Hannah's Reviews > Gone with the Wind

Gone with the Wind by Margaret Mitchell
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
2411388
's review
Jun 25, 2009

it was amazing
bookshelves: historicals, romances, houses-as-characters, 2012-reads, classics, favorites, re-read
Read in September, 2012

I don't like reviewing overly popular, classic books because let's face it, what more can be said regarding a book that 8,720 Goodreads reviewers haven't already covered, from 1 star through 5 star opinions?

So I'll just say that I read this novel for the first time when I was only about 14 years old. And re-read it, and re-read it, and re-read it again several times until around age 18. And then I never picked it up again until age 48 (that's 30 years of reading silence for those of you mathamatically inclined...) Between 18 and 48 is a huge gulf of life and living that might make a re-read a very disasterous endeavor, and I know for a fact that for a few of my GR friends, it was just that, and they regret replacing the youthful memories of this book with more mature ones.

I understand their feelings. I wondered if my own would replicate them. I'm glad to say that didn't happen in my case.

Not that GwtW is an easy book to digest in this politically correct era. It's hard to convey just how cringe-worthy at times a book written in the 1930's by an American Southern writer about the American South during the Civil War can effect modern sensibilities. You have to read it to believe it. The racism, the language, the attitude is all there in black and white (pardon the pun) and they can't be ignored. Those views, those attitudes existed, and still exist for many in this country and all over the world.

I don't condone it, but for me personally, I give most books written before 1960 a little handicap going into them. Not every reader can, and that's OK.

The continuing strength of Mitchell's epic novel is in her capturing of a feeling of loss to a period, a people and a place. Some would argue that it's good this era has crumbled into dust, and I'll not argue the point with them. But as a Southerner myself, I have a deep love and appreciation for my place of birth, and understand the pride and loyalty Southerners take in their homeland, because I feel it very much. Mitchell's saga isn't so much the love story of Scarlett and Rhett as it appeared to me as a teen. The real love story is Mitchell's to her homeland. Warts and all. The writing is so lovely, so authenic. The feelings and expressions ring true. The character of Scarlett O'Hara is, IMO, one of the best drawn character studies ever penned. I used to hate her as a teen, but as an adult I found myself cheering her on in places, and understanding her selfish motivations more then I could have ever imagined. What that says about me I don't know, but Scarlett is a fighter, and a survivor, and I've got to admire her tenacity if not her moral fiber.

This book is a masterpiece. A flawed, uncomfortable masterpiece. I'm glad I re-read it.




***
So after saying I didn't like writing reviews for books like this, I went and wrote one.

Just call me 8,721...
130 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Gone with the Wind.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

08/20/2012 page 1
0.0% "CHAPTER 1: Scarlett O'Hara was not beautiful, but men seldom realized it when caught by her charm as the Tarleton twins were.

