*.Amaia.* BlackMagicRose's Reviews > Me Before You

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
14475340
's review
May 22, 2013

it was amazing
bookshelves: cmeo, favorites, death-life, contemporary-romance, hiding-big-secret, stand-alone
Recommended to *.Amaia.* BlackMagicRose by: Rosalinda *KRASNORADA*
Recommended for: Every Single Person In This Freaking WORLD

BR with Rosalinda and Vishous... (buddy crying will be more accurate)

Review to come, once I get my feelings back and I stop suffering from dehydration.


FULL REWIEW UP NOW

**************************

5 Make-the-most-of-your-life-heartbreaking STARS!!

description

“You can only actually help someone who wants to be helped.”

The problem is, not everyone knows that they need help. And sometimes the person who tries to help others is the one who actually needs saving.

Lou and Will are both struggling through life for different reasons. They both need some purpose or reason to enjoy and appreciate life. Lou has been traumatized for many years and would just accept life as it comes, with no dreams or goals to achieve, and caged in a relationship with no prospect. She is a total conformist. Her life changes when she is fired and needs to find a new job. She gets the opportunity of her life when offered a job as a carer of a quadriplegic young handsome but grumpy and wealthy man, Will. Not her dream job at all, but more than enough to support her family who is suffering the consequences of an economical recession.

description

But as every life changing moment that occurs, both Will and Lou will have to readjust their agendas as little by little they learn from each other, and fall in love. He will try to teach her not to waste not even one more day of her life and to make the most of it and she will try to make him see that life is worth living, no matter what.

description

I'm not gonna lie, this book has made me cry my eyes out. It has absolutely destroyed me. I'm emotionally exhausted because of everything that it has made me feel. But I regret nothing. I would read it again, because it was SO worth it, SO beautiful and absolutely PERFECT.

***** SPOILERS AHEAD*****

Now I really wanna express my thoughts about this controversial matter, euthanasia or assisted suicide. I'm gonna be very clear about this. I respect totally and completely any decision human beings want to make about their bodies and lives. I would love for everyone to find a reason to be happy and appreciate the incredible gift that is to live, but I also understand that sometimes what we get is not enough. And I also think that because of this, to end one's life in cases like this should be a right and legal, as long as it's something properly regulated.

"But I want him to live if he wants to live. If he doesn't, then by forcing him to carry on, you, me - no matter how much we love him - we become just another shitty bunch of people taking away his choices".


Let's not pity this people, let's help and make this world a better place for them to live as long as they want.

Will's case is especially tough for the reader. I'm not gonna lie and say I didn't want him to change his mind and live a HEA with Lou. But this book, and especially Will, is honest and real, as they are most of the others' characters stories. They all have their own flaws and fears. And who doesn't?

description

And I'm so proud of both Will and Lou. I knew Will would never change his mind (ok maybe I did hope a little that he would... just a little bit) and he is SO brave for taking that last step. And Lou... I'm so glad that we both got to "forgive" Will for what he was going to do, and decide to be with him, love him, hold his hand and say goodbye. That's also so incredibly brave of her.

I think they both got what they were looking for. They both got their freedom in different ways and they fulfilled their dreams. They also changed each others' mind in certain way and got their eyes opened to aspects of life they had completely forgotten. And above all, I want to believe, well I KNOW, that in a certain way Will is there along with Lou, living every single new experience again with her.

description


THANK YOU ROSA for being there when I couldn't see silver linings among those dark clouds. You are awesome *.*
XoXo
17 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Me Before You.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

