Christy's Reviews > Sweet Thing

Sweet Thing by Renee Carlino
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
11284813
's review
Apr 21, 2013

it was amazing
bookshelves: angst, emotional, sweet-guys, paperbacks-i-own, signed-paperbacks-i-own

4.5 Stars

 photo 10218599-0316-4a7e-beea-cec7e7dd3e24_zps2a3ed550.jpg

Sweet Thing was a really sweet read. It was a beautiful and touching story of two people, Mia and Will, who meet coincidentally and both of their lives change forever.

 photo 1f328ae5-7750-45cd-9b0d-ff8f8ee4d435_zps2ae22d8b.jpg

Mia Kelly is moving from her home in Ann Arbor to NYC. Her father has recently passed away, and she is going to the city to take over his cafe. She is responsible, has a business degree, but her real passion is music. Not only is she grieving her father, but she is trying to figure out what she wants to do with her life.

 photo 7cb7e603-7bf3-44bb-874d-8588fa37aa57_zps0d39b847.jpg

Will Ryan knows exactly what he wants to do with his life. Music. Music is his life. He loves to play, sing, write, and he is very talented. He and Mia happen to be on the same flight on their way to NYC. They connect on the flight, just click. She runs into him again and offers to rent a room out to him in her apartment. They become best friends.
Sometimes it takes the love of others to show us who we really are.

Okay everyone- I have a new book boyfriend, and his name is Will Ryan. Yes. I loved Will. How could you not? Musician with tattoos, the sweetest guy ever, charismatic, personable, and funny. He is exuberant and has such a passion for music and life. I just adored him. Will gets Mia to see life in a whole new way. Open her eyes to whats right in front of her. See what real possibilities exist for her. A chance to follow her dreams, do what she loves and what makes her happy. Not what she is ‘supposed’ to do. He is able to reach her and heal her in a way no one else has. Mia is still hesitant. She still can’t get out of her own head that she needs to be with the guy who can provide for her, with real ambitions. I really loved Mia’s character, but for a while, she infuriated me. I was frustrated with her for a large part of the book, but I understood some of it...
“I’m surprised that you can’t see what everyone else can.”

Mia means so much to Will. He wants her as more than a friend, but he will take her anyway he can get her.
 photo f3903cc2-22f5-4c6e-8bb6-04b0be4086f3_zps873dd391.jpg
My favorite parts of this story were when the two of them were just together, happy, making music, enjoying each other. I loved the build between the two of them.

 photo 63a07ca8-4f99-4d62-8e7c-d2201f79990c_zps769655ca.jpg

My heart broke for Will over and over again. Mia just pushes and pushes him away. Mia has gone through so much, she just couldn’t get it together. For a while, she does. Will and Mia together... perfection.

 photo b78dfdb1-d2dc-4329-b892-c979cbc55648_zps0aeac8c2.jpg

Mia finally see’s past herself and gives Will and herself a chance to be happy together. And they are. For a little while. Will is getting bigger and bigger in the industry. Labels are wanting to sign him, but Will is the type of guy that has to be true to himself and his music. He won’t compromise or change who he is for anyone. It’s an admirable quality, but Mia misconstrues everything and really screws things up between them. Big time. She hurts Will in a pretty unforgivable way.
“The pain of losing someone is always worse when you know you could have prevented it.”

My heart not only broke for Will during this part of the story, but for Mia as well. I was an emotional mess. I wanted this couple to pull through more than anything. Mia hurt Will in a big way. She feels terrible. She’s not really living anymore, her friends are concerned. A lot of time passes before she can finally get herself together. And she is willing to do anything to make it right between them.
 photo 42974fcd-649b-44bf-9b4d-e2252bdc10fe_zps0bf3d358.jpg
‘Never let me go.’
‘Never’
‘Where have you been?’
‘Waiting for you.’



