelangelo.

Kate:
I'd like to…

Baba:
Hold off, Kate. Here's the next lecture. (view spoiler) and being completely unsuspecting borders on juvenile behavior. Come on, really? What the heck were you thinking?
Plus, it's too easy to blame (view spoiler) spoiling for a fight. You were being irrational and unfair.

Kate:
Erm…

Baba:
Spare me. I don't wanna hear it. And this is my final lecture. I could practically smell (view spoiler) blah blah blah. I didn't like your POV because you are not half as funny as Drew who, lucky me, made me laugh my ass off once again. (*Drew smiles smugly at Kate*) But, unfortunately, didn't really save the book for me. (*Drew's smug smile has been wiped off his face*) The plot was incredibly predictable at all levels and way too lame to justify that exorbitant price of 8.13 euro for 273 legendary (excuse me, I'm being sarcastic) pages.

Drew:
I think I should be in charge for the next book. Kate honey, don't give me that look, please. It's not my fault that my POV is funnier, cruder and more engaging. *smiles innocently*

Baba:
Yep, I want your POV back and all of your brain cells. Naturally this extends to Kate as well (I mean the brain cells not the POV). You need to step up your game, guys!


 photo tumblr_mfoqg5NDgU1r8ufr0o1_500_zps531d1c52.gif

*******************

Let me lay it all out. I think the plot was effin' ridiculous, unrealistic and that (view spoiler) plot device is so old it's not even funny anymore. Jumping to conclusions, misunderstanding over misunderstanding and the whole situation is totally FUBAR. I didn't like Kate's POV which, by the way, kinda reminded me of Drew but wasn't as stellar as Drew's, not by a long shot. And what the heck was up with Billy? If I remember correctly I didn't like that asshat in Tangled at all and now I kinda fell for kind Billy boy. Huh? Did he have a personality change? Also, I think that Kate was as much to blame for that epic clusterfuck as Drew. Seriously? It's just pathetic and I doubt that real people would act so stupidly. And last but not least, I was so effin' annoyed when Drew and Kate (view spoiler) I mean WTF? Did she do it to prolong the misery? Jesus Christ on a crutch. It goes without saying that the epilogue was the BEST part of the entire book. I want Drew's POV back. Drew forever. <33333

Recommended to readers who enjoy to read a predictable clusterfuck. Well, who knows, Drew might make it worth your while…

Drew:
*spluttering* Baba, how dare you not recommend our book unconditionally?

"In the last two years, I've probably told you a dozen times that I would do anything for you." He shrugs. "It's time I put up or shut up."

Wise call, Drew.

 photo oie_HFBiMJGKGMhu_zpsda429662.gif

And think back what I told you in our last interview about TGIF. Go practice! It might help to make your sweet Kate happy.

My very last word…
(view spoiler)


http://baba.booklikes.com
106 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Twisted.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

May 26, 2013 – Shelved
May 26, 2013 – Shelved as: to-read
June 4, 2013 – Shelved as: humor
April 5, 2014 –
0.0% " photo oie_7nccGAvtUlTy_zpsf1de61f1.gif\n I hope it won't be a bust. *fingers crossed*"
Started Reading
April 6, 2014 –
100.0% " photo tumblr_n23xknklMs1tp9iypo1_500_zpsf7eb9ffc.gif\n The plot was ridiculous. The best part was the fantastic epilogue from Drew's POV. I guess it's time to do another interview with Drew but this time I will invite Kate to join us. It should be interesting, to say the least. :)"
April 6, 2014 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-50 of 94 (94 new)


message 1: by Shakisha (new) - added it

Shakisha This is probably one of the only M/F's I'll read this year....loved the first one


Baba  Shakisha wrote: "This is probably one of the only M/F's I'll read this year....loved the first one"

It's not Drew's POV, so I'm not sure if I'm going to read it because the book is damn pricey. I think it costs 8 euro…I'm a bit bummed.


Baba  Shakisha wrote: "This is probably one of the only M/F's I'll read this year....loved the first one"

It's not Drew's POV, so I'm not sure if I'm going to read it because the book is damn pricey. I think it costs 8 euro…I'm a bit bummed.


message 4: by Deepthi (new)

Deepthi Baba... Are you planning to read this one anytime soon? The book has been released, and not many have reviewed it.