May 22, 2013 – Started Reading
May 22, 2013 – Shelved
May 22, 2013 –
1.0% "BR with Rosalinda and Vishous!! :)\n Starting this one NOW :3\n \n Probably gonna need loads of tissues and hugs... just saying... \n \n Smiley face"
May 22, 2013 –
6.0% " "[...]in this case we are talking about complete loss of use of legs, and very limited use of the hands and arms. Would that bother you?"\n "Well not as much as it would bother him, obviously". \n What\n Did she just say that? :O\n I'm gonna love Lou and her big mouth LOL"
May 22, 2013 –
28.0% "This is too fucking early to start crying, right? Well there you go...\n Don't get me wrong I understand and respect Will's decision, it's his right. Some people might think he is selfish and a coward, I say he is BRAVE. But can't help it, makes me SAD :'(\n not fair"
May 22, 2013 –
44.0% "I so freaking LOVE these two *.*\n The tag moment was cute and sexy and priceless LOL\n "I think we should just be grateful that it wasn't in your trousers."\n oops\n \n hahahaha"
May 23, 2013 –
49.0% " No star pendant could ever be as perfect as your gift, Will. You are A.M.A.Z.I.N.G. *.*"
May 23, 2013 –
72.0% ""Sometimes, Clark, you are pretty much the only thing that makes me want to get up in the morning".\n OH-MY... WILL *.* <3 \n loveyou"
May 23, 2013 –
78.0% "Patrick is such an ass... ¬¬''\n HateYou"
May 23, 2013 –
88.0% "crying\n \n It has started... that pain in my chest, is now millions of tears... don't think I'll be able to stop anytime soon :( This is too beautiful and sad at the same time, it's breaking my heart. \n P.S: Hugs are more than welcome"
May 23, 2013 – Shelved as: cmeo
May 23, 2013 – Shelved as: favorites
May 23, 2013 – Finished Reading
May 24, 2013 – Shelved as: death-life
May 24, 2013 – Shelved as: contemporary-romance
June 16, 2013 – Shelved as: hiding-big-secret
July 14, 2013 – Shelved as: stand-alone

Comments (showing 1-46 of 46) (46 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Rosalinda *KRASNORADA* Jealous! I am gonna be super slow on this one :(


*.Amaia.* BlackMagicRose Rosalinda wrote: "Jealous! I am gonna be super slow on this one :("

I got the day "off" so I'm starting early. Is that ok? One of my students got sick (had quemo yesterday and she is not feeling well today) so I pretty much have all day to get depressed by reading :S


Rosalinda *KRASNORADA* *.Amaia.* wrote: "Rosalinda wrote: "Jealous! I am gonna be super slow on this one :("

I got the day "off" so I'm starting early. Is that ok? One of my students got sick (had quemo yesterday and she is not feeling w..."


What kind of teacher are you Amaia? I though you were in a high school or something. I am sorry for your student, hope thing are ok with her.

Yeah, yeah, go ahead, no probs. When Martin is off I am very slow but that's ok, will be checking your updates x


*.Amaia.* BlackMagicRose Rosalinda wrote: "What kind of teacher are you Amaia? I though you were in a high school or something. I am sorry for your student, hope thing are ok with her."

I'm a high school teacher but the last two years I've been working for the Basque Government in a new project. We visit students at home and hospital when they can't go to class for different reasons like oncological or psychiatric ilnesses. I really LOVE my job, but sometimes it's really hard :S especially when one of my students is having a hard week with treatment.

Rosalinda wrote: "Yeah, yeah, go ahead, no probs. When Martin is off I am very slow but that's ok, will be checking your updates x "

I'll try not to be too spoilery ;)


*.Amaia.* BlackMagicRose Pavlina wrote: "Enjoy Amaia :D"

Thanks Pavlina :)


message 7: by Anne (new)

Anne Oh, my God, Amaia. Being a teacher is already something special, but this... Wow. I can see why you love your job, I'd be very proud if I were you. I'm sorry for your student.


Rosalinda *KRASNORADA* *.Amaia.* wrote: "Rosalinda wrote: "What kind of teacher are you Amaia? I though you were in a high school or something. I am sorry for your student, hope thing are ok with her."

I'm a high school teacher but the l..."


WOW Amaia! I am speechless. I know things are hard sometimes but you're doing something good, as Anne said, you must be proud.

Hope your students are ok and they can recover to have a normal life.

Have you seen Planta Cuarta, the movie? ;) x

No worries about spoilers. I know how this book ends.

xxx


*.Amaia.* BlackMagicRose Anne wrote: "Oh, my God, Amaia. Being a teacher is already something special, but this... Wow. I can see why you love your job, I'd be very proud if I were you. I'm sorry for your student."

I'm just happy to help :)
Families and the kids are really really grateful, and there is nothing more powerful and beautiful than that. Absolutely motivating *.*


*.Amaia.* BlackMagicRose Rosalinda wrote: "WOW Amaia! I am speechless. I know things are hard sometimes but you're doing something good, as Anne said, you must be proud."