Do you ever have a book that sits on your e-reader and sits on your e-reader. You are constantly meaning to get around to it, but weeks go by and you still haven’t read it? This is constantly happening to me. Too many books, not enough time I guess. But this is one of those books that makes me want to kick my own ass for waiting so long to read it. Don’t make the same mistake I made, get to this one asap! I can’t believe this is a debut novel. It is well written and compelling. The story moved me, the music moved me. I fell in love with these characters. Not only were Mia and Will amazing, but the supporting characters were as well. A story I won’t be forgetting anytime soon!

 photo 4d918ed3-e38e-4ceb-bd9b-2171a3a0d6e7_zps9659e83e.jpg
‘Love life and life will love you back.’


ARC kindly provided by author, Renee Carlino, via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.
68 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Sweet Thing.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

April 21, 2013 – Shelved
June 2, 2013 – Started Reading
June 2, 2013 –
22.0% "Oh Will <3"
June 3, 2013 –
32.0% "Sometimes you just want to scream at a character 'LOOK AT WHAT'S RIGHT IN FRONT OF YOU!' This would be one of those moments."
June 3, 2013 –
77.0% "Woo hoo! About time ;)))"
June 3, 2013 –
86.0% "And things were going so good... :("
June 3, 2013 –
100.0% "Awwww I just loved that ;) Review to come!"
June 3, 2013 – Finished Reading
June 4, 2013 – Shelved as: emotional
June 4, 2013 – Shelved as: angst
June 4, 2013 – Shelved as: sweet-guys
April 20, 2015 – Shelved as: paperbacks-i-own
April 20, 2015 – Shelved as: signed-paperbacks-i-own

Comments (showing 1-50 of 68) (68 new)


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ $.99 on Amazon today 5/27/13


Christy Thanks Lkay! ;)


Renee ❤ This book x


Christy Renee wrote: "❤ This book x"

I am really loving Will so far :D


message 5: by Melissa (new) - added it

Melissa I am so glad you are liking this one so far. I can't wait to start it. :)


Christy It's really great Melissa ;))


message 7: by Melissa (new) - added it

Melissa Yay!! I am excited :) Need it last one was very Disappointing to me.:( Need a good One!


Blacky *Romance Addict* Amazing review Christy, can't wait to read this one :)


Nicole Great review. This has been sitting on my Kindle for a few weeks now. Sounds like I need to move it up!


Lucia Beautiful review Christy! Sounds like lovely read :)


message 11: by Mo (new) - rated it 4 stars

Mo Fantastic review. Loved that book.


message 12: by Baba (new)

Baba  Wonderful review, Christy!


Christy Blacky *Mistress of doom* wrote: "Amazing review Christy, can't wait to read this one :)"

Thanks Blacky! I hope you'll enjoy it ;D


Christy Nicole wrote: "Great review. This has been sitting on my Kindle for a few weeks now. Sounds like I need to move it up!"

Thanks Nicole! Yes you do :D I had it there for weeks, not sure what I was waiting for haha!


Christy Lucia wrote: "Beautiful review Christy! Sounds like lovely read :)"

Thanks Lucia, it sure was ;))


Christy Mo wrote: "Fantastic review. Loved that book."

Thanks Mo! Loved it too ;D I tried not to pick on Mia too bad for your sake! Lol, I was good with her by the end haha!


Christy Baba ♥♥♥ Marcus, Tyler, Tate, Dan, Ty, & Hunter wrote: "Wonderful review, Christy!"

Thanks so much Baba! :D


message 18: by Mo (new) - rated it 4 stars

Mo Christy wrote: "Mo wrote: "Fantastic review. Loved that book."

Thanks Mo! Loved it too ;D I tried not to pick on Mia too bad for your sake! Lol, I was good with her by the end haha!"


Thanks Christy, poor Mia was being bashed all over the bloody place ...


Christy Mo wrote: "Christy wrote: "Mo wrote: "Fantastic review. Loved that book."

Thanks Mo! Loved it too ;D I tried not to pick on Mia too bad for your sake! Lol, I was good with her by the end haha!"

Thanks Chris..."


I know! Poor thing! She frustrated me, but I really liked her. I understood why she did most of what she did- I didn't like it, but I got it.