Baba  Deepthi wrote: "Baba... Are you planning to read this one anytime soon? The book has been released, and not many have reviewed it."

I feel a bit bummed after reading so many mixed reviews…
I don't know when I'm going to read it.


message 6: by Deepthi (new)

Deepthi Same with me. I'm afraid, I might taint the image of Drew in my mind if I read it. I'm 60% dropped out. 40% depends on your review. :DDD


Baba  Deepthi wrote: "Same with me. I'm afraid, I might taint the image of Drew in my mind if I read it. I'm 60% dropped out. 40% depends on your review. :DDD"

Ok, I might be reading this one next. Just to satisfy my curiosity…and to help you to make a decision. :)


Baba  @Deepthi
I'm going to start it in a few… :)


message 9: by Deepthi (new)

Deepthi Wow.....Thanks Baba. I can't wait to read your review.




Baba  Deepthi wrote: "Wow.....Thanks Baba. I can't wait to read your review.

"


I'm going to post another interview. Should be fun and I can calm down a little bit. :)


message 11: by Deepthi (last edited Apr 06, 2014 07:27AM) (new)

Deepthi Sorry to hear it. TWISTED is a 100% drop for me. I saved 7.99 dollars, and they go in your name to buy a gift one day. Probably on your birthday. If you like. :P


message 12: by • Lisa • (new)

• Lisa • Enjoy x


Baba  Deepthi wrote: "Sorry to hear it. TWISTED is a 100% drop for me. I saved 7.99 dollars, and they go in your name to buy a gift one day. Probably on your birthday. If you like. :P"

That's sweet of you, Deepthi, but you don't have to do that. I'd say you could always give it a try and in case you don't enjoy it you can return the book for a refund of your money. :))


Baba  Lisa Jayne wrote: "Enjoy x"

It was a bit of a let down, Lisa lovely. :/ xxx


message 15: by • Lisa • (new)

• Lisa • Baba ♥♥♥ Tyler, Marcus, Dean, Tate, Dan, Ty & Hunter wrote: "Lisa Jayne wrote: "Enjoy x"

It was a bit of a let down, Lisa lovely. :/ xxx"


Oh no ... I rarely do well with a continuing series about the same couple so I'm leaving my love with just book one of this series x


♥Rachel♥ I don't know that I'll be reading this. I've heard about the epic drama, lack of communication, and complete stupidity, and I'm really not up for that kind of angst. Eager to see what you have to say, Baba. Love this conversation so far, lol! :)


Lady Vigilante (Feifei) Great interview so far Baba! I'm definitely passing on this one. Lack of communication is my number 1 pet peeve in books and it seems like Twisted has it in spades :/


Duchess Nicole I had a feeling you wouldn't like this one, Baba. Bummer. Creative interview :D


message 19: by Barbara (new) - added it

Barbara Amazing interview! xo


Amy | Foxy Blogs Six star review, Baba!!! ❤️


Pavlina Read more sleep less blog❤❤  Amazing review sweetie <3


Iryna Baba! I would seriously sign under every letter of this review lol. While reading the series, I was keeping thinking: People, for Christ's sake, you are both like 28 years old, why are you acting as if you are 17? How about to discuss all the issues like two adults.. So unrealistic... Great review and analysis xoxo.


message 23: by Tara♥ (new)

Tara♥ Fabulous review Baba, I may have almost choked on some water in a very unladylike manor while reading. It wasn't pretty. :)


message 24: by Jessi (last edited Apr 07, 2014 08:46AM) (new) - added it

Jessi Great review, lol love the interview! :)


message 25: by Ginette (new) - added it

Ginette LMFAO...love it


Baba  Lisa Jayne wrote: "Baba ♥♥♥ Tyler, Marcus, Dean, Tate, Dan, Ty & Hunter wrote: "Lisa Jayne wrote: "Enjoy x"

It was a bit of a let down, Lisa lovely. :/ xxx"

Oh no ... I rarely do well with a continuing series abou..."