Thanks Rosa *.*
I'm doing the best I can and I am so grateful for this experience :)

Rosalinda wrote: "Hope your students are ok and they can recover to have a normal life."

They are young and fighters. So hopefully life (and medicine) will give them a second chance :)

Rosalinda wrote: "Have you seen Planta Cuarta, the movie? ;) x"

I haven't but I've heard of it :) Will add it to my to be seen films pile haha ;)

Rosalinda wrote: "No worries about spoilers. I know how this book ends.

xxx "


Ok :)


Rosalinda *KRASNORADA* You're gonna love that movie, it's about teens with cancer in a hospital. It's one of my fave Spanish films. I am a freak, love our Spanish movies and specially films like this one that stay in your heart forever. x


message 12: by Anne (new)

Anne *.Amaia.* wrote: "I'm just happy to help :)
Families and the kids are really really grateful, and there is nothing more powerful and beautiful than that. Absolutely motivating *.*"


Girl, you have my respect. I wish I could do something so good for others. Good luck with everything. <3


Shannon The Show Stopper You are so sweet! I'm still mad at Will :-D I will forever hold a grudge against him I'm afraid. This is a difficult book to read.....it's also a really good book!


Pavlina Read more sleep less blog❤❤  Wonderful review Amaia!!!So glad you love it too!!! *hugs*


*.Amaia.* BlackMagicRose Shannon wrote: "You are so sweet! I'm still mad at Will :-D I will forever hold a grudge against him I'm afraid. This is a difficult book to read.....it's also a really good book!"

I know exactly how you feel Shannon, I got really angry with him for most part of the book. Like really really angry. It wasn't easy for me to "forgive" him, I was rooting for both him and Lou SO bad. And it's weird, becauseI have respected this kind of decissions always, all my life. I accept them. But I guess that when the person who is doing it is someone you love so deeply, is not as easy as it seems to say goodbye to them. That's why I feel so proud of Lou, cause she is really incredibly brave too.


*.Amaia.* BlackMagicRose Pavlina wrote: "Wonderful review Amaia!!!So glad you love it too!!! *hugs*"

Thanks Pavlina!!! *.*

And for the hugs ;) I really need them.


Purva Wonderful review, Amaia! :)


*.Amaia.* BlackMagicRose Sonia ღ wrote: "Wonderful review, Amaia! :)"

Awwwww thanks Sonia *.*


Shannon The Show Stopper *.Amaia.* wrote: "Shannon wrote: "You are so sweet! I'm still mad at Will :-D I will forever hold a grudge against him I'm afraid. This is a difficult book to read.....it's also a really good book!"

I know exactly ..."


You totally felt the same way as me. I respect this type of decision totally. Now as for me personally, I have such a will to live at any cost, my husband knows to hook me up to every fucking machine they can find. I will fight, I'm a fighter and we'll hope for a miracle or cure. I know everybody isn't like me and I totally repsect a person's choice to live or not to live....100%! At the end though (view spoiler)


*.Amaia.* BlackMagicRose Shannon wrote: "At the end though (view spoiler) "

OMG!! can you imagine that happening??? THAT would have been a total shock (view spoiler)


Shannon The Show Stopper *.Amaia.* wrote: "Shannon wrote: "At the end though (view spoiler) "

OMG!! can you imagine that happening??? THAT would have been a total shock we would still be crying our eyes out, but would be happy tears *.* ev..."


Here is the alternate ending I came up with in my mind when I finished the book. It's very romantic in a Shakespearean sort of way. (view spoiler) Hows that for dramatic? THAT'S how she should've ended this story! You can come live in Shannonland with me where we make our own reality :-D We don't care what's really going on.


*.Amaia.* BlackMagicRose OK NOW I'm definitely changing it.

LOVED IT *.* (view spoiler)


Shannon The Show Stopper *.Amaia.* wrote: "OK NOW I'm definitely changing it. ..."

I love (view spoiler) Dang girl! We should write a book! LOL


*.Amaia.* BlackMagicRose Shannon wrote: "Dang girl! We should write a book! LOL"

Definitely LOL


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ Beautiful review Amaia!! You are brave to read such a story.


message 26: by Anne (new)

Anne Amaia and Shannon, go write that book NOW! But with a HEA, pleeeeeease!
Amaia, wow, I loved your review. My favorite part: "I respect totally and completely any decision human beings want to make about their bodies and lives." We give what we want to receive, right? :) Lots and lots of hugs.