And I'm offfffffffff!" 14 comments
08/20/2012 "Chapter 2: Do you stand there, Scarlett O'Hara, and tell me that Tara--that land--doesn't amount to anything?" 15 comments
08/20/2012 "Chapter 3: Scarlett wanted very much to be like her mother. The only difficulty was that by being just and truthful and tender and unselfish, one missed most of the joys of life, and certainly many beaux. And life was too short to miss such pleasant things."
08/20/2012 "Chapter 4: She lay in the silvery shadows with courage rising and made the plans that a sixteen-year-old makes when life has been so pleasant that defeat is an impossibility and a pretty dress and a clear complexion are weapons to vanquish fate." 2 comments
08/21/2012 "Chapter 5: There was no one to tell Scarlett that her own personality, frighteningly vital though it was, was more attractive than any masquerade she might adopt. Had she been told, she would have been pleased but unbelieving. And the civilization of which she was a part would have been unbelieving too, for at no time, before or since, had so low a premium been placed on feminine naturalness."
08/21/2012 "Chapter 6: You all don't know what war is. You think it's riding a pretty horse and having the girls throw flowers at you and coming home a hero. Well, it ain't. No, sir! It's going hungry, and getting the measles and pneumonia from sleeping in the wet. And if it ain't measles and pneumonia, it's your bowels. Yes, sir, what war does to a man's bowels--dysentery and things like that--"
08/21/2012 "Chapter 7: All that mattered was Ashley. Now he was gone and she was married to a man she not only did not love but for whom she had an active contempt. Oh, how she regretted it all. She had often heard of people cutting off their noses to spite their faces but heretofore it had been only a figure of speech. Now she knew just what it meant."
08/21/2012 "Chapter 8: There was something exciting about this town with its narrow muddy streets, lying among rolling red hills, something raw and crude that appealed to the rawness and crudeness underlying the fine veneer that Ellen and Mammy had given her. She suddenly felt that this was where she belonged, not in serene and quiet old cities, flat beside yellow waters."
08/21/2012 "Chapter 9: Mrs. Charles Hamilton--one hundred and fifty dollars--in gold!" 4 comments
08/22/2012 "Chapter 10: Triumph was written on her face and no trace of shame for her unfilial treatment of Gerald. Now Ellen would be soothed with lies if any other busybody wrote her. Now she could stay in Atlanta. Now she could do almost as she pleased..."
08/22/2012 "Chapter 11: No pang of conscience at loving another woman's husband or reading that woman's mail disturbed her pleasure in her youth and charm and her renewed assurance of Ashley's love."
08/22/2012 "Chapter 12: It shocked her to realize that anyone as absolutely perfect as Ashley could have any thought in common with such a reprobate as Rhett Butler. She thought: "They both see the truth of this war, but Ashley is willing to die about it and Rhett isn't. I think tht shows Rhett's good sense.""
08/22/2012 "Chapter 13: She did not see that Rhett had pried open the prison of her widowhood and set her free to queen it over unmarried girls when her days as a belle should have been long past. Nor did she see that under his influence she had come a long way from Ellen's teachings." 3 comments
08/23/2012 "Chapter 14:There'll always be wars because men love wars. Women don't, but men do--yea, passing the love of women."
08/23/2012 "Chapter 15: The door closed behind them, leaving Scarlett open mouthed and suddenly desolute. Ashley was no longer hers. He was Melanie's. And as long as Melanie lived, she could go into rooms with Ashley and close the door--and close out the rest of the world." 2 comments
08/23/2012 "Chapter 16: ...Scarlett asked indignantly: "If it were you, wouldn't you enlist with the Yankees to keep from dying in that place, and then desert?"
"Of course," said Rhett, his teeth showing beneath his mustache.
"Then why didn't Ashley do it?"
"He's a gentleman," said Rhett, and Scarlett wondered how it was possible to convey such cynicism and contempt in that one honorable word.
"
08/24/2012 "Chapter 17: You should be kissed and by someone who knows how."
08/24/2012 "Chapter 18: For the first time since the war began, Atlanta could hear the sound of battle."