That might be a wise decision, Lisa lovely. :) xxx


Baba  ♥Rachel♥ wrote: "I don't know that I'll be reading this. I've heard about the epic drama, lack of communication, and complete stupidity, and I'm really not up for that kind of angst. Eager to see what you have to s..."

It's pretty much unrealistic and really, really messed up. ---> frustrating!
I have completed the interview. Lol :))


Baba  Lady Vigilante (Feifei) wrote: "Great interview so far Baba! I'm definitely passing on this one. Lack of communication is my number 1 pet peeve in books and it seems like Twisted has it in spades :/"

Thanks, Feifei. Then I'm pretty sure that this story would upset you… :/


Baba  Duchess Nicole wrote: "I had a feeling you wouldn't like this one, Baba. Bummer. Creative interview :D"

Yeah, I'm sorry, Nicole. I really want Drew's POV back and LESS drama. Thank you. :P


Baba  Barbara wrote: "Amazing interview! xo"

Thank you, Barbara. :) xxx


Baba  Amy (Foxy) wrote: "Six star review, Baba!!! ❤️"

Lol Thank you, Amy. :)


Lady Vigilante (Feifei) Baba ♥♥♥ Tyler, Marcus, Dean, Tate, Dan, Ty & Hunter wrote: "Lady Vigilante (Feifei) wrote: "Great interview so far Baba! I'm definitely passing on this one. Lack of communication is my number 1 pet peeve in books and it seems like Twisted has it in spades :..."

I'm sure it would too! Yesterday I read a review with all the right spoilers and I was so angry with Drew already. So nope, definitely passing. Sorry you had to go through it though :/


Baba  Lisa wrote: "LOVE the review, Baba!!!!! xo"

Thank you, Lisa. :) xxx


Baba  Pavlina loves Dex ❤❤ wrote: "Amazing review sweetie <3"

Thank you, hon. :) xxx


Baba  Iryna wrote: "Baba! I would seriously sign under every letter of this review lol. While reading the series, I was keeping thinking: People, for Christ's sake, you are both like 28 years old, why are you acting a..."

Lol Where can I sign, Iryna? I agree with you, too! :) xxx


Baba  Tara wrote: "Fabulous review Baba, I may have almost choked on some water in a very unladylike manor while reading. It wasn't pretty. :)"

Hehe…sorry. Not. :))
Thank you dearie. xxx


Baba  Jessi wrote: "Great review, lol love the interview! :)"

Glad you enjoyed it, Jessi! Thank you. :))


Baba  Ginette wrote: "LMFAO...love it"

Drew brings out the best in me. Thank you, Ginette. :))


Baba  Lady Vigilante (Feifei) wrote: "Baba ♥♥♥ Tyler, Marcus, Dean, Tate, Dan, Ty & Hunter wrote: "Lady Vigilante (Feifei) wrote: "Great interview so far Baba! I'm definitely passing on this one. Lack of communication is my number 1 p..."

Thank you, Feifei. Sometimes spoilers are very helpful. I think you made the right choice. :)


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ LOL! Amazing review B! So funny! = DDD


message 41: by Chandra (new) - added it

Chandra This made me laugh and laugh.
Great job...sorry it wasn't too great of a read.
Better luck next time :)


message 42: by Linda (new) - added it

Linda Wonderful review!


message 43: by Joy (new) - rated it 2 stars

Joy Fun review Baba


message 44: by SheReadsALot (new) - added it

SheReadsALot Great review, Lady B. I don't think I will read more from the series. I liked how it ended in #1 and prefer to think of them in that HEA.


message 45: by Pam (new) - added it

Pam Enjoyed your entertaining review, Baba :))


message 46: by Paula (new)

Paula Haha... I love your sassy interview. I haven't read this series yet, but I will one day. :)


message 47: by [deleted user] (new)

LOL love the interview! Awesome review, Baba :)


message 48: by * Meli Mel * (new) - added it

* Meli Mel * Funny review, Baba!! It was great. :)


message 49: by Jessica (new) - added it

Jessica Florence Great review!, I'm still meh if i wanna read this one, I loved the first and don't wanna ruin good feels for them.


message 50: by Isabel (new) - added it

Isabel Fabulous review Baba!!!


« previous 1
back to top