*.Amaia.* BlackMagicRose ★SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ wrote: "Beautiful review Amaia!! You are brave to read such a story."

Thanks Sue *.*
My heart is still in little pieces but I'm gonna follow Will's advice and push myself and LIVE.


*.Amaia.* BlackMagicRose Anne wrote: "We give what we want to receive, right? :) Lots and lots of hugs. "

Thank you so much for the hugs Anne *.* I still need them... this story was so tough :'(
And yes, that's exactly what I think, RESPECT each others. :) the world would be a better place.


message 29: by Bev (new)

Bev Lovely review Amaia. Yes buddy crying...that's a new one!! x


*.Amaia.* BlackMagicRose Bev wrote: "Lovely review Amaia. Yes buddy crying...that's a new one!! x"

Thanks Bev *.*
See you in the next buddy cry? ;) haha


message 31: by Bev (new)

Bev *.Amaia.* wrote: "Bev wrote: "Lovely review Amaia. Yes buddy crying...that's a new one!! x"

Thanks Bev *.*
See you in the next buddy cry? ;) haha"


I'll have to remember that one Amaia. x


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ [sob!] I could not read this story,,,,


Rosalinda *KRASNORADA* I just hate you! I thought I was ok after 2 days but NO! I am crying again :(. Why would you do this to me?

I absolutely LOVE this review, THANK YOU for reading this with me. This is a book and a BR (or BC) that I won't forget EVER, NEVER!!!

Will is probably one of my fave book boyfriends EVER and Lou... "Clark you are... you are something else"... :(

xxx


*.Amaia.* BlackMagicRose Awwww Rosa!!! *.*
Thank YOU :)

After we put ourselves back together we really need to find another BC ;)

XoXo


Rosalinda *KRASNORADA* Sure! BTW, I don't know how but Pavlina convinced me to re read Forbidden. We're starting tomorrow night just in case you want to kill yourself and join us haha. Melissa is reading it too x


*.Amaia.* BlackMagicRose Rosalinda wrote: "Sure! BTW, I don't know how but Pavlina convinced me to re read Forbidden. We're starting tomorrow night just in case you want to kill yourself and join us haha. Melissa is reading it too x"

I know!! :O Saw it a couple of days ago in one of her updates. Wow... I'm not ready yet to re-read Lochie and Maya's story... :(
But I'll be stalking you!! ;)


Vishous Fab review Amaia! :)


Shannon The Show Stopper Anne wrote: "Amaia and Shannon, go write that book NOW! But with a HEA, pleeeeeease!
Amaia, wow, I loved your review. My favorite part: "I respect totally and completely any decision human beings want to make a..."


LOL! I had already come up with an alternative ending for the book and she added points to make it even better :-D In the case of this book I wasn't bothered as much by what happened as I was by how it took place.


*.Amaia.* BlackMagicRose Vishous * Minion Needs a new Queen * wrote: "Fab review Amaia! :)"

Thanks *.* I'm so sorry you were busy and couldn't really buddy cry together :(
Next time? ;)


*.Amaia.* BlackMagicRose Soraya Naomi wrote: "Fab review, babe! I still have to read this, I think I'll need a buddy hahaha"

Thanks love *.*

You definitely need a buddy for this one... it's wowww... *.* Rosa and I are still trying to get over it :'(


Ingela Lovely review, Amaia. It was a great novel. :)


*.Amaia.* BlackMagicRose Thanks Ingela *.* I'm still not over this one :'(
I love Will and Lou SO much ♥


Maya  ~the Pessimistic Happy Cat~ Great review!! I also need to read it soon!

Amaia for you:
description


*.Amaia.* BlackMagicRose Oh Maya *.*
You are super sweet ♥
Thanks a million! I still need all those hugs :'(
Whenever you decide to read this one I'll be there hugging you :)


message 45: by Anna (new) - rated it 5 stars

Anna Hugs to you LOVE !!! Great review !! ❤❤❤


*.Amaia.* BlackMagicRose Awwwww *.*
Thanks Anna :)

description


back to top