08/24/2012 "Chapter 19: "Dear", he said quietly, "I am complimenting your intelligence by asking you to be my mistress without having first seduced you.""
08/24/2012 "Chapter 20: Everyone knew now what the soldiers had known two weeks before--that Atlanta was in the last ditch, that if the Mason railroad failed, Atlanta would fall too."
08/24/2012 "Chapter 21: Ah--Ah--Miss Scarlett, Ah doan know nuthin' 'bout bringin'babies."
08/24/2012 "Chapter 22: The Yankees are coming! She had forgotten that. Her throat suddenly contracted and she could say nothing more."
08/24/2012 "Chapter 23: "I will go home!" she cried and her voice broke and rose to a scream. "I will go home! You can't stop me! I will go home! I want my mother! I'll kill you if you try to stop me! I will go home!""
08/29/2012 "Chapter 24: Was Tara still standing? Or was Tara also gone with the wind which had swept through Georgia?"
08/29/2012 "Chapter 25: When she arose at last and saw again the black ruins of Twelve Oaks, her head was raised high and something that was youth and beauty and potential tenderness had gone out of her face forever. What was past was past. Those who were dead were dead. The lazy luxury of the old days was gone, never to return."
08/29/2012 "Chapter 26: Now, struggling against hatred of Ashley's wife, there surged a feeling of admiration and comradship. She saw in a flash of clarity untouched by any petty emotion that beneath the gentle voice and the dovelike eyes of Melanie there was a thin flashing blade of unbreakable steel, felt too that there were banners and bugles of courage in Melanie's quiet blood."
08/29/2012 "Chapter 27: "Be a little man, Wade. They're only a passel of damn Yankees!" And she went down the steps to meet them."
09/01/2012 "Chapter 28: Again and again, she thought: "What shall I do? Where shall I turn? Isn't there anybody in the world who can help me?""
09/01/2012 "Chapter 29: It was all over, the bright beautiful dream they had loved and hoped for, the Cause which had taken their friends, lovers, husbands and beggared their families. The Cause they had thought could never fall had fallen forever."
09/01/2012 "Chapter 30: Going home! Going home! That was the only thought in the soldiers' minds. Some were sad and silent, others gay and contemptuous of hardships, but the thought that it was all over and they were going home was the one thing that sustained them. Few of them were bitter. They left bitterness to their women and their old people."
09/01/2012 "Chapter 31: "There is nothing left for me. Nothing to love. Nothing to fight for. You are gone and Tara is going.""
09/01/2012 "Chapter 31: Ashley thought as he stared at Will in the shadowy hall that he had never known such gallantry as the gallantry of Scarlett O'Hara going forth to conquer the world in her mother's velvet curtains and the tail feathers of a rooster."
09/01/2012 "Chapter 33: She looked down at the street she loved so well and her eyes misted a little. "They burned you," she thought, "and they laid you flat. But they didn't lick you. You'll grow just as big and sassy as you used to be!""
09/01/2012 "Chapter 34: "Now let me get this straight, Scarlett. You are coming to me with a business proposition. I'll give you three hundred dollars and you'll become my mistress.""
09/01/2012 "Chapter 35: She wasn't like these people who had gambled everything on a Cause that was gone and were content to be proud of having lost that Cause, because it was worth any sacrifice. They drew their courage from the past. She was drawing hers from the future."
09/01/2012 "Chapter 36: "Good Lord!" Rhett cried impatiently. "Don't you ever think of anything but money?"
"No," she replied frankly, turning hard green eyes upon him. "And if you'd been through what I have, you wouldn't either. I've found out that money is the most important thing in the world and, as God is my witness, I don't ever intend to be without it again."
" 3 comments
09/06/2012 "Chapter 37: Scarlett heard over and over until she could have screamed at the repetition: "I'd have taken their damned oath right after the surrender if they'd acted decent. I can be restored to the Union, but by God, I can't be reconstructed into it!""
09/06/2012 "Chapter 38: Oh, some day! When there was security in her world again, then she would sit back and fold her hands and be a great lady as Ellen had been.