Brandi Great review Christy! Adding this one :)


Katya2007 Beautiful review and perfect casting! Thank you!!


message 22: by Lisa (new)

Lisa Awesome review, Christy! :)


Debra Beautiful review Christy!! Mia was a little bit frustrating at times but I loved Will!! ;-D


Christy Brandi wrote: "Great review Christy! Adding this one :)"

Thanks Brandi! Hope you enjoy it ;D


Christy Katya2007 wrote: "Beautiful review and perfect casting! Thank you!!"

Thanks so much Katya!! :D


Christy Lisa wrote: "Awesome review, Christy! :)"

Thanks Lisa! :D


Christy Debra wrote: "Beautiful review Christy!! Mia was a little bit frustrating at times but I loved Will!! ;-D"

Thanks Debra! Will was just THE BEST! ;)))


Pavlina Read more sleep less blog❤❤  Wonderful reviw Christy :))


Peggy Dabney This review is spot on!! Love it!! This is my favorite book so far this year! Thanks for all your cool Pics.... ;-)


Christy Pavlina wrote: "Wonderful reviw Christy :))"

Thanks Pavlina ;D


Christy Peggy wrote: "This review is spot on!! Love it!! This is my favorite book so far this year! Thanks for all your cool Pics.... ;-)"

Thanks so much Peggy! It was a really good one ;D


It's just me Shelly B Great review:))


Lisa Jayne I LOVE your Will, I can't wait to read this!! ❤❤ hope your having a great week friend ❤❤


Christy It's just me Shelly B wrote: "Great review:))"

Thanks Shelly! :D


Christy Lisa Jayne wrote: "I LOVE your Will, I can't wait to read this!! ❤❤ hope your having a great week friend ❤❤"

Thanks love! I sure am :DD I got my Gideon fix so I'm good now! Btw I totally thought of YOU when I read this one, I think you would love it :D


♥ Jx PinkLady Reviews ♥ Wonderful review. I read this last week and absolutely loved it too. It's a gorgeous, beautiful story!! Fight you for Will ♥!! lol


Christy Jxxx wrote: "Wonderful review. I read this last week and absolutely loved it too. It's a gorgeous, beautiful story!! Fight you for Will ♥!! lol"

Thanks Jxxx! Didn't you just love him? He had the best personality ever, on top of everything else!!!


♥ Jx PinkLady Reviews ♥ He did......and he had super cool taste in music and was especially talented and giving...swooon!!


Lisa Jayne Christy wrote: "Lisa Jayne wrote: "I LOVE your Will, I can't wait to read this!! ❤❤ hope your having a great week friend ❤❤"

Thanks love! I sure am :DD I got my Gideon fix so I'm good now! Btw I totally thought o..."


Aaaaaaw I'm SUPER excited to read it then ❤❤


message 40: by Laila (new) - added it

Laila Lovely review Christy!


Christy Thanks Laila!! ;))


message 42: by Dd (new)

Dd Amazing review Christy!!:))


Christy Dd wrote: "Amazing review Christy!!:))"

Thanks so much Dd!! :D


Nat O Ha ha Christy... I'm one of those people that plan on getting to it someday ....I'll bump this up definitely now! Btw I LOVE our Will casting. Wowza!


Christy Sanaa wrote: "Ha ha Christy... I'm one of those people that plan on getting to it someday ....I'll bump this up definitely now! Btw I LOVE our Will casting. Wowza!"

Thanks Sanaa! You won't be sorry you did! Will was AMAZING! :D


message 46: by Jona (new) - added it

Jona Excellent review, Christy!


Christy Jona wrote: "Excellent review, Christy!"

Thanks Jona!! :D


message 48: by Jen (new) - added it

Jen Lovely review! Yes, this book has been sitting and sitting on my ereader but I'm moving it up :)


Christy Jen wrote: "Lovely review! Yes, this book has been sitting and sitting on my ereader but I'm moving it up :)"

Thanks Jen! Haha ;D Sounds good! I'm one to talk... I have over 200 not read books on mine :( I will never catch up!


"That's All" Ash Girl, I love your reviews! :)


« previous 1
back to top