Some day! But not now. Not now, in spite of what anyone might say of her. Now, there was no time to be a great lady.
"
09/13/2012 "Chapter 39: How had she ever borne it, she thought, away for all these months, away from the fresh smell of the country air, the plowed earth and the sweetness of summer nights? The red earth smelled so good, so familiar, so friendly, she wanted to get out and scoop up a handful."
09/13/2012 "Chapter 40: "I never liked you much till now, Scarlett. You were always hard as a hickory nut, even as a child, and I don't like hard females, barring myself. But I do like the way you meet things. You don't make a fuss about things that can't be helped, even if they are disagreeable. You take your fences cleanly like a good hunter.""
09/13/2012 "Chapter 41: "Scarlett," said Ashley and his voice was toneless, "look at me."
Startled, she looked up and met grey eyes that were bitter and full of tired futility.
"Scarlett, I will come to Atlanta....I cannot fight you both."
"
09/19/2012 "Chapter 42: He no longer looked like the debonaire Ashley who had caught her fancy so many years before. He looked like a man secretly gnawed by a scarcely endurable pain and there was a grim tight look about his mouth that baffled and hurt her."
09/19/2012 "Chapter 42: He no longer looked like the debonaire Ashley who had caught her fancy so many years before. He looked like a man secretly gnawed by a scarcely endurable pain and there was a grim tight look about his mouth that baffled and hurt her."
09/19/2012 "Chapter 43: "You can tell your curious friends that when I marry it will be because I couldn't get the woman I wanted any other way. And I've never yet wanted a woman bad enough to marry her.""
09/19/2012 "Chapter 44: Georgia's very existence as a state had been wiped out and it had become, with Florida and Alabama, "Military District Number Three"..."
09/19/2012 "Chapter 45: She started to cry out: "But he can't be drunk!" and bit back the words. She realized she was witnessing a play, a desperate play on which lives hinged."
09/19/2012 "Chapter 46: "Good God!" cried the doctor, for it had never occured to him that the curiosity of a chaste woman concerning her unchaste sisters was so devouring. "How can you ask such immodest questions? You are not yourself. I will mix you a sedative."
"I don't want a sedative. I want to know. Oh, dear, this is my only chance to know what a bad house looks like & now you are mean enough not to tell me!"
"
09/19/2012 "Chapter 47: "Really, Scarlett, I can't go all my life, waiting to catch you between husbands.""
09/19/2012 "Chapter 48: Yes, as Rhett had prophesied, marriage could be a lot of fun. Not only was it fun but she was learning many things. That was odd in itself, because Scarlett had thought life could teach her no more."
09/19/2012 "Chaoter 49: Encouraged by Rhett's amused tolerance, freed now from the restraints of her childhood, freed even from that last fear of poverty, she was permitting herself the luxury she had often dreamed--of doing exactly what she pleased and telling people who didn't like it to go to hell."
09/19/2012 "Chapter 50: Rhett leaning over the child had said: "Her eyes are going to be pea green."
"Indeed they are not," cried Melanie indignantly, forgetting that Scarlett's eyes were almost that shade. "They are going to be blue, like Mr. O'Hara's eyes, as blue as--as blue as the bonnie blue flag."
"Bonnie Blue Butler", laughed Rhett...
"
09/19/2012 "Chapter 51: "Keep your sanctity, Scarlett. It will work no hardship on me. It doesn't matter," he shrugged and grinned. "Fortunately the world is full of beds--and most of the beds are full of women.""
09/19/2012 "Chapter 52: What a pity Scarlett took no interest in so pretty a creature as Bonnie! There was something pathetic about a man trying to raise a little girl all by himself! Rhett knew very well the pathos of the spectacle, and if it blackened Scarlett's reputation he did not care." 10 comments
09/21/2012 "Chapter 53: "I'm sorry but I have a headache." How odd that her voice sounded so natural! Thank God for the dark! "I don't believe I'll go. You go, Rhett, and give Melanie my regrets."
There was a long pause and he spoke drawlingly, bitingly in the dark.
"What a white livered, cowardly little bitch you are."
"
09/21/2012 "Chapter 54: "You turned me out on the town while you chased him. By God, this is one night when there are only going to be two in my bed.""
09/21/2012 "Chapter 55: With one of the few adult emotions Scarlett had ever had, she realized that to unburden her own tortured heart would be the purest selfishness. She would be ridding herself of her burden and laying it on the heart of an innocent and trusting person. She owed Melanie a debt for her championship and that debt could only be paid with silence."
09/21/2012 "Chapter 56: "You're too good to believe me. I never before knew anybody who was really good."
"No, I wouldn't believe you," said Melanie soothingly, beginning to stroke his hair again. "She's going to get well. There, Capt. Butler! Don't cry! Scarlett's going to get well!"
"
09/21/2012 "Chapter 57: "It doesn't do for Scarlett to stay away too long from that patch of red mud she loves. The sight of cotton growing will do her more good than all Dr. Meade's tonics.""
09/21/2012 "Chapter 58: Georgia had been helpless, tormented, abused, hammered down. But now, in spite of them all, Georgia belonged to herself again and through the efforts of her own people."
09/21/2012 "Chapter 59: As Rhett lifted the child and set her on the pony, Scarlett called with a swift rush of pride at the straight back and the proud set of the head, "You're mightly pretty, precious!"
"So are you," said Bonnie generously and hammering a heel into Mr. Butler's ribs, she galloped down the yard toward the arbor.
"Mother, watch me take this one!"
"
09/21/2012 "Chapter 60: Something was wrong with the world, a somber, frightening wrongness that pervaded everything like a dark impenetrable mist, stealthily closing around Scarlett."
09/21/2012 "Chapter 61: Melanie had been there that day with a sword in her small hand, ready to do battle for her. And now, as Scarlett looked sadly back, she realized that Melanie had always been there beside her with a sword in her hand, unobtrusive as her own shadow, loving her, fighting for her with blind passionate loyalty, fighting Yankees, fire, hunger, poverty, public opinion and even her beloved blood kin."
09/21/2012 "Chapter 62: "I love Rhett," she thought and, as always, she accepted the truth with little wonder, as a child accepting a gift. "I don't know how long I've loved him but it's true. And if it hadn't been for Ashley, I'd have realized it long ago. I've never been able to see the world at all, because Ashley stood in the way.""
09/21/2012 "Chapter 63: I'll think of it all tomorrow, at Tara. I can stand it then. Tomorrow, I'll think of some way to get him back. After all, tomorrow is another day."" 24 comments

Comments (showing 1-39 of 39) (39 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Carol Kerry-green Have you read it before Hannah? It's a good few years since I did, sometime on the early 80s I think. Be interested in what you make of it.


Hannah Carol wrote: "Have you read it before Hannah? It's a good few years since I did, sometime on the early 80s I think. Be interested in what you make of it."

So many reads in my teen's and early 20's that I can't count! But now it's been a long time since I re-read, so I'm excited to see if my youthful perception of it will alter in any way.


message 3: by Arlene (new)

Arlene Are you ready?!?! Getting a head start because I know you'll be leaving me in the dust. :P


Hannah Arlene wrote: "Are you ready?!?! Getting a head start because I know you'll be leaving me in the dust. :P"

I'm ready. Chapter One here I come!


message 5: by Arlene (new)

Arlene LOL! I read a few pages last night. Is it normal that I'm reading it with a southern accent... in my head? LOL


message 6: by Hannah (last edited Aug 20, 2012 09:20AM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Hannah Arlene wrote: "LOL! I read a few pages last night. Is it normal that I'm reading it with a southern accent... in my head? LOL"

Not weird at all, honey chile. In fact, I'm doing it as well, but then it's easy for me :D

I haven't re-read this in probably more then 25 years, and it's AMAZING to me how much I'm remembering of it. It's so easy to get into and read - Mitchell is a fluid, entertaining writer. Ah, this is going to be loads of fun, Wonder!


message 7: by Arlene (new)

Arlene LOL! Well I was actually laughing at myself because as I was reading, the whole southern accent was having a field day in my head. I can't wait to read more. I actually really like it and I'm embarrassed to say, I've never read it before.

Great pick Miss Lily... :P


Hannah Arlene wrote: "LOL! Well I was actually laughing at myself because as I was reading, the whole southern accent was having a field day in my head. I can't wait to read more. I actually really like it and I'm embar..."

Yipee! You are in for a roller coaster of a saga, Wonder. Have you been spoiled as to what happens, or have you seen the movie?


message 9: by Arlene (last edited Aug 20, 2012 09:40AM) (new)

Arlene Neither. I don't know how it ends and I've never seen the movie. The only thing I know about this book is that at one point someone tells her or she says to someone "Well frankly dharling... I don't give a d*mn." Or something like that. I have no clue why or even if I have that statement right. LOL I'm very excited to be reading this.

I figure since I'm trending a pittily 3 books this month, having GwtW as part of my reads for this month will outweigh my lackluster reading record. THREE books! It was too dame hot to read this month. LOL


message 10: by Arlene (new)

Arlene Okay, if I'm being completely honest, it's not just the heat that's getting in the way of my reading. I bought an iPad in June and I've been reading off of that thing. Welllll a few weeks ago, I started pinning on Pintrest. OMG! So addicting!! So I'll read a few pages and then go to Pintrest for the rest of the night. I'm hopeless!! LOL


message 11: by Hannah (last edited Aug 20, 2012 10:27AM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Hannah Arlene wrote: "Neither. I don't know how it ends and I've never seen the movie. The only thing I know about this book is that at one point someone tells her or she says to someone "Well frankly dharling... I don'..."

OK, then I'll be circumspect as to what I let fall from my lips as the story progresses. I want you to have the full reading experience without spoilers.

3 books - wow! That is surprising, but with your blog site (which I love BTW), your iPad, Pintrest and the heat I can see why your reading has lessened.

I haven't been on Pintrest - I'm scared of more time suck....!


message 12: by Arlene (last edited Aug 21, 2012 07:18PM) (new)

Arlene Okay I just got to chapter five. You are leaving me in the dust! I'm staying up late tonight to try and catch up. I love this story! The writing is amazing and just beautiful.

Yes pintrest is a huge time suck! So addictive! I still might send you an invite so you can see the mischief Ive been up to. Love that site.LOL

Thanks for stopping by the blog. You might want to let hanneybean know we're running a hunger games giveaway.

Any who back to the plantation. :)


Hannah Arlene wrote: "Okay I just got to chapter five. You are leaving me in the dust! I'm staying up late tonight to try and catch up. I love this story! The writing is amazing and just beautiful.

Yes pintrest is a h..."


haha - I just left a comment over on your review - we were probably commenting at the same time - go over to yours and check it out!


Hannah Arlene wrote: "Yes pintrest is a h..."

Yes, send me a Pintrest invite! I'll check it out, even though I know I'm gonna be sorry...
:O


message 15: by Arlene (new)

Arlene Lol I just responded. :)

Okay I'm sending you an invite to pintrest. Can you email me your email addy? I lost a ton of my contacts. You still have mine right?


Hannah Arlene wrote: "Lol I just responded. :)

Okay I'm sending you an invite to pintrest. Can you email me your email addy? I lost a ton of my contacts. You still have mine right?"


Yes, I'll PM it to you right now.


Misfit So after saying I didn't like writing reviews for books like this, I went and wrote one.

Just call me 8,721...


Lol. Excellent review. I do love this book, but it is very different to read it as a grown up and not a teen.


Hannah Misfit wrote: "Lol. Excellent review. I do love this book, but it is very different to read it as ..."

Thanks Misfit. Yes, I found myself not being as much "into" the scenes I remember loving as a teen, and focusing on other things that I'm sure I glossed over as a teen. Now that it's over and still a 5-star read, I'm glad I re-read it. It would have been a bummer if it hadn't been.


message 19: by Laura (new) - added it

Laura A great and honest review, you made an excellent job on this one, despite the 8,721 reviews already posted.


Hannah Laura wrote: "A great and honest review, you made an excellent job on this one, despite the 8,721 reviews already posted."

Aww, thank you, Laura!


message 21: by [deleted user] (new)

I don't like reviewing overly popular, classic books because let's face it, what more can be said regarding a book that 8,720 Goodreads reviewers haven't already covered, from 1 star through 5 star opinions?

Great review, and I'm glad that this story that you love stayed that way for you.

I have been going through my bookshelves and I noticed that I did not review Pride and Prejudice. I think you have summed up nicely the way I feel about attempting to be that 8,721st review: what more can I add?


message 22: by Hannah (last edited Sep 24, 2012 04:45PM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Hannah Jeannette wrote: "...and I noticed that I did not review Pride and Prejudice. I think you have summed up nicely the way I feel about attempting to be that 8,721st review: what more can I add?..."

Thanks Jeannette. I'm sorry it didn't work out for you, but it happens. Perhaps if they did a GwtW manga??

haha - exactly true. P&P is a toughie.


message 23: by [deleted user] (new)

I never wish a GN adaptation on a classic! Everyone I've seen has been awful.

After reading your updates, I'm tempted to read the end of GWTW -- I'm curious about what happens.


Hannah Jeannette wrote: "After reading your updates, I'm tempted to read the end of GWTW -- I'm curious about what happens."

How far did you get before DNF'ing?

You're probably right - a GN adaptation would probably be comparable to the classic/monster mash-ups...((shudders)).


message 25: by [deleted user] (new)

My last status update says 50%, Chapter XXXI. I think Ashley wanting to take Scarlett right there, on the ground, kinda put me off the story. I wish Rhett had stuck around, or Ashley had perished....


Hannah Jeannette wrote: "My last status update says 50%, Chapter XXXI. I think Ashley wanting to take Scarlett right there, on the ground, kinda put me off the story. I wish Rhett had stuck around, or Ashley had perished..."

Hmm, hard to say whether it's worth it to slog on, but if you want more Rhett, you definitely need to get closer to the last 200 pages before he makes a more constant appearence.

Ashley is a wuss, no doubt about THAT!


message 27: by [deleted user] (new)

Maybe I'll just get the Cliff's Notes. ;)


Hannah Jeannette wrote: "Maybe I'll just get the Cliff's Notes. ;)"

Probably for the best!
:P


message 29: by [deleted user] (new)

hahaha! How about the movie?


Hannah Jeannette wrote: "hahaha! How about the movie?"

Watch the movie, do!


message 31: by Anna (new) - rated it 5 stars

Anna Fabulous review, Hannah :-)

I'm right with you on Scarlett; she trod on a few toes and she hurt a few people, but she was a fighter, she had balls, and I got what she was about. Granted, not BFF material, but I'd definitely want her on my side when the going got tough ;-p


Hannah Anna wrote: "I'm right with you on Scarlett; she trod on a few toes and she hurt a few people, but she was a fighter, she had balls, and I got what she was about. Granted, not BFF m..."

Thanks, Anna.
haha - no, definitely NOT BFF material, especially if you had a man she wanted! In today's world she'd be a tough-as-nails CEO, and everyone would call her a bitch. But she'd get things done and profits would be made :D


message 33: by Amy (new) - rated it 5 stars

Amy S Perfect review! I read it for the first time last year. Halfway through the book I hated it, her, and Ashley. But the writing kept me going. By the end I loved it. What great, honest character studies. Mitchell didn't feel a need for you to "like" her characters. I also loved the Melanie in the book more than the Melanie in the movie. I think just because the movie is a condensed watered-down version if her.


Hannah Amy wrote: "What great, honest character studies..."

Thanks, Amy!

Yes, the character studies were the best I've ever read. Even though I only mentioned Scarlett, there were countless, intricately conceived characters throughout the novel, (Melanie being the second best IMO). I loved how Mitchell presented the reader with two sides of Southern womanhood. How she showed that Melanie was just as strong in her own way as Scarlett was in hers. How the two women together faced the war and its aftermath. Simply riveting stuff! And yes, book Melanie really couldn't be replicated on the big screen. Same with Scarlett and the others. This is too massive a story to be incapsulated into even a 5 hour movie.


Shelly I also read this book the first time at a young age....about 12 when I found it on my librarian grandmas bookcase. I have read it over and over and always, it stays my favorite. It's been a few years now since a re-read and I was just telling someone the other day that I'm missing it....lol.


message 36: by Hannah (last edited Jan 22, 2013 07:09PM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Hannah Shelly wrote: "I also read this book the first time at a young age....about 12 when I found it on my librarian grandmas bookcase. I have read it over and over and always, it stays my favorite. It's been a few y..."

Go ahead, pick it up for a re-read. You know you want to...
:)


message 37: by Catherine (new)


message 38: by Kim (new) - rated it 5 stars

Kim Gorman Hi Hannah. I can relate. My stepmother (originally from the South) gave me this book when I was 13 and I couldn't stop reading it over and over and over. I'm certain I could win a Gone With The Wind trivia contest. I understand the negative reviews of the book but I love it anyway.


Hannah Kim wrote: "Hi Hannah. I can relate. My stepmother (originally from the South) gave me this book when I was 13 and I couldn't stop reading it over and over and over. I'm certain I could win a Gone With The Win..."

Hey Kim!
Yes, this is one of those books you're either going to love or hate. While I understand the reservations some readers have over the attitudes found in the book, I can't help but marvel over Mitchell's incredible writing skills in covering this time in American history. That tops any flaws it has IMO.


back to top